April 27, 2024, 01:57:07 PM

Author Topic: Funny Names of Players  (Read 30958 times)

Offline redgie

Funny Names of Players
« on: October 09, 2007, 09:49:23 AM »
Ok, been emailed this list by a mate, all funny names of footballers over the years. I like the sound of some of them... Johnny Moustache who played for Seychelles and Wolfgang Wolf who was boss of German club Wolfsburg!

List is at...
http://www.midfielddynamo.com/players/players_bestnames.htm

Anyone know any other funny ones ?

Re: Funny Names of Players
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2007, 09:57:02 AM »
It had a Korean in either 1994 or 2002 World Cup who name was pronounced Shit Hound. That real funny...

« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2007, 10:22:04 AM »
Dusan Djokic

I still laugh anytime I hear them pronounce it like Francesco Totee.

« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2007, 10:39:39 AM »
Danny Shittu

« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2007, 10:51:14 AM »
Danny Shittu

Doh forget his Watford teammate... Mart Poom  :devil:
« Last Edit: October 09, 2007, 10:52:59 AM by FireBrand »

« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2007, 11:02:38 AM »
Dusan Djokic

I still laugh anytime I hear them pronounce it like Francesco Totee.

Toto Schillacci...

« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2007, 11:19:16 AM »
there was a reel reel reel dark rasta who used to play in d mls i dont kno if he still there...dis man reel reel reel oh gorm reel dark

surname was Brilliant

i dunno if das he reel name or ah nickname dey giv him...if is ah nickname den da rel harsh boy

anodda one is bernte haas

Offline gothic

« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2007, 11:32:14 AM »
Ars Bandeet had me rolling  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

'Argelico f**ks' and the story were especially funny also

« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2007, 11:34:27 AM »
South Korea had a baller in the 90s called Sun Kil Moon

« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2007, 11:45:40 AM »
Nani

Offline kingdavid

« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2007, 12:19:33 PM »
i hear nani first name is poo
lol :rotfl:

Offline football prof

« Reply #11 on: October 09, 2007, 12:25:13 PM »
How about Dean Windass. How did he go to to school with a last name like that.

« Reply #12 on: October 09, 2007, 01:03:38 PM »
Leslie Fitz- Patrick.....say it slowly and you go see whay he does say "tiger" before fitz.

« Reply #13 on: October 09, 2007, 01:34:27 PM »
Kaka....

Doh understand how a Latin American could be named that, cause dey does be cussing each odder and calling each odder caca and peepee all de time.

« Reply #14 on: October 09, 2007, 02:10:13 PM »
Leslie Fitz- Patrick.....say it slowly and you go see whay he does say "tiger" before fitz.

And there I thought it had something to do with Leslie Tiger Stewart...

« Reply #15 on: October 09, 2007, 02:11:16 PM »
Kaka....

Doh understand how a Latin American could be named that, cause dey does be cussing each odder and calling each odder caca and peepee all de time.
He's not Latin American though...

« Reply #16 on: October 09, 2007, 02:18:51 PM »
Ibrahim Ba

« Reply #17 on: October 09, 2007, 02:35:28 PM »
Kaka....

Expand on that one.

Anyhow- Kaka's real name is Ricardo..and his younger brother couldn't say it right as a kid, and used to call him "KAKA" - That's the story I've been given.

« Reply #18 on: October 09, 2007, 02:37:58 PM »
Razvan Rat (Shaktar Donetsk)

« Reply #19 on: October 09, 2007, 02:46:12 PM »
Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink...

just funny to see it written out in full on the back of a jersey..

« Reply #20 on: October 09, 2007, 02:48:23 PM »
Ars Bandeet had me rolling  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

'Argelico f**ks' and the story were especially funny also

Brazilian who carved out a half-decent career for himself as a central defender, but who is always going to be best remembered as the source of one of football's greatest football headlines: "f**ks off to Benfica", Eurosport's famous description of his transfer from Palmeiras to Benfica. To see the headline, click here.

« Reply #21 on: October 09, 2007, 03:04:01 PM »
Casagrande - towering Brazilian striker whose physique funnily enough matched his last name

Wagner Love

Guglielminpietro - Argentine who played for both AC Milan and Inter - was thankfully just known as Guly

« Reply #22 on: October 09, 2007, 03:04:47 PM »
kerimoglu tugay and dudu

« Reply #23 on: October 09, 2007, 03:08:22 PM »
Danny Higginbottom

Dudu

Julian Dicks

Blessing Kakou

Vincent Kompany

Peter Crouch (just for the sake of it)

« Reply #24 on: October 09, 2007, 03:15:19 PM »
Kaka....

Expand on that one.

Anyhow- Kaka's real name is Ricardo..and his younger brother couldn't say it right as a kid, and used to call him "KAKA" - That's the story I've been given.

Gawd...now yuh wah mih sidetrack de thread...the difference between Latinos and the Portuguese descendants is infinitissimal, so I go leave it alone.  He could pass fuh Latino so dat good enough  ;D

« Reply #25 on: October 09, 2007, 03:41:05 PM »
Ferenc Puskas

« Reply #26 on: October 09, 2007, 04:07:46 PM »
Kaka....

Expand on that one.

Gawd...now yuh wah mih sidetrack de thread...the difference between Latinos and the Portuguese descendants is infinitissimal, so I go leave it alone.  He could pass fuh Latino so dat good enough  ;D

Hoss. Ah spend 2 years in a palce call the institut of higher latin american studies. Chalk it up to ignorance if you will, but if you decide to exclude their brasilian studies you will have them in a fit...

Latin America (Portuguese and Spanish América Latina, French: Amérique Latine) is the region of the Americas where Romance languages, those derived from Latin (particularly Spanish and Portuguese), are primarily spoken. Latin America is contrasted with the lesser known term Anglo-America, that region of the Americas where English predominates.

There are several definitions of Latin America, none of them perfect or necessarily logically consistent:

* In most common contemporary usage, Latin America refers only to those territories in the Americas where Spanish or Portuguese prevail: Mexico, most of Central and South America, plus Cuba, the Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico in the Caribbean.
    * Strictly and technically speaking, Latin America designates all those countries and territories in the Americas where Romance languages (i.e. languages derived from Latin, and hence the name of Latin America) are spoken: Spanish, Portuguese, and their creoles. Indeed, this was the original intent when the term was coined by the French. This would then include former French colonies such as Quebec in Canada, Haiti, Martinique and Guadeloupe in the Caribbean, and French Guiana in South America.
    * The former Dutch colonies Suriname, the Netherlands Antilles, and Aruba are not usually considered part of Latin America, even though in the latter two, the predominantly Iberian-influenced language Papiamento is spoken by the majority of the population.
    * Sometimes, particularly in the United States, the term Latin America is used to refer to all of the Americas south of the U.S., including countries such as Belize, Jamaica, Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, and Suriname where non-Romance languages prevail.
    * Indeed, in historical terms, Latin America could be defined as all those parts of the Americas that were once part of the Spanish or Portuguese (and arguably also French) Empires. Hence much of the US Southwest plus Florida (and also French Louisiana) would be covered by this definition.
    * Finally, it's worth noting that the distinction between Latin and Anglo America, and more generally the stress on European heritage, passes over the fact that there are many places in the Americas (e.g. highland Peru or Guatemala) where non-European cultures and languages are still important, as well as the influence of African cultures in other areas (e.g. the Caribbean, including parts of Colombia and Venezuela, and coastal Brazil)

Anyway, back on topic

IS more of a family joke, but who never ever catch kicks of Dejan Savicevic and Stankovich in WC 98 ?
And Man U fan or not. Nicky Butt, people ?

« Reply #27 on: October 09, 2007, 04:12:16 PM »
Papa Bouba Diop and he brother Papa Malick 

Morvant whey yuh dey ? ;D

« Reply #28 on: October 09, 2007, 04:17:23 PM »
Lord ah on a roll now, yuh have to forgive me. Dread if you read this I promise that ih you ever put on a TNT shirt and put down a boss performance I will be the one making the most noise for you, but for now ah can't help it.

Anyhow, your skin probably real thick by now...

Oral Bullen

« Reply #29 on: October 09, 2007, 04:19:26 PM »
Lord ah on a roll now, yuh have to forgive me. Dread if you read this I promise that ih you ever put on a TNT shirt and put down a boss performance I will be the one making the most noise for you, but for now ah can't help it.

Anyhow, your skin probably real thick by now...

Oral Bullen

:rotfl: :rotfl: Allyuh real bad. Ent he have twin brother?