April 27, 2024, 01:11:13 AM

Author Topic: TT Pro League, FC Dallas forms partnership.  (Read 5682 times)

TT Pro League, FC Dallas forms partnership.
« on: November 30, 2007, 10:07:13 AM »
TT Pro League, FC Dallas forms partnership.
By: Randy Bando (ttproleague).

The TT Pro League and Major League Soccer club FC Dallas have combined forces in what is described as a milestone achievement by the Trinidad and Tobago Professional Football League.
This is the third international partnership formed by FC Dallas, after joining forces with Brazilian club Atletico Paranaense and Mexcican club Tigras.
But the partnership with the TT Pro League is a very unique one for FC Dallas, not with a team but a league.
“I am very privileged to reach this point in my career as a sporting administrator,” said TT Pro League Chairman Larry Romany during the launch on Thursday at the Crowne Plaza Hotel.
The arrangement has been in the works during the last six months and former T&T and FC Dallas player Shaka Hislop is said to have great influence in the partnership.
FC Dallas is owned by Lamar Hunt—who started the very popular NFL in the United States.
“We are very privilege to set up a partnership with an organization which started with that sort of vision,” continued Romany.
“We have a vision for football, a vision for professional sport in T&T and without a vision we would not be able to step out of the box. Visionaries like the Hunt family have changed the face of sport in the United States forever and we feel very privileged to be able to forge and alliance.”
Romany also gave high praise to FC Dallas Manager Michael Hitchcock who was instrumental in the alliance.
“FC Dallas and Atletico Paranaense are very passionate about this partnership. I want to say that we are honoured to be the recipient of the type of intellectual capacity that they have developed over the years and to be able to share in the vision of Mr. Hunt and his family to carrying the Pro League to the next level.”
Michael Hitchcock is a former player under T&T Football Federation Technical Director Lincoln Phillips who was a coach at Viginia Commonwealth University.
The FCD Manager didn’t waste time saying, “I want to thank Lincoln for lighting that passion in the game in me. I have always played the game growing up but anyone who knows Lincoln knows how passionate he is about the sport that we all love. I credit my dream to create a career in the sport largely to Lincoln.”
Hitchcock also shared that his first game in college was ironically against Shaka Hislop.
“After our first one hour meeting with the TT Pro League that turned into a four hour meeting and with all the passion involved, we realised there was a foundation for a partnership,” said Hitchcock speaking on the partnership.
“As a club, we have a philosophy that the game of soccer is getting bigger and bigger around the world, meanwhile thanks to technology the world is getting smaller and smaller.”
“The key to forming good partnerships is finding good people with good visions and we have got that in Dexter (Skeene) and Larry (Romany) and that’s a credit to where they want to take the TT Pro League. Our goal is to be the premier team in North America and the Pro League goal is to be the premier league in CONCACAF, so we’ve got two organizations that share a common commitment to excellence and that’s the key to our foundation.”
Hitchcock went into details of the strategic partnership between his club and the TT Pro League.
He pointed out three areas which included competitive, business development and player development.
“The key to this partnership just as we are doing with Atletico Paranaense is making sure that we exceed the expectations of the Pro League and realise their vision and for the same they are exceeding our expectations,” said the FCD Manager.
The arrangement is said to create meaningful competitions between Pro League players, FC Dallas and other international clubs.
The Pro League teams will also have the opportunity of the Pizza Hut Park—FC Dallas home—during preseason. The PH Park is known as a preseason hub for other international clubs.
There would also be an exchange programme between players and staff from the Pro League and FC Dallas creating development opportunities.
Hitchcock is also hosting a seminar for local professional clubs entitled the TT Pro League Business Summit on Saturday morning at the Crowne Plaza Hotel.
TT Pro League CEO Dexter Skeene explained that this sort of agreement was part of the league’s vision when he began his involvement four yeas ago.
“This is just the beginning of the symbol of the value of the TT Pro League which is ambitious,” said a delighted Skeene.
“We were not limited by where we are now and that’s how we got to this point. The TT Pro League aims to become one of the most respected and most premier leagues in the CONCACAF region. We still have a lot to learn and a lot to come. The journey is long but today we are at an important and significant mile post.”
He also added, “Our players must make sure and signal our intention on the world map. We must show that we are performing with the great ones, the Brazilians and the Americans. It is important for our youths to see that our players can perform at the international level on a continuous basis. It is important for our next World Cup qualification.”
« Last Edit: December 01, 2007, 07:56:37 AM by Flex »

Re: TT Pro League, FC Dallas forms partnership
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2007, 11:18:36 AM »
good going pro league  :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2007, 11:26:47 AM »
Lincoln again! PFL moving up. They could be a little clearer on the nature of the partnership, but good news regardless.

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2007, 12:44:29 PM »
Any news like this is good news for the Pro league,they need the exposure and to try and align themselves with the foreign leagues if they have to get better,as a matter of fact everything Football in T&T needs upgrading and so does our leagues,i think it's a plus for Football in the country and hope we are getting to the stage where we can attract better quality foreign players and our best players will not have to leave our shores to be able to make a decent living,good vision.

« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2007, 12:56:02 PM »
Let's not overlook Shaka's role in this....it is clear the man truly loves his fellow country footballers by doing getting invlolved in arrangements like this and being instrumental in FPATT's formation and speaking out against Jackula and Scamps over the blacklist issue...... :applause: :applause: :notworthy: :salute:

......now if only we could get yuh to take over de TTFF....*sigh*

« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2007, 03:01:10 PM »
Ultra large big up to Lincoln!!! .... and Shaka, Skeenos and passionate Romany. I feel good vibes from all ah dem. Ah does jess know.  ;D
Very promising.

« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2007, 03:06:21 PM »
Lincoln again! PFL moving up. They could be a little clearer on the nature of the partnership, but good news regardless.

How much clearer yuh want dem to be?

He pointed out three areas which included competitive, business development and player development.
“The key to this partnership just as we are doing with Atletico Paranaense is making sure that we exceed the expectations of the Pro League and realise their vision and for the same they are exceeding our expectations,” said the FCD Manager.
The arrangement is said to create meaningful competitions between Pro League players, FC Dallas and other international clubs.
The Pro League teams will also have the opportunity of the Pizza Hut Park—FC Dallas home—during preseason. The PH Park is known as a preseason hub for other international clubs.
There would also be an exchange programme between players and staff from the Pro League and FC Dallas creating development opportunities.

Chances are that the details are still being fleshed out.

« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2007, 03:07:27 PM »
Any news like this is good news for the Pro league,they need the exposure and to try and align themselves with the foreign leagues if they have to get better,as a matter of fact everything Football in T&T needs upgrading and so does our leagues,i think it's a plus for Football in the country and hope we are getting to the stage where we can attract better quality foreign players and our best players will not have to leave our shores to be able to make a decent living,good vision.
Yet it have man in ah next thread asking "Why FC Dallas"...like other international clubs lining up to pardner with anything in Trinidad football.

« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2007, 04:00:25 PM »
Yet it have man in ah next thread asking "Why FC Dallas"...like other international clubs lining up to pardner with anything in Trinidad football.
         It's because some of them just anti any thing US Soccer,they still can't see the progress US Soccer and clubs have made over the years.

« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2007, 04:31:10 PM »

It's because some of them just anti any thing US Soccer,they still can't see the progress US Soccer and clubs have made over the years.
True talk...thing is there is much progress that the MLS has made and we can't help but to benefit from the work that they've already done.  Why try and reinvent the wheel when we have people willing to sit down and discuss with us ways that they've gone about doing things...and doing them successfully.  Lamar Hunt didn't start the NFL as Larry Romany said, but he was one of the people who got together in the Sixties and decided to unite the then two professional (American) football leagues, the AFC and the NFC, to form today's NFL. 

He owned the Kansas City Chiefs, and building on that success he invested into the MLS by owning the Kansas City Wizards (Scott Sealy), Columbus Crew (Stern John, Ansil Elcock) and FC Dallas (Shaka).  As indicated, his teams have not only been successful, but also have a history of working with Trini players as well.  Along with Phillip Anschultz (DC United, L.A. Galaxy, among others), Lamar Hunt is the man most responsible for the success of MLS...and for the NFL.  Sadly he died last year, but his family continues to build on his success...and we have no idea what a big honor it is to have them interested in working with our league.  It helps that Michael Hitchcock and Lincoln Phillips have a history together.

Here's more on Michael Hitchcock and the impact he has had on promoting teams and getting fans in the stands at several MLS teams:

The 34-year-old began his well honored MLS career with the Anschutz Entertainment Group's D.C. United in 1998, where he started as an entry level Corporate Ticket Sales Representative. He had an immediate impact on their organization as it was recognized in both 1999 and 2000 with an MLS Sales Team of the Year award and he also personally earned the 2000 "MLS Commissioner's New Business Leadership Award".

In November 2000, Hitchcock became the Director of Sales for the Colorado Rapids. In his first season with the Rapids, Hitchcock's guidance and impact on the ticket sales of the club led him to be recognized as the MLS Sales Director of the Year. In 2002, the team achieved the largest ever average attendance in a single season - 20,687 fans per game, and Hitchcock was again recognized as the MLS Sales Director of the Year, with his sales staff earning the MLS Sales Team of the Year Award. He was promoted to Senior Director of Sales and Marketing in his final year in Colorado, and the team's season ticket holder base doubled that season.

After the Rapids were purchased by Kroenke Sports Enterprises in September 2003, Hitchcock elected to stay with the Anschutz Entertainment Group, assuming the position of Vice President of Sales with the Los Angeles Galaxy in October of 2003. In his first season with the Galaxy in 2004, the team averaged a League-high 23,809 fans per game, once again earning Hitchcock the MLS Sales Director of the Year award, and in the process, earning his sales staff the MLS Sales Team of the Year.

The Galaxy once again led MLS in attendance in 2005 with an average of 24,204 fans per game, including 8 sellouts at The Home Depot Center - all the while achieving the highest season ticket base in league history and once again earning him the Sales Director of the Year honors for a record fourth time

Source

Is there anybody who's willing to argue that the Pro League can't learn a thing or two from the knowledge and experience that this man offers??
« Last Edit: November 30, 2007, 04:39:10 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2007, 07:01:48 PM »
FC Dallas just beat Foreign Pro League All Stars 7-6 on penalty kicks after playing to a 2-2 draw.  Dallas scored the tying goal in the 90th minute. Frias score two for the PL. He should be another profitable trade for Connection in the near future.

« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2007, 07:19:23 PM »
See when I suggested this yuh should hear how many people  'shout this down!!!! now see how many saying  good for so and so......

ent ah suggested this here?       

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=26721.0

MLS & PFL : ah partnership made in Heaven?
« on: April 11, 2007, 04:19:17 PM »
« Last Edit: November 30, 2007, 08:33:08 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2007, 09:24:30 PM »
okok so the partnership was  not made in Heaven but in Trinidad; next best place tuh Heaven when yuh in dis MF cold country!!!!
« Last Edit: November 30, 2007, 10:09:01 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #13 on: December 01, 2007, 01:39:48 AM »
Shaka link up the PFL with a US team... :beermug: :beermug:

All we need now is for the 2-other folks to be a man and step to the plate like Shaka!!

1. Latas need to encourage a partnership with the SFA or a Scottish team (Falkirk)
2. Yorkie need to set something up with an English team (Sunderland)

Come on...step up guys !!

« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2007, 08:41:48 AM »

All we need now is for the 2-other folks to be a man and step to the plate like Shaka!!

1. Latas need to encourage a partnership with the SFA or a Scottish team (Falkirk)

Are you late bro.....

Latas hooked up Densil Theobold and Brent Rahim

And you just think that Sunderland nick name is Trinderland as a Joke, you did not think that Yorke has played some part in 3 other Trinis joining that Club......

I agree with you though, we need more of our players to act as PR on some level for our local players.

Re: TT Pro League, FC Dallas forms partnership.
« Reply #15 on: December 01, 2007, 09:39:21 AM »
Big Move !!!!!!!

Not sure if thats a good idea about de entire league joining with just FC Dallas though... shouldn't we try to expand in Europe as well. ?
« Last Edit: December 01, 2007, 09:45:16 AM by Sam »

« Reply #16 on: December 01, 2007, 12:16:00 PM »

Are you late bro.....

Latas hooked up Densil Theobold and Brent Rahim

And you just think that Sunderland nick name is Trinderland as a Joke, you did not think that Yorke has played some part in 3 other Trinis joining that Club......

I agree with you though, we need more of our players to act as PR on some level far our local players.

Reread what I wrote:

Do we have a formal agreemnt with Sunderland and Falkirk with player exchange, coaching exchange and best practices ??,......NO we don't !!

The formal agreement that Shaka made possible, is WAY different Sayah !!...for more beneficial to TnT.....reel and come again!
« Last Edit: December 01, 2007, 05:58:39 PM by trinbago »

Re: TT Pro League, FC Dallas forms partnership.
« Reply #17 on: December 01, 2007, 04:22:43 PM »
Big Move !!!!!!!

Not sure if thats a good idea about de entire league joining with just FC Dallas though... shouldn't we try to expand in Europe as well. ?
All of us have dreams of being rich...but the path to wealth starts with a plan and then feasible steps to achieve one's goals.

Fancy talk aside...yuh have to wuk with what yuh have, right now FC Dallas is all who showing interest in partnering with we...not no European clubs, so leh we juss break bread and give thanks for what we have and not try and hold out for greener pastures.