April 25, 2024, 04:04:40 AM

Author Topic: Cop still locked in PNM ad row / Now Army vex over COP ad  (Read 1961 times)

Cop still locked in PNM ad row / Now Army vex over COP ad
« on: October 20, 2007, 08:42:01 AM »
Gawd boy dey Guardian Newspapers in full swing wid dey news on dis "warm" Saturday.  In the 2 stories, do you think they are politically motivated or just lack of communication?

BY GEISHA KOWLESSAR

ADVERTISING firm Valdez and Torry has come out in strong defence of a controversial newspaper advertisement involving a uniformed police corporal and the ruling People’s National Movement (PNM).

It insisted that T&T Police Service gave permission to shoot an ad on behalf of the PNM.

The story of the cop in a political ad was carried exclusively in the Guardian yesterday following questions raised about who authorised the policeman’s participation in the PNM promotion.

In a telephone interview yesterday, Christian Torry said his advertising company “acted above board” when putting together the ad.

The photo in the ad, Torry said, was not handed over to his company by the communications officials of the Police Service.

Rather, it was the result of “a photo shoot using an official police officer,” he said.

According to Torry, consent was given by the Communications Unit of the Police Service to shoot the ad “just outside” the Police Administration building in Port-of-Spain.

He said, “We got permission from the communications unit of the Police Service. They approved everything.

“The communications unit also supplied the policeman seen in the ad.”

Asked if the Communications Unit knew that the ad was being done on behalf of the PNM, Torry replied, “Yes, they knew. They obviously knew because we told them what the ad was about.”

Communications specialist Ann Marie Grant could not be reached yesterday and communications officer Wendy Campbell said she could not yet provide any answers to questions.

Police: No permission given

Deputy Police Commissioner Glen Roach, when contacted yesterday, maintained he was unaware about the photo being taken.

In a brief interview, Roach also dismissed claims that officials within the Police Service, particularly policemen, would approve or participate in advertisements involving political parties.

Roach again refused to identify the police corporal in the ad. The officer, therefore, could not be reached for comment. Sources said, however, the officer worked at the Police Administration building.

According to the Regulations of the T&T Police Service, no officer, being a member of the protective services, can “publish any information or expression of opinion or matters of national or international political controversy.”

Gary Griffith as he appears in the COP press advertisement.

ON THE heels of the furore over a police corporal appearing in a PNM press advertisement, St Ann’s East candidate for the Congress of the People (COP), Gary Griffith, has found himself in hot water with the T&T Defence Force for appearing in a political ad while wearing an army uniform.

In the ad, featuring prospective COP crime-fighting heavyweights, Griffith is shown wearing an army cap and is identified as a “Captain.”

Yesterday, Chief of Defence Staff Brigadier Edmund Dillion, said Griffith, a former Army captain, had no authority to wear a Defence Force uniform and no right to have allowed the photograph to appear in the ad.

Dillon said Griffith resigned from the Defence Force and was now a civilian. He said the Defence Force did not consider Griffith a captain.

Dillon said, “He resigned and this does not allow him to use the uniform. He should know better.”

Dillon acknowled, however, the photograph of Griffith could have been an old photograph, but felt it should not be used in the promotion of a political party.

“We (the Defence Force) don’t look at that as positive at all. We don’t expect that type of behaviour even if he resigned. He is not allowed to do that,” Dillon said.

“Griffith should have known better. The army does not condone that.”

Dillon said he intended to call Griffith and ask him to address the matter.

The army chief said there were army regulations against this.

Dillon said army officers were also not allowed to enter the various army camps with political paraphernalia.

He said while soldiers can be politically aware “we cannot be politically involved.”

Contacted yesterday, Captain Al Alexander, public relations officer of the Defence Force, agreed it was “against military tradition” for Griffith to carry the title of “captain.”

“Only people carrying the rank of major and above are allowed carry their rank even after leaving the army,” he said.

“I have a serious problem with someone in an army uniform in a political advertisement.

“That is wrong.”

But the official added, “He (Griffith) may get away with it because he used the word “former” in the sub-heading.

“So therefore it is an admittance that he no longer belongs to the army.”

Griffith: I’m being targeted

Contacted via his cellphone yesterday, Griffith claimed he was being “targeted” so that his campaign would be “affected.”

“I am obviously being targeted so that my campaign would be affected because they see me as the “dark horse” coming to take away the seat from the PNM,” Griffith said.

He also accused some members of the army of “holding PNM party cards” adding, “They are very petty in wanting to make that an issue.”

Stating the photo in the ad was “an old photo,” Griffith said he saw “nothing wrong” with using the photo in the political advertisement.

“That is an old photo taken several years ago while I was in the army. Why the big deal? I don’t see what the fuss is all about,” Griffith said.

— With reporting by Geisha Kowlessar

©2005-2006 Trinidad Publishing

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
Re: Cop still locked in PNM ad row / Now Army vex over COP ad
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2007, 10:38:49 AM »
Cock man Gary, he eh go change na.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2007, 12:24:27 PM »
much ado about nothing

« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2007, 12:53:41 PM »
Ent Gary is dey one dat had sexual relations with Panday chile ? Now he in COP?
same ting with Anand. Ent he is Panday lawyer? Now he on COP side.....

whey it is goin on :-\

« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2007, 05:33:36 PM »
Ent Gary is dey one dat had sexual relations with Panday chile ? Now he in COP?
same ting with Anand. Ent he is Panday lawyer? Now he on COP side.....

whey it is goin on :-\

As soon as he and mikela done.....dey spit he out. Dunno if it had to do with his support of dookeran...and that led to the deterioration of the realtions or what.
Well....anand.......he a lawyer....dahs a synonym for politician. Panday especially vex cuz anand know all he files. But........i hear that anand said something about people who still supporting unc as "backward coolies"......so de comess now start.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2007, 10:25:15 PM »

I believe he is married to Nicole Dyer-Griffith...unless I making that up.
Anyway both of them in COP and I think they married.

Anand said he will always be available to represent Panday if he needed legal representation and would never abandon his clients because of his political work.

Lawyers home is be representing all kinda people u wudn't expect but they are professionals. (in T&T we becoming trained to look down on professionals....lawyers, doctors...dem no good anymore apparently....I wudnt be surprised if u ask some children they would say doctors are bad people)

I find since things getting closer I lil worried we going into a nasty zone....fliers all where they not supposed to be (mostly PNM....at least in diego central)...banners getting rip down and people cussing each out over dem ting.....office getting vandalized....the blasted spray paint that is stay for years later show up at least once on some office...and I see some youth say it have real behind the scene thing going on that not getting reported.

steupse. let this thing come quick and overs with oui.

« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2007, 07:23:29 AM »

I believe he is married to Nicole Dyer-Griffith...unless I making that up.
Anyway both of them in COP and I think they married.

Anand said he will always be available to represent Panday if he needed legal representation and would never abandon his clients because of his political work.

Lawyers home is be representing all kinda people u wudn't expect but they are professionals. (in T&T we becoming trained to look down on professionals....lawyers, doctors...dem no good anymore apparently....I wudnt be surprised if u ask some children they would say doctors are bad people)

I find since things getting closer I lil worried we going into a nasty zone....fliers all where they not supposed to be (mostly PNM....at least in diego central)...banners getting rip down and people cussing each out over dem ting.....office getting vandalized....the blasted spray paint that is stay for years later show up at least once on some office...and I see some youth say it have real behind the scene thing going on that not getting reported.

steupse. let this thing come quick and overs with oui.

I hope when yuh say "since things getting closer,"  yuh eh deluding yuhself and mean the election is ah close race and yuh mean de elections drawing nigh!  Because de COrPse eh getting ah damn seat!

« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2007, 11:21:01 AM »
Because de COrPse eh getting ah damn seat!

people underestimate the support they have. every single LIVE poll i see on the TV have COP ahead.
All dem paid polls meant to make people feel is a lost cause.  Manifestos still to come.  PNM say they waiting until the others release theirs so they wouldn't copy it   ::)

« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2007, 01:50:17 PM »
dcs we go talk late on d 5th or d 6th to see if COP really ahead

« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2007, 02:25:53 PM »
Because de COrPse eh getting ah damn seat!

people underestimate the support they have. every single LIVE poll i see on the TV have COP ahead.
All dem paid polls meant to make people feel is a lost cause.  Manifestos still to come.  PNM say they waiting until the others release theirs so they wouldn't copy it   ::)

de only poll worth talking about is de pole dat go get shove up de COrPse bamsee.

Is not ah demn seat fuh dem losers...yes  L-O-S-E-R-S!

« Reply #10 on: October 21, 2007, 08:02:16 PM »

Like allyuh prefer a UNC opposition.

« Reply #11 on: October 21, 2007, 09:04:03 PM »
a bredrin of mine just told me that UNC bringing richie spice for a free fete (lord have mercy , one set of rangotang will be there)...he also said that PNM bringing sizzla for their "youth convention" tink it easy