48 (28.6%)
Yes
42 (25%)
Give him time
63 (37.5%)
Assistant only
15 (8.9%)

Total Members Voted: 165

Author Topic: Russell Latapy Thread  (Read 247907 times)

Re: Now Latapy sues TTFF ...for $5m
« Reply #1200 on: February 16, 2012, 04:41:17 PM »
Ah wah de rass wrong wid RL,great player yes but coach?Listem man de TTFF should be suing you rass fuh de shit yuh dun while coaching or not coaching TT. :o

« Reply #1201 on: February 16, 2012, 04:46:36 PM »
drive it een

« Reply #1202 on: February 16, 2012, 05:11:08 PM »
drive it een
Ah thought yuh wudda say "sue de fitball"

« Reply #1203 on: February 17, 2012, 12:09:30 PM »
What exactly are his grounds for wrongful dismissal? His win/loss record was not exactly outstanding.

I doh think wrongful dismissal had anything to do with his win/loss record, rather it had to do with the agreement to continue serving as coach at the same salary for a further 2 years after from March 2010.

« Reply #1204 on: February 17, 2012, 03:16:37 PM »
so hear nah, when we sueing....can we afford Bakes QC, and Fottball Supporter QC....we have ah case...nuff verbal agreements we get...

Latapy seeks over US$4m from TTFF.
« Reply #1205 on: April 19, 2012, 04:49:31 AM »
Latapy seeks over US$4m from TTFF.
By Jada Loutoo (Newsday).

FILED witness statements in dismissed Soca Warriors coach Russell Latapy’s claim against the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF), for more than $4 million in salaries owed, will stand as evidence in chief when the matter goes to trial.

Latapy filed a civil suit against the TTFF for salaries owed to him after he was stripped of his post in April, last year.

Yesterday, the matter was called in the Port-of-Spain High Court before Justice Maureen Rajnauth-Lee who also ordered that the witnesses in the matter are to be present at the trial for cross examination.

She also gave directions for the filing of documents and witness statements in the matter which will come up again before her on September 19.

Latapy’s claim covers outstanding salary in the sum of US$424,278 and damages for wrongful dismissal in the sum of US$402,852.

He also wants the TTFF to pay interest on both sums. He was fired as national coach following the Soca Warriors dismal showing at the 2010 Digicel Caribbean Cup in Martinique.

Latapy’s claim also alleges that during his term of employment with the TTFF, he was only paid part of his salary for some months and no salary for others.

His claim was filed by attorney Anthony Bullock with senior advocate being Douglas Mendes, SC.

The former national team captain, dubbed the “Little Magician” for his skills on the field, was hired by the TTFF as coach of the 2010 World Cup football team.

His contract, signed on April 15, 2009, covered the period April 15, 2009 to November 30, 2009.

It was agreed that Latapy would be paid a base salary of US$33,571 per month.

The national team’s 2010 World Cup campaign came to an end in November 2009 but the TTFF agreed for him to continue on as coach at the same salary (of US$33,571) until another formal agreement was arrived with the TTFF.

According to Latapy’s claim, in March 2010, TTFF special adviser Jack Warner and the federation’s general secretary Richard Groden entered into an oral agreement with him that he would serve as national coach of the Soca Warriors for two years.

The sacked coach said term of the oral agreement was that he would continue to be paid the same salary and there was no provision for termination of the agreement, by either party, by the provision of notice or otherwise.

Latapy said he performed the duties of coach, according to the agreement with the TTFF, until he was terminated on April 8, 2011, before the end of the two-year contract.

He claimed he was wrongfully dismissed and suffered damages for 12 months. Derek Ali is representing the TTFF.

« Reply #1206 on: April 19, 2012, 05:19:18 AM »
According to Latapy’s claim, in March 2010, TTFF special adviser Jack Warner and the federation’s general secretary Richard Groden entered into an oral agreement with him that he would serve as national coach of the Soca Warriors for two years.

The sacked coach said term of the oral agreement was that he would continue to be paid the same salary and there was no provision for termination of the agreement, by either party, by the provision of notice or otherwise.

So yuh abandon yuh teammates over one oral agreement, but now yuh going tuh court for de alleged breach of another oral agreement wit de same man. Ah wonder why? ::)

« Reply #1207 on: April 19, 2012, 05:41:13 AM »
Good observation Tallman !!!!

« Reply #1208 on: April 19, 2012, 05:54:24 AM »
When will T&T ballers learn. Get your contract in writing, signed by the both parties, executed, with a notary public stamp and date. If some of these steps are not done, it is not a contract that you can trust, and you can become a victim of skullduggery and could left hangin' high and dry like an imps. Wake up people.

« Reply #1209 on: April 19, 2012, 06:07:36 AM »
It good for de f00cker, he to stupid....

In this day and age he going on verbal agreement and especially coming from the Devil (Jack Warner) himself and big crook Richard Groden. he played for T&T for over 10 years and he eh know better !!!

Jack bull everybody and ride out....

By de way, Latapy say he was wrongfully dismissed and suffered damages ......

Latas, you was ONE OF de worst coach T&T ever had....

« Reply #1210 on: April 19, 2012, 12:07:39 PM »

So yuh abandon yuh teammates over one oral agreement, but now yuh going tuh court for de alleged breach of another oral agreement wit de same man. Ah wonder why? ::)

Y because he in d sequeal 2 Dumb and Dumber.

« Reply #1211 on: April 19, 2012, 01:48:16 PM »
When will T&T ballers learn. Get your contract in writing, signed by the both parties, executed, with a notary public stamp and date. If some of these steps are not done, it is not a contract that you can trust, and you can become a victim of skullduggery and could left hangin' high and dry like an imps. Wake up people.

This is not at all the case.  A writing is ALWAYS preferred... but the absence of one doesn't make the agreement any less trustworthy.

Offline Jack Horner

« Reply #1212 on: April 20, 2012, 08:02:45 AM »
Join the line Mr Latapy.

The bad thing is, you deceived your 06 teammates and told me personally that you not supporting them and now you in the same boat.

Everyone has a price brother.

We gave you the job and now you trying to bite the hands that fed you.

You did not do well as coach and got fired, what else do you want as far as personal distress. ?

And Jack Warner made sure and paid you.

Jack Warner will rise again and the world will beg him him to return and he will say "NO".............

« Reply #1213 on: April 21, 2012, 08:59:13 AM »
fu#k off Horner

Russell Latapy's boozy bender may have cost Hibs the 2001 Scottish Cup
« Reply #1214 on: May 17, 2012, 05:30:23 AM »
Russell Latapy's boozy bender may have cost Hibs the trophy in 2001, reckons Nick Colgan
Scottish Daily Record

NICK COLGAN reckons Hibs’ long wait for Scottish Cup glory could have ended 11 years ago if Russell Latapy hadn’t gone for a boozy night out.

Russell Latapy chose to have a big night out with his Trinidad and Tobago pal Dwight Yorke in Edinburgh just days before the 2001 Scottish Cup Final against Celtic .

That was the last straw for Easter Road boss Alex McLeish who dumped the midfield maestro from his Hampden squad.

A Henrik Larsson double sealed a 3-0 victory for the Hoops and former Hibs keeper Colgan said: “The controversy with Russell leading up to the game didn’t really help our cause when he was left out for disciplinary reasons.

“But the manager made the decision that he would not be involved in the final and that one man isn’t bigger than any club.

“Did we miss him on the day? Possibly. Would we have won the Cup with him? We will never know.

“But Alex McLeish made the decision and we all respected him as a man and a manager.

“We had a pretty decent team when we lost to Celtic, with the likes of Franck Sauzee, Mixu Paatelainen, Marc Libbra, Mathias Jack and Ian Murray, who is coming back to Hampden for another shot. I’d love to see him with his hands on the trophy.

“The Celtic team we played was outstanding – Larsson, Moravcik, Lambert, Lennon, Sutton and McNamara. It was a big, strong physical team.”

Ex-Republic of Ireland international Colgan, now at Huddersfield, is praying the current team can beat city rivals Hearts and lift the trophy for the first time since 1902.

He said: “I can’t get up to Scotland for the game but I will be watching it on TV at home with my Hibs shirt on.

“Nothing would give me greater pleasure than to pick up abeer and salute a Hibs Scottish Cup win.”

Despite being Hibs through and through, Colgan admits he was delighted whenHearts beat Celtic in the semi-finals.

He said: “It was the first time in my career I wanted Hearts to win a game. I wouldn’t say I was cheering for them but I just thought Hibs v Hearts would be a wonderful final.

“The Hearts fans constantly remind you it’s been so long since Hibs won the Cup and sing about it.

“I don’t care if it’s the worst game in the world as long as Hibs pick up the trophy.

“The players have just got to go out there, be brave and do good things with the ball.”

Re: Russell Latapy's boozy bender may have cost Hibs the 2001 Scottish Cup
« Reply #1215 on: May 17, 2012, 07:31:21 AM »
 ??? a decade later, dey lookinto put de man on blast?....wheys da one!!?

Re: Russell Latapy's boozy bender may have cost Hibs the 2001 Scottish Cup
« Reply #1216 on: May 17, 2012, 11:46:06 AM »
??? a decade later, dey lookinto put de man on blast?....wheys da one!!?

Rousseau doin d same ting rite now wit Lara. Dem fellas popular so dey will continue 2 b in d press yrs later

Russell Latapy is in the running to replace Steven Pressley as manager of Falkirk
By Tony Haggerty (Scottish Daily Record)

RUSSELL LATAPY has thrown his hat into the ring for the Falkirk job.

The 44-year-old spent six years with the Bairns at the end of his playing career and would love to replace Steven Pressley as gaffer.

Pressley quit the Scottish Cup semi-finalists last Friday to sign a three-and-half-year deal with League One side Coventry City.

Technical director Alex Smith and coach Stevie Crawford have been put in temporary charge of the team but the possible return of Latapy is sure to excite the Falkirk faithful.

The former fans’ favourite has managerial experience after bossing Trinidad and Tobago’s national side and is currently taking his European pro coaching licence.

Read More…

Best of luck. If iz fuh you, iz fuh you.

might open some doors for his favorites

Best of luck to  Coach Latapy..it would be unprecidented and  truly a great achievement for us in the world of football.

Good luck Latas! It would be nice to bring them back to the Premier.

Once Latas geh tru wid de job, he go be callin' fuh Molino. Watch an' see. :beermug:

Million dollar legs

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
Once Latas geh tru wid de job, he go be callin' fuh Molino. Watch an' see. :beermug:
Ah was thinking it, will be nice

Latapy Loses Out on Falkirk Job
« Reply #1225 on: April 03, 2013, 08:05:38 AM »
Gary Holt is the new man....not commenting on him, being ah Forrest Fan.

BBC report on the appointment with links to others below, comments on why they selected Holt are interesting. What does that say about their opinion of Latapy as a potential manager!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22009325

Based on Ritchie's comments, I think this is in no way a rejection or indictment of Latas. Falkirk had something specific in mind that doesn't mesh with where Latapy is at the moment. Ironically, posters on here have been suggesting to him (via posts) to get experience in just the environment that seemed to work in Holt's favour.

It would be interesting to learn whether Holt has completed the Pro course.

Offline welshbairn

Too early to comment on Holt, but I still think Russell would've been the right signing, at the right time for Falkirk and his career. He's has experience of training youngsters in Portugal and at home, and I believe in Edinburgh recently. He's also tried to manage a national team under huge political/whatever pressure in T+G, and will have learnt from that. He's got contacts to help recruit players looking for a shop window in the UK (but not demanding high wages) from Portugal and T+G, and I heard Brazil. He was also the most intelligent player Falkirk fans have ever seen. And his signing would have given all of us a much needed lift. Ah well...

Doh worry Latas....keep learning the trade in Portugal and dem place there.  Build your network and the doors will open up. :beermug:

« Reply #1229 on: May 21, 2013, 03:30:33 AM »
President says Latapy ‘not fairly treated’
By Kern De Freitas (Express).

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) president has acknowledged that Russell Latapy “had not been treated” fairly in relation to the Federation’s outstanding debts to the former senior national coach.

Tim Kee was speaking yesterday during a press conference at the VIP Lounge of Hasely Crawford Stadium, where he officially announced the TTFF had settled their seven-year court battle with the 2006 “Soca Warriors”.

Asked by the Express what was the status of their reported debt to Latapy, the TTFF head said he had met with the ex-T&T midfielder and had placed him “close to the (2006) Soca Warriors in terms of priority (for payment)”.

Reports last year claimed Latapy had filed a lawsuit in the High Court seeking over $4 million in outstanding salary owed by the Federation and damages, plus interest.

Tim Kee explained that soon after he assumed office, he met with Latapy, who explained the situation to the TTFF head, which left Tim Kee “taken aback”.

“I asked for the evidence to support what he was speaking about. He furnished me with a file, which contained communication between him and the TTFF. Having perused that file and having looked at all that was there, I felt that he had not been fairly treated.”

He added that he informed Latapy that the footballers’ case took precedence over his matter, and that he should not “expect anything overnight”. But he guaranteed the “Little Magician”, as Latapy is known, that he will try to settle the debt.

“Nobody in the commercial world is going to sponsor money to pay debt,” Tom Kee said. They won’t get their mileage. I told Russell based on the plans we have been discussing (about) some of the initiatives we propose to implement, they are all income-generating initiatives.”

The TTFF boss said he wants to change the body’s way of doing things, and wants to work toward clearing “some of the expenses we had in the past”.

But it is also clear that the TTFF executive is not all on the same page. Asked why some of the TTFF executive, including former acting president Lennox Watson had not been privy to the source of the funds used to settle the 2006 Warriors’ matter, Tim Kee said he did not know how to answer the question.

“We are talking about exigencies, we are talking about several challenges that we had. In fact, I don’t know why Mr Watson, who is vice-president would go out in the public and say that. I don’t know,” he responded.

“Anything further than that, you would have to ask him. It was something that was new to us, it wouldn’t have been to them.

As a matter of fact (CONCACAF president) Mr (Jeffrey) Webb said that he shared that information at a conference where Mr Watson was.”