April 28, 2024, 06:15:07 PM

Author Topic: Mexico to change jersey colors - green jerseys confusing w/ grass  (Read 4316 times)

Mexico to change jersey colors - green jerseys confusing w/ grass
« on: September 17, 2007, 11:26:36 AM »
i suppose saudi, morocco, nigeria, ghana and ireland will follow soon.

Mexican national team changes jersey colors

September 17, 2007

MEXICO CITY (TICKER) -- Mexico will ditch its traditional green jersey, as coach Hugo Sanchez has claimed players are struggling to distinguish it from the grass on the field.

The Mexican national team will wear white jerseys for home games and red while playing on the road.

"This is not new. I've been thinking about it since I took over," Sanchez said. "In my opinion, our green is confusing with the pitch - as grass is green. It looks like there are less players on the field."

The Mexican media has claimed Sanchez wants his team to wear white since that is the color worn by his former club team, Real Madrid. But the coach insists the change is for purely soccer reasons.

"I've been thinking about this problem of colors since I was a player," Sanchez said. "It's my experience. I'm not saying this because I am a Real Madrid fan.

"The fact is that I like white. It's a color our flag has and Real wear just by coincidence. With the color change, I think we'll have the impression of having twelve or thirteen players on the field."

Re: Mexico to change jersey colors - green jerseys confusing w/ grass
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2007, 11:36:36 AM »
T&T wears red and white and we don't look like we have 12 or 13 players on the field.

Hugo need to let us know where he is sourcing his obviously excellent peyote.

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2007, 11:56:17 AM »
Hugo serious boy?

Interesting......

« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2007, 12:19:06 PM »

« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2007, 12:20:41 PM »
this is what a cutarse from Brazil does do to yuh....

« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2007, 12:28:01 PM »
How stupid is that ?

« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2007, 12:44:48 PM »
I may not agree with his reasoning for the change.  But what is the big deal? 

More money for the Mexican Federation b/c all them Mexicans go buy the new red shirt...

I doh see no problem with that.  This has financial implications in a positive manner.  It's called Marketing.

Offline Swima

« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2007, 01:04:21 PM »

More money for the Mexican Federation b/c all them Mexicans go buy the new red shirt...

I doh see no problem with that.  This has financial implications in a positive manner.  It's called Marketing.

I think people, especially Mexican fans just have a natural association with Mexico in green jerseys. Back in the Porterfield era we had some black and white jerseys that I personally found unattractive, but beyond that, I felt that TnT was supposed to be in Red first and foremost. Just like Brazil is yellow and Holland is orange and Argentina is sky blue and white. It loses its sense of tradition, when Mexican national players no longer get to grace the field in the Green Jerseys.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2007, 01:06:10 PM »
that is ah stupid reason. if u want to change colours as ah marketing ploy any1 could come up with a better reason than that

its interesting with england's white tops nobody eh take crouch 4 ah goal post as yet steupsssssssss
« Last Edit: September 17, 2007, 01:07:49 PM by freakazoid »

« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2007, 01:16:28 PM »

I doh think anybody have issue with it...I hardly doubt anybody here cares that much.  We juss think it schupid.  Hugo muss be colorblind in he right eye...wondering why he 4-4-2 looking like ah 4-3-1.

« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2007, 01:22:50 PM »
this is what a cutarse from Brazil does do to yuh....

And they wore white last week against Brazil to boot....

« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2007, 02:15:13 PM »

I think people, especially Mexican fans just have a natural association with Mexico in green jerseys. Back in the Porterfield era we had some black and white jerseys that I personally found unattractive, but beyond that, I felt that TnT was supposed to be in Red first and foremost. Just like Brazil is yellow and Holland is orange and Argentina is sky blue and white. It loses its sense of tradition, when Mexican national players no longer get to grace the field in the Green Jerseys.

I could understand that.  I also like the analogy of Brazil but why can't tradition change?  Maybe is me but I doh really think it go make much of a difference in the players' attitudes.  Once you put on the national colours, you could care less.  I would agree it stupid but the man hah to come up with a reason.

Let the red mexican parade come to meet the red trini island....

« Reply #14 on: September 19, 2007, 12:25:21 AM »
Eman luv that juzzy

« Reply #15 on: November 14, 2007, 12:53:26 AM »

This is the new jersey unveiled at a ceremony last night. Obviously, it's still green, but a different green. Talk of replacing it may have been shelved. Next year will be the 50th anniversary of Mexico playing in green. The jersey will debut against the US on February 6.

Featured above: #9, Senor Sanchez and my Mex baller of choice, Andres Guardado. When ADIDAS call yuh come running. Looks like he made the flight from Spain back home for the occasion.

« Reply #16 on: November 14, 2007, 05:18:25 AM »
Dis should ah be over in de jokes section.......

« Reply #17 on: November 14, 2007, 08:50:56 AM »
I understand wha de coach man saying.....it might be difficult to recognize men at ah GLANCE if de men and dem have on dey green.  We have to remember dat de men and dem so damn short dat dey close to de ground.  So yuh have to naturally watch dey socks to see if is dey padnah.  If de man feel dat changing de Johzee might help dey team...well who is we to disagree.  And some coach feel dat ah team breakfast or team lunch does make de team play better?  Never hear so much dotishness.  and vex with man when dey aint eat wha dey give dem.  De Mexican and dem have reasoning behind dey change.  Is not no superstition.  De man make a lickle hypothesis, and we jes have to rock back and see if Mexico get better. 

I jes playnig Devil's advocate......
Dah Mexico coach on chupidness

« Reply #18 on: November 14, 2007, 09:02:54 AM »
its interesting with england's white tops nobody eh take crouch 4 ah goal post as yet steupsssssssss

I could just imaqine men banging shot after shot off the tiefing goat :devil:

« Reply #19 on: November 14, 2007, 09:16:53 AM »
The Coach is right and has a valid point.

Now I feel it have plenty money and marketing $$$ behind this move........ but it is a valid point.

A) The man has personal experience.

B) He claim his players say they having trouble distinguishing it from the grass on the field.

As a good coach he must bring up concerns that his players have.

Now other factors to take into consideration which may validate his point.

1) Artifical Lighting distorts colours of uniforms to a degree.

Also depending on the type of light a uniform may seem a totally different colour. Case in point, my fete match team takes a sweat in the savannah under the  lights during the week...In that light it is difficult to distinguish a yellow, light blue, light grey, light green and light orange from a white jersey.  So men usually wear darker colours or bright colours like red....(yes is not stadium lighting but the point is valid)

2) The atmosphere in Mexico is different. They have a level of smoke, fog and pollution that is well documented and may distort visibility to a degree.

3) Any of us here know the shade of green grass they operating with across there? It might be close in true.

4) We ent know how blind the players are.

As a side note too the new multicoloured balls while helping visibility in some instances must not clash with the colour of the uniform of the players on the field.

In MLS when they are playing on pitches with all types of non football markings and ads, they sometimes use a silver/reflective/big piece of tin foil kinda colour ball.

I dont find we should laugh at Hugo...if there is any advantage that can give your team an edge no matter how small you must exploit it to the fullest no matter how ridiculous it seems. Its the little things that count and make big differences.

« Reply #20 on: November 14, 2007, 02:46:41 PM »
......and for all dat pontificating.....I still find dis should be in de jokes section......