April 16, 2024, 04:56:43 PM

Author Topic: Jones: We can stop Arsenal.  (Read 11808 times)

Jones: We can stop Arsenal.
« on: October 04, 2007, 07:53:20 AM »
Jones: We can stop Arsenal.
By: Graeme Anderson (Sunderland AFC Reporter).

Kenwyne Jones says he has huge admiration for this weekend's opponents, Arsenal. But the £6million Black Cats striker still thinks Sunderland can cause them problems at the Emirates Stadium on Sunday if the Wearsiders play to their full potential. He said: "Arsenal have been the best team to watch for a long time.
"It doesn't matter whether they're winning or losing, it's still great to watch them because their football is fantastic.
"I don't think what they're doing now is anything different to what they've done before, it's just that the results are going their way this time. We know what they can do, but if we go there and do what we can do, we'll have a chance of getting the points."
Whether Jones gets the chance to continue developing his partnership with Michael Chopra in London this weekend remains to be seen. Against Manchester United, the other big gun Sunderland have played away from home this season, Roy Keane went for a 4-5-1 formation with Jones up front and Chopra on the right wing.
But if the manager does opt to go for Chopra and Jones up front, the big striker feels that a partnership could be emerging which would test any Premiership defence.
He said: "I think we've done well as a partnership so far. The relationship can only get stronger, but I think it's a partnership that can work, one that can produce some good things for the club.
"It can take time to form a new partnership, so I'm sure we'll see things get even better over the coming months.
"I like playing with Michael.
"It's a classic little and large partnership and we do complement each other.
"I hope it can grow into something special."
Jones and Chopra were plucked from the Championship by Keane, like so many of his signings.
And although the manager has invested in potential, Jones is the first to admit that it has not been easy for the remodelled squad as it adjusts to the different challenges presented by life in England's top flight.
The ex-Southampton hitman reflected: "We've produced some performances that have been quite good. But I think our lack of experience in the Premier League is costing us points at the moment. I hope that as the season goes on we will get stronger.
"We are all trying to catch on as quickly as possible to what the Premier League is all about.
"It's true that you get punished for things in the Premier League when it might not be the case in the Championship.
"It's the same whenever you step up a league, it's always different.
"It's happening to us, there's no denying it. I just hope we can start to stamp it out and make the most of this season."
« Last Edit: October 04, 2007, 08:11:52 AM by Flex »

Re: Jones: We can stop Arsenal
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2007, 08:02:04 AM »
oh i do hope so

Re: Jones: We can stop Arsenal.
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2007, 08:18:43 AM »
I don't write off the chance of any upset in football, but no matter how hard I try, I just don't see it happening.

Re: Jones: We can stop Arsenal
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2007, 08:19:47 AM »
oh i do hope so

Sorry, not going to happen. In fact if they're not careful, they might get what Derby got a few weeks ago.

« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2007, 08:22:50 AM »
i hope trinderland could pull it off but i doh think it likely.

game on setanta. dem have all de good english games except liv. vs tot. this weekend.

since i have comcast & cannot get setanta, i f**ked.

« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2007, 08:23:09 AM »
the only thing i in doubt about where this game is concerned is whether to put fabregas or van persie as my fantasy league captain

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2007, 08:24:24 AM »
Flickin reporters like to create headlines. I read some of these exact quotes from another newspaper, and no where did he say anything about stopping Arsenal. He was more or less talking about his partnership with Chopra, and how things are going at the new club. Stupid media trying to hype things up.

And sorry, but they not gonna stop Arsenal. They will have to work very very hard not to get more than 2-0 in dey tail.
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2007, 08:25:29 AM »
3Canal for Arsenal ;)
Go Sunderland
« Last Edit: October 04, 2007, 08:27:24 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2007, 08:27:03 AM »
Jones good for at least 1 goal.
He could beat up any defender, is just a matter of him making the most of the few chances he'll get.
Arsenal go ress about 4 on Sunderland though, sometimes Nosworthy does look like he should be playing another sport.

« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2007, 08:28:09 AM »
Jones better stop talking and start scoring consistently. Up his work rate too.

« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2007, 08:45:42 AM »

jones doh pull ah theobald on we with all these press chaining yuh up

just score one off ah corner and collect yuh 5 and cool it

« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2007, 10:00:05 AM »
Jones vs Senderos?

I picking Jones.

Drogba is Senderos fadda, Jones might be he uncle, yuh never know.

« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2007, 10:16:01 AM »
Jones vs Senderos?

I picking Jones.

Good talk dey. Jones scoring one before de floodgates open up....on Sunderland  ;D
« Last Edit: October 04, 2007, 10:37:02 AM by FireBrand »

« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2007, 10:20:36 AM »
Jones like he tief real man head boy. Senderos is prone to one major slip up per game, and I've seen some experienced forwards give him a torrid time, but Jones is his uncle? hmmmmm... Jones really earn dem props yet?

Would be nice to see Jones put in a good shift and keep improving....anything more is bonus.

« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2007, 10:30:48 AM »
I think suspect it will be closer than we think,here's my prediction arsenal 2 sunderland 3 with dwight scoring 1 and jones 2.........

« Reply #15 on: October 04, 2007, 10:34:43 AM »
Jones better stop talking and start scoreing some goals,he have to understand he eh prove himself yet in the premiership,if his game don't step up the table going to turn and it's the same people that encourageing him to talk.

« Reply #16 on: October 04, 2007, 10:56:16 AM »
Why he even saying anything or why are they even asking him anything? Boy go and score some goals before you get on record and shame yuhself. Right now he needs to shut  up and put up some goals.

« Reply #17 on: October 04, 2007, 10:57:35 AM »
Lol...well, others already beat mih to it.  Nothing more needs to be said.

« Reply #18 on: October 04, 2007, 11:01:55 AM »
Jones like he tief real man head boy. Senderos is prone to one major slip up per game, and I've seen some experienced forwards give him a torrid time, but Jones is his uncle? hmmmmm... Jones really earn dem props yet?

Would be nice to see Jones put in a good shift and keep improving....anything more is bonus.

I on kicks.

I don't find that Jones and Drogba have similar styles to be honest. Drogba is much more aggressive and effective. I just playing off of the popular  comparison.

I do expect this to be a close game though. Both Liverpool and United had a hard time scoring on Sunderland (Fabregas fantasy league men beware).

Arsenal  is favoured but the ball is round and the underdogs will always have hope. maybe Jonesy could get a double.

« Reply #19 on: October 04, 2007, 12:01:34 PM »
Jones vs Senderos?

I picking Jones.

You forgetting a certain Kolo Toure.

The match up I would have liked to see is Carlos v Clichy.

Offline thane

« Reply #20 on: October 04, 2007, 12:08:33 PM »
hmm.....i jus hope arsenal go easy to them....

« Reply #21 on: October 04, 2007, 12:41:40 PM »

I on kicks.

I don't find that Jones and Drogba have similar styles to be honest. Drogba is much more aggressive and effective. I just playing off of the popular  comparison.

I do expect this to be a close game though. Both Liverpool and United had a hard time scoring on Sunderland (Fabregas fantasy league men beware).

Arsenal  is favoured but the ball is round and the underdogs will always have hope. maybe Jonesy could get a double.

LOL, give advice nah man, give advice......lol.

ah watching how yuh creaping up on meh!!

« Reply #22 on: October 04, 2007, 01:18:54 PM »
Dwight going and hit Fabregas one of the hardes blade ever, send it long to Chopra who going and play a neat through ball to Jones who going and slap far post. After which, is 10 man defense till the 90th.

« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2007, 01:34:12 PM »
As long as they keep the score respectable like a 2-1 or 1-0  to Arsenal, but I cannot see them beating Arsenal at the Emirates
« Last Edit: October 04, 2007, 05:02:06 PM by grskywalker »

« Reply #24 on: October 04, 2007, 02:16:43 PM »
Until Carlos come back to cause trouble on the rigt wing, Sunderland aint going no where.  They need him badly.  He attracts so much attention it will open the way for Kenwyne and Chopra.  My analysis was that at thee WC England could not cope with him thus giving becks trouble, but the England coach pull a master stroke.  The match chnged when Carlos had to fall back to defend and that freed the England midfield to dominate the second half of the game. That is how good Carlos Edwards is.  Get well soon and show them you quality.

« Reply #25 on: October 04, 2007, 02:41:54 PM »
I love the fact that Jones is playing against top quality club teams.

« Reply #26 on: October 04, 2007, 02:54:46 PM »
Jones vs Senderos?

I picking Jones.

You forgetting a certain Kolo Toure.

The match up I would have liked to see is Carlos v Clichy.
I know Senderos is yuh fav Arsenal player, but I think Jones have what it takes to trouble both Toure and Dos... :devil:

« Reply #27 on: October 04, 2007, 03:49:03 PM »
Until Carlos come back to cause trouble on the rigt wing, Sunderland aint going no where. They need him badly. He attracts so much attention it will open the way for Kenwyne and Chopra. My analysis was that at thee WC England could not cope with him thus giving becks trouble, but the England coach pull a master stroke. The match chnged when Carlos had to fall back to defend and that freed the England midfield to dominate the second half of the game. That is how good Carlos Edwards is. Get well soon and show them you quality.
das gud talk yuh talkin dere
ever since edwards out de cutting edge gone....
dey might hole off or a 2-0 or maybe 1-0 or 2-1
but on ah real ah realy doh see a win happenin

« Reply #28 on: October 04, 2007, 04:14:04 PM »
''Jones:We can stop Arsenal ...from bussin more than 7 in we ass '' ....all yuh din leh de man finish. ;D
Not becuz Man U and Liverpool din ruff dem up means dey getting de same treatment from Arsenal.There is no way I cud see Sunderland getting less dan 4 ....away  ??? without Carlos  ??? ah inform #4  ???
no Stern John  ;D......hard luck Sunderland all yuh just running een to de best playing side in the Prems right now and de only plus I cud see coming outta dis game ,for me ,is if KJ or DY score,but is sure wash ass for de Black Cats.

« Reply #29 on: October 04, 2007, 05:03:57 PM »
ANYTIME YOU FACING A TEAM WHOSE VERY NAME IMPLES WEAPONRY, YOU ASKING FOR TROUBLE

Good luck Sunderland give it your best!!!