April 18, 2024, 08:54:41 PM

Author Topic: Golden Compass  (Read 1945 times)

Golden Compass
« on: December 12, 2007, 12:41:03 PM »
anyone went to see this yet? Saw it last night and thought it was pretty decent, Nicole Kidmans character is amazing and the movie itself explores some interesting themes with free will etc

Re: Golden Compass
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2007, 05:35:19 PM »
you gobe damned in hell for watchin dat Movie....

serious...all the trailers that I have seen look very impressive indeed
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2007, 06:00:56 PM »
I see de lil gyirl and thought was ah kid's movie

sooo,,it's not?

« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2007, 09:42:33 PM »
I see de lil gyirl and thought was ah kid's movie

sooo,,it's not?
Dutty, when is a "Kid's Movie" really a "Kid's Movie" ;)
just check what has been said about Alice in Wonderland here
leading to this song
Listen here
not dat I know bout tings like dat eh :devil: :angel:
« Last Edit: December 12, 2007, 10:17:34 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2007, 12:28:37 AM »
it is a kids movie and i think it is best u go in with that mindset as some of the acting is kind of basic, jus tellin u ok we doin this and this is why.
but it also has some deep undertones. I seriously have to go buy the book now since it has peaked my interest. I think there is a lot in it to enjoy for kids and adults alike.
The polar bear fight scene mite scare the crap out of some kids tho.

« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2007, 01:38:06 AM »
it is a kids movie and i think it is best u go in with that mindset as some of the acting is kind of basic, jus tellin u ok we doin this and this is why.
but it also has some deep undertones. I seriously have to go buy the book now since it has peaked my interest. I think there is a lot in it to enjoy for kids and adults alike.

Lawd, allyuh go kill mih... 'piqued'

I was thinking of checking dat out but de overemphasis on CGI is a deterrent.  I like Narnia and figure this would be similar enough that it might be worth checking out.

« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2007, 07:43:25 AM »

Lawd, allyuh go kill mih... 'piqued'

I was thinking of checking dat out but de overemphasis on CGI is a deterrent.  I like Narnia and figure this would be similar enough that it might be worth checking out.

Apparently, it has no similarity to Narnia from a religious point of view

I hear de Roman Catholic church is up in arms ... it promotes Atheism .. Jack M go like dat .. :-\

My favourite Newspaper only gave it 2.5 stars / four .. .I go wait for the DVD  .. but then again .. the big screen is compelling for movies of this nature ... :-\

« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2007, 08:08:11 AM »
I hear de Roman Catholic church is up in arms ... it promotes Atheism
the RC Church does have real dotish people in it
ya hear of de Archbishop in Africa somewhere that said that western countries are putting the aids virus in condoms

The pope had one time said that condoms do not stop the spread of Aids.
VERY VERY Irresponsible people indeed

dat is because the RC Church only concerned about NUMBERS so they do NOT want people to use condoms.