April 27, 2024, 08:18:56 PM

Author Topic: $200 million to fire ‘Bora’  (Read 4001 times)

$200 million to fire ‘Bora’
« on: November 04, 2007, 09:27:32 PM »
By André Lowe

It could cost the new Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) administration in excess of $213 million if it is to go through with its reported plan to terminate under fire Serbian coach Velibor ‘Bora’ Milutinovic, because of the glaring absence of a “buy out” clause in his contract.

Details of the massive US$1 million-a-year contract revealed that there is no provision of a buyout clause, as is customary with agreements of a similar nature. The only detailed grounds for Milutinovic’s dismissal are; first and foremost, failure to qualify for the 2010 FIFA World Cup finals, insanity and a neglect of duties, which speaks to inexplicable absences.

The agreement also allows Milutinovic up to three weeks time off at a “convenient time” subject to the approval of the JFF president. This it is understood, can be at any amount of time for the year.

Milutinovic was unveiled as coach of the Jamaican team in November 2006, on a four year US$1 million contract to much fanfare. The government and several private sector companies are jointly funding the contract.

However, a string of poor performances – resulting in the nation’s plummeting in the FIFA world rankings – and an appearance of nonchalance on the part of the Gulliver-like tactician, have led to whispers of a possible sack and the sensational return of World Cup 1998 hero Rene Simoes.

The Sunday Herald also understands that crunch meetings will be held at some point during the next two weeks between returned JFF boss Captain Horace Burrell and Milutinovic, to discuss the direction of the senior squad and the details of his contract.

n the meantime Simoes, who was recently paired with the Bermudan and Canadian national teams, has recently come out publicly denying any interest in those posts in a move that some pundits have interpreted as an indication that he is paving the way for a return to the Jamaican bench.

Captain Burrell convinced the Brazilian to take control of the Jamaican team in 1994 on an $8 million-a-year contract. Simoes – who is currently finishing up a season with Brazilian Série B leaders Coritiba Football Club – led the Jamaicans to their first and only FIFA World Cup berth in 1998 before surprisingly stepping down two years later.

He went on to coach Caribbean rivals Trinidad and Tobago before leading the Brazilian women’s team to a silver medal at 2004 Olympics. He was also at the helm of the Iranian Olympic team.

Burrell has chosen his words carefully in regards to his plans for the Serbian but has however promised “sweeping changes” and “bold moves”, hinting at a possible change at the helm in the technical department.

A key member of the Crenston Boxhill-led team that negotiated Bora’s contract, speaking in anonymity, revealed to the Sunday Herald that unless a mutual termination agreement is reached between both parties, Bora’s removal could prove costly for the new administration, should they move to take that route. The other available option is for the JFF to pay off the entire value of the two remaining years of Bora’s contract, which amounts to approximately $213 million.

GO BACK

Re: $200 million to fire ‘Bora’
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2007, 09:34:16 PM »
"It could cost the new Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) administration in excess of $213 million if it is to go through with its reported plan to terminate under fire Serbian coach Velibor ‘Bora’ Milutinovic, because of the glaring absence of a “buy out” clause in his contract."
can some say "poison pill" ;D left by the previous administration :devil:
I know it is not the true meaning, but ya ketch meh drift
« Last Edit: November 04, 2007, 09:51:48 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2007, 09:43:55 PM »
dem yardies want to fire Bora?  i thought he was going to lead them to world cup glory.

« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2007, 10:00:16 PM »
them being buggered all how.

« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2007, 10:36:44 PM »
if they going and pay him all dat money whetehr he coach or not...might as well have him coach and put that money to use otherwise.

« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2007, 03:04:41 AM »
By André Lowe

The only detailed grounds for Milutinovic’s dismissal are; first and foremost, failure to qualify for the 2010 FIFA World Cup finals, insanity and a neglect of duties, which speaks to inexplicable absences.

Their business fix then. He had to be mad to accept to be associated with Jamrock football at his particular point in time in any case ;D

« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2007, 03:27:17 AM »
By André Lowe

The only detailed grounds for Milutinovic’s dismissal are; first and foremost, failure to qualify for the 2010 FIFA World Cup finals, insanity and a neglect of duties, which speaks to inexplicable absences.

Their business fix then. He had to be mad to accept to be associated with Jamrock football at his particular point in time in any case ;D
I real laugh when I see that. That contract sounding real jokey.

New JFF president says 'fundamental changes' will have to be made
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2007, 06:29:40 AM »
Burrell outlines ambitious plans - New JFF president says 'fundamental changes' will have to be made
published: Monday | November 5, 2007
Adrian Frater, News Editor

Outgoing president Crenston Boxhill (left), new president, Captain Horace Burrell (second left), KSAFA executive, Dawn Heron (centre), outgoing gene-ral secretary, Burchell Gibson (second right) and outgoing treasurer, Rudolph Speed, are involved in a discussion at the Jamaica Football Federation's Special Voting Congress at Beaches Negril, yesterday. - Photo by adrian frater

Western Bureau:

Newly re-installed Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) boss, Captain Horace Burrell, has hit the ground running, announcing a raft of plans which he hopes to implement in an ambitious bid to overhaul the beleaguered federation in the shortest time possible.

Speaking at yesterday's JFF Special Voting Congress in Negril, where he took up office after being nominated unopposed to replace Crenston Boxhill as president, Captain Burrell bemoaned the current state of national football, which he described as poor, but said he and his new administration committed to putting things right.

"Our football is in a bad shape as the current structure cannot meet the current challenges," said Captain Burrell. "We have to make some fundamental changesÉ possibly change everything, but we must make our football viable and respected again."

Captain Burrell previously served as JFF president from 1994 to 2003, when he lost a close vote to Crenston Boxhill. During his tenure, Jamaica made its only appearances in the men's senior, Under-20 and Under-17 World Cup Finals.

In his wide-ranging address, captain Burrell announced an eight-prong platform, which is at the heart of immediate plans to reshape the JFF and make Jamaica the foremost football nation in the English-speaking Caribbean, if not CONCACAF.

The eighth-prong platform outlined is as follows:

A coaching development programme, to include the development of a coaching school

A programme to develop referees with an emphasis on the international stage

Administrative reforms to include greater emphasis on financial accountability and private sector involvement

The improvement of playing facilities, with a plan to have a 10,000 seat stadium in each parish

Improving the technical and commercial viability of the National Premier League

A special youth development programme

The development of the football academy to ensure the sound technical preparation of the nation's footballers

A focus on World Cup 2010 and beyond.

SPECIFICS

New JFF team: (From left) First vice president Dale Spencer, president, Captain Horace Burrell, second vice president Bruce Gaynor, executive officer Lorraine Scringer, treasurer Gary Sinclair and third vice president, Raymond Anderson. - PHOTO BY A DRIAN FRATER

Looking at the specifics in some of the areas, Captain Burrell said Dr. Winston Dawes, a past president of the JFF, will be appointed to chair a sub-committee to develop the coaching school, which he hopes will attract government support. Tony James, another former JFF president, has also being drafted into the fold to chair a Youth Development Committee, which will also fall under the federation's technical committee.

Declaring that the federation's financial situation and indebtedness was worrisome, at best, the new president announced that renowned chartered accountant, Leighton McKnight, has be drafted to head the finance committee, with a view of putting the federation under prudent fiscal management.

"The revenue and financial accountability of the JFF requires urgent attention," noted Captain Burrell. "The current indebtedness is cause for concern and that is something we will need to look at right away."

Captain Burrell also outlined specific duties for his vice-president and executive officer. The duties are as follows:

First vice-president, Dale Spencer (who was elected unopposed as Linnel McLean, who was nominated to challenge him for the post withdrew his nomination prior to vote) - administration and marketing.

Second vice-president Bruce Gaynor - coaching, referees and youth programmes

Third vice-president Raymond Anderson - operations and competitions and the management of facilities

Executive Officer Lorraine Scringer - Women's football.

FOOTBALL ACADEMY

Regarding the football academy, now under construction at Malvern in St. Elizabeth, Captain Burrell said the current location will be up for review as according to him, it is likely to be as viable as academies in other countries. He also stated that the new Premier League Clubs Association (PLCA), which now runs the NPL committee, must be broadened in scope to include Government, so as facilitate the development of playing facilities.

Pointing to the 2010 World Cup, Captain Burrell said the national programme is behind target, bemoaned the current FIFA ranking, 103rd, and heaped scorn on those who have been stating that "rankings are not important".

"I am offended by those who say that ranking is not important because that is how respect is gained across the world," said Captain Burrell. "However, I can tell you that a new dawn has arrived and I can assure you that better days are ahead."

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2007, 07:03:34 AM »
Bora should be the least of you Trinis problem now that your talisman Brainless Boxhill is gone. Because as you all know, unlike Boxhill, Captain Burrell does not just outlay plans. He carries them out. And with Horace Reid as his second again. ;D ;D
Like Captain Burrell said last night about being a member of some seats in FIFA and CONCACAF and its affilates: Opportunities abound. ;D ;D

Ohhh! And Bora is going nowhere.   
jjbrown

« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2007, 07:19:32 AM »
Heh eh. I laugh when I read this.

Bora is giong nowhere! he will finally be put to work now that the incompetent Crenston Boxhill ass has been kickled to the curb.
Bora will be made to work for every single penny of the US@1M we pay him per year...and he will deliver in time.

It feels good to be a Jamaican football supporter again.

« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2007, 08:15:44 AM »
Bora should be the least of you Trinis problem now that your talisman Brainless Boxhill is gone. Because as you all know, unlike Boxhill, Captain Burrell does not just outlay plans. He carries them out. And with Horace Reid as his second again. ;D ;D
Like Captain Burrell said last night about being a member of some seats in FIFA and CONCACAF and its affilates: Opportunities abound. ;D ;D

oh really aye that why u all flopped in the 2002 WCQ aye give me a break..... no difference ...... burrell has be undermining  boxhill from since day one .........

« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2007, 08:28:13 AM »

2099 is the year all yuh might qualify again

« Reply #12 on: November 05, 2007, 08:31:17 AM »
...... burrell has be undermining  boxhill from since day one .........
ding ding ding....we have a winner
Burrell will fit in FINE wid jackula
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #13 on: November 05, 2007, 08:42:16 AM »

oh really aye that why u all flopped in the 2002 WCQ aye give me a break..... no difference ...... burrell has be undermining  boxhill from since day one .........
Maybe you should point a finger at your Master Jack who changed the format of the Youth Cup under Boxhill's watch.
Too bad you have no proof of Burrell's sabotage since he was busy attending to his business affairs and FIFA's.
jjbrown

« Reply #14 on: November 05, 2007, 01:04:41 PM »

Maybe you should point a finger at your Master Jack who changed the format of the Youth Cup under Boxhill's watch.
Too bad you have no proof of Burrell's sabotage since he was busy attending to his business affairs and FIFA's.

you  contradict yah self without any kiss me ass  shame !!! before the UNDER 17 Qualifiers in JA you commented about benefiting from the change in formatt blah blah blah now yuh bring it up what again what an arse....... oh what about all the no conficence votes held against boxhill .... burrell had his aims ...