April 27, 2024, 11:39:03 PM

Author Topic: Manchester United Emulate 100-Year-Old Scoring Record  (Read 2189 times)

Offline Lazie

Manchester United Emulate 100-Year-Old Scoring Record
« on: October 27, 2007, 10:11:46 AM »

Manchester United have equalled a 100-year-old scoring record, when Sir Alex Ferguson’s side scored four goals against Middlesbrough in the Premiership at Old Trafford on Saturday.

The Red Devils, who won 4-1, had also scored four goals in each of their last three games against – Wigan Athletic, Aston Villa and Dynamo Kiev.

A brace from Carlos Tevez and a goal each from Nani and Rooney quelled the challenge from Gareth Southgate’s side at the Theatre of Dreams.

Ahead of the game, Portuguese winger Cristiano Ronaldo had played down the feat in the offing that was set way back in 1907-08.

"Of course, if you have an opportunity to score more goals you should take it because the fans enjoy the game more and the players' confidence increases," he said.

"But I don't worry about how many goals we get, I am only interested in how many points we get. It could be half-nil for all I care just as long as we win."

Offline Lazie

Re: Manchester United Emulate 100-Year-Old Scoring Record
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2007, 10:12:41 AM »
Well ... lets hope they set a new record next week.

« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2007, 10:18:28 AM »
good going by tevez

had him as my captain in the fantasy leage today as well

jus need a double from benjani and or keane and it go be good times

« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2007, 10:27:05 AM »
Such formidable opposition too... ;D

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2007, 12:48:53 PM »

ent!

I surprised more of the ManUre faithful not in here beating their chest

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2007, 12:55:30 PM »
expect to see that happen if the gunners lose to liverpool

« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2007, 01:29:01 PM »

ent!

I surprised more of the ManUre faithful not in here beating their chest

no need to beat chest when it normal for my team to destroy opposition  ::) well done tevez  :devil:

« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2007, 02:18:55 PM »
The record is stupid. The points are what counts and going top! Crowing will start when the trophys are won!

« Reply #9 on: October 27, 2007, 02:33:22 PM »
Allyuh men could talk...excepting Tevez' second, those were well taken goals.  Tremendous game by Rooner (goal, two assists) including the cheeky back heel to set up Tevez' first, and his industry to set up the second.  He was a classic opportunist waiting for Downing to dance himself into trouble where Nani poached it off his feet straight to Rooney.  Then of course there's Nani's magnificent opening strike to string up Schwarzer.