April 30, 2024, 02:03:03 AM

Author Topic: Hislop excited over home tribute game.  (Read 4597 times)

Hislop excited over home tribute game.
« on: October 01, 2007, 03:28:48 PM »
Hislop excited over home tribute game.

Trinidad and Tobago goal guard Shaka Hislop is patting his gloves with anticipation ahead of returning home to play in next month’s matches between his MLS club Dallas FC and a local Pro League all-star team. The two games have been arranged as the first of an annual Challenge Cup and an affair to recognize Hislop for his longstanding contribution to the country’s National Team.
Hislop is currently still attached to Dallas FC but will not continue on as a playing member of the team following an agreement with the club to release him. But come next month, the former Newcastle United custodian is looking forward to running out in front of his home fans.
“I'm very excited about the tribute game! It will give the local talent an opportunity to showcase their talent against a strong FC Dallas team, who have their sights on winning the MLS Cup this season, and a very talented Brazilian team in Atletico Paranaense,” Hislop told TTFF Media on the weekend.
“More worryingly it'll give me the opportunity to put on my boots and pull on my gloves for one last time.
“This challenge cup will be an annual occurrence but somehow, after this year, I don't think anyone will allow me near a goalpost! So I have to make the most of it,” Hislop continued with a chuckle.
Hislop also gave some more insight into his involvement with the Football Players Association of T&T (FPATT) in his role as President.
He explained the recent addition of former T&T captain Dwight Yorke as well as other overseas-based players to the association which he adds will be going at length to establish a steady working relationship with the TTFF.
“Dwight's decision to join FPATT is purely because he feels that even his voice will be better heard in local football by being a part of the organization.  Dwight has never been a part of the court action initiated by 16 of his teammates and still doesn't intend to be. As much as people are trying to draw parallels between the two groups, which is understandable,  FPATT is only concerned with the broader general membership. The court case has been initiated independently of FPATT and funded independently of FPATT and Dwights understands this,” Hislop stated.
“We certainly hope to meet with the TTFF sooner rather than later. The qualifiers for WC 2010 start next year and we really need to work out player payments and bonuses before then. As always we welcome dialogue with the TTFF to address the greater need and concerns of the local game.”
The ex-West Ham standout didn’t hold back on FPATT’s rate of progress though although he joked about not being quite clear on the status of their name with it already being used by the Family Planning Association of Trinidad and Tobago.
“At FPATT we're still trying to get our house in order. In that I mean we have to finalise our offerings to our members, what we hope to offer and what we can realistically at these early stages afford to offer. Once we begin to address the concerns of our members we have to be fully prepared for the responsibility. It's imperative  that we are fully prepared for that even if means us taking a little longer in launching our programs. Realistically speaking, we're probably ahead of where most would expect us to be at this point in our own development, but there is still a lot of work to be done,” he explained.
FPATT itself is hoping to secure as many Pro League players possible as members. But Hislop added that signings haven’t been obtained because of the fact that the Players Association business is still green in the local game.
“We are currently targeting all of the Pro League clubs and players. Our membership numbers probably aren't as high as we would like right now, but maybe that is understandable. This is all very new to the local players and they are waiting to see exactly what we can offer them. Saying that nearly all of the T&T players currently playing abroad have signed up, as they fully understand and appreciate the need and function of a players' association. It'll give the players a unified voice and the opportunity to directly affect their own profession.
“As keenly as we follow local football, we have to get our offerings in place for the general membership. That really is occupying our thoughts, and has been for some time. Every now and then we are prompted in to  action whenever we've been asked, some of those instance have been widely publicized and yet others remained behind closed doors, which is how  we'd prefer to conduct our business,” Hislop ended.
Shaka shares his views.

Former National Team goalkeeper Shaka Hislop arrived in Trinidad on Tuesday to attend a media conference to promote the upcoming set of exhibition matches being put on by the T&T Pro League involving MLS team Dallas FC and Brazilian club FC Parananse. The tournament billed as the "Shaka Hislop Tribute Cup" will allow the former Newcastle United custodian to run out before his home fans a final time after he announced his retirement from play earlier this year.
It was announced on Wednesday that Brazilian World Cup player Denilson will arrive here with Dallas for the games which will be played at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on November 20-December 2. Following the media conference, Hislop took time out to chat with TTFF Media, looking back at his career and talking a bit about his future ambitions.

View Interview 1

View Interview 2
Denilson for Shaka tribute.
By: Ian Prescott (Express).

Brazilian Denilson, the best known player in the FC Dallas squad, promises that his team will give a good showing when here for the Shaka Hislop Tribute Tournament which will be held at the Hasely Crawford Stadium from November 30- December 2.
The tournament involves Brazilian club FC Parananse; FC Dallas of the American MLS; and two teams from the TT Pro League, one consisting of local players and the other comprising the Brazilians, Colombians, Nigerian and Caribbean players that play in the local professional league.
The first of the doubleheaders take place on Friday November 30 where FC Dallas tackle the TT Pro league overseas squad, and two hours later, FC Parananse take on the Pro League's local squad. On Sunday December 2nd, FC Parananse face the Pro League's overseas squad, and FC Dallas tackle the Pro League local stars.
Tickets are being sold at $40 for the uncovered stands and $100 for the covered section of the Hasely Crawford Stadium.
The tournament is being held in honour Neil "Shaka" Hislop, the Trinidad and Tobago goalkeeper who retired this season after playing at the World Cup and having a season of MLS football with FC Dallas.
Hislop was present at yesterday's launch where Denilson and Michael Hitchcock, FC Dallas general manager also made a contribution through a web link.
Hitchock described Hislop as a great ambassador for the game and said the tournament celebrated a great footballer, while Denilson said that while he did not have the opportunity to play with Hislop at FC Dallas, he knew the former Wes Ham goalkeeper. While here, the FC Dallas general manager said he will keep an eye out for any talented local player who emerges.
A very emotional Hislop, said that he was taken aback by the tributes paid to him and promises somehow to repay the favour. Now retired, Hislop said his future was undecided, but he promised to fulfill the commitment he has made to local football.
Larry Romany, chairman of the TT Pro League said the tournament gives the local professional players the chance to test their ability against overseas teams. He said that Pro League players have a genuine chance to silence their critics. "These are two top teams that are coming here and we expect to have a good showing from the players that are playing here," Romany said.
He further added that the TT Pro league will be looking at holding a similar pre-season tournament in March, and are also considering a scholarship programme, where talented, young local players may have internships in the academies of teams like Dallas and Parananse.

BRAZILIAN DENILSON (far right).
« Last Edit: November 24, 2007, 06:10:39 AM by Flex »

Re: Hislop excited over home tribute game
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2007, 06:21:36 PM »
Okay...now I'm officially confused as to what the membership base for FPATT is supposed to be.  FPATT whey yuh?

« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2007, 08:46:37 PM »
As President, Shaka or other executive members, need to visit every club or locale and meet with the players, outline the reason and role of the Players Association, and invite each player to join the organization.  Only education of the payers will give them the information they need to make an intelligent decision.

Come on Shaka , getthis thing moving before people lose interest and it all fizzles out.  Strike the iron while it is hot.

« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2007, 09:00:06 PM »
As President, Shaka or other executive members, need to visit every club or locale and meet with the players, outline the reason and role of the Players Association, and invite each player to join the organization.  Only education of the payers will give them the information they need to make an intelligent decision.

Come on Shaka , getthis thing moving before people lose interest and it all fizzles out.  Strike the iron while it is hot.
FPATT has already met with all the club executives, and I believe presentations have been made to the players as well.  Shaka was on duty with FC Dallas, so I don't think he was part of that earlier effort, but let's not make it seem as though FPATT isn't doing anything in Trinidad.

Re: Hislop excited over home tribute game.
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2007, 11:46:42 AM »
We excited too. As 4 FPATT lef dem players who eh join. Ray Charles who blind and dead could see d benefit of FPATT

« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2007, 06:26:28 AM »
News Updated.

« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2007, 07:28:56 PM »
I can only compare whats happening in Trinidad with te PFA in England.

The PFA made an agreement with the Premier League and Football League whereby every player who signs a professional contract automatically joins the PFA. The subscription is the same for every player regardless of his salary - £90 per year (around $1100 TT). However, a player can refrain from signing if they wish. Currently over 99% of players are members.

FPATT is currently discussing this same method with the ProLeague. Understandably, club owners are wary of players associations as they obviously can be militant and a unified workforce can lead to a loss of power for the employer.

FPATT has consistently stressed that they are not looking for confrontation with the employers, but instead feel that collective bargaining will offer a degree of stability to all.

If you walked into an English football club and asked 5 players what the benefits of PFA membership are, I'm willing to bet that the only benefit they can think of is pensions. They don't understand any more than young ProLeague players do, even when they see their team mates benefit from membership.

This is why membership take up is slow. You literally have to talk to each player on a one to one basis and, currently, we don't have the personnel.

Its taken the PFA 100 years to get 99% membership, so FPATT is progressing comparatively quite fast.

As Shaka has stated, the benefits are expensive and its taking time to organise funding. Also, without TTFF recognition, our task is even harder. However, recognition is inevitable and the sooner FPATT gets the TTFF recognition, the faster football will develop in T&T.

« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2007, 07:32:57 PM »
Its taken the PFA 100 years to get 99% membership, so FPATT is progressing comparatively quite fast.
tell dem
we doin good
patience
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.