April 24, 2024, 09:59:32 PM

Author Topic: Boyz to face Costa Rica  (Read 1941 times)

Boyz to face Costa Rica
« on: December 13, 2007, 04:51:45 AM »
Looks like the JAmaica T&T game will not materialize. our opponents for the next two FIFA matchdates are confirmed...

Boyz to face Costa Rica
Burrell confirms Ja v Costa Rica match for Feb 6
SEAN A WILLIAMS, Assistant Sports Editor
Thursday, December 13, 2007

THE Reggae Boyz will host Central American rivals Costa Rica in a football friendly on February 6 at 'The Office' at 7:00 pm.

President of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), Captain Horace Burrell, who is in Japan as a disciplinary official at the FIFA Club World Cup, confirmed the date yesterday, saying "the deal is sealed... the game is definitely on".
"Yes, we have confirmed the match with Costa Rica for the next FIFA date on Wednesday, February 6, at 'The Office'," Burrell said.

Without giving details, Burrell said based on the terms of the contract, both countries must field full strength teams for the game, which will be played on the first FIFA date for 2008.
"We expect Costa Rica to be at full strength and I know the Reggae Boyz will have all their top overseas-based players available for this game," explained the CONCACAF executive member from his hotel in Tokyo.

If fit at the time, it is expected that the likes of England-based Ricardo Gardner (captain), Ricardo Fuller, Claude Davis, Damion Stewart, Donovan Ricketts, Jamal Campbell-Ryce, Jermaine Johnson, Omar Daley, Marlon King, Luton Shelton, US-based Tyrone Marshall and Khari Stephenson in Sweden should figure in the Boyz line-up.

Two weeks into its tenure, the new Burrell administration quenched the thirst of local fans with two friendly internationals four days apart, which saw the Reggae Boyz defeating El Salvador (3-0) and Guatemala (2-0) in front of crowds not seen at 'The Office' in years.

Burrell, who returned to the helm of the nation's football unchallenged after incumbent Crenston Boxhill opted out of the race, said, "Of course we're expecting another bumper crowd for the Costa Rica match."

But for drooling local fans, "high quality" opposition comes at a price, and they will be asked to pay more for the Boyz's next assignment. Supporters using the bleachers will now pay $1,000, while those sitting in the Grandstand area will pay $2,500 and $3,000 for Categories One and Two, respectively - an increase of $500 in all classes.

"I don't want Jamaicans to see this as a charge, but more as their contribution to the programme... we know that we're going through harsh economic times, but if we are to host top-class international friendlies as we try to revive football in the country, it's important for us to ask for this extra contribution," Burrell appealed.

Since retaking office as JFF president on November 5, Burrell's rhetoric and sense of mission have reignited interest in the sport which, in turn, has seemingly created a nostalgic throwback to the glorious 1998 campaign when the Reggae Boyz qualified for the World Cup Finals in France.

And with the news that Brazilian Rene Simoes, who guided Jamaica to that unprecedented feat, will be the man in charge of the football programme, starting January, a ripple of hope has already started for the South Africa 2010 qualifying campaign.

"This game (against Costa Rica) will be the first that Professor Rene Simoes will be in charge of after his return (to Jamaica) early next month," Burrell said.

Both Jamaica (ranked 98 by FIFA) and Costa Rica (69) - CONCACAF competitors - will be using this game to continue their fine-tuning for next year's World Cup qualifiers.
Jamaica will kick-start their crusade, dubbed 'Back to Africa', with a Caribbean second-round tie against either The Bahamas or US Virgin Islands in June next year.

Re: Boyz to face Costa Rica
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2007, 05:24:27 AM »
come on Ticos

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2007, 02:06:34 PM »
So who are we playing on Feb 6th??? ??? ??? ???

« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2007, 02:22:31 PM »
So who are we playing on Feb 6th??? ??? ??? ???

Guadeloupe in the Oval

« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2007, 03:29:33 PM »
So boo d flight bac to Broolyn on Ash thursday

« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2007, 03:34:08 PM »
Weary, rephrase dat fa meh nuh ;)
please and tanks
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2007, 04:01:49 PM »
Weary, rephrase dat fa meh nuh ;)
please and tanks

she mus be lashin some punchacreme in de office...yuh go hadda check back tomorrow for de translation

« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2007, 04:05:45 PM »
dais not ah Sorrel Shandy kinda talks den?......man I real bin away too long :rotfl: ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2007, 04:08:29 PM »
To insure that you see the Soca Warriors play on Feburary 6th which coincidentally is Ash Wednesday, please book your flight for Thursday Feburary 7th aka Ash Thursday

« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2007, 04:12:20 PM »
To insure that you see the Soca Warriors play on Feburary 6th which coincidentally is Ash Wednesday, please book your flight for Thursday Feburary 7th aka Ash Thursday
Thanks eh
Dutty tell me dat strong black Hong Wing coffee did work fas fas ;D  ;D