April 26, 2024, 07:37:37 PM

Author Topic: De first pair ah football tugs yuh own  (Read 15732 times)

De first pair ah football tugs yuh own
« on: November 14, 2007, 10:56:16 AM »
By dat, yuh goh see how long men in de game.  I aint no old man, but mine didn't have ah name.  It was like a low-cut pro-kegs with rubber pegs on de bottom.  Ah moss green and black.  In Buggy Haynes club, and de coah use to sell Cannings tall 12 after training

Offline D Midfield General

Re: De first pair ah football tugs yuh own
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2007, 11:09:44 AM »
I had ah Patrick

« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2007, 11:31:18 AM »
I think it was a hand me down Dunlop, then a hand me down Mitre... around de same time actually.. not sure which was first...

First boots I ever buy was an Alix...

« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2007, 11:39:34 AM »
ah Doric ..wit de '17' pegs at the bottom

wha allyuh watchin mih so for?..dat use to stick in de mud like genuine adidas, puma etc long time

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2007, 11:42:54 AM »
i had a Mitre. yellow and black..... :)
All American

« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2007, 11:46:39 AM »
lawd alyuh sad oui
all dem brands dead now, fuss dey waz shitty lol
my first waz an umbro

« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2007, 11:50:07 AM »
I had a canvas tugs, black with yellow trim.
Not sure what brand.  Maybe Bata?

« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2007, 12:08:50 PM »
Mitre wit a million and 1 small pegs below it.

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2007, 12:09:07 PM »
i had ah Mitre, with like ah million stubs below. i use to hate to clean them shit.
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2007, 12:20:52 PM »
bata dogs ;D ah play every game in dem things, cricket, and football ;D

« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2007, 12:27:35 PM »
Think it was a Gola ... buh ah definitely remember polishing my tugs with pride ... think dat helped in de pre-game psychological prep  ;)
« Last Edit: November 14, 2007, 12:29:36 PM by asylumseeker »

Offline DeLasTrini

• Don't blink on me. Or u just might miss my goal.
« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2007, 12:30:22 PM »
Adidas - 13 pegs Blue and Black, Still in good working condition
What's the Meaning of the Word Quit. I don't know the meaning of it. Trini to the Fullest.

« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2007, 12:34:23 PM »
I had a black and white Mitre.

« Reply #13 on: November 14, 2007, 12:36:04 PM »
Adidas - 13 pegs Blue and Black, Still in good working condition

This fella is really a new warrior if the togs still in good working condition... :o

« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2007, 12:37:04 PM »
A Flip tongue Puma. In std five and form 1.

After dat I had a Alix...Black with the orange and yellow strip Van Basten. That buss after two Giants training on Fatima Ground with Harry.

Take back to boots to a store on Aripita Ave called Tansley Thompsons sports goods.

Complain and he give me a black/purple and green Alix. I lace it up and I playing vs St James sec. After 20 minutes I come orf the field...both boots buss way.

Went back by Tansley Thompson and was offered a Blue/White and Black Alix to which I promptly declined. Went by Kennys and call a Patrick. Kennys long time only used to have patrick and mitre. In fact they stock still limited and dais all they have.

Dat Patrick real handle meh for a long time. Den I had a rubber peg adidas...In fact the whole side had that adidas, that was around  89-90.

The best boots that everybody wanted in dem days was the Van Basten by Diadora and it had a kinda inner socks with the same orange and black. Wish I coulda have one but too expensive. That and a Puma Pele King was d general boots. Then they had a flourescent green and black Diadora or Lotto that was d pips. I think it was Baggio used to wear dat.

After that I used to get hand me down boots from a partner. I get a Lanzera, lotto and a mizuno.

Besides Tansley Thompson the only other place in TT you coulda get a bess boots was Bhajnaths and Berts in Chaguanas.

I was in form 5 when Berts was the first/only place in TT to have a coloured boots. He had a Red and a Blue Lotto Stadio. Up till then all boots were primairily black.

From my memory Gary Glasgow and Dwarika were one of the firsts in the North to wear a Blue boots they real style orf in that and den they had a fella From Malick Named Amuffin Daniel who had a white Mizuno but it look more like a baseball shoe. Then next big player to wear a Colored Boots was Cornell Glen. They used to refer to him as Red Boots in the papers.

Whey memories yes.

« Reply #15 on: November 14, 2007, 12:37:38 PM »
Mine was a addis...rubber pegs, size 3 and half.

the last boots i score real goals with !! lol

Offline kaiser

« Reply #16 on: November 14, 2007, 12:40:12 PM »
puma  lattek club

« Reply #17 on: November 14, 2007, 01:11:21 PM »
Then next big player to wear a Colored Boots was Cornell Glen. They used to refer to him as Red Boots in the papers.

Was ah blue boots.

« Reply #18 on: November 14, 2007, 01:14:04 PM »
I had a Bata in Primary school. But then I got the Platini patrick with aluminum stud. When that thing get wet, it used to weigh 10lbs each.

« Reply #19 on: November 14, 2007, 01:29:20 PM »
A Flip tongue Puma. In std five and form 1.

After dat I had a Alix...Black with the orange and yellow strip Van Basten. That buss after two Giants training on Fatima Ground with Harry.

Take back to boots to a store on Aripita Ave called Tansley Thompsons sports goods.

Complain and he give me a black/purple and green Alix. I lace it up and I playing vs St James sec. After 20 minutes I come orf the field...both boots buss way.

Went back by Tansley Thompson and was offered a Blue/White and Black Alix to which I promptly declined. Went by Kennys and call a Patrick. Kennys long time only used to have patrick and mitre. In fact they stock still limited and dais all they have.

Dat Patrick real handle meh for a long time. Den I had a rubber peg adidas...In fact the whole side had that adidas, that was around  89-90.

The best boots that everybody wanted in dem days was the Van Basten by Diadora and it had a kinda inner socks with the same orange and black. Wish I coulda have one but too expensive. That and a Puma Pele King was d general boots. Then they had a flourescent green and black Diadora or Lotto that was d pips. I think it was Baggio used to wear dat.

After that I used to get hand me down boots from a partner. I get a Lanzera, lotto and a mizuno.

Besides Tansley Thompson the only other place in TT you coulda get a bess boots was Bhajnaths and Berts in Chaguanas.

I was in form 5 when Berts was the first/only place in TT to have a coloured boots. He had a Red and a Blue Lotto Stadio. Up till then all boots were primairily black.

From my memory Gary Glasgow and Dwarika were one of the firsts in the North to wear a Blue boots they real style orf in that and den they had a fella From Malick Named Amuffin Daniel who had a white Mizuno but it look more like a baseball shoe. Then next big player to wear a Colored Boots was Cornell Glen. They used to refer to him as Red Boots in the papers.

Whey memories yes.

waaaaay sah, de man call name like amuffin daniel yes..   :beermug:

i think my first boots was a hard ass mitre in form 1 for inter-class.. i kinda grow up playing ball barefoot in de backyard and savannah and it take me real long to learn to play in boots.. but barefoot, i is king, i could trap a ball wit meh big toe..

and at the same time, pops call down my first pair of keeper gloves.. it cost $30, was red and yellow and the fabric was just like a gardening gloves   :-\

« Reply #20 on: November 14, 2007, 01:33:22 PM »
My first boots was a boots with the NBA emblem on it!  Imagine that.  It was a rubber pegs.  That was standard 1.

After that I had a Topper.  Wicked Brazilian brand.  Buy it in Arima.

After that I had a Patricks.  But getting pegs for them was pressure as Patricks had they own kinda screw ins, so as that buss I switch brands one time.

From there I had a diadora.  I buy that in the dry goods store in Chaguanas.  Long time that was the place to buy boots in Trinidad.

Since then is pure Pumas.  Once you wear a Puma King it hard to wear anything else.

« Reply #21 on: November 14, 2007, 02:01:57 PM »
first boots i remember having was a Alix wen i was bout 6..then i had a white and black mitre...that last for a good while. Eventually i had an umbro but that mash up quick quick..Since then is puma and adidas all the way

« Reply #22 on: November 14, 2007, 02:04:30 PM »
I had a canvas tugs, black with yellow trim.
Not sure what brand.  Maybe Bata?

Lol... :rotfl:

Memories....

« Reply #23 on: November 14, 2007, 02:26:05 PM »
I used tro Roll bare foot...........with 10 pegs  ;D

« Reply #24 on: November 14, 2007, 02:27:52 PM »
Mitre screw pegs

« Reply #25 on: November 14, 2007, 02:35:52 PM »
When saying so ... ah jes remember ah had tugs and a football on meh Form I booklist ... great school, great requirement!

« Reply #26 on: November 14, 2007, 02:44:24 PM »
Then next big player to wear a Colored Boots was Cornell Glen. They used to refer to him as Red Boots in the papers.

Was ah blue boots.

Nah Tallman yuh wrong... was a red boots....  I used to be right dey....

you from South how you go know anyway?

EDIT: Tallman yuh really slipping these days... yuh need some cod liver oil

« Last Edit: November 14, 2007, 02:50:41 PM by FF »

Offline fivers

« Reply #27 on: November 14, 2007, 02:49:29 PM »
Agatas

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
« Reply #28 on: November 14, 2007, 02:51:41 PM »
Fuss boots was ah black boots with some blue stripes. Think it was called ah Cheetah.

Anyway, ah pardner living next door borrow mi boots after I only play in dem once. He went Trinity. When yuh hear I get back mi boots, dey ben-up ben-up and stretch-up stretch-up. I had to stuff toilet paper and ting in de toes for dem to fit.

Over de next few years, is about every pair ah boots I buy, dat man borrow and stretch up. Was mi real bredrin, so it was hard to say no. Sometimes, ah used to hide mi own boots and play ah couldn find dem when he come for ah borrow.
Toujour Pret!

« Reply #29 on: November 14, 2007, 03:01:05 PM »

Was ah blue boots.

Nah Tallman yuh wrong... was a red boots....  I used to be right dey....

you from South how you go know anyway?

EDIT: Tallman yuh really slipping these days... yuh need some cod liver oil

Well den he had both. Not me and dat cod liver oil business.