48 (28.6%)
Yes
42 (25%)
Give him time
63 (37.5%)
Assistant only
15 (8.9%)

Total Members Voted: 165

Author Topic: Russell Latapy Thread  (Read 247894 times)

Re: Inverness eye Russell Latapy as assistant manager
« Reply #1290 on: August 09, 2014, 05:54:07 PM »
Inverness CT assistant manager Russell Latapy speaks after the 2-0 defeat of Hamilton Academical in the opening match of the Scottish Premiership season and says he was pleased at the way the team imposed themselves on the game.
http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/scotland/28727257

Re: Now Latapy sues TTFF ...for $5m
« Reply #1291 on: October 01, 2014, 02:05:03 AM »
Former ‘Soca Warriors’ coach hoping for payment
T&T Express Reports.

December date for ‘Latas’

RUSSELL LATAPY, the former national senior men’s coach, has a December date which he hopes will be kept with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA).

‘Latas’ is owed money for coaching services, and is hopeful that the TTFA honours its commitment to pay him. At the same time, the former national ‘Strike Squad’ member is sympathetic to the dire financial situation in which the Association finds itself.

Now assistant-coach in Scotland with Premier League team Inverness Caledonian Thistle, Latapy credits current Trinidad and Tobago national coach Stephen Hart of doing fantastic job, despite the financial climate.

Latapy was speaking in an interview carried on radio station I95.5 on Saturday. “The agreement was no later than December,” said Latapy of his payment agreement with the TTFA. Latapy, who served as national coach between 2009-2011, said the agreement with the TTFA stipulated that financial details need to be kept confidential.

However, mindful of the continued struggles of the Association to gather local financial support, Latapy is uncertain of what payment will be made. “On the evidence of the last seven months, I don’t know how optimistic I can be,” added Latapy.

The TTFA’s debt to Latapy is a carry over from its previous administration, in which former Government minister Jack Warner assumed the role of man-in-charge. A former vice-president of FIFA — world football’s ruling body — Warner was also local football’s main financier, special adviser to the (Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation) TTFF, and chairman of local organising committee of the 2006 World Cup campaign.

Latapy declared that it was Warner who hired him as national coach. The former midfiled general came aboard during the final five matches of the failed 2010 World Cup campaign, as a replacement for Colombian Francisco Maturana.

Latapy also revealed that after the national team failed to qualify for the CONCACAF Gold Cup, he was fired as national coach during a meeting of a panel consisting Warner, general secretary Richard Groden and former TTFF president Oliver Camps.

“I understand that Jack Warner left the Federation in a really bad state, and I understand and I appreciate that (current TTFA president, Raymond) Tim Kee coming aboard accepted a big responsibility to honour a lot of the debts left by Jack Warner,” said Latapy.

“The present administration in Tim Kee and Sheldon (general secretary, Phillip), they have a very tough job to do... with the way the last administration left things.”

Further, Latapy said that he and a lot of other coaches have worked with the Federation, under unfavourable conditions, due to love of football, and with the hope that things would get better. He reiterated debts to such persons need to be honoured.

“Part of the process of rebuilding for our football is paying off debts and moving on, and allowing this new coach (Hart), who has been doing a fantastic job, to move on with a clean slate. Without things hanging over his head,” Latapy said.

“I am not the only coach owed by the Federation. Obviously, we have worked for that money and we need to get paid. And that is the same for all the coaches who are in my situation,” he ended

« Reply #1292 on: December 25, 2014, 02:22:50 AM »
This is a national newspapers guys.

TTFA: Latapy paid portion of debt owed.
T&T Express Reports.

A recent payment has been made on the outstanding debt to Russell Latapy. The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) owes money to the outstanding former national midfielder for coaching services, when he assumed the position of Trinidad and Tobago’s senior national coach between 2009-2011.

Latapy was hired by Jack Warner, the former FIFA vice-president and CONCACAF president.

The TTFA’s debt to Latapy is a carry-over from its previous administration, in which former Government minister Warner assumed the role of special adviser and TTFF man-in-charge. Warner was also local football’s main financier, special adviser to the (Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation) TTFF, and chairman of local organising committee of the 2006 World Cup campaign.

Latapy had initially threatened legal action before agreeing a payment scheme with the cash-strapped TTFA. A payment was due this month. “We were able to make a payment to Russell,” TTFA general secretary Sheldon Phillips confirmed.

“Despite our circumstance, we have been able to make this payment to Russell, and we intend to address (the remaining arrears). We have financial limitations, but we made a committment, so we are doing our very best to meet that committment.”

While reluctant to discuss figures, Phillips described the debt to Latapy as substantial and the process as ongoing between the TTFA and his management.

“It is a substantial debt. This is a debt that was accumulated before this administration came on board and was something that was created in the last administration,” Phillips emphasied. “But, we felt it was improtant to address it in the best manner in which we could.” Efforts to contact Latapy’s local management proved futile.

« Reply #1293 on: December 26, 2014, 06:01:00 AM »
Ah sure is Ian Prescott who write that.

So they decide to pay Latas at the expense of de Under 20 team?

I hear Latas still lil upset because it was a small amount, but he staying quiet for now.

« Reply #1294 on: December 26, 2014, 07:28:21 AM »
Sam, as much as we upset about the current U20 impasse, TTFA debt to Lata appears legit. The man is owe money for his services. Failure to qualify for the WC is not an issue. If they were to find money for all the men and women national teams programs, they will still have to find money for Latas. I say fulfill all legitimate grievances now. Sam if you or I had been treated in this way, we would have been cussin TTFA from now til kingdom come.

« Reply #1295 on: December 26, 2014, 07:15:28 PM »
Former ‘Soca Warriors’ coach hoping for payment
T&T Express Reports.

“Part of the process of rebuilding for our football is paying off debts and moving on, and allowing this new coach (Hart), who has been doing a fantastic job, to move on with a clean slate. Without things hanging over his head,” Latapy said.

“I am not the only coach owed by the Federation. Obviously, we have worked for that money and we need to get paid. And that is the same for all the coaches who are in my situation,” he ended

Is the TTFA recognizing the debts of the TTFF or hiding behind company registrations when convenient?

They owe Wim $2M and who else are they going to recognise? They have set a precedent with this payment.

If there was transparency as part of this "new" approach with new constitution supported by FIFA and CONCACAF a full list of debts to be cleared should be produced particularly if sponsorship is being sought and government assistance is being provided.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2014, 07:22:14 PM by dcs »

« Reply #1296 on: December 26, 2014, 10:03:42 PM »

Is the TTFA recognizing the debts of the TTFF or hiding behind company registrations when convenient?

They owe Wim $2M and who else are they going to recognise? They have set a precedent with this payment.

If there was transparency as part of this "new" approach with new constitution supported by FIFA and CONCACAF a full list of debts to be cleared should be produced particularly if sponsorship is being sought and government assistance is being provided.

If the TTFA was "hiding behind company registrations when convenient" then they wouldn't have honored the debt owed to the 2006 World Cup players.  Wim breached his contract when he attacked/got into a physical altercation with Lincoln Phillips... according to the previous regime.  In other words, that 'debt' is disputed, unlike the debt owed to Latapy, Charles et al.

« Reply #1297 on: December 26, 2014, 10:30:32 PM »
Only $5m..? I tort it was more dan dat!

« Reply #1298 on: January 01, 2015, 06:35:31 AM »
Latapy to resume legal action against TTFA.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

Back to court

RUSSELL LATAPY has instructed his local management to resume court action against the cash-strapped Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) for failing to honour an agreement to pay off financial arrears to the former Trinidad and Tobago senior men’s national football coach.

Latapy is owed money by the TTFA, for services rendered as Trinidad and Tobago’s senior national coach between 2009-2011. The Little Magician, as Latapy was known during his playing days, was hired by Jack Warner, the former special adviser of the TTFF (Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation), CONCACAF president and vice-president of FIFA, world football’s governing body.

Latapy, currently employed in Scotland as an assistant-coach with Inverness Caledonia Thistle, initially began legal proceeding against the TTFA, claiming $5 million in arrears. However, Latapy opted to stay legal proceedings after he and the TTFA agreed to an arrangement regarding a payment deal.

Both parties agreed, that the settlement figure agreed upon, would not be disclosed. Yesterday, however, Latapy’s local agent Giselle Mendes indicated that court action would resume against the TTFA for breaching the agreement, despite a partial payment by the TTFA last month.

“We have to take them back to court. Mr Latapy has instructed that we proceed. He wants it done first working day (of the year), so by Monday I am hoping we start,” stated Mendes, who has been Latapy’s personal assistant in Trinidad and Tobago for the last four years. “They have broken the agreement,” she said.

Mendes acknowledged that the TTFA had made a payment recently, but it was far less than agreed upon. “Yes, they did make a part-payment, but we have an agreement that a certain amount was to be paid, by a certain date, and that has not been honoured,” Mendes explained.

“We made an agreement that half of what they owed him was to be paid by (yesterday) December 31. A very small portion of that was made earlier this month (December) and we have not received the balance as per agreement,” pointed out Mendes.

“We had an agreement on January 15, 2014, that by December 31, 2014, half of what was owed would be paid and then the next half would be paid by December 31, 2015,” noted Mendes.

Just a week ago, TTFA general secretary Sheldon Phillips had disclosed that the TTFA had made a payment to Latapy, although Phillips conceded they still owed a sizeable amount to the former T&T national footballer and coach.

Phillips had told the Express then: “We were able to make a payment to Russell. Despite our circumstance, we have been able to make this payment to Russell, and we intend to address (the remaining arrears). We have financial limitations, but we made a commitment. So we are doing our very best to meet that commitment.

“It is a substantial debt. This is a debt that was accumulated before this administration came on board and was something that was created in the last administration. But, we felt it was important to address it in the best manner in which we could.”

« Reply #1299 on: January 01, 2015, 06:46:45 AM »

If the TTFA was "hiding behind company registrations when convenient" then they wouldn't have honored the debt owed to the 2006 World Cup players.  Wim breached his contract when he attacked/got into a physical altercation with Lincoln Phillips... according to the previous regime.  In other words, that 'debt' is disputed, unlike the debt owed to Latapy, Charles et al.

I guess Wim attorneys would look at Latapy's team legal submissions and initiate same if TTFA saying they disputing the debt.
Clearly Mendes team got it right because they at least get the TTFA to try and pay.
Look like some kinda court action against "TTFA" is the only way anybody getting paid.

« Reply #1300 on: January 01, 2015, 05:14:10 PM »
That's right dcs. Only serious, no-joke legal action against these jokers will work.
It's a cut-throat world out there and Trini sports people have to learn to not be coonoomoonoos in the process. Vital that you ...

1. Have a written (not spoken) contract. Have a lawyer or one that you can afford.
2. Read your contract, if yuh cyah fully understand the host country language or the english "legalese" language, get help from a lawyer/legal mind.
3. Get the contract "executed" and notarized when you are sure of and agree with what's going on.
4. Play hard-ball as much as you can afford to, and look and sound confident.
5. Have a plan B and plan C cooking at the same time with an exit strategy for plan A.

In the case of TTFA, sue dem scamps to the high heavens.
Money (and the loss of massive amounts of it in a lawsuit) is the only guaranteed way to successfully use your leverage against a dishonest "opponent" who negotiates with dirty tricks and skullduggery.

Don't worry Latas, you may have made a mistake in how you allowed your contract to unfold, but clearly you have enough case to attack with full force.
Either Uncle Tim and Shell-done will cough up fast some stash of cash hidden somewhere or cut into their juicy personal perks to pay you, or resign and leh somebody else take the jammin'. Either way is fine with me. In the latter, they will be clearing the way for Kelvin, Sancho, Shaks and company to takeover.

Yuh see, Uncle Tim wants to protect Jackula and de boys that he does be lashing drinks with (and de money trail which may lead right back to him) so he is in a bind.  The money is there (shitlawds of it as Yorkie would say with his British accent) but he cyah go there to get it .. so  .... Uncle Tim's ... gotta go. Simple. Poor ass Haiti could find money. Broke ass Jamaica could find money but not T&T. Interesting.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2015, 07:44:41 PM by dreamer »

Hibs’ fans vote Latapy volley best ever derby goal
« Reply #1301 on: January 01, 2015, 11:35:25 PM »
Hibs’ fans vote Latapy volley best ever derby goal
The Edinburgh Reporter

Russell Latapy’s magnficent volley in Hibs’ never to be forgotten 6-2 win over Edinburgh rivals Hearts on 22nd October 2000 has been voted the fans’ favourite derby goal of all time following an on-line poll via Facebook and Twitter.

Hearts took an early lead at Easter Road that night but a hat-trick from Mixu Paatelainen and goals from David Zitelli, and John O’Neil made the score 5-1 before the ‘Little Magician’ produced a piece of magic to send three sides of the stadium into a frenzy.

Picking up the ball 25 yards from goal, Latapy played a 1-2 with Paatelainen before smashing a powerful volley past Antti Neimi in the Hearts’ goal.

The result kept Hibs in second place in the table and the Easter Road side who also had the former France international Franck Sauzée in their team, would eventually finish third.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/o0EmqYGIDd8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/o0EmqYGIDd8</a>

« Reply #1302 on: January 02, 2015, 02:25:05 PM »
I guess Wim attorneys would look at Latapy's team legal submissions and initiate same if TTFA saying they disputing the debt.
Clearly Mendes team got it right because they at least get the TTFA to try and pay.
Look like some kinda court action against "TTFA" is the only way anybody getting paid.

Again... Wim's situation is different from Latapy's situation, why would Wim's attorneys look to what Latapy's attorneys are doing?  The TTFA's position is that Wim was in breach of the implied/express personal conduct clause of his employment contract.  It would seem that their position is that they are under no obligation to pay him.  Hence why I said it's in "dispute". 

The TTFA have not disputed the validity of the debt owed on the rest of Latapy's contract, and in fact have entered into an agreement to pay him off.  This new action by Latapy's people will amount to nothing and it seem's he's getting bad advice.  The only people to benefit from this will be the lawyers.

« Reply #1303 on: January 04, 2015, 09:37:34 PM »
I just wonder if it would have been wiser to officially declare TTFF bankrupt and start afresh with TTFA? Many businesses seem to do this. Tim-Kee and Phillips would not have been responsible for any of the TTFF debts. I know there were discussions with FIFA before TTFA was created, so maybe there were good reasons. However, it seems unfair to saddle a new administration with these debts and expect them to succeed.
If TTFA had started fresh, we would better be able to judge the current administrations abilities and potential, but now, we really don't know how good they are because of the burden they inherited.
The previous administrators should have been made responsible for the debts that they created.

Latapy says youngsters must behave
« Reply #1304 on: February 21, 2015, 09:19:03 PM »
Caley Thistle: Latapy says youngsters must behave
By Andy Skinner (The Press and Journal)

Caley Thistle assistant manager Russell Latapy says young players must be careful about their conduct during nights out.

Midfielder Aaron Doran and defender Danny Devine were both fined by police following a disturbance in Inverness city centre last weekend, just hours after Caley Jags’ 2-1 Scottish Premiership win against St Mirren.

Latapy’s playing career was not bereft of controversy, with the former Trinidad and Tobago international sacked by Hibernian in 2001 after being charged for drink driving after a night out in Edinburgh with then Manchester United forward Dwight Yorke.

The 46-year-old has given his backing to Doran and Devine, insisting he has no problem with players socialising after games.

However, Latapy says footballers must be aware they will attract attention when seen in public.

Latapy said: “It’s not going to affect the team. The manager and I, as past players, understand certain situations. I’ve been involved in lots of situations as a player.

“It is young men, they’ve won a game and sometimes they go out for a meal and have one drink too many. Someone says something the wrong way, they respond and get into a fracas.

“That’s a normal situation. I’m not saying we condone it but we can understand that these things do happen sometimes.

“As a player, it can be difficult sometimes. It works both ways. There are people who are pleasant towards players and people who aren’t.

“One of the key factors is tolerance at that particular time. If a player has just scored a hat-trick he can tolerate anything. Maybe if he missed a hat-trick, he tolerates less.

“A lot of it is spur of the moment but I would say if players put themselves in the position it is possible anything can happen.

“With experience, the boys will understand that they don’t put themselves in that position where these things can happen.

“It is a little incident and we don’t want to blow it out of proportion. We’re on a good run, winning games. The boys went out for a meal and these things happen.”

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/7_9BLCo99rE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/7_9BLCo99rE</a>

Russell Latapy emerges as front runner for vacant Alloa job
« Reply #1306 on: March 10, 2015, 01:00:01 PM »
Russell Latapy emerges as front runner for vacant Alloa job
By Paul Third (The Press and Journal)

Caley Thistle assistant manager Russell Latapy has emerged as a candidate for the vacant manager’s position at Scottish Championship side Alloa.

The job is available after Barry Smith resigned at the weekend in the wake of the 1-0 defeat by Dumbarton that saw the Wasps slip to second bottom and Latapy is a frontrunner.

The 46-year-old moved to the Highlands in January of last year to be reunited with John Hughes, who he was assistant to when the duo worked at Falkirk.

The 81-times capped Trinidad and Tobago international is believed to be keen to become a manager in his own right again after a two-year spell as the national manager of his home nation was ended in 2011.

Alloa have placed assistant manager Paddy Connolly in interim charge as they begin their search for a new manager after Smith’s surprise move and Latapy is one of the names under consideration as they look to draw up a shortlist of candidates.

Port of Spain-born Latapy, who was coaching with Portuguese side Boavista before joining Caley Thistle, had a long playing career in Portugal and Scotland where he turned out for Hibs, Rangers, Dundee United and the Bairns where he started coaching in 2006.

Latapy’s link with Alloa comes as the Highlanders prepare for their rescheduled Scottish Cup quarter-final against Raith Rovers at Caledonian Stadium tonight.

Saturday’s game was postponed due to a waterlogged pitch and Hughes is eager to get back to winning ways after a defeat at Motherwell in his side’s last outing.

He said: “They are not a bad side. They are going well in the league and if there is any complacency whatsoever you just have to look at what they did in the last round.

“I have had the opportunity to work with four or five of the players at Raith Rovers, so I know what they are going to bring. It could be one of our hardest matches of the season because of what is at stake.

“I have emphasised to the players we have to be at our best and if we are then it is game on. I expect Raith to be organised and take the game to us.”

Re: Russell Latapy Thread
« Reply #1307 on: March 12, 2015, 01:55:01 AM »
Latapy says Europe has market for T&T players.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Despite the trickling numbers of T&T professional footballers in the British Leagues compared to years gone by, ex-national head coach and captain Russell Latapy believes there is still a market out there for local players.

The 46-year-old assistant coach at Scottish Premiership club Inverness Caledonian Thistle said that he still manages to keep tabs on the progress of some of the young talent in this country when he gets the chance.

He spoke about the transition from player to coach having played at Falkirk before retiring from playing in 2008/2009.

“I think one of the funny things about football is that the knowledge you have gained once you are much older and your understanding of the game is much greater than when you played. When you played you have the legs and the stamina to run about and do things and things happen for you.

“But to make things actually happen and have an understanding how to pull teams about and how to create opportunities, you get that when you are much older. It is funny in that the more you understand the game is the less capacity you have physically to do it,” Latapy said on Heritage Radio 101.7 on Thursday.

“It’s been an interesting adjustment but just with the knowledge you have gained over the years and trying to pass it on to the younger players and they taking it on board, it’s a great satisfaction.”

Regarding there being a market for T&T players in Scotland and other parts of Europe, the former FC Porto and Hibernian player, believes while there may not be as much players in the leagues there as compared to just under a decade ago, there is room for them. There was a time when T&T had several players in those leagues as the likes of Marvin Andrews, Anthony Rougier, Clint Marcelle, Carlos Edwards, Stern John, Dwight Yorke, Lyndon Andrews, Ian Cox, Clayton Ince, Kelvin Jack, Brent Sancho, Shaka Hislop, Brent Rahim, Chris Bichall and Dennis Lawrence among others constantly played first team football in the European Leagues.

“There is definitely a market here. We have always had talented players in the Caribbean and that hasn’t changed. I supposed it’s just the right opportunities. Me being out here, I am hoping I can create some of these opportunities for some of the younger kids at home. I supposed it’s just a matter of time before these doors can be opened. But yes, we have talent and there is a market for these players not only just in Scotland but other parts of Europe.”

« Reply #1308 on: March 13, 2015, 03:44:53 AM »
Latapy says Europe has market for T&T players.

So why de f00ck he doh try and sign/give trial to a few T&T youths for he club he coaches in Scotland then?

Latapy and them for they self.

Ah cant stand these f00cks.

Russell Latapy believed to have pulled out of race to be new Alloa boss
« Reply #1309 on: March 13, 2015, 08:14:53 PM »
Russell Latapy believed to have pulled out of race to be new Alloa boss
By George Bremner (The Press and Journal)

Russell Latapy has been interviewed by Alloa Athletic but has decided against pursuing his interest in the Wasps’ vacant managerial post.

The Caley Thistle assistant and former Hibernian and Rangers midfielder met Mike Mulraney and was impressed with the Wasps chairman and his vision for the Championship club.

However, the 46-year-old, who had a spell as manager of the national team in his native Trinidad and Tobago, is understood to have told the part-timers he no longer wants to be considered for the position.

Barry Smith resigned in the immediate aftermath of Saturday’s 1-0 defeat by Dumbarton, a result which plunged Alloa back into the relegation play-off place in second-bottom spot.

Smith’s assistant, Paddy Connolly, has been placed in temporary charge of the team ahead of tomorrow’s Championship encounter with Falkirk.

Other names linked with the job include former St Mirren manager Danny Lennon, ex-Hearts and Livingston manager John McGlynn and Albion Rovers manager Darren Young.

Russell Latapy sets some myths straight
« Reply #1310 on: April 18, 2015, 10:41:21 AM »
Russell Latapy sets some myths straight
By Aidan Smith (The Scotsman)

WHEN Russell Latapy phones to say that, yes, he’ll talk about Scottish Cup semi-final weekend – “Two days when I really can’t lose because three of my teams are playing” – your correspondent is in Edinburgh’s St Stephen Street and this seems apt indeed. Was it not right here, 14 years ago, that the wee man drove himself into the stout arms of the local constabulary and out of the cup final, having daundered along a one-way the wrong way?

For those who don’t know it, St Stephen Street is the once-picaresque avenue which was the capital’s Haight-Ashbury during the hippie era and is now thoroughly chi-chi. There are worse places to take a tumble and, when we meet in an Inverness coffee-shop, I’m about to suggest that Cup-tormented Hibbies might want to erect a plaque at the road entrance. Maybe “Here, in 2001, the dream died again” – something like that. But then Latapy says: “No no, my friend – this is a myth.

“Yes, I’d had a coupla drinks and yes the law got me, but it wasn’t St Stephen Street, not one-way, it was… ” He tries to recreate the classic grid of Edinburgh’s New Town using his phone, his cappuccino and his lemon muffin only to get lost (again). “I love the New Town, you know. Alex McLeish, intelligent man that he is, drove me round it to sell Edinburgh to me. I’d just been having a look at Barnsley so, no disrespect, but the final score was probably Barnsley 0, Edinburgh 17. I lived in a flat in Fettes Row so could walk up to Princes Street nice and easy. Rick’s, which became my favourite bar where the whole team used to go, wasn’t far away at all.”

If only he’d left the car at home that night. If only Big Eck’s intelligence had encompassed the pragmatism that would have allowed club rules to be waived, making a special case for a special player, because if Hibs were to have any chance of beating Martin O’Neill’s Celtic in the ’01 final they would need their Trinidadian patter-merchant. This was the fans’ view. That is, it was the dear wish of those supporters not spitting mad at Latapy who was effectively sacked.

Ah, but it’s also a myth that the incident happened 48 hours before the Hampden showdown, ultimately lost 3-0. “The final was still a fortnight away,” he confirms. “Yes, it was daft of me to drive, but one of my two oldest friends had come to Edinburgh to see me, and I think we all know his name.” This was Dwight Yorke, the other good buddy being cricketing great Brian Lara. “The truth is there were these boys – twins who ran a nightclub – and they were taking pictures of us, I guess to publicise the place. Dwight, who maybe hadn’t told his managers where he was, didn’t like this. They jumped in a car so we chased them.” With three blondes in the back seat, so legend has it? “Ha ha, it wisna three!”

Another myth, then, but what is not mythology is that Latapy was a genius with a ball, a wayward one perhaps, a playmaker and also a playboy, but a lemon muffin among the meat pies of Scottish football, one of the finest from foreign shores who were supposed to brighten up our perishing afternoons. He was adored at Hibs and Falkirk, who meet in today’s semi-final, and admired everywhere else with possible the exception of Tynecastle, for in green and white he never lost to Hearts and pulled the strings for the second most-famous Hibee derby victory.

Never lost? Actually, that’s a myth, too. “The first Scottish footballers I met was when Hearts came on a Caribbean tour.” This was 1986 when Latapy was 17 and a diminutive but determined graduate of Trinidad & Tobago’s splendidly-named Sunshine Snacks League and here’s further evidence of the truth regarding him often being more prosaic than the folklore: Walter Kidd scored two of goals in the Jambos’ win over the national side. Hearts, by the way, rated him simply too small, as did Leeds United later, but the knockbacks, together with the put-downs of his schoolteacher – “Don’t be stupid – no one from here becomes a footballer” – made him more determined still.

READ MORE...

« Reply #1311 on: April 19, 2015, 09:17:12 PM »
Latapy team beat Celtic 3-2 today in the Scottish Cup semifinal.

He will be on the sideline with John Hughes when they play Falkirk now in the final, another one of his old teams. 

« Reply #1312 on: April 23, 2015, 05:04:29 PM »
LISTEN to Russell Latapy LIVE as he speaks with Andre Baptiste.
http://tunein.com/radio/i955-FM-s50075/

Latapy: I'm staying - for now
« Reply #1313 on: May 08, 2015, 08:06:35 AM »
Latapy: I'm staying - for now
By Jamie Durent (The Inverness Courier)

NOW is not the right time to leave Caley Thistle for assistant manager Russell Latapy, in spite of an opening at Championship side Raith Rovers.

Latapy has made no secret of his desire to be a manager one day and spoke to Alloa Athletic about their recent opening, which was filled by former St Mirren boss Danny Lennon.

Experience gained as manager of his national side, Trinidad and Tobago, has Latapy hankering for the chance to be his own man but that will not be at Stark’s Park.

“Once the right club comes then it’s something I would definitely think about. The Raith Rovers situation is a surprise to me. I didn’t know anything about it until it was in the papers, so I haven’t given it any thought,” he said. “I am very happy at Caley Thistle and that’s all I’m concentrating on.”

His manager, John Hughes, has previously said he would not stand in Latapy’s way when the right time came to leave the Highland Capital club. It was Hughes who gave the 46-year-old his first coaching opportunity at Falkirk, in a dual role combined with his duties as a player.

When former Ross County under-20s coach Barry Smith resigned from his post as Alloa manager in March, the chance came for Latapy to discuss a step up in job titles. However, things just did not click into place.

“I spoke to the chairman of Alloa and had a really good conversation, but I thought the time wasn’t right,” he said. “It’s just waiting for the right opportunity. Being in the game for some time, you get a feeling for these things, but I’m not in a position to make those decisions, so I’m just focused on Caley Thistle and Saturday’s game.”

A win on Saturday at Dens Park, against a Dundee side who have lost their last four games, will seal Caley Thistle’s maiden trip into Europe and allow preparations to begin in earnest for the Scottish Cup final at the end of the month.

Inverness’ preparations were disrupted somewhat by a mid-week fixture against Dundee’s rivals United, although a morale-boosting 2-1 win, which snapped a nine-game streak without a win, coupled with a clean bill of health means the squad is in good shape.

Richie Foran and Dean Brill continue to be the only injury absentees for the Caley Jags, while David Raven is free from suspension and will need to dislodge Danny Devine from the starting line-up.

With all that is in front of Caley Thistle in terms of achievements, you would expect the place to be buzzing. But according to Latapy, it has been like that for a long time.

“The boys have done extremely well this season and made us proud as coaches. They’ve done themselves and the fans proud and there has been a buzz around the place,” he added.

« Reply #1314 on: May 29, 2015, 03:17:20 PM »
Latapy and Inverness in FA Cup final Sat 30th May..vz of all teams  .. Falkirk FC..
feels strange for me as my band basically adopted Falkirk as our Team in Scotland when we tour..it started with Latas himself taking us to games...and then lots of Falkirk fans are jointpop fans...4 of them even came to Trinidad for holidays with us ...so maybe I cant lost the game..hahah...
but wishing the Magician and Falkirk all the best...play de fitball 

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=159279167456265&set=a.159277480789767.45108.100001225493088&type=3&theater

« Reply #1315 on: May 30, 2015, 08:54:20 AM »
Inverness leading 1-0 at the half

« Reply #1316 on: May 30, 2015, 10:11:27 AM »
10 man Inverness win FA Cup Final 2-1

« Reply #1317 on: May 30, 2015, 10:11:59 AM »
FA Cup winner as assistant manager now in Latapy's CV...

« Reply #1318 on: May 30, 2015, 11:22:47 AM »
Congrats!!!

« Reply #1319 on: May 30, 2015, 12:29:07 PM »