April 24, 2024, 10:06:49 PM

Author Topic: Keane gets positive injury news  (Read 3000 times)

Keane gets positive injury news
« on: October 26, 2007, 09:08:02 AM »
Keane gets positive injury news
By: Nick Alexander (SAFC.com).

Roy Keane has been handed a triple boost with the news that
Carlos Edwards, Dean Whitehead and Andy Cole could be back in
training next week.
Cole is yet to feature for Sunderland since moving to the
Stadium of Light in August after he picked up a calf injury playing
for the reserves.
Whitehead and Edwards last played for the Wearsiders at
Birmingham in the opening week of the season.
All three are nearing full fitness and Keane is hopeful they
will return to action next month.
He said: "We've had a good boost this week - Coley
joined in [training] yesterday, Deano joined in with some
possession stuff and so did Carlos [Edwards].
"We have injury problems and we just need to hang in there.
The players who have got the jerseys at the moment need to give
their all for the club.
"We feel there's light at the end of the tunnel as far
as our squad getting back to the strength we need.
Patience is the word we've got to use because we
don't want them to have set-backs but hopefully they can get a
full week's training next week.
"We're looking at next month for them which would be
great bonus for the club because they are important players - and
I've not even mentioned Kieran Richardson.
"He's doing all right but he's still a bit behind
the other lads. And with Paul [McShane] coming back from suspension
soon, things are looking up."

Re: Keane gets positive injury news
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2007, 09:18:15 AM »
Yorke rated '50-50'
By: Nick Alexander (SAFC.com).

Roy Keane has said that Dwight Yorke's chances of playing in
Sunderland's game against Fulham on Saturday are '50-50'
Yorke sustained a calf injury in training in the build-up to the
game at West Ham last weekend.
The former Manchester United player has been in the treatment
room since but he is hoping to train tomorrow.
Keane said: "Yorkie's 50-50 and apart from that there
are no changes, it's as you were."
Sunderland are in need of a win after three consecutive defeats,
the last of which came at West Ham after the Black Cats had bossed
the game.
"Saturday's a big game, especially after the
disappointment of last weekend," said Keane. "I've
said it before, if we are going to do anything this season
we've got to pick up points at home.
Our last two or three performances have been OK but we
have got no points from those games. Fulham are down there with us
and it's a really important game.
Keane believes Sunderland's fans will have a big role to
play against The Cottagers at the Stadium of Light.
"To have the place rocking would make a massive
difference,"he said.
"The fans have been great - home and away. I thought they
were brilliant at West Ham. They even backed us after the game, I
think they recognise that we're not that bad a team."
"It would be great if we could get a victory for them on
Saturday and they will have a part to play, they will all
season."

« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2007, 09:54:18 AM »
Roy Keane has been handed a triple boost with the news that
Carlos Edwards, Dean Whitehead and Andy Cole could be back in
training next week.
Sweet News
:beermug: :applause: :chilling: :cheers: :notworthy: :party: :salute: :thumbsup:
 :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2007, 12:20:58 PM »
time to bring carlos back on the fantasy squad

« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2007, 01:44:33 PM »
Carlos may be a lil rusty, don't expect anything much from him for the frist two matches. Just his presents may lift the club sprits.

God is good.

« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2007, 02:03:25 PM »
I say doh rush Carlos eh, cause if da muscle rip again, daiz it. Good luck  :praying: eh

Carlos May be back Nov 5
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2007, 06:20:19 PM »
If this is true ,it will be fantastic news ,and we'll be able to see our boys play together sooner rather than later  ;D ,as Yorke will return at the same time .

http://www.physioroom.com/news/english_premier_league/epl_injury_table.php

« Last Edit: October 29, 2007, 06:28:17 PM by Quagmire »

Re: Carlos May be back Nov 5
« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2007, 06:34:47 PM »
watch for Sunderland to give de big  Boys a run for their money
It will be very interesting to see how well Sunderland will do when ALL their injuries start back playing.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2007, 06:35:12 PM »
Carlos, Yorke, and Cole all scheduled to return on that day. I just hope and pray for a sustained run of health and form to see them at full strength.

« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2007, 07:51:22 PM »
Back to vote

« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2007, 09:08:52 AM »
Carlos eyes return vs Man City

Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Carlos Edwards returns to the training pitch today with Sunderland and is eying a return to first team action by next week.
Edwards hasn’t played a game since the first week of the Premier League season against Tottenham Hotspur after a recurring hamstring problem has left him on the sidelines for the long period.
But Edwards, admitting that he missing Trinidad, is anxiously looking ahead to his return to the Sunderland team.
“I start training again tomorrow and I’m really looking forward to that,” he told TTFF Media on Monday.
“I think hopefully if all goes well I could be back for the game against Manchester City on Monday or against Newcastle the week after,” Edwards  added optimistically.
Meantime, Southampton striker Stern John, on a roll with four goals in as many matches,celebrates his 31st birthday today. John has been in good form for the club in recent times and has been praised by manager George Burley for his persistence.
Teammate Bradley Wright -Phillips has also had some good words to say about the former Sunderland striker.
“Right now I’m just trying to do my thing and hopefully help the club go up the table,” John told TTFF Media. “It’s good to  see the other guys doing well like Kenwyne for example. I think as the season goes on we will see better performances and hopefully the results that the clubs and fans want. Southampton is club that has ambitions and I’m happy to be part of that and hopefully we can keep pushing on.”
Jones continues to shine for Sunderland and has rumour is that Liverpool could be looking at him with Peter Crouch being part of the deal worth 12 million pounds. And Portsmouth, according to British Press reports, are also eying the former W Connection player.
Sunderland teammate Nyron Nosworthy knows all too well what Jones is capable of.
“He would be a nightmare to play against – he jumps and he hangs for so long, and I think he can win a lot of games for us. We have to try to work together now to take the pressure off him and start scoring from different areas of the pitch.
"The manager and the players are not trying to put any sort of pressure on him to score goals – he does that himself.
"Because he's such a presence up front and so good in the air, it becomes almost irresistible not to drift it in there for him or put in a good ball and see what happens. At the moment, he's our main strength going forward,” the Jamaican international told the Sunderland Echo newspaper.

« Reply #11 on: October 30, 2007, 10:22:36 AM »
men start to get excited oui,
Carlos go start back training by nex week, he eh starting nex week,
training is usually a week or 2 before he ready for full match fitness
so doh expect him back on the prem pitch playing full untill the next 3-4 weeks

« Reply #12 on: October 30, 2007, 10:28:17 AM »
men start to get excited oui,
Carlos go start back training by nex week, he eh starting nex week,
training is usually a week or 2 before he ready for full match fitness
so doh expect him back on the prem pitch playing full untill the next 3-4 weeks

Agreed.

Carlos Probably Won't Play this Week
« Reply #13 on: November 01, 2007, 08:43:33 AM »
Carlos probably won't play this week at City but he is back in training. Yorke will also be out.

Sunderland Injury Report

Excerpt below.

Sunderland’s injury problems are unlikely to ease ahead of the trip to the Eastlands.

Dwight Yorke…continues to be bothered by a calf problem.

“We’re missing Yorkie’s experience, you have seen in other teams how valuable experience is, you can’t buy it” said keane.

And the game will come too soon for the comeback trio Carlos Edwards, Dean Whitehead and Andy Cole.

« Reply #14 on: November 01, 2007, 09:12:08 AM »
Sunderland is missing their entire starting midfield.
When those fellas come back Sunderland will give teams a lot more pressure.
Andy Cole could be very useful up front with KJ with his runs.

« Reply #15 on: November 01, 2007, 09:41:10 AM »
Sunderland is missing their entire starting midfield.
When those fellas come back Sunderland will give teams a lot more pressure.
Andy Cole could be very useful up front with KJ with his runs.

That is provided they play with more than 1 forward...