April 19, 2024, 03:28:04 PM

Author Topic: How would you feel, or what would you do if....  (Read 2914 times)

How would you feel, or what would you do if....
« on: October 18, 2007, 10:24:07 AM »
your 11-12 year old son/daughter came home from school with a package containing condoms, birth control pills and brochures on safe sex ???  You were told by your child that this was given to them by the PTA or school governs.  Note, you won't notified by the school that this would be happening.

Your honest response and not those of others would be appreciated.

Re: How would you feel, or what would you do if....
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2007, 10:45:24 AM »
If I hadn't had that conversation, there's no better time than now!

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2007, 11:07:54 AM »
we ALL will be active participants some time in the future, so openness is the key
I will start by saying that some of these STD's does KILL...like in DED
so I would take the opportunity to try my best to explain what, why, where, when, who, about the MESSAGE of safe sex.
Imagine your off spring make ah mistake once and next ting in ah Dedlee STD...nah nah nah
then again I would NOT suggest that I would like if they did link up with everything that moves around dem in their life...i would hope that they would exercise self control.

failing that............... is lock dem up in day bedroom for de rez of their natural life
« Last Edit: October 18, 2007, 11:18:39 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline mal jeux

« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2007, 11:10:29 AM »
I know in many schools there is a health class that covers reproductions/sex/boys/girls issues. There's usually a note that comes home with the children, that the parents have to sign. I think it's grade 7 or 8th. But to come home with that stuff I eh know. I think we're to easy to preach safe sex rather that no sex. The focus seems to be protection.
"How many times do I have to flush before you go away?"

« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2007, 11:28:37 AM »
There is a middle school in Maine that will now give out birth control pills to 11-13 year olds without parental knowledge. At least in your scenario they're bringing it home so you know.

The way things are going you must get parental consent to go to a tanning parlour or to go on a field trip, but don't let parents know about abortions and drugs the school gives you.

Maine School To Offer Contraceptives

Information is fine - kids need to be educated on all levels. But I want to monitor carefully what kind of slant they put on the info. In other words are they influencing the kids one way or the other in the choices they make.

« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2007, 11:33:17 AM »
E-man i was just about to put that link in here. That was the main reason for this thread.

Giving a child protection, is it preventing them from having sex or allowing them to have sex ?

« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2007, 11:39:32 AM »
"After an outbreak of pregnancies among middle school girls,"
this is the First and MOST important thing that caught my eye in that article.
It tells me that the adults have FAILED the kids, which led to this situation.
there is no guidance or policing of the kids...you reap what you sow.....NO PUN intended here.
If this situation causes the parents to wake up and become more strict or force them to deal with this then I am all for it.
Kids do what kids do and if they are NOT guided, we end up with children making children.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2007, 07:49:10 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2007, 01:00:03 PM »
Upset, but in reality, it's a good thing.  These kids growing up too fast.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2007, 02:04:09 PM by Dr. Rat »
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2007, 02:12:48 PM »
This is a question I asked myself while reading the story online.

What about the package being made available to the children as compared to giving it out to every child ?

« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2007, 03:02:17 PM »
As a parent with 23 chirren ...

I would take it and use it for myself  ;)

I doh want another one  ::)

« Reply #10 on: October 18, 2007, 03:07:53 PM »
seriously

Sex education is already taught in schools .. this is a natural extension of that education and is not inconsistent.

While I would have like to have advanced notice, it does not bother me.

At 12 I already had those discussions with them ... the discussions have evolved over the years from simplistic explanations geared to their ability to understand and became more detailed as they got older.

11/ 12 is grade 6 /7 ... at that age, they have have some understanding.

and I would use this as an opportunity to further explore their understanding and make sure the school yard myths are not warping fact.

« Reply #11 on: October 18, 2007, 04:17:25 PM »

so whey yuh buying veehekle with v6 and rims for?  practicality?

Is buss yuh want tuh buss yuh gun....embrace it and say it loud

I'll bet ah $20 de car RED

« Reply #12 on: October 18, 2007, 05:02:12 PM »

so whey yuh buying veehekle with v6 and rims for?  practicality?

Is buss yuh want tuh buss yuh gun....embrace it and say it loud

I'll bet ah $20 de car RED

nah man .... glacier silver .. pay up

ah had to laugh .. de winter rims are also 18" .. same as the RX-8

mid life crisis ...  :angel: :angel:

« Reply #13 on: October 18, 2007, 08:21:16 PM »
chirren growin up too too fast in truth...u go wa start tuh talk tuh dem bout sex at 15-16 buh in reality is since from 11 12 or 13 dat dem gettin saucy

« Reply #14 on: October 18, 2007, 08:26:58 PM »
chirren growin up too too fast in truth...u go wa start tuh talk tuh dem bout sex at 15-16 buh in reality is since from 11 12 or 13 dat dem gettin saucy

nah man
cousin is name ya name yaself after ah vagina ???
and den ya come in general discussion forum and post ???

nah
« Last Edit: October 18, 2007, 08:33:29 PM by Sushmiata »

« Reply #15 on: October 18, 2007, 11:28:59 PM »

I don't see the big deal, at least they showing the parents what they have so yuh could talk to them.
When I was in first form we had access to rubbers, true we used to blow them up an hang dem outside Douggie door (dean of discipline) but kids 11 and 12 getting their hands on condoms is no new thing.

People does conveniently forget what they did as youths and admonish they kids when history start to repeat itself.

« Reply #16 on: October 24, 2007, 10:53:16 AM »
E-man i was just about to put that link in here. That was the main reason for this thread.

Giving a child protection, is it preventing them from having sex or allowing them to have sex ?

I am not sure, but it seems many are sexually active anyway, so protection is better and education best.

« Reply #17 on: October 24, 2007, 11:57:37 AM »

I am not sure, but it seems many are sexually active anyway, so protection is better and education best.

well said  :beermug:
But ah being truthful, if ah watch my 11 year old hop on a school bus in the morning and then come back home with a package with condoms on it, my heart would give me ah triple knock on my chest.  Reality will definitely set in, but I as his mother suppose to give him those condoms and not the school. But ah hear what allyuh saying.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2007, 12:00:10 PM by Sushmiata »

« Reply #18 on: October 24, 2007, 03:13:48 PM »
honestly I would be disappointed that the school did not offer me the courtesy, however I would not go postal on them.  :) I would show some appreciation to the child for not holding back the items. They could of taken to their room and hide them.