April 24, 2024, 07:10:16 AM

Author Topic: Duvone Stewart....Pan in extremely good hands  (Read 1844 times)

Duvone Stewart....Pan in extremely good hands
« on: November 07, 2007, 06:13:47 PM »
I never thought I would live to hear another player who would musically make my pores raise as Boogsie Sharpe does.

I had the privilege and honor to liseten to Duvone Stewart this past weekend and it was a revelation.  Frankly, I was blown to fack away.

I always feared that Boogsie would be the last of a dying breed.  A true GENIUS in every musical sense of the word.  GOD's gift to T&T and by extension the world.

I see now that the Lord in HIS infinite wisdom, has seen it fit to bless us with another.  In many ways, this new "version" is not just new but improved.  And comin from a Boogsie disciple like me (for those who know me), dat is de ultimate musical accolade I could give to anyone.

Boogsie will always be Boogsie.  There are things he alone can do.  That no one else on the planet can do.  But believe me, he not alone.  I have seen it with my own 2 eyes and heard it with my very soul. 

Peeps...if yuh ever get a chance, fuh those who have not yet done so, take een dis bredda.  He is a musical tour de force.  Pannist extraordinaire.  And as likeable a human being as you can imagine.

Re: Duvone Stewart....Pan in extremely good hands
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2007, 06:29:12 PM »
where he based? In trini?

He on tour or something?

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2007, 06:52:05 PM »
I heard wonderful things about this pannist!

« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2007, 06:55:41 PM »
where he based? In trini?

He on tour or something?

He based in trini yes, but he outside most a de ress a de year except fuh carnival time.  He go be in Bim dis weekend

« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2007, 06:56:18 PM »
I heard wonderful things about this pannist!

Yuh miss a treat at de Autumn Leaves show.  But ah guess book signin ting have yuh beezee... ;)

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2007, 07:01:53 PM »
that same night I had a private launch in my home otherwise I would be in the front row.

Don't like to miss these things. I was there for the winter show, the panorama so I don't feel too bad but still, I need my fix...

Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2007, 09:08:18 PM »
man ah seeing he do someting dere dat ah get boof for when I was learning how to play tenor. Dey tell meh DOH STICK OUT MEH ELBOW SO!! And see Duvone doing dat bole as brass...I fine it easier to get to meh sharps and whole notes but ah get boof...

ah vex now...

« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2007, 11:01:02 AM »
man ah seeing he do someting dere dat ah get boof for when I was learning how to play tenor. Dey tell meh DOH STICK OUT MEH ELBOW SO!! And see Duvone doing dat bole as brass...I fine it easier to get to meh sharps and whole notes but ah get boof...

ah vex now...
ya did used to stick ya pinky finger out too ;D

yeah, is funny how some teachers are
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2007, 11:06:59 AM »
nah, I need the pinky fingers to give them quick taps...yuh cah play wid yuh pinky playing British princess...

ah going an fine meh teacher and boof he back...
« Last Edit: November 09, 2007, 11:15:16 AM by Queen Macoomeh »