April 19, 2024, 01:06:59 AM

Author Topic: The most important Election in T&T's History  (Read 5546 times)

The most important Election in T&T's History
« on: October 07, 2007, 02:35:08 PM »
People article has been going around the internet. Its well worth the time to read it. There is also a youtube clip...

Get Voting

Subject: Vote wisely on November 5th.

This was wrtitten by Michael J Williams - Well worth reading.

To my Fellow Citizens of Trinidad &Tobago

I am addressing this message to all persons who cherish T&Ts
democracy, of all political parties, or of none, and of all ages. I
appeal to you to put country first.

The forthcoming election is like none before. This is not merely a
contest to choose a government to govern our beloved country under our
present constitution.

Political leader Patrick Manning has declared his intention should he
win, to change the constitution of T&T, to become Executive President.
This threat cannot be taken lightly, because many of Manning's actions
betray a frightening dictatorial streak which citizens must reject, by
registering to vote, and more importantly, by voting on election day.

I submit the following for your consideration:

I came to know Mr Kenneth Valley in 1987 when we both served in the
senate. He was appointed a PNM senator by Manning in his party's
darkest hour, following the NAR 33-3 victory at the polls. Valley has
since been a loyal PNM front man, a deputy political leader, Chief
Whip and leader of government business in parliament, and a cabinet
minister highly respected by the business community which he serves.
That all constituency groups have nominated him and no one else, to
contest the next elections, is proof enough that the people of Diego
Martin Central want him as their representative. Yet Manning rejected
Valley, based on a flimsy poll of 240 persons in a constituency
exceeding 25,000 and seeks to replace the peoples' candidate with a
candidate of  his own.  Not only is Manning subverting the PNM
constitution by his secret poll, he overrides the wishes of the
people, and disregards Valley's performance as a minister.
Almost half the elected PNM representatives chosen by the people are
being removed to make way for Manning's nominees. The peoples'
representatives must choose their leader, but the roles are reversed,
and the leader is choosing the representatives for the people. This
surely is democracy turned on its head.
Manning rejected the offer of Mr Anthony Garcia, Fatima College
principal and a former TUTTA president, as a candidate for the
elections.  The far-fetched reason given – Garcia's son is married to
Christine Kangaloo, a minister in his cabinet. While thus indicating
his distaste for family connections in his administration, he
nevertheless appointed his wife a cabinet minister. These events
amongst others, demonstrate his preference for pliable individuals
around him. He feels threatened by persons of substance, who can think
independently.
Manning has built himself a $148 million palace but abandoned
President House to rot and ruin. President Max Richards meanwhile has
been made to make do in the "maid's quarters" behind the crumbling
President House.
When Uganda's head of state President Musevini visited recently,
protocol required that T&Ts head of state President Richards should
have welcomed him. But Manning jumped ahead of President Richards' and
pushed Richards aside.
Without any scruples, Manning subverts the constitution of T&T and the
PNM, and to pamper his ever burgeoning ego, he willy-nilly disregards
accepted protocol.
The Red House is revered by many as T&Ts historical seat of
government. All the debates of our colonial past, the voices of
Cipriani, Butler, Albert Gomes, the Sinanans and Capildeos, Raymond
Quevedo, Eric Williams - all echoed in its hallowed chamber. Our
independence was ushered in at the Red House in 1962; it witnessed the
lowering of the Union Jack, and the raising of T&Ts flag. It withstood
and survived the violent onslaught on our democracy in 1990, and so
much history dwells within those walls. When unveiling the plaque in
the parliamentary chamber recently to honour her late father, Erica
Williams urged that the Red House remain the seat of our parliament.
Yet without any consultation with the people, or even the parliament
staff, Manning seeks to eject parliament from the Red House to make it
his office, and even to squat cheek and jowl on the steps of the Red
House, encroaching on the sanctity of parliament, and compromising the
separation of legislature and executive.
Under Manning's draft constitution, a constitution with little input
from the people, the people, you and I, will have no voice in electing
the Executive President as in the United States. Instead, the PNM
executive controlled by Manning will choose the Executive President.
If he becomes Executive President, Manning will simply extend his
powers to include those now vested in President Max Richards, and
Richards will disappear. With his handpicked MPs he will have total
control of parliament. He will influence or control the appointment of
every state officer, including members of the judiciary. Many of
Manning's decisions have demonstrated bias, either political, cultural
or racial, and citizens like Marlene Coudray, Fareeza Mohommed and
Devant Maharaj have had to resort to our courts to redress injustices.
The Maha Sabha got their radio licence 5 years late, on the orders of
the Privy Council.

Guyana had Forbes Burnham. Zimbabwe has Robert Mugabe. Will Trinidad
and Tobago vote to preserve its democracy? I urge you all to put
country before party, put country before politics, put Trinidad &
Tobago first.

Michael J Williams

Maracas Valley
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Re: The most important Election in T&T's History
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2007, 08:01:35 PM »
Yeah he put a big ad in d paper he is part of the Collection of old Politicians d COP

« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2007, 10:53:37 PM »

The PNM slate is unrecognizeable...a bunch of no-names.  They only keep something like 7 people.  And the new people come out of nowhere just so. I guess that is what their supporters deserve. 

COP by far have the most impressive slate.  Economists, lawyers...people actively involved in doing work for T&T citizens.  Imagine most of these people start the party when they hadn't a prayer to win.

UNC...well they fire blanks and only name 21 people today.  They also just lose Stephen Cadiz.  That Alliance disappear real fast boy...almost everybody run away from them now.

« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2007, 07:52:52 AM »
Now I don't know this as fact, but I want to know if anyone heard this also.

They are doing away with the Prime Minister status and only have a President and Governer status in Trinidad and Tobago.  This is why Bas told Kams she'll be the President of TnT.  I HEARD THAT.

Next thing I heard also was about the reason Valley get blown out.
2 reasons.

1. The corruption and accusations of being involved in the 110 million dollar shares of HMB with Andre Monteil Treasuer of PNM /Clico Investment bank man.  Not sure if Duprey have anythign to do with this, since Clico is owned by him. Duprey = UNC.
2. Valley wanted some "woman" to be nominated or be screened for the next election and Manning told him NO.  Valley cuss away Manning, and we all know Manning doh forgive easy.

That is what ah heard dis weekend and not from one person....3 to be exact.

* I highlighted and underlined some words bascially to show that Jackass from TO that....steups ya know what, go brave. >:(
« Last Edit: October 08, 2007, 08:02:49 AM by Sumintra »

« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2007, 10:40:16 AM »

I hear the other way around with the woman....I hear is Manning wanted some woman to run somehwhere...I mighta get that twisted though.  Dat eh the real reason though.

I hear the main rift is because Valley opposed to the executive presidency thing Manning want to push through....I think I even remember that being published long time that he wasn't for it.

I eh sure which of them two things result in the cussout but Manning has kicked out his whole cabinet save for 7.

« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2007, 11:01:57 AM »
Well eventually we will find out dey "truth"

Did you hear that the lady taking over Hart's seat is his niece, or very close relative ??
This is why he ain't making much fuss and his supporters in Tunapuna "loving she up"

The thing with the exec presidency....no clue :-\

« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2007, 11:24:42 AM »

How u only now hearing about this.  manning wants to get a constitutional majority so he can change things...replace the PM with an APPOINTED executive president who has a lot more power.

After people make a set of noise he back down and say the country not "mature" enough for that grand idea but he still wants to do it.  U feel that palace get build by vaps.  Unless u saying u didn't know Valley was opposed to manning plans.

If COP gets enough seats to stop that change then I consider it a victory.  But as time draws nearer it seems that the COPs popularity is going beyond everyone's expectations.  A whole lot of diff things contributing to that....they have one of the most impressive slate of candidates (trust + qualifications) I've seen in a long time. 

« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2007, 12:01:59 PM »

How u only now hearing about this.  manning wants to get a constitutional majority so he can change things...replace the PM with an APPOINTED executive president who has a lot more power.

After people make a set of noise he back down and say the country not "mature" enough for that grand idea but he still wants to do it.  U feel that palace get build by vaps.  Unless u saying u didn't know Valley was opposed to manning plans.

If COP gets enough seats to stop that change then I consider it a victory.  But as time draws nearer it seems that the COPs popularity is going beyond everyone's expectations.  A whole lot of diff things contributing to that....they have one of the most impressive slate of candidates (trust + qualifications) I've seen in a long time. 

Well honestly maybe I did hear about this, but didn't take the time to care.
You know I look at the members of COP and all i STILL see are UNC members.  I don't need to call all the names, they are all out for the viewing.

I ain't trust none of them.

« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2007, 12:23:07 PM »
I always wonder about this.

dcs gimme some knowledge here.

Let's say Minister Ken is your representative for your area. Minister Ken working to make the area nice and comfortable to live in - paved roads, transportation, enivormentally friendly, crime rate low. Man with intregity, loyalty and honesty - open door policy.

Minister Ken decides to leave the political party for whatever reason that you voted him in and join a party that is less favorable to you.  Who would you vote for ??? Ken or the party you voted him in ???

Seems like an easy question, but I think this is what is happening in TnT. I am sure people like Kamla have her strong hold voters, but don't like Jack Warner to run the party or same with Valley and Yetming. (examples eh)

So where ever these 3 go, their supporters will followers...would you ???

« Reply #9 on: October 08, 2007, 01:10:58 PM »

It doesn't make sense following them if you believe they will no longer be able to do the same good job under their new party...lets say because of that partys priorities or that they negatively impact constituencies regardless of who is there.

If that is not the case....and say they will in fact be able to do a good job or better with another party....then it is possible people will follow them but the positives of keeping them have to significantly outweigh any perceived negatives of the new party.

I eh too like the set up now where MPs spending most of their time attending to ministries and what not....constituencies being neglected.  I prefer MPs focus on constituency work....appoint professionals as ministers.  Right now we hadda choose an MP and then also keep in mind that person may also end up in charge of a ministry...completely different responsibilites.

« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2007, 01:26:58 PM »

You know I look at the members of COP and all i STILL see are UNC members.  I don't need to call all the names, they are all out for the viewing.

you dont trust none of dem, but u trust manning with executive presidency? ??? >:( schupsssssssssss

God is de BOSS....

You honestly take being ah Jackass to the next highest level
Where did you see in my post to dcs that I said anything about PNM ???

Since you have AH LOT of free time now...why ya doh go study "understanding english"

nah boy >:( not today nuh

« Reply #11 on: October 08, 2007, 01:36:25 PM »

you dont trust none of dem, but u trust manning with executive presidency? ??? >:( schupsssssssssss

God is de BOSS....

Since you have AH LOT of free time now...why ya doh go study "understanding english"

thats strange, the last argument I had with you and tt, you were in full support of the PNM, what happened now? ??? a change of heart, maybe a sudden realization, common sense has finally kicked in?  :rotfl: I understand english very well, it seems you should use your brain more often to remember what you have said in the past, recall memory as they call it....

well since you state, this is not about pnm, lets go over your previous statements in the past and present, you dont trust COP, you dont trust UNC  also bc you said yourself you are not voting for a majority hindu party, so that leaves you with PNM, which you said was doing their job and afforded you many luxuries in the past as you stated to me... so even though you havent mentioned PNM, its obvious who is your clear choice from your comments today and previously, so why yuh hiding the facts? ??? :o

and if im taking garbage, who are you supporting in the coming elections? ???

God is de BOSS....

« Reply #12 on: October 08, 2007, 01:42:30 PM »

God is de BOSS....

thats strange, the last argument I had with you and tt, you were in full support of the PNM, what happened now? ??? a change of heart, maybe a sudden realization, common sense has finally kicked in?  :rotfl: I understand english very well, it seems you should use your brain more often to remember what you have said in the past, recall memory as they call it....

well since you state, this is not about pnm, lets go over your previous statements in the past and present, you dont trust COP, you dont trust UNC  also bc you said yourself you are not voting for a majority hindu party, so that leaves you with PNM, which you said was doing their job and afforded you many luxuries in the past as you stated to me... so even though you havent mentioned PNM, its obvious who is your clear choice from your comments today and previously, so why yuh hiding the facts? ??? :o

God is de BOSS....

you still behaving like a cat ?
I asked you a question...and its simple

WHERE IN MY POST WITH DCS did you see me bring up anyting with PNM

English it may be simple to speak but definitely difficult for you to understand.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2007, 01:44:06 PM by Sumintra »

« Reply #13 on: October 08, 2007, 01:46:01 PM »

God is de BOSS....

English it may be simple to speak but definitely difficult for you to understand.

nowhere, but any intelligent individual who have read what you have written in the past till now, knows where u stand... nice try... now answer my question, who are u voting for since you cant trust COP? ???

« Reply #14 on: October 08, 2007, 02:05:44 PM »

God is de BOSS....

nowhere, but any intelligent individual who have read what you have written in the past till now, knows where u stand... nice try... now answer my question, who are u voting for since you cant trust COP? ???

Exactly no where. I was having a simple discussion with dcs asking him to explain his post about COP.
I made reference to him about when i see COP members I see UNC....no facking where I said anything about PNM.

I know today is Thanksgiving, but for right now it ain't have nothing to be thankful for where you are concerned.

I'll say it to you AGAIN TrinInfinte. I am a supporter of the PNM, NOT necessarily Patrick Manning
Understand that and leave me the fack alone nuh....Since last year I have nothing to say to you....don't facking start me today nuh.

I'll say it again, just incase you didn't get catch on to my ignoring your ass from since last year, leave me the fack alone please.

« Reply #15 on: October 08, 2007, 03:43:35 PM »

God is de BOSS....

Exactly no where. I was having a simple discussion with dcs asking him to explain his post about COP.
I made reference to him about when i see COP members I see UNC....no facking where I said anything about PNM.

I know today is Thanksgiving, but for right now it ain't have nothing to be thankful for where you are concerned.

I'll say it to you AGAIN TrinInfinte. I am a supporter of the PNM, NOT necessarily Patrick Manning
Understand that and leave me the fack alone nuh....Since last year I have nothing to say to you....don't facking start me today nuh.

I'll say it again, just incase you didn't get catch on to my ignoring your ass from since last year, leave me the fack alone please.

thank you :devil: thats all i was asking for... so in otherwards you vote for the party regardless of their leader or their mismanagement of the nation...  :o happy thanksgiving sumintra... God Bless 2 u and your family... hopefully one day you will think objectively and wisely when it comes to T&T politics, i pray for that day for many of the politically impotent...

God is de BOSS....

« Reply #16 on: October 08, 2007, 03:56:34 PM »
wait i HAVE to get meh mauby and popcorn
HOLE orn........please an tanks :devil: :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #17 on: October 08, 2007, 04:18:31 PM »
I know people say doh waste meh time and I should listen.
TrinInfinite my LAST WORDS to you eh....

Pull out ya dictionary, call all those scholars, dey ministers, doctors infact all the important people ya family know, dey people ya rub shoulders with in East Dry River. Even call dey people who deceased long before you were born but yet you know them personally.

CALL everybody so they can explain what I mean by this statement.

KISS MY ASS.....peace out

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #18 on: October 08, 2007, 05:50:46 PM »
Thats why I live in this good United States of America.   :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #19 on: October 08, 2007, 07:17:09 PM »
Thats why I live in this good United States of America.   :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Laugh nuh....ent allyuh have George Bush ?

« Reply #20 on: October 08, 2007, 09:46:16 PM »

Pull out ya dictionary, call all those scholars, dey ministers, doctors infact all the important people ya family know, dey people ya rub shoulders with in East Dry River. Even call dey people who deceased long before you were born but yet you know them personally.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: picong dahling, picong, why de curse words, i pulled out the dictionary and saw your name under jack@$$, donkey and mule, me and my friends were amazed so many animals were associated with you, then we flipped to H and saw your name under Horse(HOSS), Ride out....

God is de BOSS... allyuh remember dat...

« Reply #21 on: October 09, 2007, 12:44:30 AM »
Valley says Manning on road to dictatorship
Trinidad Guardian
Tuesday 9th October, 2007

What Valley says

* Kenneth Valley alleges that PNM political leader PM Patrick Manning is demonstrating a “dictatorial attitude.”
    * He speaks of guarding against Manning getting a special majority “that will allow for the executive presidency through the back door.”
    * He promises to help Dr Amery Browne win the Diego Martin Central seat

BY GAIL ALEXANDER

Outgoing People’s National Movement (PNM) Diego Martin Central MP Kenneth Valley is concerned that the political leader of his party, Patrick Manning, is demonstrating a “dictatorial attitude.”

In his first candid interview since his rejection and the PNM’s central executive approved Manning’s recommendation of Dr Amery Browne as the candidate for Diego Martin Central, Valley said he had no row with Manning, and did not know what had caused the situation.

He said he had not discussed it with Manning beyond the initial issue of the PNM’s Bill Johnson performance poll. Valley said:

“I paid no mind to such polls. Mr Manning knows my capacity for work at the constituency level and the national level. So there was no deep discussion on the issue.

“He wanted to offer alternatives, and I said I would not negotiate for my seat—I would be an MP or out of office. And that was the last of it.”

Asked to explain his statement about forces binding together, Valley replied:

“I said that everyone has an obligation to be guided by one’s conscience, and if you see what is happening and you have an interest in the country in doing what you think is right, then you have a duty to take a stand.

“I am saying that if you perceive action that is dictatorial, and if you think that someone is hoping to be executive president, you have to ask if you want a constitutional dictator and you have to make that decision.

“Everyone has to decide. Therefore, I’m saying that persons with good principles ought to do what is required in the situation to deal with it.”

Asked if he was referring to Manning’s proposals for an executive president, Valley replied:

“You can draw your own conclusions.” He added:

“The PNM has been, or is, an excellent party. It has done much good for T&T, and if I could make a distinction between the PNM and the current political leader, I would have.

“While I support the PNM to win elections, we need to guard against a special majority that will allow for the executive presidency through the back door.”

Valley recalled that when he resigned as deputy leader in 1998—when he had a disagreement with Manning—he had said then that he would not work with someone who demonstrated a dictatorial atitude.

“After a five-hour meeting then, I thought we had agreed on a course of action. But now it is glaring that the gentleman is going down that road and I am seeing clearly, now, his intent.

“When you consider that it is the political leader alone who determines the 41candidates, and when you consider that as Prime Minister he will make the 16 senatorial appointments in a government; couple that with if he gets 32 seats he will go for an executive presidency...Understand what that means!

“That is my concern. There are some who would say it is a case of sour grapes. I could have done like others and shut my mouth and be a senator or an ambassador, since alternatives to being an MP were offered.

“But this is a fundamental principle, and while I say I love my party and I am loyal to the PNM, I love my country more.”

Smear campaign

Valley said he had nothing personal against Manning, “but he has taken certain actions which show certain traits that are not in the best interest of my country.

“I have taken a position that while in some ways he has done extremely well for T&T, I think he has demonstrated that his actions are clearly not in the best interests of T&T.

“Without his approval, none of the 41 candidates would have gotten their seats. It didn’t seem to matter what the party groups or constituencies wanted.”

Asked if Manning’s action was high-handed, Valley continued:

“You have to draw your own conclusions. I was unopposed at the constituency level. I got the support of the executive and the majority of the members of the screening committee.

“It was the political leader, using his veto power, that opposed me and that stopped me from representing my constituency.

“The letter of the law gives him that veto power. But whether it was in keeping with the spirit of the law and the PNM constitution and whether it respected the democracy the party is known for, is another thing.”

Valley said after he presented his case to PNM’s central executive last Friday, he asked the members to make a decision on the type of party they wanted.

He admitted that he was surprised that the central executive decided in favour of the political leader’s recommendations instead of his.

“But one can understand it, since I understand that the political leader had told them ‘if we backed down on the issue’ he ‘could as well go home.'”

Valley dismissed allegations that a $2-million gambling debt which he incurred had to be paid by a contracting company.

“That’s a smear campaign that comes out of the woodwork in times like this. It is an evil part of the party I’d like to see exterminated, but until that time we’ll have to live with it.

“They can’t understand when an individual stands on principle.

“The PNM, for me, is still the best party in T&T. We’ve done very well in 50 years. From time to time we’ve had individuals that have tried to subvert the party’s good intentions.

“Dr (Eric) Williams faced a similar situation in 1976, but his actions were quite different.”

Valley said he would remain with the PNM.

“I hope to bring closure to this. I have done what I feel I had an obligation to do...bring it to the national community and let the people make their own decision.

“There’s nothing more for me to do on this issue at this time.”

And the public won’t see Valley on a COP or UNC platform for this election campaign, he assured.

Valley to help Browne win seat

Valley made it clear he had no intention of leaving the PNM and that he intended to assist PNM Diego Martin Central candidate Dr Amery Browne to keep the seat in the PNM.

Valley said Browne had been seeking a meeting with him and that he agreed to meet with him tomorrow to help him win the seat.

“I intend to assist Dr Browne with the campaign and as of November 5, I become citizen Ken.

“I’ll do my bit to ensure that the legacy I worked hard for in Diego Martin Central will not be destroyed. I’ve done soul- searching...I’ve worked hard in my seat for 17 years and we have unfinished business.

“Dr Browne has done me nothing. I have no fight with him. Therefore, I’ll provide him with the support to keep the seat in the loving hands of the PNM.

“After 17 years, I have to take care of the people I represented. They have nothing to do with my feelings or the principled stand I feel I must take with respect to the actions of the political leader.”

Valley said he’d met key members of his executive yesterday, and asked everyone to pull together.

Asked about plans for his future—political or otherwise—Valley said he would be 60 on February 8th.

“While I thought I would have served another five years, they have now given me five years to pursue a new career—whatever that will be.”

As for his tenure as deputy leader, Valley said the political leader could terminate that appointment at any time.

After yesterday, he said, he was finished saying any more on the issue.

(See Page 9)
©2005-2006 Trinidad Publishing Company Limited

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #22 on: October 09, 2007, 06:01:56 AM »

Laugh nuh....ent allyuh have George Bush ?

Yes I have Mr. Bush t deal with, but I also doh have to deal with the shit back in trinidad.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #23 on: October 09, 2007, 07:12:23 AM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: picong dahling, picong, why de curse words, i pulled out the dictionary and saw your name under jack@$$, donkey and mule, me and my friends were amazed so many animals were associated with you, then we flipped to H and saw your name under Horse(HOSS), Ride out....

God is de BOSS... allyuh remember dat...

Wait nuh so you actually did pull out ah dictionary ??? So I was right den, you can speak English but don't comprehen it ??? Show ya true colours boy....

Face it you still ah jackas....ah self proclaimed Jackass...

Nuff wid you...

« Last Edit: October 09, 2007, 07:17:37 AM by Sumintra »

« Reply #24 on: October 09, 2007, 12:49:40 PM »

Valley hear yuh didn't know bout mannings executive president plans so he send a press release for u.  This is the Deputy Political Leader speaking eh.

« Reply #25 on: October 09, 2007, 01:43:07 PM »

Valley hear yuh didn't know bout mannings executive president plans so he send a press release for u.  This is the Deputy Political Leader speaking eh.

If is me you talking too, yeah I saw the online newspaper this morning, remembered you and started to laugh.

So, since i'm more knowledgeable about the situation, you can continue from where you left off.

ah hearing ya :beermug:

Back to Front
« Reply #26 on: February 11, 2008, 10:16:13 AM »

Manning faces June election

Monday, February 11 2008
Trinidad & Tobago Newsday

PRIME MINISTER Patrick Manning’s five-year term as People’s National Movement (PNM) Political Leader ends this year and his post will be up for grabs when the ruling party holds its annual convention on June 7 and 8.

This was disclosed by party vice-chairman John Donaldson who said all elections will be held for all party executive posts in June and the PNM will soon launch its preparations for this year’s Local Government Election which is constitutionally due in July.

Donaldson told Newsday that according to Article 18 (1) of the PNM’s constitution, elections are held for the posts of political leader, chairman, vice-chairman and general secretary every five years. The last time an election for these posts took place was in 2003 and Donaldson explained that this year is the end of the five-year period which the holders of these posts can remain in office. Manning, former Works Minister Franklyn Khan, Donaldson and National Security Minister Martin Joseph were elected as political leader, chairman, vice-chairman and general secretary respectively in 2003. However Khan resigned as PNM chairman on December 10, 2005 after he was slapped with six charges of misconduct in public office arising out of allegations made by PNM councillor Dhansam Dhansook. Khan’s matter is still before the court. Sources yesterday said Manning and Joseph will be re-elected unopposed to their respective posts. Diego Martin West MP Dr Keith Rowley unsuccessfully challenged Manning for the PNM political leader post after the 1995 General Election.

There are questions about whether a chairman would be elected in June to fill the void left by Khan’s resignation. Asked whether the PNM not having a chairman for the last three years was normal, Donaldson said there was nothing usual about this situation, he had no idea who could be in the running for PNM chairman and the persons to occupy these four posts are elected by the convention’s delegates.

Sources claimed if Donaldson is not promoted to chairman, another senior and experienced party member would be needed to serve as chairman. This person could come from the ranks of current PNM parliamentarians in the House of Representatives and the Senate.

Former chairman, Minister in the Office of the PM, Dr Lenny Saith yesterday said he was not interested in being PNM chairman again because it was a demanding job and he was not sure he had the energy to do it again. Saith expressed confidence that there were other qualified persons in the party who could serve as chairman. Reiterating that the four party deputy leader posts (party and election, legislative, policy and Tobago) will also be up for election in June, Donaldson stressed that only Manning can announce who these persons are under Article 18 (2) of the PNM constitution and anything attributed to unnamed sources must be rejected.

Recent reports claimed that Government Ministers Conrad Enill and Jerry Narace might fill two of the deputy leader posts but Manning has said nothing about this to date. Former Trade Minister Ken Valley (legislative), former Culture Minister Joan Yuille-Williams (party and election), Nafeesa Mohammed (policy) and Tobago House of Assembly Chief Secretary Orville London (Tobago) are the current PNM deputy leaders.

« Reply #27 on: August 24, 2015, 09:38:17 PM »
The more things change the more they - this will be the other of elections