April 29, 2024, 09:35:58 AM

Author Topic: Caesar double propels T&T in next round of Olympic qualifiers.  (Read 3073 times)

Caesar double propels T&T in next round of Olympic qualifiers.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 23 footballers pulled off a superb 4-0 victory over hosts Dominica at Windsor Park to advance in the Olympic qualifying tournament on Saturday night.

Second half substitute Trevin Caesar was the hero for Angus Eve’s team with a timely double in the 71st and 83rd minutes as T&T went into the match needing to win by four clear goals in order to finish ahead of Curacao which defeated Grenada 2-0 in the earlier encounter.

T&T dominated from the opening whistle with a business-like approach but were unfortunate not to be comfortably ahead by half time after missing numerous chances, hitting the post on two occasions.

US-based forward Cameron Roget put T&T ahead in the 34th minute with an acrobatic finish as T&T got the much needed opener and the players hurried back into their positions as they went in search of further items.

And on the stroke of half time Sean De Silva’s thunderous effort was saved by the Dominican goalkeeper before the resulting corner came off the woodwork.

T&T started the second half in typical style, throwing numbers into attack and occupying  Dominica’s half for long periods  But the goals wouldn’t come as the hosts lived dangerously and looked to upset T&T against the run of play.

Then Caesar came up big, delivering the goods with two clinical finishes in the 71st and 83rd minutes to lead T&T to the 4-0 advantage and make Windsor T&T’s  own palace as the home fans began cheering on Angus Eve’s men

The ever solid Marcus Joseph put T&T ahead 3-0 with a neat finish in the 80th minute. The likes of Kaydion Gabriel, Sean De Silva and Marcus Joseph were the stalwarts in the T&T team which was well led at the back by defender and captain Sheldon Bateau.

“It’s a tremendous victory for the team and the players deserve full credit for their efforts tonight. It was not easy needing to win by four goals and then going into the break at 1-0 at half time,” Eve told TTFF Media after the win.

“It was a tough hurdle to cross but we never gave up hope. We believed in ourselves and we kept at it. The guys knew we had a job to take care of and the coaching staff would like to thank them for the way they went about it.

It’s never easy especially when you are not taking chances and then  having to go down to the wire. But we kept our nerves and thankfully we did what was required of us and now we have to keep on building for the next stage of  the tournament,” Eve added.

T&T will now advance to the CFU final round with the four group winners  in November at a venue to be determined. The top two teams will move on to the CONCACAF final round in the United States in early 2012.

Had the scores remained 3-0 in T&T’s favour, they would have had to meet Curacao in a one-match playoff on Sunday to determine the group winners but Bateau said it his boys were determined to get the desired result

“This is a big victory for us tonight. I told the guys big times or no times,” skipper Bateau said.

“But this is only half the journey. We have another round to finish and then it’s on to CONCACAF. We need to remain focus and finish the job. I was really pleased with the way everyone fought hard tonight to dig out this result.

Even with the clock running down we never gave up and the goals came in good time for us. This is real boost for us,” Bateau ended. The T&T team will return home on Monday.

Teams

Trinidad & Tobago: 1.Andre Marchan, 3.Mekeil Williams, 4.Sheldon Bateau (capt), 5.Aquil Selby, 6.Leslie Russell, 8.Uriah Bentik, 11.Sean De Silva (12.Jayson Joseph 68th), 14.Marcus Joseph, 15.Kareem Moses, 17.Kaydion Gabriel (Jeromie Williams 77th), 16.Cameron Roget (9.Trevin Caesar 66th).

Unused Subs: 2.Aubrey David, 18.Zane Coker, 7.Phillip Borde.

Coach: Angus Eve.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2011, 07:22:49 AM by Flex »

Re: Caesar double propels T&T in next round of Olympic qualifiers.
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2011, 07:24:43 AM »
phew! well onto the next round!

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2011, 09:18:53 AM »
The urgency they played in this game is how all T&T teams need to be playing.

Not that stroll in the park, lethargic, hope to lull the opposition to sleep way of playing that never works.

When the US play us they always play as though they chasing 6 goals from the 1st whistle.

Good going fellas :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2011, 11:11:18 AM »
The urgency they played in this game is how all T&T teams need to be playing.

Not that stroll in the park, lethargic, hope to lull the opposition to sleep way of playing that never works.

When the US play us they always play as though they chasing 6 goals from the 1st whistle.

Good going fellas :beermug:

Very good points Massive. Been a long time since there's seen such a concentration of high quality posts.

« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2011, 05:21:16 PM »
Congrats. One game at a time.  What next, Angus?? Or should we say TTFF?

« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2011, 05:41:17 AM »
I would love to see de goals here.

Congrats to Angus Eve, but de journey now start, dont sleep, we have to much talent at this level.

« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2011, 06:39:20 AM »
It just struck me that this defense could still possibly get Primus and Cyrus  .... although it probably won't .... we def have roots for the future.
I thought this youth Jones was playing for the senior team and he eligible ... bad attitude so he eh make this team?

« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2011, 04:00:31 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/zL5lOJekSQk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/zL5lOJekSQk</a>

« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2011, 04:11:07 PM »
Interesting. Thanks.

« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2011, 06:21:13 PM »
Eve: Composure was key to Olympic win.

National Under 23 head coach Angus Eve says the secret behind his team being able to score the required four goals against Dominica in their final first round Olympic qualifier against Dominica was maintaining composure before a packed home crowd at Windsor Park on Saturday night.

T&T went into the break ahead 1-0 on a Cameron Roget, still three goals short of their mark after Curacao had defeated Grenada 2-0 in their earlier encounter.

T&T persisted and were rewarded with goals by Trevin Caesar (71st and 83rd minutes) and Marcus Joseph in the 80th.

As to what happened in the dressing room at half time, Eve told TTFF Media : “I just tried to keep the guys very relaxed.

I told them it’s not like cricket where we can score all four at one time. We had to take our chances but one step at a time.

I used Barcelona as an example because they never change their play for anybody or in any situation even when they are down.

They always maintain their style so I told our guys to keep moving the ball around and the chances would come and they did.”

The Team returned home on Monday night and will be given a break with the players returning to their clubs before resuming preparations for the CFU Final round in November.

“This is still only the first phase we’ve completed and we have a lot of work to put in. We also have a lot of players who were left out and can now make their way into the team.

We will have a no-nonsense approach for the next stage as well. I will be looking at the discipline of the guys both on and off the pitch,” Eve said.

“We came out undefeated and it reflected in our defensively play. We only conceded one goal in three games and a lot of our defenders were only now making their international debut. The team spirit and fitness was excellent and the ball possession was phenomenal.

“This victory augers well for football in Trinidad and Tobago.  A lot of coaches come in and think they need to get all the guys from overseas all the time.

Our two foreign-based players couldn’t make it and we played with a mostly  local players and this augers well for the Pro League,” said the former Joe Public player.

Eve has been in touch with the respective local club coaches, updating them on the performance of their players and also making recommendations for their continuous training programs.

He added that some Cuban officials extended an invitation for T&T to engage in a training camp in Cuba prior to the next round but he was forced to decline due to the fact that T&T will face the Cubans in the next phase.

T&T ended the round with  a plus-5 goal difference to Curacao, which had a plus-4. Grenada finished third with three points, ahead of Dominica which lost all three games by a combined 8-0.

T&T will join Group C winner Cuba and Group D winner St Kitts/Nevis and the winners of Group A in a final group, from which two will qualify for the CONCACAF Olympic qualifying finals next year in the United States.

St Kitts got an 88th minute winner to defeat Haiti  in Basseterre on Monday night to top Group D. Group A with St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Jamaica, Suriname and the Cayman Islands is set to play August 3-7 in Paramaribo, Suriname.

VIDEO: Interview with U-23 forward Cameron Roget.

VIDEO: Interview with Angus Eve - on Olympic team's return from Dominica.

« Reply #10 on: July 26, 2011, 06:50:49 PM »
Light :idea: :salute: Finally some light and hope. Thers's nothing like leadership, boy.

Thank you Angus.

We're behind you. Keep at it.

« Reply #11 on: July 26, 2011, 07:12:40 PM »
Big up to Angus Eve, but please doh get tie up and start talking about Barcelona, they could afford to play any brand they want or still to their style, we CANT and many teams cant either.

Stop talking like yuh head swell, de next rounds yuh might have to start rebuffing them words.

You have to do your home work and you have to change your style to compete/stop different situations and different teams.

Jose Mourinho did it against Barcelona and beat them, unfortunately, he was not consistent because of the ref mainly and that the fact Barca was just do dam good.

Angus, yuh beat Dominica, after T&T, Dominica is probably one of de weakest football team after Montserrat in de Caribbean.

Shut yuh ass and get de job done and then talk.

Study Costa Rica, Mexico, USA, Honduras, Haiti and Cuba.

Ah hate sounding negative, but we people does talk and then try to compete, it should be de other way around.

« Reply #12 on: July 26, 2011, 08:25:17 PM »
Big up to Angus Eve, but please doh get tie up and start talking about Barcelona, they could afford to play any brand they want or still to their style, we CANT and many teams cant either.

Stop talking like yuh head swell, de next rounds yuh might have to start rebuffing them words.

You have to do your home work and you have to change your style to compete/stop different situations and different teams.

Jose Mourinho did it against Barcelona and beat them, unfortunately, he was not consistent because of the ref mainly and that the fact Barca was just do dam good.

Angus, yuh beat Dominica, after T&T, Dominica is probably one of de weakest football team after Montserrat in de Caribbean.

Ah hate sounding negative, but we people does talk and then try to compete, it should be de other way around.

nah Sam... he just use Barca as an example of patience... the brand was obviously creating chances... so why change it up and get frantic and panic. Stay patient and the dominance and chances will turn into goals.

I eh think he head swell at all

« Reply #13 on: July 26, 2011, 08:30:30 PM »
Sam...Sam

« Reply #14 on: July 26, 2011, 10:22:11 PM »

Come on Sam, the man said nothing to come over swell headed.
If anything the interviewer was the one who asked over excited & swell-headed questions but Eve dealt with all the questions in a calm professional and level-headed manner!

In fact I think it’s an annoying trait of most T&T journalists carrying out interviews to ask questions in a star struck manner that could easily lead to our athletes becoming swell-headed and feeling they are star boys and already reach!!

Check this interview here by Michelle with Jehue Gordon for example. Lucky thing the youth is grounded and level-headed and not going to let himself get carried away by what the interviewer suggested about him having Kryptonite!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/t_x1IH_bM78" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/t_x1IH_bM78</a>
« Last Edit: July 26, 2011, 10:30:18 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #15 on: July 26, 2011, 11:42:55 PM »
I found Eve interviewed well. I especially liked that he giving feedback tp players coaches. That relationship will help him get more time with players in the future. I also like the fact that the players were disciplined off the field. Travel polos looked smart and they gave good interviews. I see a lot of positives here, and yes, I know this was the easy part, but Eve seems to have plans to prepare and check the competition.

« Reply #16 on: July 27, 2011, 01:03:25 AM »
Another thing. The Olympics will be held in London 2012. An extra incentive for the lads may be the proximity to scouts from English leagues who can be impressed with certain player's performances--thereby offering opportunity to try out for contracts.

Just a thought.

Do well fellas, do well.

« Reply #17 on: July 27, 2011, 11:50:11 AM »
Good interview Angus ....very very good - positive, professional and articulate.

Sam, I disagree that he was cocky same - He conceded that there is still alot of work to do, and he was very grounded in his take on discipline and the impact that it has on the performance on the field. 

The Barca example was just that, an example - he used it to keep the players calm, composed and focused on their game (and it worked!!) - nothing wrong with that.  No way he was comparing his team to Barca in terms of quality or even style.

What's the story with Eve in terms of badges/qualifications?  I like his overall demeanor and vibe - one for the future?

« Reply #18 on: July 27, 2011, 01:01:55 PM »
Good interview Angus ....very very good - positive, professional and articulate.

Sam, I disagree that he was cocky same - He conceded that there is still alot of work to do, and he was very grounded in his take on discipline and the impact that it has on the performance on the field. 

The Barca example was just that, an example - he used it to keep the players calm, composed and focused on their game (and it worked!!) - nothing wrong with that.  No way he was comparing his team to Barca in terms of quality or even style.

What's the story with Eve in terms of badges/qualifications?  I like his overall demeanor and vibe - one for the future?

This is a good example of the level Latas should have been started at or even the age group below!!

You must start your way from the bottom and work your way up to the top!

Being a top player doesn't automaticaly make you into a top national senior coach!
« Last Edit: July 27, 2011, 01:05:42 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #20 on: July 29, 2011, 06:32:18 PM »
Drogba swears the ball was over the line!!

« Reply #21 on: July 29, 2011, 06:46:01 PM »

Way to get the wuk done T&T..not a smile crack until the last goal.

lawd..somebody pull in #3 and tell him ease up lil bit dey  :devil: