April 24, 2024, 07:25:23 AM

Author Topic: COP standing firm for T&T Elections  (Read 9096 times)

COP standing firm for T&T Elections
« on: October 10, 2007, 10:14:37 AM »
Mr. WINSTON DOOKERAN POLITICAL LEADER
ST AUGUSTINE
Mr. ANAND RAMLOGAN
TABAQUITE
Mr. Arthur Joseph Winston Augustine
Laventille West
CAPTAIN GARY GRIFFITH
ST. ANN’S EAST
Ms. CAROL CUFFY DOWLAT
OROPOUCHE EAST
Mrs. CAROLYN SEEPERSAD-BACHAN
POINT-A-PIERRE    
Mr. CLYDE WEATHERHEAD
TUNAPUNA
Mr. DANIEL SOLOMON
PORT OF SPAIN NORTH    
Mr. DESMOND LAMBERT
PRINCES TOWN SOUTH TABLELAND
Mr. DEVANT MAHARAJ
COUVA SOUTH    
Dr. Sharon-Ann Gopaul Mc Nicol
PORT OF SPAIN SOUTH
Mr. GANGA SINGH
CARONI EAST    
Mr. GILBERT AGARD
LA BREA
Mr. GILLIAN CINTRA INDIRA LUCKY
ST. JOSEPH    
Ms. HULSIE BHAGAN
COUVA NORTH
Mr. JAMAL SHAMSHUDDIN MOHAMMED
BARATARIA / SAN JUAN    
Ms. KATHY-ANN JONES
AROUCA/MALONEY
Mr. KEVIN RATIRAM
OROPOUCHE WEST    
Ms. LATOYA CALLENDER
LAVENTIIIE EAST
Dr. LENA BRERETON-WOLFFE
TOCO/SANGRE GRANDE    
Mr. MAHENDRANATH DHANIRAM
FYZABAD
Mr. MANOHAR RAMSARAN
CHAGUANAS WEST    
Ms. MARLENE COUDRAY
SAN FERNANDO WEST
Dr. NAVI S. MURADALI
PRINCES TOWN NORTH    
Mrs. NICOLE SIMON DYER
DIEGO MARTIN CENTRAL
Mr. NIRAD TEWARIE
CHAGUANAS EAST    
Mr. PRAKASH RAMADHAR
CARONI CENTRAL
Mr. RABINDRA MOONAN
MAYARO    
Mrs. REKHA RAMJIT
NAPARIMA
Mr. ROCKY GARCIA
DIEGO MARTIN WEST
Mr. RODGER DOMINIC SAMUEL
ARIMA
Mr. SELBY WILSON
POINT FORTIN    
Mrs. WENDY LEE YUEN
MANZANILLA
Mr. JOE PIRES
DIEGO MARTIN NORTH EAST
Mr. GOVINDRA ROOPNARINE
SIPARIA
Mr. SHERWIN ALLEYNE
D’ABADIE / OMERA    
Mr. JEROME CHAITAN
LOPINTO/BON AIR
Mr. DELON HAYNES
LA HORQUETTA/TALPARO    

THE NATIONAL EXECUTIVE

Political Leader - Winston Dookeran

Deputy Political Leader - Wendy Lue Yuen

Deputy Political Leader - Rawatee Sharma-Maharaj

Deputy Political Leader - Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan

Chairman - Roy Augustus

Deputy Chairman - Hulsie Bhaggan

General Secretary - Kama Maharaj

Secretary, Finance - Dr Anirudh Mahabir

Secretary, Field Operations, Membership & Mobilization - Kenny Lue Chee Lip

Secretary, Education & Research - Clyde Weatherhead

Secretary, Public Relations - Nicole Dyer

Secretary, Communications - Paula Morgan

Secretary, Elections & Voter Registration - Dr Navi Muradali

Chairperson, Youth Congress - Valini Pundit

Chairperson, Women’s Forum - Indra Narinesingh

North Regional Representatives - Joe Pires, Jamal Mohammed, Karen Bart-Alexander

Central Regional Representatives - Manohar Ramsaran, Nancy Baksh

South Regional Representatives - Govindra Roopnarine, Dindial Maharaj, Gabriela Reyes

Tobago Regional Representatives - Hewlett Waldron

Party Administrator - Hayden Kublalsingh

PARLIAMENTARY CAUCUS

MP, Caroni East (Chair) - Honourable Ganga Singh

MP, St Augustine - Honourable Winston Dookeran

MP, St Joseph - Honourable Gerald Yetming

MP, Chaguanas - Honourable Manohar Ramsaran

MP, Pointe-a-Pierre - Honourable Gillian Lucky

COP has the most qualified slate....most diverse.
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2007, 10:19:24 AM »

Time to talk about the new team and what they bring to the table.  Some names you will recognize others are making names for themselves now as the younger generation.

COP biggest support comes from the youths.....the group most likely to evaluate on substance and not previous allegiance.

People should take the time to look at the candidates and learn about them....not just sweep all politicans with the same brush. 

Re: COP standing firm for T&T Elections
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2007, 10:36:05 AM »
so now that I see some names...correct mih il bit

Nicole Dyer is the ex beauty queen right?

Joe Pires is ah ole PNM man?

and Gary Griffith claim to fame was ressin some iron on panday daughter.......ah think he went fatima too ent?

de one dat ketch mih is rocky garcia...if dais de same fellah and ah doubt it have two man wit dat name.., he is the epitome of the stereotypical wyle white boy.....lawd dat boy 4kin WYLE no ass....I surprised he eh bun dong cop headquarters by accident yet
Then again....de man must be grow up and become an outstandng citizen if he runnin  :praying:

Either way I hope these COP folks get some seats and put some fear into UNC/PNM dinosaurs that taking the populace for granted for so long.....we need some new blood in parliament long damn time

I did always like Yetming...ah man of principles

The trick is to monitor how any of these cop ppl will perform once they become empowered politicians

by de way....anybody else think the title of this thread could be the title of a local blues just by changing a couple letters??
 is just me then?...ok tanks
« Last Edit: October 10, 2007, 10:44:44 AM by Dutty »

« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2007, 10:39:23 AM »
DCS, Thanks for that, but do you have any linlks that will give unequivocal information about the COP.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2007, 11:00:57 AM »

COP looking good i must say..nice mixture.
Yetming ent contesting ah seat also?

ah know Ratiram from Naps days..Lawd that fella could talk  ;D

he was into the drama/arts thing..i think he has the potential to be just as good as Ralph Maraj

« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2007, 11:10:04 AM »
DCS, Thanks for that, but do you have any linlks that will give unequivocal information about the COP.

Pictures and Bios: see here http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=31391.msg361006#msg361006

« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2007, 11:14:12 AM »

Pictures and Bios: see here http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=31391.msg361006#msg361006

Diego Martin West= Rocky vs Rowley  ;D

ok,ok that was cheezy but ah coudnt resist

« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2007, 11:52:46 AM »
Thanks E-Man
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2007, 12:05:27 PM »
dcs

All d best brudder all yuh go need it. I feel all yuh eh wining a seat I would like to b proven wrong but the UNC cult members will give alll yiuh some good pressure in them traditional seats and I eh feel all yuh make any real head way in d PNM areas.

I eh votin as I say but Dooks in my book should ah neva align he self with dem crooks in 2002 so dat is why I eh happy with he and Ganga nad co who knew d tiefin was goin on and did nutten

Gook luck all yuh go need it

« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2007, 12:11:29 PM »
dcs

All d best brudder all yuh go need it. I feel all yuh eh wining a seat I would like to b proven wrong but the UNC cult members will give alll yiuh some good pressure in them traditional seats and I eh feel all yuh make any real head way in d PNM areas.

I eh votin as I say but Dooks in my book should ah neva align he self with dem crooks in 2002 so dat is why I eh happy with he and Ganga nad co who knew d tiefin was goin on and did nutten

Gook luck all yuh go need it

girl you feel so ?
me ain't home to vote, so me really ain't care who win
but COP go give UNC and PNM ah run for dey money and seat.

Dis is ah strangely interesting elections. As ah said in another thread, long time you could have known who winning a seat just by the previous elections and who they running against. Now, eh eh. No seat safe, well expect Penny for Arima, Bas for Central and Winston for St Augustine.

my opinion :beermug:

« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2007, 12:28:53 PM »

Yetming must be either running in Tobago or Sando East.  Cuz he was most prominent at their rally.

COP has the balls to stand firm

« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2007, 01:47:19 PM »
ya give meh ah idea...ah coming back :devil:

« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2007, 02:21:07 PM »

umm UNC...lemme tink :-\

« Reply #13 on: October 10, 2007, 03:54:45 PM »

ahahahaha
remember George Chambers/

NOT A DAMN SEAT FOR DEM!

« Reply #14 on: October 10, 2007, 04:38:26 PM »
COP giving PNM a run. All i want is a PNM victory with bout 24 seats......and COP opposition..so no constitutional majority.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #15 on: October 10, 2007, 06:28:36 PM »
look for nuff COP to lose their deposits!

Believe that!  I cyar say ah totally dislike de COP, if they win I eh go feel no pain, but I eh feel dey have ah clue!

And as for de Madness called YOU ENT SEE!   Power hungry corrupt fools.  Dey have real talent, but it is clouded and shrouded in corruption!

« Reply #16 on: October 10, 2007, 10:04:15 PM »
True Trini Chambers prophetic words in 81 is very applicable not a seat COP eh serious yuh hot canditate Sharon Gopaul- Nicholas yuh sent in POS South the seat of Eric Eustace Williams and Eric Williams dey cyah b serious.

I will b first to say i was wrong but as I see it not 1 seat including Dooks

« Reply #17 on: October 11, 2007, 11:28:03 PM »

Time to talk about the new team and what they bring to the table.  Some names you will recognize others are making names for themselves now as the younger generation.

COP biggest support comes from the youths.....the group most likely to evaluate on substance and not previous allegiance.

People should take the time to look at the candidates and learn about them....not just sweep all politicans with the same brush. 

I find dahs yuh road march dese days...especially since i bring up my issues with sadiq and ganga and devenath. So let me open up a question to you and all the other posters on this site....if by some fluke......the PNM ends up with say 19....COP ends up with 12......and UNC ends up with 10....who would you say is the best "alliance" to command the majority? Cause from the tone of mr. Dookeran.........if such a suituation arises.....he would choose the UNC...which to me speaks volumes. Me eh painting them with the same brush....cuz as it is...COP and UNC is de same tin of paint.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #18 on: October 12, 2007, 05:37:30 AM »
Imagine Devant Maharaj could be a Member of Parliament.

« Reply #19 on: October 12, 2007, 10:42:20 AM »
I don't know much about Devant other than he made a stupid comment.  Not enough to sway the choice of a party on one man.  Hell it have people in the other partys I more fraid they end up being PM or exec Prez.  I seriously doubt people genuinely afraid of him being elected...maybe some but I follow that story and he ain't the first politician to talk nonsense.  Honestly I don't think he meant it in the way people take it but that is just me....people free to believe what they want.

Don't have a problem with Baksh.  Never found out who plant the stuff but to believe Baksh would get involved with such petty dealings is beyond ridiculous.

And for hypothetical situation with the seats.  Don't see anything wrong with COP joining with UNC as long as is Dookeran taking the PM and no nonsense with who is President.  Both COP and UNC running on getting Manning out of power so is not like their supporters would be surprised.  I would be fine if they also decide to remain in opposition but UNC will do anything to avoid that and would bend to whatever Dooks want.  Good thing is he has been sticking to his guns about no collaboration before the election.  Whatever come after they will likely decide with what their supporters want.
If it is COP have less than UNC....I would prefer Dooks blank them like now unless is the same situation where they making him PM.  Wudn't be surprised if Dooks blank them outright regardless of which of those situations arise and that is fine by me.

« Reply #20 on: October 15, 2007, 11:16:35 PM »
dcs all yuh is really d Collection of Old Politicians. Merv d swerve. Mr thousand and thousand tourist 4 Ms. Universe goin up against Manning come on nah man.

NECK & NECK
« Reply #21 on: October 17, 2007, 08:39:06 PM »
Now ah doh really believe in political surveys. but ah found this one interesting. I highlighted some of what these people want us to believe. Yeah it colourful....so wha.

Btw other dan Janet husband, who is Selwyn Ryan again please??  All i remembered is him being a lecturer at Uwee, after dat ah blank.

PNM 34%; COP 30%; UNC Alliance 5%

Trinidad Express
by Selwyn Ryan
Wednesday, October 17th 2007
PART I

Results of a political opinion survey conducted by Selwyn Ryan and Associates over the period September 29 to October 6, 2007 indicate that the People's National Movement (PNM) and Congress of the People (COP) are locked in an electoral battle that is extremely close, with the PNM being only marginally ahead of the new challenger.

When voters were asked which party they preferred to have govern the country over the next five years, the PNM was preferred by 34 per cent, the COP by 30 per cent, the UNC Alliance by five per cent, an alliance or merger of COP and the UNC by 26 per cent, and None of the Above by four per cent. The percentages for both COP and the UNC would of course increase now that merger talks have collapsed.

When asked the more direct (but less productive) question, which party are you likely to vote for, 32 per cent said they would vote for the PNM, 28 per cent said COP, five per cent said the UNC Alliance, while three per cent said they would vote for a merger of COP and the UNC Alliance. Twelve per cent said they were uncertain as to what they would do eventually, 19 per cent refused to say, and two per cent said they would support "none of the above". Again, we assume that the percentages for both COP and the UNC would increase somewhat now that unity talks have collapsed. Given the margin of error (±3 per cent) associated with a sample this size (1244), one would have to declare that we seem to have a statistical dead heat.

The COP draws 48 per cent of its support from Indo-Trinidadians, 24 per cent from mixed elements, and 12 per cent from Afro-Trinidadians. The PNM, for its part, draws 52 per cent of its support from Afro-Trinidadians, 35 per cent from the mixed group, and ten per cent from Indo-Trinidadians.

Indo-Trinidadians are more definite about their voting intentions than are Afro Trinidadians. Seventy-five percent of them say they are definitely voting compared to 63 per cent of the Afros and 68 per cent of the Mixed group. Twelve per cent of the Afros say that are definitely not voting at all compared to only six per cent of the Indo-Trinidadians. These figures are statistically significant and could give the COP an edge.

Many young Afro-Trinidadians claim that CEPEP, URP and GATE notwithstanding, the PNM has done nothing for them.  Free education from since ya born till ya reach adult not good enough? If ya didn't do well academically, and it have trade schools and Sevol ? So much damn buildings go up in the air, ah sure your skills would make ah big impact in your life. ent??  Ah wish ah had free education yes....

The data reveal that there was a great deal of volatility, confusion and indecision among voters, particularly those who were cross-pressured between the UNC and COP. When asked what they would do if the UNC Alliance and the COP were to come together, only ten per cent said they would vote for the unity product, while 18 per cent said they would not. Many others say they would vote for the PNM (28 per cent); five per cent said they would not vote at all. Eighteen per cent did not know what they would do, while 21 per cent refused to say.

When ethnicity was factored into the analysis, we find a quarter of the Indo-Trinidadians (24 per cent) saying they would vote for the unity arrangement while one-fifth (19 per cent) would not vote. Ten (10) percent said they would vote PNM while another five per cent would abstain altogether. The others did not know what they would do or refused to say.

Interestingly, 38 per cent felt that a coalition or merger would defeat the PNM, but a third, 33 per cent felt that it would not. Twenty-five per cent were uncertain, and four per cent refused to say.    This is why Jack Warner want this merger bad

Pollsters, pundits and party stalwarts have been speculating as to what these trends portend in terms of outcomes in November 5. Some see a COP victory while others see a PNM clean sweep. Given the recent UNC surge, however, it may well be that all three parties will secure some seats, and that no party will obtain enough of them to form a government on its own without the cooperation of some other party. All three scenarios now seem possible. And the fun will then begin.

Pollsters, like weather forecasters and doctors, make genuine diagnostic errors. The public should, however, be beware of pollsters who hide bad news or

who use data in a partisan manner to game the election. We must always remember that polls do not predict elections, pollsters do. As in any profession, there are honest ones and very dishonest ones.

The Manning Factor

There clearly is a "Manning Factor" in this election. Unlike Mr Dookeran, who is a "Mr Nice Guy", Mr Manning is a man who polarises people and opinion. You either like him a lot or you don't. You either endorse his vision of himself and the society, or you don't. You either accept his definition of himself and his government as not merely being "good", but as "righteous" and God-ordained, or you are derisive about it. You either admire his political bravery or brashness, his self-confidence or his arrogance and his stubbornness, or you wonder whether his head is properly screwed on. Some insist he is "foolish" or a Mugabe-like dictator in the makings.

In order to find out how people react to the Manning personality, respondents were asked to indicate how they felt, deep down, about Mr Manning. On the positive side were four options, competent, caring, visionary and God-chosen. On the negative side there were five options, fool, poor as a leader, power hungry, stubborn, and mentally unbalanced. Respondents were given two choices. In their first choice 16 per cent of the sample deemed him "competent", eight per cent "caring", ten per cent saw him as being "visionary", and two per cent considered him "God-chosen". The aggregate of these positive depictions was 36 per cent.

On the other face of the coin, eight per cent saw him as being "power-hungry", 15 per cent as being "stubborn", 11 per cent "foolish", four per cent "mentally unbalanced", and 15 per cent a "poor leader". The cumulative percentage on the negative side was 55 per cent. Twelve per cent avoided giving an answer.

When the two choices were taken together, the pattern was as follows: "competent", 11 per cent, "visionary as leader", 11 per cent, "caring", eight per cent, and "God chosen", three per cent. The positive aggregate was 33 per cent. On the negative side, the pattern was as follows: "power-hungry", 11 per cent, "stubborn", 14 per cent, "poor leader", 12 per cent, "foolish leader", seven per cent, "mentally unbalanced", four per cent. The aggregate was 48 per cent. What all of this means is that more persons had unfavourable perceptions of Mr Manning as leader, notwithstanding his own view that he was "too clean" and "too nice". One also notes that being stubborn could cut both ways. Many who dislike Mr Manning express admiration for the fact that he persists in doing things that cost him public approval if he believes that he is doing the right thing.

Not surprisingly, attitudes to Manning varied by ethnic and party affiliation. Indians were more allergic to him than were favourably disposed. Using first choice only, the aggregate positives totaled 50 per cent, while the aggregate negatives totalled 37 per cent. This may be a factor which affects the choices people will make on election day when brutal choices have to be made, and the "winner takes all".

Tomorrow:

How voters feel about the government's performance on managing the economy, crime, the CJ affair, smelters, food prices and the executive presidency.

« Last Edit: October 17, 2007, 08:42:47 PM by Sumintra »

« Reply #22 on: October 18, 2007, 06:53:08 AM »
According to ah phone in and online poll conducted by I95.5 fm......people eh taking dat poll seriously.....

« Reply #23 on: October 18, 2007, 07:15:37 AM »
Btw other dan Janet husband, who is Selwyn Ryan again please??  All i remembered is him being a lecturer at Uwee, after dat ah blank.

Strange. I don't even know who Janet is.
He is now professor emiritus at UWI. Has written some of the better analysis of Trinidad's pre and post independence political and social  history, if you're interested in that sort of thing:

Bibliography
Race and Nationalism in Trinidad and Tobago, Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1972.
with GREENE E., et HAREWOOD J. The confused electorate A Study of Political Attitudes and Opinions in Trinidad and Tobago, ISER St. Augustine: Trinidad, 1979.
---------- (DIR) Trinidad and Tobago: The Independence Experience 1962-1987,St. Augustine:Institute of Social andEconomic Research, University of the West Indies, 1988a.
----------- “One Love Revisited”, Caribbean Affairs, Vol 2 n° 2, 1988b.
-----------  Revolution and Reaction: Parties and Politics in trinidad and Tobago 1970-1981, St. Augustine: Institute of Social and Economic Research, University of the West Indies, 1989.
----------- The Disillusioned Electorate: The Politics of Succession in Trinidad and Tobago, Port of Spain: Imprint Press, 1990.
----------- (DIR) Social and occupational Stratification in Contemporary Trinidad and Tobago, St. Augustine, Institute of Social and Economic Research, University of the West Indies, 1991a.
----------- The Muslimeen Grab for Power: Race, Religion and Revolution in Trinidad and Tobago, Port of Spain, Imprint, 1991b.
----------- Political Attitudes and Party Choices in Trinidad and Tobago(unpublished manuscript) May, 1995.
----------- Pathways to Power: Indians and the Politics of National Unity in Trinidad and Tobago, St. Augustine: Institute of Social and Economic Research, University of the West Indies, 1996.
------------ The Jhandi and the Cross: The Clash of Cultures in Post-Creole Trinidad and Tobago, St. Augustine: Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies, University of the West Indies, 1999.
------------- Deadlock: Ethnicity and Electoral Competition in Trinidad and Tobago 1995-2002: Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies, University of the West Indies, 2003.

He has been right before and he has been wrong before. Such are the vagaries of opinion polling.

« Reply #24 on: October 18, 2007, 07:21:34 AM »
Thanks for dey info Midknight

Janet is/was a english teacher at St. Augustine Senior....not sure if she is still there
And since ah mentioned her name, ah found out dat she is now ex Mrs Ryan.