48 (28.6%)
Yes
42 (25%)
Give him time
63 (37.5%)
Assistant only
15 (8.9%)

Total Members Voted: 165

Author Topic: Russell Latapy Thread  (Read 247891 times)

Re: the support for russell latapy thread
« Reply #1080 on: December 02, 2010, 09:26:01 AM »

« Reply #1081 on: December 02, 2010, 09:35:49 AM »
To this thread I say

STTTTTEEEEEUUUUUPPPSSSS!!!!

« Reply #1082 on: December 02, 2010, 12:59:35 PM »
Mods, delete this thread

« Reply #1083 on: December 03, 2010, 02:18:53 AM »
Youth development is for youth teams. Blooding players is for friendlies. In competitive games you field your best available players.

« Reply #1084 on: December 03, 2010, 02:42:46 AM »
 Let me just point this out very clearly for you mister. Latapy job is not to develop our national team, his job is to prepare and assemble the best players, selecting the ones that earn their place via proper examination over a period of a few months with new players adding when others fail to meet requirements.

Latapy choose to field a young team, sure develop new talent etc but find a team that can get you results, so your job is secured. Develop talent my foot! TNT will always always always be blessed with individuals, all we need is proper guidance and training.
Developing talent is more at grassroot level anyway and it is always his excuse. If the former under 20's we in Martinque that is a different story but no hyland etc.

Latapy is de-fin-nitely makes tnt look like Solomon Islands.

« Reply #1085 on: December 03, 2010, 02:47:53 AM »
Well I will come out in support of Russell on the fact that he seems to have chosen the developmental route, rebuilding and all that

Stop equating losing with development

« Reply #1086 on: December 03, 2010, 03:36:23 AM »

Re: Fire Russell Latapy Thread.
« Reply #1087 on: December 05, 2010, 07:13:31 PM »
they fire him yet  >:( >:( >:(

« Reply #1088 on: December 05, 2010, 08:25:18 PM »
they fire him yet  >:( >:( >:(

D press that camp outside Jack door will let us know.

« Reply #1089 on: December 05, 2010, 08:39:02 PM »
In most countries where football is taken seriously Latas would done be fired !

« Reply #1090 on: December 05, 2010, 08:46:18 PM »
In most countries where football is taken seriously Latas would done be fired !
Stop preachin breds, yuh might wake up the ded. this country is ah waste, poor from top to bottom!

BTW, T&T football is like crack, yuh know it eh good fuh yuh, but yuh cyar stop following it. :'(
« Last Edit: December 05, 2010, 08:59:43 PM by just cool »

« Reply #1091 on: December 05, 2010, 11:12:50 PM »
Trinidad rel backward. Jack Warner and Anil was always talking about "Change".  Might as well make Kamala or Gypsy take over the TTFF instead.

Firing Latapy not the answer
« Reply #1092 on: December 08, 2010, 05:44:08 AM »
Firing Latapy not the answer
T&T Guardian Editorial

The failure of the national football team in the Digicel Caribbean Cup finals in Martinique was a clear indication that all is not right with the sport here in T&T.

From being the number one team in the Caribbean and one that was feared by all the other countries, T&T has now been reduced to just another team against which any of the others could compete favourably.

A 1-0 victory over Martinique in their final game and two losses to Cuba (2-0) and Grenada (1-0) effectively stymied the aspirations of coach Russell Latapy’s Soca Warriors, who will now miss the Gold Cup, the premier competition in the region.

It must be ironic that even before the team kicked a ball, Latapy was talking about playing against Jamaica in the final. The Little Magician, as Latapy was referred in his playing days, was overly confident of not only advancing to the semi-finals, which guaranteed a place in the Gold Cup, but of meeting the Reggae Boyz in the Caribbean Cup final.

As it turned out, he was partly right—Jamaica was in the final, which it eventually won, while T&T failed to get to the semi-final.

As usual, the daggers have been taken out and pointed at Latapy and it would seem that the reason for the pathetic display lies in his exclusive domain. Already there are reports he is to be fired and the federation is negotiating with Jean Tigana, the former French player and Dutchman Ruud Gullitt as possible replacements.

It is a knee-jerk response that is destined to fail. The truth is T&T football has been in the doldrums for a long time, some would say blighted by the failure of the federation to professionally deal with the players who represented the country with so much passion and commitment at the Germany World Cup finals in 2006. Several of the players who were heroes on that team were lost to our football simply because they opted to challenge the federation’s financial dealings with them.

It therefore came as no surprise, as revealed by this newspaper’s exclusive story in yesterday’s edition, that once again the federation has failed to pay the players’ salaries for the past 13 matches.

The stark reality is that the days when players ran on to the field simply for the love of representing their country is far gone. Money remains a potent motivational tool, but more importantly for many of the players it is essential for taking care of their families. Even before they get to the point of representing the country, there is the whole question of the role of the administrators. Have they done everything possibly to help develop an environment for the success of players?

Was Latapy exposed to the cutting edge of teaching/coaching technology so that he could develop the knowledge base to better prepare the team? Administrators must understand they are there for the sole purpose of working for the success of the coaches and players, and by extension the team.

If we look hard we will find that in the Martinique failure, there are lessons. Will we learn from them? Someone must tell the nation why it is the pendulum has swung so swiftly. It is folly to ignore this pathetic display and hope that it will repair itself. Football is not magic. The answer lies in the planning and intelligent work by the backroom staff.

If we continuously use the firing of coaches to treat a cancerous problem, we will soon be the doormat of regional football. Firing Latapy is not the answer. The TTFF must dig deeper and come up with real solutions.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2010, 05:45:50 AM by Flex »

Re: Firing Latapy not the answer
« Reply #1093 on: December 08, 2010, 08:15:05 AM »
 :applause: :applause: tell dem tell dem!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #1094 on: December 08, 2010, 08:16:29 AM »
It depends on d ?

« Reply #1095 on: December 08, 2010, 08:36:39 AM »
We will not get the answer anytime soon, so is not about the answer, but a fix right now.

« Reply #1096 on: December 08, 2010, 08:47:30 AM »
Like the Guardian under new management? Actually asking questions of the TTFF?? What goin on here??

« Reply #1097 on: December 08, 2010, 08:49:27 AM »
I jus glad to see d over inflated view of football getting bus, an man startin to see dat is time for real serious development (building from d back)...............gone are d days when you could jus put 11 man on d field an say "here alyuh go an play".................d WI team seein it and now we seein it our player need plenty remedial work and Latas should be made a youth skills coach that's where I feel he will be most useful to T&T football.

« Reply #1098 on: December 08, 2010, 08:56:13 AM »
Like the Guardian under new management? Actually asking questions of the TTFF?? What goin on here??

ENTTTTTTT

« Reply #1099 on: December 08, 2010, 09:07:49 AM »
I jus glad to see d over inflated view of football getting bus, an man startin to see dat is time for real serious development (building from d back)...............gone are d days when you could jus put 11 man on d field an say "here alyuh go an play".................d WI team seein it and now we seein it our player need plenty remedial work and Latas should be made a youth skills coach that's where I feel he will be most useful to T&T football.

Well said!  :beermug:

« Reply #1100 on: December 08, 2010, 09:10:58 AM »
Firing Latapy is not the COMPLETE answer. Lehwe put it like that.

« Reply #1101 on: December 08, 2010, 09:20:48 AM »

:thumbsup:

He's we boy so we doh really want to fire him!

However we could demote him & put a more experienced head coach in place, that makes more sense.

Latas can concentrate on coaching the youths or if he can work harmoniously with the new head coach then he can be assistant to the head coach, so no need to fire him in trute!

Results matter especially against fellow Caribbean teams who we are supposed to beat going and coming if we want to be a power in CONCACAF and have World Cup qualifying as a realistic goal! Latas team getting knocked out of Digicel in the group stage and no Gold Cup is enough proof of that he’s not the man for the head coach job at this point! Hopefully he can gain more experience and be given another chance in the future once he has proven that he is ready to carry our nation’s pride and football reputation on his shoulders as head coach!

« Reply #1102 on: December 08, 2010, 09:21:44 AM »
Firing Latapy is part of the solution!
I agree with him being a youth team skills coach though .. technical ability is his strong point!

Offline Coach

« Reply #1103 on: December 08, 2010, 10:58:17 AM »
"The answer lies in the planning and intelligent work by the backroom staff".

The solution to our football problem will be fix when we are able to put an intelligent staff in place that really knows how to properly run an organization. In the meantime TT football fans will have to somehow find ways to handle their frustration... and live with our "fete match" organization!!!

« Reply #1104 on: December 08, 2010, 11:20:45 AM »
Come on fellas allyuh know Latas ain't taking no small wuk in T&T. 

« Reply #1105 on: December 08, 2010, 12:12:46 PM »
firing latas is the immediate answer, he should have never been made coach and should never had undermined maturana bc mats would have taken us to south africa if he wasn't dictated to and undermined.

we all know what long term plans need to be in place, posters who have been on this board since marc had the board to when flex took it over have been preaching the same things and know what needs to be done.

however, with this current admin it won't happen so supporters have to settle with the short term 4 year plan of getting a big name coach and coaching us to a world cup bc development is not part of this admins plans.

so supporters have no choice but to ask for a better coach who can take us to the wc bc this admin not interested in the long term plan despite all the threads and posts and great ideas.

ive been on the site since 99' and have never seen any forward movement in terms of long term development in the ttff, so why expect it now, get the best coach and get us to the world cup until a better admin steps in.

« Reply #1106 on: December 08, 2010, 12:25:48 PM »
Men still defending Latapy... The man have us in shameland, all kinda of crazy selection, no kinda of tactical awareness.... Alyuh want to keep em? Keep em.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #1107 on: December 09, 2010, 05:00:50 AM »
How many coaches have been hired and fired under this current crop of idiots led by the Special Adviser and to date we cannot get it right,so you fire the magician, the root of the demise of our football still exists,how long again would we have to wait before another crisis arises
The management failed and they should do the honarable thing and step down,their ideas are antiquated we need fresh thinking of which they have shown they are incapable of...... :devil:

« Reply #1108 on: December 09, 2010, 07:11:28 AM »
How many coaches have been hired and fired under this current crop of idiots led by the Special Adviser and to date we cannot get it right,so you fire the magician, the root of the demise of our football still exists,how long again would we have to wait before another crisis arises
The management failed and they should do the honarable thing and step down,their ideas are antiquated we need fresh thinking of which they have shown they are incapable of...... :devil:

What the hell you talking bout?!! The TTFF is not to blame, and as Jack say coaches all over the world are judged by results that's the bottom line!

Never mind our players haven't been paid for their last 13 games because Camps doh know how to complete ah little paperwork. He just got voted back in as TTFF president so he has another 4 years to complete and submit the paperwork to the ministry of sports.  ::)

However our players could not have been affected by not being paid as they are highly patriotic unlike their Jamaican rivals up north whose only concern is about money and beating T&T good & proper every time we meet!!  ;)
« Last Edit: December 09, 2010, 07:18:10 AM by Socapro »

Offline kingdavid

« Reply #1109 on: December 09, 2010, 10:04:21 AM »
jus had a tlk wit a national player who came in my office to handle some biz and i popped the question.
What is d problem?? (wit regards to the team proformances)
His respose - "it was set up fuh latas to fail, no support from the start, jack waner and dem good yes hmmm, trinidad football boy"