April 26, 2024, 04:24:19 PM

Author Topic: Need some advice  (Read 3388 times)

Offline doublet750

• mi nuevo nombre es dinho mi vida es joga bonito
Need some advice
« on: September 28, 2007, 09:44:29 AM »
yea fellas well a sad bump in my career....i was injured in a 1v1 collision with a goalie in a game for my school .....my knee hyperextended and well the prediagnosis from the doctor is that i tore my ACL,PCL and my Meniscus....

its weird because i can still walk and stuf but sometimes i have pain in my knee ...as opposed to just a constant pain that prevents me from walking...althuough i was explained to that this is normal.....

there are now 2 courses of action after the mri...surgery...or self rehab
i am in school though and i was advised that if i did get the surgery i would have a long lay up and thus my school work could suffer....i am not willing to lose a year of school though

so i was also told tht u could self rehab and let it heal ...it would take roughly over 6 months but i would still be able to continue school life.

so i was hoping you great minds with insight into this subject could aid me with your knowledge

thanks again and dont worry i have a strong will so as depressing as this injury has been to me it isnt the end of my journey

BTW i play for John Jay College of Criminal Justice in the CUNYAC conference of the NCAA DIV 3
« Last Edit: September 28, 2007, 09:46:24 AM by doublet750 »

Re: Need some advice
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2007, 10:22:45 AM »
Based on what you say it sounds like self rehab is the way to go because, you haven't mentioned any advantages of having the surgery.

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2007, 10:24:29 AM »
Get an MRI.

Healing itself if torn as indicated will only allow you to walk. Playing will be out. The operation should not really disturb your studies, yes you will be layed up but you can still do work. The other option do the OP after school.
If all goes well including rehab you should be back in a year.

« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2007, 10:43:58 AM »
based on what u said, seems like no obvious drawbacks from self-rehab but seem like yuh need more facts..

how bad is the tear?

will self rehab bring your knee back to 100%?

is there less chance of re-injury by doing surgery as opposed to self-rehab?

i guess all will be clearer after the MRI, but you might want to consider a second opinion too once you get that.

remember if you want to prolong your playing career, then surgery might ensure that a recurrence is less likely

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2007, 10:53:54 AM »
yea fellas well a sad bump in my career....i was injured in a 1v1 collision with a goalie in a game for my school .....my knee hyperextended and well the prediagnosis from the doctor is that i tore my ACL,PCL and my Meniscus....

its weird because i can still walk and stuf but sometimes i have pain in my knee ...as opposed to just a constant pain that prevents me from walking...althuough i was explained to that this is normal.....

i am in school though and i was advised that if i did get the surgery i would have a long lay up and thus my school work could suffer....i am not willing to lose a year of school though

so i was also told tht u could self rehab and let it heal ...it would take roughly over 6 months but i would still be able to continue school life.

so i was hoping you great minds with insight into this subject could aid me with your knowledge

thanks again and dont worry i have a strong will so as depressing as this injury has been to me it isnt the end of my journey

BTW i play for John Jay College of Criminal Justice in the CUNYAC conference of the NCAA DIV 3

Get a second and third and fourth opinion from specialists.

« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2007, 11:07:46 AM »
Get the MRI and surgery.

Recovery will not cost you a year. If a doctor tells you that you might want a second opinion. If you are that concerned wait until summer or a school break to get it done and you will have 3 months to go through the worst of it.

I did not have ACL and PCL but I ripped my ACL and tore the meniscus. You will have one week where you are laid up in bed on some heavy drugs, then a week or two on crutches.

I was back walking without crutches after two weeks (with a limp and some discomfort). So it should not interfere with your classes.

The most time-consuming thing is rehab.

If you intend to play seriously again you have to treat this like a job. I used to go for one hour 3 times a week and they would recommend about half hour to one hour of daily home excercises.

I never did the home excercise and I am paying for it.

But all it takes is discipline. As a student you could find one hour a day to work on your health. If you don't do the operation you still have to rehab to get into running shape. In fact you have to rehab just to get into shape for the operation.

Pros have an advantage over laymen because they could rehab whole day and sit in oxygen chamber because that is their job and they can be back to playing fitness within 6 months to a year.

Keep in mind that if you don't do it you risk worse injury in the future and even if you don't play again you will be looking at knee replacement as an old man. No wining down in SWWTU hall for you.

Also if you are in a US school you have already paid for insurance so use it. Operation, rehab, cooling cast, extension machine should all be covered.

Trust me when you hit the working world you will have much less time available to do the operation and rehab should your leg worsen.

Good luck and PM meh if you need any more info.

« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2007, 11:24:55 AM »
As a man who play for CCNY in the same conference I can tell you to get the surgery.
If the ligaments are torn they will never heal unless they are joined together by surgery.

I had a knee surgery my freshman year, not as bad as yours and I played for all 3 years after that.
Your knee will never be 100% but you will be able to play again if you want too.

The only problem is that with ACL you may need to wear a hard brace which is not that cool.

The hardest part about the surgery was having to take the subway on crutches.

In six weeks you will be jogging again.

If you dont fix it over the years your knee will have more problems even with day to day movements and as you get older sergury is more complicated and takes longer to heal.

you dont want to be 50 years old cant walk because your knee falling out of place because your belly too big and the doctor fraid to put you under the knife because your Heart aint good.

Do the surgery man!

be brave

this is america if anything go wrong you could sue!

« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2007, 11:29:59 AM »
Go see a doctor and get his advice

« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2007, 11:33:54 AM »
PM dumpalewie

« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2007, 12:13:08 PM »

Wow...doublet real sorry to hear that.  PM Dumpers like Mr Mc say...also see if Tallman or one ah dem WN members could put you in touch with Dog to get some advice, both rehab and spiritual should you need it.  It also sounds to my untrained ears that it might only be a partial tear, which is why you can still walk fine...but be careful walking around without a brace or some other support, your knee is very unstable in this situation and could give out at any time.  In the process of giving out you might do even greater harm.  I suffered similar injury to my left ankle and received a similar prognosis, six months of rest.  The ankle healed fine, but even to this day it still 'clicks'.  No pain though...but different from yours...the knee require much greater stability given its construction. But definitely seek further medical advice over anything you read here.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2007, 12:15:46 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2007, 12:32:42 PM »
doublet real sorry to hear bout this injury..First of all talk to yuh doctor. Sometimes they will recommend an MRI or orthoscopic(?) explatory surgery. Honestly it been my experience that the explatory surgery is de way to go. That way they go in and see what is wrong and fix it one time if need be. Also as good as MRI's are they can miss somethings.
I tore my meniscus pretty bad myself, that they could not jus shave it down. So basically they stitched it together and i jus hadda see how long it holds up for. I really hope u not in the same boat

« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2007, 12:35:51 PM »
doublet real sorry to hear bout this injury..First of all talk to yuh doctor. Sometimes they will recommend an MRI or orthoscopic(?) explatory surgery. Honestly it been my experience that the explatory surgery is de way to go. That way they go in and see what is wrong and fix it one time if need be. Also as good as MRI's are they can miss somethings.
I tore my meniscus pretty bad myself, that they could not jus shave it down. So basically they stitched it together and i jus hadda see how long it holds up for. I really hope u not in the same boat
I think you mean Arthroscopic...this may be the way to go if surgery is needed.  It's still an invasive procedure but a very minor hole will be cut for the scope, rather than dem cutting open yuh foot like they used to do, lol.

« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2007, 12:38:01 PM »
Oh...

and if you do decide to do the surgery, familiarize yourself with FIFA 2007 Career mode...

A man's best friend in times of inertia..

I manage to complete a whole 15 seasons with minimum simulations when i tore ankle ligaments a couple years ago.. i even managed to take unfancied Leyton Orient to the champions league!!

:beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2007, 12:39:55 PM »
I tore my acl ,mcl and damaged my meniscus playing football about 4 years ago, I did the self rehab, but I still have pain now and then and it is just not the same. I know people who had similar issues and opted for the surgery and they are in a better psoition than I am in. I still play on a team, but nothing even close to the level you are playing and ever so often I have to sit it out... (partially due to old age)

« Reply #14 on: September 28, 2007, 12:47:00 PM »
It all depends on where the meniscus is torn. Certain tears in the meniscus require immediate surgery because there is a tendency for it to roll up and if it does that it can actually decay. Best advice listen to what the doctor says.

« Reply #15 on: September 28, 2007, 02:14:18 PM »
Horse, under all seriousness, if you want more advice, see another doctor.  :beermug:

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #16 on: September 28, 2007, 03:10:51 PM »
Do de surgery pardnah. I know that cause ah tear all those and mih MCL at de same time. Yuh need yuh knee to be stable. Self healing will leave you in occasional pain and very open to re-injuring yuh knee.
Doh loss yuh head boss

Offline doublet750

• mi nuevo nombre es dinho mi vida es joga bonito
« Reply #17 on: September 28, 2007, 09:24:50 PM »
everybody thanks....i will get the scan ...and if it is torn ill get the surgery....( i still praying that the mri just show serious strains and not real tears)....any input whter ur thoughts or opinion was really appreciated im more upbeat now about the whole procedure ....

thanks again fellas :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #18 on: September 29, 2007, 12:49:04 PM »
Get the MRI first.

Then call me and I can give you some advice.

While very rare, some people are able to play with an ACL deficient knee after significant rehab. A knee with a torn ACL and PCL is unstable and you can forget sport without surgery. BTW a completely torn ACL doesn't heal, the rehab strengthens the other secondary structures.

Let me know after the MRI and maybe I can even put you in touch with a good Surgeon. It's your knee. Guard it closely.

Offline Strip

« Reply #19 on: September 29, 2007, 09:17:27 PM »
if the prediagnosis is correct, given the results of your mri, I recommend surgery all the way -- talking from experience.

if the ligaments not completely torn they may not have to do grafts and can just do some clean up work with arthroscopic surgery.

the main thing is post surgery -- you have to be very disciplined about rehab

professional rehab as well as going to the gym to build up your leg muscle (it will become very emaciated after weeks/months of inactivity) and finding a way to do cardio (on a bike to start) so you keep your weight down and stay fit.

also real important to stretch everyday post surgery --- I had mine a year ago and still getting problems... but i wasnt nearly as disciplined as I should have been, and only get serious in recent months.

« Last Edit: September 29, 2007, 09:26:53 PM by Strip »

« Reply #20 on: September 29, 2007, 09:22:31 PM »
this have to be de most intelligent website,EVERYBODY IS DOCTOR.

« Reply #21 on: September 29, 2007, 09:29:35 PM »
everybody is patient too!