December 06, 2024, 01:56:25 AM

Author Topic: Attention fans of the Football Manager series  (Read 2073 times)

Attention fans of the Football Manager series
« on: October 02, 2007, 07:26:34 AM »
If yuh don't know already the demo of Football Manager 2008 is out, so try before you buy.

Check the link :  http://www.sigames.com/static/fm2008/index.html

Re: Attention fans of the Football Manager series
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2007, 07:39:12 AM »
Buy?

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2007, 09:29:20 AM »
I have always been curious about this game, exactly how does it work

« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2007, 10:24:39 AM »
It is a management simulation.

You are the manager of a club.

You have full reign over playing matters, through training, formation, tactics, substitutions, transfer negotiations, scouting, wage negotiations, interacting with the players, board, fans and media.

You go through tthe season day by day ( or hour by hour sometimes) performing managerial activities and dealing with th e"reality" of the game. there is an interactive ticker which communicates the actions of the players, managers, teams, media that are a part of the game.

On gameday you choose your squad and system and watch the game as it unfolds, You can make changes to formation, player runs, player focus 9attacking, defending), team style etc. throughout the game to effect a win or cause a loss.

One of the best parts of the game and the most time-consuming is the detail of the database. You can easily spend hours checking out potential transfer targets, youth team players, scouting reports etc. because the database is very detailed.

Also you can apply for ( or will be recruited for) available jobs withinn the game environment.

For example if youstart with Stockport in th elower division you can apply for the Tottenham job when Jol gets fired. You will probably have no chance at first but if you do a good job and build a reputation eventually you will have  a chance. You can also get fired too.

The game is fun, but time-consuming usually you can play a lower division side all the way to the top over several seasons but this has become more difficult in recent versions. Or if you like you can play with one of the big boys and tackle Europe. You can also manage in other European Leagues or take over the National side when the manager gets fired.

« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2007, 10:27:25 AM »
Ok so you interpret and manage data rather than actually playing on a field like FIFA or Winning Eleven?

« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2007, 12:43:10 PM »
Just try the demo and u will see what it is about. Choose a side where u familiar with the players already cause it is a lot of info to absorb at first. U thinking about tactics, team talks, training, friendlies, transfer negoatiations. U are the man...u do everything for the club and u bite the bullet or reap the glory as a result.

« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2007, 01:47:41 PM »
Ok so you interpret and manage data rather than actually playing on a field like FIFA or Winning Eleven?

I haven't played th emost recent versions but the ones that I played have no 3d player manipulation. In CM4 they tried using a 2D play "camera" with players and the ball as dots.

The game is exciting enough without controlling players becaue they use text flashes to describe the action like...

Shearer picks up a long pass

He's through on goal

One on one with the keeper

Saved by Schmeichel!

It does have yuh on the edge of yuh seat sometimes, especially if it is a big game and you trailing, real pressure.

« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2007, 07:52:12 AM »
Was up till 3.00 this morning playing oui.  I thought it was about 1.30 or 2.00 when I do check is 3.00! 

Carlos Edwards has nice technical stats; Kenwyne has sme monster stats for strength, natural fitness etc.