March 19, 2024, 01:41:07 AM

Author Topic: Football alert — watch for Shaquell Moore  (Read 28374 times)

Re: Football alert — watch for Shaquell Moore
« Reply #120 on: March 06, 2018, 02:09:32 AM »
 :beermug:  :applause:
Good thing he parents didn’t give him to much TT coconut water, otherwise all now like many of our potential players he woulda dun run back home for more. We can’t seem to stick it out when things get tough, especially when our boys ave sweet T &T to runback to .
Kes  doh sing Hola Hola in Europe yuh know  ;D

Hoping for JJ to get thru, boatrides could come later
« Last Edit: March 06, 2018, 02:11:52 AM by maxg »

« Reply #121 on: March 07, 2018, 09:40:49 AM »
Not sure why I'm having difficulty embedding this.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/KU1yyDKa9TE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/KU1yyDKa9TE</a>
« Last Edit: March 07, 2018, 10:14:32 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #122 on: March 18, 2018, 12:43:39 PM »
I saw he got called up for the US friendly against Paraguay. It's taking place March 27 I believe. I guess this might be it, unless he refuses to go.

« Reply #123 on: March 18, 2018, 01:35:12 PM »
Why should he refuse. That was  his goal. Don’t you think.

« Reply #124 on: March 18, 2018, 04:09:34 PM »
I saw he got called up for the US friendly against Paraguay. It's taking place March 27 I believe. I guess this might be it, unless he refuses to go.
US will certainly cap him to ensure he does not play for anyone else (I really mean T&T)

« Reply #125 on: March 20, 2018, 06:57:18 AM »
Ummm, did I miss something over the past few years?

Why would there even be a question that he wouldn't play for the US at senior level? (Unless club commitment or injury?)

The below article came from the U.S Soccer website.

FIVE FIRST TIME CALL-UPS WHO COULD MAKE AN IMPACT WITH THE MNT

SHAQ MOORE | DEFENDER | LEVANTE (ESP)

Shaq Moore is blazing a unique trail as just the fourth American to play in the Spanish first division. He’s broken through this season at Valencia’s Levante after spending most of the 2016 campaign on Las Granotas’ B-squad. While other MNT players have come to La Liga as established pros, Moore has worked his way up through the country’s lower ranks.

After captaining the U-17 Men’s National Team at the 2013 CONCACAF U-17 Championship, and was part of the U.S. squad that advanced to the quarterfinals at the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup. The son of Trinidad & Tobago international Wendell Moore, Shaq came up through IMG Academy and spent time with FC Dallas.

« Last Edit: March 20, 2018, 07:03:14 AM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #126 on: March 20, 2018, 07:01:28 AM »
Can the U.S cap him to prevent him from ever playing for us? Maybe but maybe the precedent has been set by the records of the following list of US players in Spain? Except for Lagos' measly three caps :)

Internationals in Spain:
Tab Ramos (Figueres D2, 1990-92; Real Betis D2, 1992-95),
Peter Vermes (Figueres D2, 1991-96)
Manny Lagos (Lleida D2, 1992)
Kasey Keller (Rayo Vallecano, 1999-2001)
Ante Razov (Racing Club de Ferrol D2, 2000-01)
Jozy Altidore (Villarreal, 2008-2011; Xerez D2, 2009)
Carlos Bocanegra (Racing Santander D2, 2012-13)
Oguchi Onyewu (Malaga, 2012-13)

« Reply #127 on: March 20, 2018, 10:46:38 AM »
Can the U.S cap him to prevent him from ever playing for us?

Only if they cap him in an official competitive match. Friendlies don't count.

« Reply #128 on: March 20, 2018, 12:31:47 PM »
I don't think we're a viable option for him at this moment but he can still represent us, in the US eyes they know there is a possibility (slim to none) that he can play for T&T in Concacaf. I'm certain they will want to seal the deal on this.

« Reply #129 on: March 20, 2018, 04:52:58 PM »
Let Shaq play for his home country.

« Reply #130 on: March 21, 2018, 10:40:04 AM »

Of course I do. It bothers me how we have good players out there that we let fall through the cracks. I hope he does well with the US and doesn't end up capped once just to prevent T&T from getting him.

« Reply #131 on: March 22, 2018, 03:50:01 PM »

Of course I do. It bothers me how we have good players out there that we let fall through the cracks. I hope he does well with the US and doesn't end up capped once just to prevent T&T from getting him.
is this a "fall thru the cracks" or inability to compete with a more feasible and financially sound program ? All our certified sporting athletes have had major issues, especially with funding and basic support. I have experienced this 1st hand. T &T simply cannot afford to pursue many potential trialist. Only alternative it seems is they develop and attain the high standards outside, and we hope to get the leftovers of those foreign developments, and we may not even be able to afford those. Even if we can afford those, would they want to come ? Also had to deal with that, they love their heritage, the reality of the country, culture, critical and finicky nature of our support is still very foreign to them. They ain't drink that coconut water.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 03:51:57 PM by maxg »

« Reply #132 on: March 29, 2021, 02:45:41 PM »

Since the new rules came into effect last September, I think he may no longer be able to represent us. Even though he has not represented USA in official competition, he has played in five matches for them. Amongst other things, the limit is three.

« Reply #133 on: March 29, 2021, 02:57:58 PM »

Since the new rules came into effect last September, I think he may no longer be able to represent us. Even though he has not represented USA in official competition, he has played in five matches for them. Amongst other things, the limit is three.

the only way to be sure is for the ttfa to put in a request ....

« Reply #134 on: July 01, 2021, 09:29:54 AM »
He has been included in USA's 2021 Gold Cup squad.

« Reply #135 on: July 11, 2021, 06:51:55 PM »
Shaq starting tonight for USA against Haiti.

« Reply #136 on: July 12, 2021, 12:31:34 AM »
He played very well. At least up to what I saw.

« Reply #137 on: July 12, 2021, 08:19:21 AM »
I came into the game in the second half and saw this guy dribble past a Haitian quite easily on the line and wondered who is that? Come to find our it was Moore, played pretty well for the time he was on. Interesting read on ESPN today about training on his own (with  a trainer) since his season ended in May.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2021, 11:16:48 AM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #138 on: November 25, 2022, 02:37:42 PM »
well we boy playing in the WC. Looks like a no-brainer now (in retrospect).