April 27, 2024, 10:07:07 AM

Author Topic: Video of the US vs TnT match  (Read 3157 times)

Offline StoreBayLimer

Video of the US vs TnT match
« on: August 18, 2005, 11:06:42 PM »

Today I uploaded the first half of the game and,  if time permits,  tomorrow I will upload the second half.

It is unlikely that I would post short clips or highlights.

http://www.ecaribbeansports.com

Re: Video of the US vs TnT match
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2005, 12:25:18 AM »
StoreBay I have our Gold Cup games if you interested.

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2005, 07:56:27 AM »
well send them videos to him nuh peong

« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2005, 08:36:10 AM »
Thanks for them clips boy ah feelin better

« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2005, 08:49:31 AM »
What encoder did you use to capture the video. It stutters when I play back. What you could do is break the video into 10 or 15 min packets and encode as individual mpeg 1 files.
I think due to the size of the file and the amt of motion in the video the video buffer is having a hard time trying to keep up

« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2005, 01:08:40 PM »

U can ftp those files to ecarribean sports and send him a message that it there.

It have a user name and password he can give u ....it somewhere in the archives but he will probably send it to you.

« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2005, 05:30:09 PM »
Thanks for the look: man the iron sounding good; Watched this three times so far.

The atmposphere looking good. From what I saw so far, the team moving the ball in spurts, no real dangerous runs .I see what  man say about the back passing. TOO MUCH; Trying to start the attack from the back.

We need more penetration in the middle and support from midfields for forwards.

Move the ball forward. Need a man to 'thread' ball for strikers.

Jack had some moments

Too much respect to the USA;  at times we tackling  'soft'

We need some team speed' first to ball!!!!!
« Last Edit: August 19, 2005, 07:27:14 PM by AlbertaTrini »

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2005, 08:08:27 PM »

I just responded to your email.

For others who might also be interested.  You can upload by pointing your ftp client to ftp.ecaribbeansports.com  , use the following username and password
   name:   superblue@ecaribbeansports.com
  pw: baccanal

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #8 on: August 19, 2005, 08:21:17 PM »
What encoder did you use to capture the video. It stutters when I play back. What you could do is break the video into 10 or 15 min packets and encode as individual mpeg 1 files.
I think due to the size of the file and the amt of motion in the video the video buffer is having a hard time trying to keep up

In all likelyhood the stutter is due to the limitations of your system either hardware or software.  Possible sources of the problem are 1) the  processor  is not able to decode the mpeg1 quickly enough,  2) the video card is not keeping up with the input and might have  limited memory, the buffer size used by the operating system is too small etc. 

The files were encoded using Adobe Premiere Pro, but that is not an endorsement for Premiere.  I actually prefer the first video editor that I used and still use from time to time ``Ulead Video Studio.''

A good source of info on video stuff is

http://www.videohelp.com/

« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2005, 03:51:43 AM »
storebay that game i just saw was so different from the commentary i heard.The power 105 commentators made it seemed like we were getting played all over from start to finish and doing badly

« Reply #10 on: August 20, 2005, 04:12:47 AM »
What about key moments in the match, that whole half taking forever to download.

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2005, 10:42:53 PM »

It is clear to some, nonetheless I should have mentioned that you could burn each half to separate CDs.  It takes about four minutes to burn the video CD, and most DVD players recognize VCD, thereby enabling a stutter free playback on your TV. Of course the video quality of VCD is not that good.  I once posted mpeg2 versions of match halves, which would enable high quality video, but because of the file size there are not a lot of folks who can download those in a reasonable amount of time.

« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2005, 09:04:09 PM »
hey Storebay..that encoder you used is part of a hardware package?..or is it a standalone software encoder?
i just downloaded a clip out of curiousity to see how it looked...yeah that vcd is real poor quality though...i recorded mines at dvd standard and 2hrs gave me 6gb of video but i can compress it to a lower quality and u still cant really make out the difference..i know 3.5gb is still a lot but maybe i can cut it up into bout 4 pieces..let me know if you want me to upload it..ill have to go dig out my Flash Ftp from one of my other pc's..also what bout that copyright thing?...is this illegal..not as if i really care though lol

« Reply #13 on: August 27, 2005, 01:10:55 AM »
ok techy guys let me in on a secret...
how do you guys capture the video from the TV?
hack the TiVo?
TV card in the PC?

« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2005, 08:10:23 AM »
hack the TiVo?
TV card in the PC?

you have many options..some good and some not worth it..if u have money to spend..get the TIVO with a DVR but u can't do any editing plus u might have to pay a montly fee too.
if u got no money then buy a $20 video capture card and use something like Pinnacle or AverTv software.
what i use is a Hauppauge 350PVR..its a hardware encoder..so that means it doesnt even use the CPU when its recording..which also means no frame losses and  you can also do mulitple applications at the same time regardless of the speed of your PC.
you can then buy HTPC software if you want like sagetv,snapstream and beyond tv, they're nice and convenient and just like TIVO.
i use  Directv and if i record at my lowest possible resolution and compression rate the porn is still look like is a brand new DVD  ;D
if u have any questions or interested PM me.

« Reply #15 on: August 28, 2005, 01:58:15 PM »
Thanx for the answer, looking to get HDTV signal and DVR from my cable provider, and like everyone else will be hoping to save some WC games to watch over and over.  Ive seen the DVR and it has a usb port on the front but I am not sure if that allows it to be networked to a pc, or give access to the hard drive, a PVR sounds like a viable option

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2005, 12:40:34 AM »
hey Storebay..that encoder you used is part of a hardware package?..or is it a standalone software encoder?
i just downloaded a clip out of curiousity to see how it looked...yeah that vcd is real poor quality though...i recorded mines at dvd standard and 2hrs gave me 6gb of video but i can compress it to a lower quality and u still cant really make out the difference..i know 3.5gb is still a lot but maybe i can cut it up into bout 4 pieces..let me know if you want me to upload it..ill have to go dig out my Flash Ftp from one of my other pc's..also what bout that copyright thing?...is this illegal..not as if i really care though lol

Hello Feliziano,

Based on your other post I gather that you are using the Hauppage 350 card, which is an excellent product. And as you said the MPEG2 file of size 3.5GB for 2 hrs of video still looks like standard TV.  Now although all of that is correct, it still does not really address the key parameter in the  main issue of sharing video via the internet.  Of course the key parameter is file-size, and the main issue/criteria  is the highest quality video for the smallest file size.   In the post I did mention or rather imply that I have high quality MPEG2 files of the halves.  Incidentally the total size for the game is  roughly 3.2 GB.   The problem is that file-size is way too large for the typical user.  Note that the total size of the  VCD files is less than 1 GB, and based on posts on other forums users seem to be comfortable with a file size of 700MB.  In an  earlier posts I discussed thetime it takes to download, etc.  In addition it takes longer to upload than to download.  Did you check how long it would take to upload a 3.5GB file?  Please check, I think that it is useful info to other readers, and I would also like to get an idea of  the connection speed of others.  The other issue of file size is the cost of hosting a large file on a server that is connected to the internet backbone.  A file can be hosted on a personal server, with a static IP, (low cost) but then that server will be transferring at upload speeds; thereby not enabling very fast downloads (7 hrs compared to 30 min for the same size file).

The videos were recorded with a hardware codec to an avi file.  Software is then used to encode to the desired type of file: VCD, MPEG1, MPEG2 etc.  If one intends to heavily edit the recorded video, then it is best to have the avi file.   If you can compress the 3.5 GB to roughly 1 GB and you think that the quality is comparable to the posted file then I would like to take a look at it.  Actually it need not be the whole file, let us say 15 minutes of videos compressed to 1/4 (one quarter) of the present size ( (1/8) fractional size from the 3.5GB file.).   My guess is that you will find the following. That additional processing, or compression of the recorded MPEG2 file leads to a poor quality video. You can also look at xvid files that were obtained from recorded MPEG2 files.  The posted VCD file is the best possible quality video for the file size.  Now I have not tried compressing using divx4 on the avi file, but I might in the future.

As far as I know what we are doing is legal. The Supreme Court recently clarified which business practices are acceptable and did not rule on the technology.

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #17 on: August 30, 2005, 12:41:42 AM »

Fellaz, I scored a goal this weekend.   This is probably not the best place to mention it but ….   .      I coach my sons AYSO team, and I occasionally referee in the same league.  Now last weekend we had the returning-referee class and as a part of the class, there was a small match of refs VS refs, and I scored.  A goal that doesn't  meant much, but since then I have been smiling a lot.

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #18 on: August 30, 2005, 01:06:36 AM »
hack the TiVo?
TV card in the PC?

you have many options..some good and some not worth it..if u have money to spend..get the TIVO with a DVR but u can't do any editing plus u might have to pay a montly fee too.
if u got no money then buy a $20 video capture card and use something like Pinnacle or AverTv software.
what i use is a Hauppauge 350PVR..its a hardware encoder..so that means it doesnt even use the CPU when its recording..which also means no frame losses and  you can also do mulitple applications at the same time regardless of the speed of your PC.
you can then buy HTPC software if you want like sagetv,snapstream and beyond tv, they're nice and convenient and just like TIVO.
i use  Directv   ... 

I agree with much of what  Feliziano said.  The Hauppauge 250 which is cheaper than the 350 is also a good card.    Another good product is ``Instant TV Deluxe" from ADS TECH, there is a PCI and USB version, and the package comes WITH  the software (beyond tv, etc) mentioned above. 

There is also some confusion about labelling of the quality. The recording from most PVR, and direct TV etc is still VHS quality even though the transmission is digital; the recording is not DVD quality.

One of the best ways to record, if you are watching the game, is through your video camera. You can take the output from the VCR, that would normally go to the TV, and insert it to the camera input.  Then transfer the contents via Firewire to the PC.  The advantage here is that you have an avi file that you can edit repeatedly, and extract images from etc.  The sound on the recording from the cards is better.

In your other post you mentioned HDTV ... I  have not yet experiment with it, but the reports state that on the commercial recorders there is a flag that prevents duplication. 

« Reply #19 on: August 30, 2005, 08:50:48 AM »
I like that VCR to Camcorder option it had crossed my mind but I could not figure out how to hook it up.
Used to be that folks had hacked their TiVos, I have heard that changes were made to put a stop to that but we all know those stop are temporary.