April 25, 2024, 07:18:59 AM

Author Topic: what yuh think midfield...carlos, birchall, spann latapy???  (Read 5315 times)

what yuh think midfield...carlos, birchall, spann latapy???
« on: August 22, 2005, 10:27:57 AM »
man who would of thought one man could send a town in a frenzy...latapy back..so midfield is now carlos birchall spann and latapy, or yuh will put spann to play right back and leave whitley...hmmmm
« Last Edit: August 22, 2005, 11:49:37 AM by Tallman »

Re: what yuh think midfield...carlos, birchall, spann latapy???
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2005, 10:33:42 AM »
so where Yorke going to play?...he really too slow to play as a forward these days...maybe he will have to play as a supoorting stiker just in front the midfield.
we still going to need a defensive midfielder...to me the only option to play that is Birchall.
i would say is Spann on the left and Edwards on the right with a midfield trio of Latas,Yorke with Birchall anchoring.

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2005, 10:34:26 AM »
yorke and jones up front...birchall is not a defensive midfielder

« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2005, 10:39:02 AM »
Birchall will be whatever they put him to be...If Spann could do it then he could do it too.  Utility man that's all it is.

« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2005, 10:53:14 AM »
yes i look at Birchall as a utility man also..he definetly going to play wherever the coach put him and he sure to try his hardest..he is the only man in the midfield who is going to chase down a lost cause and thats what we need...the effort and the mentality of a fighter.

« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2005, 11:18:49 AM »
yes i look at Birchall as a utility man also..he definetly going to play wherever the coach put him and he sure to try his hardest..he is the only man in the midfield who is going to chase down a lost cause and thats what we need...the effort and the mentality of a fighter.

the fight dey, buh he real slow.. almost seems as if he struggling at times with all the effort it takes for him to try and run

« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2005, 11:22:05 AM »
Do we trust Atiba in that right back or do we go back with Spann who played well there for 45 mins but has never really played that position?

« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2005, 11:32:57 AM »
Do we trust Atiba in that right back or do we go back with Spann who played well there for 45 mins but has never really played that position?

we playing to win at home..i say 3-5-2
Sancho, Lawrence and Avery in the back.
Edwards, Birchall, Latapy, Spann and Yorke playing in front the midfiled.
Sealy and Stern up front.
Yes i did say STERN  ;D ..he sure to get ball to his feet with Latas on the field now.
Doh worry Seally will run down de ball fuh we.

« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2005, 12:47:35 PM »

we playing to win at home..i say 3-5-2
Sancho, Lawrence and Avery in the back.
Edwards, Birchall, Latapy, Spann and Yorke playing in front the midfiled.
Sealy and Stern up front.
Yes i did say STERN  ;D ..he sure to get ball to his feet with Latas on the field now.
Doh worry Seally will run down de ball fuh we.

A three man defense is asking for trouble for T&T. Lets not forget Guatemala is a formidable opponent with quick forwards. Yes we're home but four defenders couldn't contain last time we met I don't expect three will.

Offline Trinitalian

• Die Hard Warrior
  • What if he scored!
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2005, 02:13:37 PM »
We have to play with four in the back against Guatemala to eliminate the Ruiz threat.At home we are more adventurous and play a better brand,so I would go for a 4-4-2 which will occasionally evolve into a 4-3-3.
To start                 Jack

Atiba Charles               Sancho                A. John

Andrews
Edwards/Whitley                                      Spann
                           Birchall        Latas

Yorke
                                                 Jones 

I see Sealy coming on to run against a tired defense- poacher's paradise.If Whitley doesn't start he may come on as well as Samuel on the left. I think Noray should be called for this game.His speed will do rell damage. If Birchall does get a chance to play alongside the "Magician" it will change him forever.
Go warriors !!!!

Offline UPRISING

• "Justice is what de youths dem need overall..."
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2005, 02:15:52 PM »
Feliziano Pardner,
Doh taint de 'Latas Return' wit dat Stern vibes...dat come like obeah dred...Stern good coming on for now.. my squad for G'Mala

Jack
               Dog           Avery
Sancho                                 Wolfe
                    Spann
  Edwards/Birchall               Whitley

Yorke           Jones

Edwards / Birchall on the right is a toss up because Edwards is not 100%, but what Birchall may lack in pace and skill, he makes up for in effort, so we could go either way..I would give Birchall the start out on the right..

Sealey for Jones (70')
Edwards for Birchall (70')
Stern for Latas (75')  ..drop Dwight into the mid...

We have to play 4-4-2 ...Ruiz will torment a backline of only 3 men..let Avery play in the middle with Dog and give Wolfe a shot at left back...let we stop this Spann at right back talk now for now...he did well the other night but his contribution is needed in the midfield..

I wish ah could be there in that packed-to-capacity stadium in a few weeks..!!!
"...de way dem deal wit Mankind all mih gyal start bawl.."

Offline sportscolonel

« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2005, 02:39:58 PM »
i think we need to go with a 3-5-2, 3 in the back should be ok, guatemala been struggling since early march and besides ruiz, missin another striker.

GK: i really dont like jack.....hislop or ince.

LB: avery john
CB: dog andrews
RB: brent sancho

DMF: silvio spann
MF: carlos edwards (if not fit samuel could play true left wing)
CMF: russel latapy
MF: chris birchall (right side)
OMF: dwight yorke

FW:cornell glenn (kenwyne jones at the half if he not doin it)
FW: stern john (can't score when ya dont get the ball....stop being hard on him)

BENCH:

scott sealy (definitely comin on)
colin samuel
aurtis whitley
angus eve
atiba charles
glenton wolfe
kenwyne jones

« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2005, 02:53:21 PM »
FW: stern john (can't score when ya dont get the ball....stop being hard on him)

Steups... yuh blind or yuh mad... de man been throwing away sitters... thais why ppl "being hard on" him
« Last Edit: August 22, 2005, 02:55:52 PM by FF »

« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2005, 03:41:16 PM »
FF, yuh take de words right out meh mouth.

« Reply #14 on: August 22, 2005, 04:13:47 PM »
I would play Stern as de lone "Striker" wit Latas jes behind he.  Yorke in midfield wit Birchall, Carlos and Whitley.

Tempted to play Spann as right back even though he is a more natural midfielder.

My line up....assumin everybody FIT and HEALTHY

_____________________________Jack___________________________________

Spann________________Dog_____________Sancho____________________Avery John

Carlo__________________________Birchall____________________________Whitley

_____________________________Yorke_________________________________

_____________________________Latas (Peter Beardsley role)___________________

_____________________________Stern/Kenwyne/Sealey________________________

Meh midfield is a diamond.  With Dwight to de front of de diamond and Birchall to de back

Ting is......Dwight is a man to play jes off de striker but he been doin it with Stern and dem 2 jes doh click.  Assumin Stern startin....den Latas would be de rightest man to start with Stern in de "Dwight" position with Dwight droppin back lil bit.

I PERSONALLY would like to see Kenwyne Jones start up front with Latas jes behind he.

The question you have to ask is....

Assuming Carlos, Latas & Yorke can help to provide the service, who is the best FINISHER we have?  Stern has the record but not the form.  Sealey has the form but not the experience.  Kenwyne has some form, lots of potential and no experience.

So who do you go with in a MUST WIN GAME???

The other thing to remember is.....We add Yorke, Latas and Carlos to a team to provide offensive punch in "restrained roles" i.e. not striking capacity.  They're not the best defensive players by a longshot.  So by adding them...not to mention if Stern starts, we lose that much more defensive stability.

One more reason I guess for starting Kenwyne Jones.

Offline Gladman

« Reply #15 on: August 22, 2005, 07:49:40 PM »
We have to play with four in the back against Guatemala to eliminate the Ruiz threat.At home we are more adventurous and play a better brand,so I would go for a 4-4-2 which will occasionally evolve into a 4-3-3.

Andrews
                           Birchall        Latas

Yorke
                                                 Jones 

I see Sealy coming on to run against a tired defense- poacher's paradise.If Whitley doesn't start he may come on as well as Samuel on the left. I think Noray should be called for this game.His speed will do rell damage. If Birchall does get a chance to play alongside the "Magician" it will change him forever.
Go warriors !!!!

Yea i agree with u and  d four man defense cuz them guatemalans  have pace,but not sancho in d bac,bess we put

Marlon Rojas     Marvin Andrews     Anton pierre   Avery John

Not this sancho boi he made some wild plays and like he wasn't findin his feet somtimes in d america game he was lookin like cyd gray out dey,not to discredit d
« Last Edit: August 22, 2005, 07:56:35 PM by Gladman »
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #16 on: August 22, 2005, 07:54:37 PM »

Andrews
                           Birchall        Latas

Yorke
                                                 Jones 

Go warriors !!!!

Yea i agree with u and  d four man defense cuz them guatemalans but not sancho in d bac,bess we put

Not this sancho boi he made some wild tackles in d america game he was lookin like cyd gray out dey

What game you was watchin GLADMAN?  Boy you better wake and clean the yampie out yuh eye yes....

Offline Gladman

« Reply #17 on: August 22, 2005, 07:59:26 PM »
Was sancho ah good substitution

Offline Gladman

« Reply #18 on: August 22, 2005, 08:02:42 PM »
If u rate sancho so much then y was this his first WCQ under Beenie

« Reply #19 on: August 22, 2005, 08:24:55 PM »

Yea i agree with u and  d four man defense cuz them guatemalans but not sancho in d bac,bess we put

Not this sancho boi he made some wild tackles in d america game he was lookin like cyd gray out dey

What game you was watchin GLADMAN?  Boy you better wake and clean the yampie out yuh eye yes....

From de time I see Marlon Rojas on de right side I say yes...one less post to read

« Reply #20 on: August 23, 2005, 05:45:24 AM »
If u rate sancho so much then y was this his first WCQ under Beenie

Glad's - If I remember well, Sancho was nursing an injury when he reported for the game against Panama.  We all know what Tallest did against Panama and then Mexico.  So Sancho really lost his spot through injury.  Is a cruel twist of fate, but it seems that Tallest come now and loose his starting spot back to Sancho because of an errant back pass by Dog.  The central defence is one position in which we have decent depth and experience (including Cox). 

That being said I would not put Sancho in the wing back position.  In a number of the lineups I see a couple of players being totally out of position but that is just me.  We might be getting carried away with this "utility" player idea.  Depending on yuh opposition a good "utility" player depending on the position you put him in, will get seriously exposed and look average at best.  We need better than average in the next two games.

« Reply #21 on: August 23, 2005, 06:13:00 AM »
I always felt that Latapy even at his best should have played as a 3/4 striker, with freedom to move (roam) in the opposition half. Latapy playing just off the main striker would allow him to get the ball in dangerous areas. When he plays midfield and comes deep for balls he is no threat and teams in the past were happy to let him have it in those positions.
Beenie now has an interesting situation on his hands, but obviously he has given it much thought, else he would not have made the effort to get Latapy. His presence would give the squad a serious boost and I would love to be in the stadium when he runs on the field, just to hear the reception.

« Reply #22 on: August 23, 2005, 09:00:25 AM »
sancho had a hamstring injury gladman

« Reply #23 on: August 23, 2005, 12:02:18 PM »

Andrews
                           Birchall        Latas

Yorke
                                                 Jones 

Go warriors !!!!

Yea i agree with u and  d four man defense cuz them guatemalans have pace,but not sancho in d bac,bess we put

Not this sancho boi he made some wild plays and like he wasn't findin his feet somtimes in d america game he was lookin like cyd gray out dey,not to discredit d

Glad man.. What you have against sancho so man .. That man does tackle like a BOSS. I dunno what game you were watching, but he did not do any wrong things. infact, He Added a great boost to the team's defense.!!! .. You and Sancho had ah lil tussel de odda day or wot ?

« Reply #24 on: August 24, 2005, 08:17:50 AM »
.................................Jack............................

........Sancho.............Andrews............Avery.....

.................Spann.....................Birchall............

.................................Whitley........................

Edwards......................Latapy..........................

.........................Yorke.........Jones..................

We have to score to win so this attacking formationmay be useful.
Birchall has looked better as a defensive hustler/Edgar Davids type in the games that I have seen. Edwards wide and only responsibility is attack, no defense since he recovering from an injury. He can also switch flanks to bring freshness to the attack.
Spann and Birchall in front of the defense gives us essentially 5 defenders and 5 midfielders. They provide a good outlet since when we knock the ball we always seem to want to go backward after 3 passes.
I think Latas and Otis will hook up well in the midfield, they are both very creative and may be on the same wavelength, yet Otis is fitter and younger and may be able to cover for Latas.
Yorke will see alot more of the ball up front with Latas and Edwards providing, as well as having a fast worker in Kenwyne dribbling at defenders, winning balls and passing.
This squad = at least 2 goals for, i dunno how much against
« Last Edit: August 24, 2005, 08:27:12 AM by Marcos »

« Reply #25 on: August 26, 2005, 03:37:26 PM »
Look my side

-------------------------------Jack---------------------------

Charles----------Andrews----Sancho------------Avery

--------------------------Spann/Birchall---------------------

Edwards/Birchall-----------------------------Whitley-

------------------------Latapy----------Yorke--------------

----------------------------------Jones-----------------------

Slightly more attacking will have Spann at the right back...

Latapy must have free reign to do his ting in de attacking third... I do not want him collecting the ball too deep. So he playing right up with Jones and Yorke.
Yorke could probably do more running than Latapy (my opinion) so he will track back and collect the ball in midfield just as he has been doin in all de games...
Birchall/Spann will hold tha midfield and tackle... show for the ball for de defence to outlet to... in turn hand it off to Yorke or the wingers...
By the time Latapy get de ball... Edwards and Whitley should be gone blazing up de wings looking for ball... Yorke will move forward offering support and Jones should be humbuggin the defence with diaganol runs.

That is five men in attack with the center man (Spann/Birchall) and a wingback making a late run to overload the attack with 7 men....
3 should stay home always.

I giving atiba a second chance but I kinda like the idea of Spann and Edwards running that right wing... One go.. one stay and come late... keep interchanging the defensive duties... they could kill tha wing together.

wha allyuh say?

« Reply #26 on: August 26, 2005, 04:23:16 PM »
my side   4-3-3  we need 2 attack

------------jack----------

---- spann---              ---- sancho-----         ----- andrews-----                ------ avery ------
(look better dan atiba and cyd)

---- birchall---        ---- latapy ----          ----- seaton---

---- yorke -----

--- stern ---                          --- kenwyn ----

« Reply #27 on: August 26, 2005, 04:31:34 PM »
Daz a decent squad dey smallie.....except...

If Carlos fit....he playin.  And we need him too.  If he is fit, it means somebody have to rest.  I fear it may be Kenwyne.  I don't necessarily agree with it but everybody waitin fuh Stern to buss out (not he belly...goals).....he have de goalscoring record internationally so he might well get de start.

Otherwise.....daz about as good as it gets fuh we.

« Reply #28 on: August 26, 2005, 04:35:29 PM »
sry dey palos i 4get 2 mention carlos if he fit     i wud drop seaton or birchall    not kenwyn  i hope beenie keeps 2 flat strikers     jones and stern are both great and have different attributes  eg jones-speed                stern- ball control      and so on     sep 3rd  TNT

« Reply #29 on: August 26, 2005, 04:45:43 PM »
my side 4-3-3 we need 2 attack

------------jack----------

---- spann--- ---- sancho----- ----- andrews----- ------ avery ------
(look better dan atiba and cyd)

---- birchall--- ---- latapy ---- ----- seaton---

---- yorke -----

--- stern --- --- kenwyn ----

This side good for 5, an are unlikely to score as much  >:(
« Last Edit: August 26, 2005, 04:48:08 PM by doc »