March 28, 2024, 12:09:51 PM

Author Topic: Best ever one-footed players  (Read 5392 times)

Best ever one-footed players
« on: October 15, 2007, 08:05:51 PM »
Who is de best players in history who use the weaker foot for standing only?

I see a clip with Diego constantly running around he right foot, and we know rivaldo right foot probably have gangreen all now from inertia...

more recently, quaresma so stick on that right foot that he seem to perfect curling the ball with the outside of his right foot instep..

any other one footed geniuses you can recall... Local or international?

Re: Best ever one-footed players
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2007, 08:41:25 PM »
Mario Kempes

« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2007, 09:00:56 PM »
meh partner jason was wicked .

« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2007, 10:00:13 PM »
Hagi and Stoickhov

« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2007, 10:32:38 PM »

Beckham

« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2007, 02:50:12 AM »
u havent seen beckham play very often

messi

« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2007, 03:03:45 AM »

messi

Guess not

« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2007, 05:02:43 AM »
Why is it that this list was bound to be mostly left footers? I think because right footers and more commmon than left footers our brains are trained to see the movements of right footers as more normal or orthodox. I think that if Ronaldinho did everything with his left foot that he currently does with his right...he'd look extremely one footed. I'm not saying he can't use his weaker leg, but because he is right footed his over-use of his strong foot somehow does not stand out as anything special. I remember Dunga was so right footed that he mastered the pass with the outside of his foot over any distance. He used it so much in WC 90 that commentators were talking like he invented the pass. But he'd probably never show up on a one-footed list. If he was left footed though, the conversation wouldn't be about amazing technique...but the fact that he can't use his right foot....just a theory. Good call with Quaresma tho'.  ;D

Having said that:

Leonson 'the greatest ever' Lewis
Jerren Nixon
Guissepe Signori
Leonardo

:devil: :devil:
« Last Edit: October 16, 2007, 05:05:37 AM by Filho »

« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2007, 05:10:31 AM »

messi

Guess not

Kinda agree with Becks, but he spent most of his career on the right side and definitely didn't cut in and shoot, so he perdominantly used his right foot. It's kind of unfair to judge his one-footedness because his role meant he was always going to have to use his right foot more...just like most any winger or wide player. But I could see why u would call Becks anyway, cuz a huge part of his game was those raking long diagonal passes and it's pretty obvious he never tried any with his left foot, even when he played in the center. beckham also covered a lot of ground and without being a 'student' of bekham's game and I can't really recall him tryying to use is left foot. he did have an assist last season with a left footed cross and I remember it stood out for me as the first time I'd ever seen him do that. could be wrong..maybe I didn't watch enough of him either  ;)

Offline Papasmurf

• http://footballawayoflife.blogspot.com/
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2007, 05:56:11 AM »
Rivaldo...

« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2007, 06:26:32 AM »
good point about right footers filho, but i dont think ronaldinho belong in that.. even though he prefer his right, yuh wouldn't often see him actually run around his left to get to the right if the pass is on with his left..  i see sometimes in that maradona clip where the pass on and in my mind i thinking "hit him now, hit him now", and have to wait for diego to get it on he left before he leggo de ball...

but i see what you saying about right footers.. but on a side note.. maybe left footers kinda unique in that way in that they naturally less *footidextrous* (dont know the word), like left handers in cricket or baseball... food for thought..

any of allyuh ever see martin petrov at manchester city??

that fellah dont do a damn thing with the right..

« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2007, 06:37:11 AM »
good point about right footers filho, but i dont think ronaldinho belong in that.. even though he prefer his right, yuh wouldn't often see him actually run around his left to get to the right if the pass is on with his left..  i see sometimes in that maradona clip where the pass on and in my mind i thinking "hit him now, hit him now", and have to wait for diego to get it on he left before he leggo de ball...

but i see what you saying about right footers.. but on a side note.. maybe left footers kinda unique in that way in that they naturally less *footidextrous* (dont know the word), like left handers in cricket or baseball... food for thought..

any of allyuh ever see martin petrov at manchester city??

that fellah dont do a damn thing with the right..

good talk dey

« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2007, 06:48:12 AM »
Why is it that this list was bound to be mostly left footers? I think because right footers and more commmon than left footers our brains are trained to see the movements of right footers as more normal or orthodox. I think that if Ronaldinho did everything with his left foot that he currently does with his right...he'd look extremely one footed. I'm not saying he can't use his weaker leg, but because he is right footed his over-use of his strong foot somehow does not stand out as anything special. I remember Dunga was so right footed that he mastered the pass with the outside of his foot over any distance. He used it so much in WC 90 that commentators were talking like he invented the pass. But he'd probably never show up on a one-footed list. If he was left footed though, the conversation wouldn't be about amazing technique...but the fact that he can't use his right foot....just a theory. Good call with Quaresma tho'.  ;D

Having said that:

Leonson 'the greatest ever' Lewis
Jerren Nixon
Guissepe Signori
Leonardo

:devil: :devil:

Add to that list the great Leroy Spann.
He used to take everything with his left foot, could bend the ball either way with his left foot hence Spanner.

« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2007, 08:53:19 AM »
Alvaro Recobra :)
His right foot is horrible so it's best he stick to the left.

« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2007, 09:26:52 AM »
ricardo quaresma

« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2007, 10:14:18 AM »
ROCOBA

« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2007, 10:47:04 AM »

more recently, quaresma so stick on that right foot that he seem to perfect curling the ball with the outside of his right foot instep..

WC 2002
Between Ronaldo and Rivaldo they only had 2 good feet between them and both of them were left

Dejan Savicevic

Beautiful balance, a smooth style and easy acceleration made Savicevic the natural heir to Sekularac and Dzajic, his predecessors at Red Star Belgrade and a much better player than his left-footed contemporaries Hagi and Stoichkov. His individual contribution to Milan's demolition of Barcelona in the European Cup Final of 1994 alone wins him inclusion here. His goal was beautiful - a delicate lob from a sharp angle, following a graceful run from deep. True, Capello, the Milan coach was never a fan, and Savicevic spent a lot of time on the bench, but he was an artist whose play justifiably earned him the nickname of "il Genio".

« Reply #17 on: October 16, 2007, 11:38:37 AM »
Dejan Savicevic  "at all" Nah nah. Everything yuh say was true, but one footed no at all  ;D

One footed specialist (not in order)

Puskas, Maradona, Kempes, Gerson, Hagi, Stoickov, Rivilinho, Rivaldo, Futre, Matthews, Garrincha

« Reply #18 on: October 16, 2007, 12:01:39 PM »
cyah forget out Ryan Giggs

« Reply #19 on: October 16, 2007, 12:08:29 PM »
Dejan Savicevic  "at all" Nah nah. Everything yuh say was true, but one footed no at all  ;D

One footed specialist (not in order)

Puskas, Maradona, Kempes, Gerson, Hagi, Stoickov, Rivilinho, Rivaldo, Futre, Matthews, Garrincha
And of course Berry Browne ;D

« Reply #20 on: October 16, 2007, 12:24:51 PM »
WC 2002
Between Ronaldo and Rivaldo they only had 2 good feet between them and both of them were left

Cacahole what shit you talkin ?

Offline scooby

« Reply #21 on: October 16, 2007, 04:15:08 PM »
the best has to be without a doubt maradonna, but Colllin Rock was also very good in my opinon he was even better than Lenson lewis and Nixon( Coops, Tallman ) what you guys think about that.

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #22 on: October 16, 2007, 04:23:16 PM »
HARDEST!!!!!!!! Talk done TI whey yuh!! :devil: :devil: :devil:
All American

« Reply #23 on: October 16, 2007, 04:30:06 PM »
cyah forget out Ryan Giggs

A few years ago you could have said that but Giggsy has been using his right foot more especially when he switches sides. He has also scored a few with his right.

By the way folks the thread's title is "best ever" one footed players so some of those fly by night players who ain't do shit yet or ever should not be included. Ricardo Q comes to mind.

« Reply #24 on: October 16, 2007, 04:31:06 PM »
ricardo quaresma

nah, quaresma can use his left...he and ronaldo regularly switch wings wen dey playin 4 portugal

« Reply #25 on: October 16, 2007, 05:07:38 PM »
Ronaldinho

Platini

Boniek

Henry

Pirlo

Basically, I find primarily left footed players does get this bad rap about being "one footed".  If a primarily right sided player do the same, nobody does say a ting.  Players who are primarily left footed just tend to stand out more because they tend to look more attractive, partly because it kinda unorthodox.  Everybody playin one way and one or two playin on de nex side so everybody bawlin dem one footed.

It eh have no more one footed world class player in de world today dan Henry.  He cyah even butt de ball proper.

« Reply #26 on: October 16, 2007, 06:19:03 PM »
Ronaldinho

Platini

Boniek

Henry

Pirlo

Basically, I find primarily left footed players does get this bad rap about being "one footed".  If a primarily right sided player do the same, nobody does say a ting.  Players who are primarily left footed just tend to stand out more because they tend to look more attractive, partly because it kinda unorthodox.  Everybody playin one way and one or two playin on de nex side so everybody bawlin dem one footed.

It eh have no more one footed world class player in de world today dan Henry.  He cyah even butt de ball proper.

I agree,  but scratch Platini off that list. primarily right footed but he could use the left with comfort.

« Reply #27 on: October 16, 2007, 06:44:51 PM »
watch Puskas wet dis Englishman wid ah sick rollie  :rotfl:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=xU4K12SpDzo

« Reply #28 on: October 16, 2007, 07:46:36 PM »
Maradona, Hagi , Ruud Gullit, John Barnes...locally Leonson lewis  , Jerron Nixon

Offline legal alien

« Reply #29 on: October 16, 2007, 09:08:24 PM »
how men could skip maradona easily?