December 05, 2023, 03:49:52 AM

Author Topic: Super Clásico • Barcelona vs Real Madrid Thread •  (Read 119805 times)

Re: El Clásico - FC Barcelona v Real Madrid, 29 Nov 2010
« Reply #330 on: November 24, 2010, 04:35:59 PM »
I doh let my allegiance cloud my vision so I go say it, I watch Barca play against Villareal 2 weekends ago, and in all honesty, it pains me to say it but Real Madrid eh ballin' like that...Barca have a chemistry and a precision that yuh doh see too often.

The difference between this Real Madrid side though, and the ones of the last 2 seasons is that they have some more quality, and more importantly they have a COACH that you can trust to prepare them better than any other for the big games- and THAT is what giving me some confidence going into this one.

Xabi Alonso and Ricardo Carvalho are the two players holding the team together while C.Ronaldo stealing all the headlines....

Hoss.....defence for defence.....who could keep who out?

Messi, Iniesta, Villa, & Pedro vs Carvalho, Pepe, Marcelo, & Arbeloa

Ronaldo, Higuain, Di Maria, Ozil vs Pique, Puyol, Abidal, & Dani Alves

Should be a cracker

Indeed. I cyar wait.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #331 on: November 24, 2010, 04:40:18 PM »

Hoss.....defence for defence.....who could keep who out?

Messi, Iniesta, Villa, & Pedro vs Carvalho, Pepe, Marcelo, & Arbeloa

Ronaldo, Higuain, Di Maria, Ozil vs Pique, Puyol, Abidal, & Dani Alves

Should be a cracker

I eh know jed- tough to call

Carvalho is the man, and Marcelo havin' a great season so far... and I hope they bring back in Ramos in place of Arbeloa even though if Ramos wake up on the wrong side of the bed yuh could never tell which player will show up to play.... Pepe good for one major f*ck up per game- yuh just hadda hope it goes unpunished

Pique and Puyol are tough but they're not that quick.  Abidal and Alves are better going forward than coming back.  Looks like Maxwell getting more of a run down the left than Abidal in the last few games.  

Anyone's game

Maybe it's because I's a RM fan so I overly cautious in how I talk...

I will agree with you that it should be a cracker.  

« Reply #332 on: November 24, 2010, 04:59:03 PM »
On paper and form I think this is the most evenly matched classico in a few seasons.
Can't wait.

« Reply #333 on: November 24, 2010, 07:19:54 PM »
On paper and form I think this is the most evenly matched classico in a few seasons.
Can't wait.
reminds me of the 1986 WC final when germany met Argentina ...man to man Germany was stronger ... game was tight but a player turned the game ....a mirror image of that player is included in the Barcelona team ...without him Real would get my vote ... like playing the bulls without Jordan and then with Jordan playing ...the bulls were the world's best at the time ...but it mattered whether Michael was in town .... Messi is planning to be there ...

« Reply #334 on: November 24, 2010, 07:37:55 PM »
reminds me of the 1986 WC final when germany met Argentina ...man to man Germany was stronger ... game was tight but a player turned the game ....a mirror image of that player is included in the Barcelona team ...without him Real would get my vote ... like playing the bulls without Jordan and then with Jordan playing ...the bulls were the world's best at the time ...but it mattered whether Michael was in town .... Messi is planning to be there ...

Unfortunate but true.  Messi chose the wrong time (from the perspective of us Madrid fans) to hit form this season.  4 of the past 6 seasons before this one Barca has managed to have in their roster a player who is head and shoulders above the opposition.  It was Dinho, now it's Messi.

The difference between Madrid now and the Madrid that Ronaldinho ate for lunch in the Bernabeu is that Madrid THIS SEASON collectively is alot better.  Whether that is sufficient to make a meaningful difference, we will see on Monday. 
« Last Edit: November 25, 2010, 10:28:41 AM by kicker »

« Reply #335 on: November 25, 2010, 08:35:31 AM »

For Monday’s big game against Real Madrid, FC Barcelona has revealed their plans for a huge mosiac to be displayed at the Camp Nou at the start of the match. The tifo, featuring Barcelona and Catalunya’s colours, will also feature the phrase ’T’estimo Barça’ – I love Barça. The club is also pushing the use of the proposed mosaic through their social media sites.

As the official website reveals, it’s become a tradition at the Camp Nou, especially for big matches, to feature the stadium-wide tifos featuring the club’s colours and special messages to lift the players and fans before the match. And this year’s mosaic will be no exception.

In order to create the effect, a total of 100,000 plastic coloured cards will be used – 45,000 red ones, 35,000 blue and a further 20,000 yellow cards. The cards on the two sides of the ground will show the Barça colours, while both ends will make giant Senyeras –Catalan flags.

Greeting both sets of players as they walk out onto the pitch will be the words “T’estimo Barça”, a visual demonstration of the fans’ passion for the club.

To promote Monday’s match, Barcelona is encouraging its 7 million facebook fans to use this tifo as their profile picture in the days leading up to the match. Will you be changing your profile picture? If you do, make sure you show it off on our facebook page too! 

« Reply #336 on: November 25, 2010, 08:58:34 AM »
Xavi: “Winning el Clasico is like having an orgasm”

At odds with his teammates’ and coach’s code of silence pertaining to anything  that is related to the upcoming match against Real Madrid, Xavi Hernandez granted El Mundo Deportivo an interview on Monday that reminisced the biggest  bi-annual clashes Barcelona have had to play this past decade.

2000-01 | The return of Figo (2-0)> Figo’s first Clasico at the Camp Nou [after his defection]. I’ve never seen such hatred on a football pitch. There were some strong emotions and I distinctly remembered how Puyol did a great job marking Figo, and it was a good game for me too.

2001-02 | A draw with my goal (1-1)> Real came with Zidane, Bechkam, Ronaldo, Figo … and they were a level above us but we got a draw, and could even have won it. I was fortunate enough to have scored the equalizer.

2002-03 | The day of the piglet (0-0)> A day when we deserved to win. That match was made memorable for the piglet’s head that was thrown onto the pitch when Figo was about to take a corner kick. Some said it was a bad game but I think we were the superior side and deserved to win the match.

2003-04 | los Blancos superiority (1-2)> This was Rijkaard first year in charge, and Madrid, that year, was superior. There’s nothing else to say because they were the better side.

2004-05 | Cyclical Change (3-0)> It was a season of change. The end of an [first galaticos?] era. We had already won 1-2 at the Bernabeu in the first round. [At the Camp Nou] it was 3-0, and for the first goal, Eto’o ‘owned’ Roberto Carlos.

2005-06 | Injured and suffering (1-1)> I didn’t play because of an injury, and I remember that I suffered a lot. I saw that we could win it; we went ahead with a penalty for a Roberto Carlos fault on Van Bommel. I thought we would win it by 2 or 3 nil but then Ronaldo poked the ball past Victor. Madrid has always been able to conjure up something.

2006-07 | The emergence of Messi (3-3)> I remember that with one man down, after Oleguer was expelled, Messi ended a spectacular move to get the equalizer after Sergio Ramos had made it 2-3. That match was Messi’s.

2007-08 | A Clasico to forget (0-1)> It was a debacle. I remember that it was the last match to be played just before Christmas. It was an awful Christmas for us. We didn’t know what happened, but that year we seemed exhausted. In the end, we rather too easily surrendered the League title to Real Madrid.

2008-09 | An under-performing Madrid (2-0)> Madrid seemed like a small team, closely packed at the back. I was surprised by it. I remember that it never stopped raining and we were very impressive.

2009-10 | Ibrahimovic’s goal (1-0)> It was said Madrid had improved, but despite Busquets’ expulsion, we were on top of Madrid, not only at the Camp Nou but also at the Bernabeu.

Q & A

Best Clasico played at home.

The 3-0 win [2004-05], both on a personal level and collectively. We suffocated them the whole match.  I remembered, along with Deco, we said to ourselves “we’re going to take charge of this match, the whole match.” Physically, we were better, and it was a great match for us.

Worst Clasico played at home.

2003-04 because we had a sense of inferiority … They came with Beckham, Zidane, Roberto Carlos … They were superior and we felt powerless.

If you were to have a dinner appointment, who would you choose to go out with, Mourinho or Cristiano Ronaldo?

To have a talk about football… of the two… perhaps Mourinho. He has a lot more experience.

Player that you have had to struggle to cover.

Zidane. He was just spectacular. He showed you the ball and you thought you could steal it from him, but then he switched it to his other foot. He’s was the 90’s and early 2000′s best player.

Player that frustrates you the most.

Makelele. He was very resilient. When you saw him approaching, you thought: “this guy is going to nick it from me”. As did Redondo.

The goal you will never ever forget.

In the Bernabeu [2004-05], and what that goal meant. In the last minute, and it was the push that cemented the end of an era.

Best advice you received before a Clasico.

That of Guardiola’s: “Enjoy ourselves but don’t abandon our philosophy.”

Comments from a rival.

I was 18 and I remembered there was a ‘coming together’ at the Bernabeu, Raul then approached me and gave me a slap, and said, “Hey, calm it down.” I was dumbfounded. He was pulling rank over me, something we also did to Madrid’s young players.

A match that you would have liked to forget.

The 4-1 at the Bernabeu [2008]. Not because of the scoreline but for the sense of powerlessness that we felt on the pitch. I guess that’s how they felt with our 2-6 win [2009].

The Clasico that you remembered the most as a spectator.

The two 5-0. The one played here with the ‘Dream Team’ [1994], and then the reverse 5-0 the next year with Laudrup playing there. As a cule, I suffered a lot but it was a great match up.

A Clasico is comparable to a…

An orgasm when you win (laughing). It’s like gambling your [hard-earned] money in the casino. If you win, your heart skips a beat, but if you lose…

If you were to decide, who would you sign from Madrid?

My two friends, Iker and Xabi Alonso. But only to add to the squad, because neither can be better than what we already have here.

A Madrid player that you admired the most.

Raul, by far. I still have a good relationship with him. And Hierro too, who would be my choice for a captain. He is an incredible person even if the image that he transmitted does not correspond with reality. Over here, they loathed him a lot.

Worse Refereeing.

Perez Burrull, during the 4-1 defeat [2008], for the penalty he gave Madrid for a non-existent Puyol foul. And that of Losanto Omar who ruled out Rivaldo’s goal, but in hind sight it was the linesman fault, not him. With Undiano [the official assigned for Monday], we have always done well.

Regarding the 2-6, considering the margin, what image of that match has stuck with you since?

The feeling of superiority. You could see them talking to [accusing] each other, and it showed on their faces. On the other hand, we felt we could score another goal with every move we make.

« Reply #337 on: November 25, 2010, 09:01:52 AM »
Yes, yes, yes  :rotfl:

4 1/2 day long weekend, sweet

« Reply #338 on: November 25, 2010, 09:47:30 AM »

Unfortunate but true.  Messi chose the wrong time (from the perspective of us Madrid fans) to hit form this season.  4 of the past 6 seasons before this one Barca has managed to have in their roster a player who is head and shoulders above the opposition.  It was Dinho, now it's Messi.

The difference between Madrid now and the Madrid that Ronaldinho ate for lunch in the Bernabeu is that Madrid collectively is alot better.  Whether that is sufficient to make a meaningful difference, we will see on Monday. 

Kicker, Kicker, yuh does geh meh vex yuh know.

« Reply #339 on: November 25, 2010, 10:29:40 AM »

LOL Wha ah do?

« Reply #340 on: November 25, 2010, 11:00:09 AM »

LOL Wha ah do?

Always playing UN peacekeeper. This is the time for pure hate and acting normal.

« Reply #341 on: November 25, 2010, 11:35:58 AM »
 ???
Decisions Decisions Decisions

hmmmm who i hate more ...

bess game ahead....anticipation is like CL final.....but aside from that..i dunno who i hate more.....Real or Barca...... i definately hate Real more, but everybody on Barca bandwagon....so i backing them to lorse...but... granted Real have ronaldo, the rest of girls diving and acting the same way as evident in the ajax game.....so they pissing me off and maybe i go back barca.....but then again barca winning too much and have tooo much supporters....,so is a nice opportunity to pong them.....

hmmmm........

« Reply #342 on: November 25, 2010, 12:12:16 PM »

Always playing UN peacekeeper. This is the time for pure hate and acting normal.

lol arrite arrite...

« Reply #343 on: November 25, 2010, 12:24:07 PM »
Can't wait.

Don't forget that C. Ronaldo unlocked Pique and Puyol last week.
The 2 best players in the world goin head to head.  When last that happen in any league?

« Reply #344 on: November 26, 2010, 07:19:29 AM »
Mourinho can plan Barca game with eyes closed
Reuters, Friday November 26 2010

* Mourinho has never won at the Nou Camp
* Barca possession game to be tested by Real counter-attacks
By Mark Elkington
MADRID, Nov 25 (Reuters) - If there is one man who should know how to end Barcelona's four-match winning streak in the 'Clasico' it is Jose Mourinho.
His inside knowledge of the club is second to none after working as assistant to Barca coaches Bobby Robson and Louis van Gaal in the late 90s but his record against them is mixed.
He has knocked Barca out of the Champions League twice -- once with Chelsea and last season in the semi-finals with Inter Milan -- although the overall statistics read three wins, three draws and four defeats as manager of Chelsea and Inter.
On top of that, Mourinho has never won at the Nou Camp. However, the 'special one' is supremely confident that he has the tactics to get the better of his former employers.
"I know how to play against Barca, from memory," Mourinho said in an interview back in September.
"You can deactivate them by imposing your style. If you want to play the way they do, you will lose... because individually and collectively they are the best (at that style)."
TACTICAL DISCIPLINE
Inter's 3-2 aggregate win over Barca in the Champions League semis points the way forward and the watchwords are tactical discipline, physical fitness and psychological strength.
"You can't let them catch you out in the first phase of possession," he said. "You have to go direct from the defensive area to the second or third phase with a long movement of the ball to surprise them.
"Barca have many more problems when they have to do steady build ups."
Real's standard lineup this season, with Xabi Alonso and Sami Khedira in the midfield holding roles, will be bolstered by the tracking back and harrying of Angel Di Maria, Mesut Ozil Cristiano Ronaldo and Gonzalo Higuain in Monday's 'Clasico'.
Mourinho has said he prefers zonal rather than man-to-man marking and through strict adherence to this he will seek to cut the supply lines from Xavi and company to the number one dangerman, Barcelona's top scorer Lionel Messi.
When Barca's possession breaks down, Real will try to pounce quickly on the counter-attack, with long balls behind their opponents' high defensive line.
PASSING GAME
The Catalans are second in the standings behind Real this season because they have dropped five points to the Madrid side's four in their 12 matches so far, and those five points were lost against teams managed by former Barca players.
Hercules's Esteban Vigo won 2-0 at the Nou Camp and Real Mallorca's Michael Laudrup drew 1-1 there last month.
"Everyone knows how to play against Barcelona," former Danish international Laudrup told Reuters in an interview. "The problem is that it's one thing on paper and another thing on the pitch.
"Barcelona always need the ball to feel good. Madrid don't... because they have so much quality on the counter-attack. In just three passes it can be a goal."
Barca will need plenty of zip in their passing game if they are to open up La Liga's tightest defence.
Pep Guardiola's side have essentially played the same way for a number of years, dominating possession, patiently working the ball around until they can pull the opposition open.
When they lose the ball they swarm around opponents looking to win it back deep in their rivals' half, and they will work hard to stop the game from opening up, when Ronaldo becomes a greater threat with wide open spaces to run in to.
Mourinho's Real have yet to lose in competitive or friendly matches since he took the helm and, with a one-point lead at the top, the onus will be on the hosts to make the running.

Preparation for El Clasico begins

The squad returned to training on Thursday evening with a gentle session designed for recovery after the team’s victory in Greece against Panathinaikos in the Champions League. The majority of the first team was present, along with 4 youth players, while only Valdes and Iniesta, who worked out in the gym, and the injured Milito were absent from the pitch.

The players were out on Pitch no. 1 at the Ciutat Esportiva Joan Gamper in the first session dedicated to preparing for Monday’s game against Real Madrid.

In Greece, Adriano had been substituted in the 76th minute as a precaution after feeling a twinge in his left calf. The player worked on his own during Thursday’s session with one of the coaches. The Brazilian was examined by the club doctors who decided that there wasn’t any damage and that he should be okay.

Both Víctor Valdés and Andrés Iniesta preferred to spend the session in the gym, and Gaby Milito was also absent as he continued with his recovery regime.

Joining the first team on Thursday were three familiar faces from the B team: Miño, Fontàs and Thiago, who had all made the trip to Athens. In addition, Juvenil A defender Ivan Balliu also joined the group working under Guardiola.

The squad will have Friday off and then training again at 11 am on Saturday morning. Afterwards, team captain Carles Puyol will speak to the press.

« Reply #345 on: November 26, 2010, 11:11:05 AM »
I have a funny feeling RM will destroy Barca on Monday

Hope I'm wrong

« Reply #346 on: November 26, 2010, 12:13:23 PM »

Hope I'm wrong

take two panadol ..that should fix things  :devil:

« Reply #347 on: November 26, 2010, 02:13:44 PM »

Hope I'm wrong

You like Barca?  >:(

« Reply #348 on: November 26, 2010, 03:02:52 PM »

Hope I'm wrong

I like Villareal ...I was just giving Palos some friendly advice for he funny feelings ... Who do i think will win on Monday ?? ...the  team with Leo messi !

« Reply #349 on: November 26, 2010, 03:25:16 PM »

Hope I'm wrong

I like Villareal ...I was just giving Palos some friendly advice for he funny feelings ... Who do i think will win on Monday ?? ...the  team with Leo messi !

I know you like Villa, I was asking Palos. And of course I'm going to say madrid will win.

« Reply #350 on: November 26, 2010, 03:30:53 PM »

Hope I'm wrong

Yup!

But yuh better put out a suicide watch fuh Jai John come Monday evenin  :devil:

« Reply #351 on: November 26, 2010, 03:33:58 PM »

Hope I'm wrong

Yup!

Yuh mean Disgruntled!

« Reply #352 on: November 26, 2010, 03:46:35 PM »

Hope I'm wrong

Yup!

Yuh mean Disgruntled!

I backing meh side to the bitter end.

I suffered losses to Los Putos already, I clapped them out when they won the league on head to head, I watched Figo collect the hog head in the Nou Camp. Just another episode in the saga.

« Reply #353 on: November 26, 2010, 03:50:03 PM »

Hope I'm wrong

Yup!

Yuh mean Disgruntled!

Disgruntled could handle he stories

BUT WHEN ARGENTINA AND ARGENTINIAN PLAYERS FAIL TO STEP UP IN DE BIG MATCHES LIKE DEY ALWAYS DO....Jai does tote REAL feelings and ting   :devil:

« Reply #354 on: November 26, 2010, 09:55:18 PM »

Hope I'm wrong

Yup!

Yuh mean Disgruntled!

Disgruntled could handle he stories

BUT WHEN ARGENTINA AND ARGENTINIAN PLAYERS FAIL TO STEP UP IN DE BIG MATCHES LIKE DEY ALWAYS DO....Jai does tote REAL feelings and ting   :devil:

but it have argentinian players on both sides ...so what is yuh point ? ha ha ha ...what about your team sevilla ? de side yuh used to back when dey was winning ?? ... it eh have no argentinians to fail to step up dere ...just a few brazilians ... what happen dem eh stepping up or what ?

Offline trinipepper

• addin fire to the flame ...izatrini
« Reply #355 on: November 27, 2010, 01:29:09 PM »

It just some Argentinian and Brazilian are better than some...I have a feelin it go be some bacannal on the field tommorrow barca brillance against Jose cons... well real have started out really fine they played some good teams... barca started a lil shaky they played some awesome teams...hmmm.. I love la liga... barca bacanalist forever...  :beermug:

« Reply #356 on: November 28, 2010, 10:37:20 AM »
Continuing their preparations for the Clásico on Monday, Barcelona’s first team was back in training on Saturday morning in cold temperatures at the Ciutat Esportiva Joan Gamper. Guardiola worked with 19 players, 18 from the first team and reserve Thiago Alcántara in temperatures hovering around 5° C (40° F).

After recovering from the mid-week Champions League match on Thursday, and enjoying a day off on Friday, coach Josep Guardiola raised the intensity level today as the team prepares for their important showdown against rivals Real Madrid on Monday night.

With the temperatures being fairly low (for Barcelona), the players were equiped with tracksuit bottoms, long sleeved shirts, neck warmers and even caps.

Except for Milito who is still recovering from injury, the other 18 members of the first team were all involved in the session. They were joined by regular addition Thiago Alcántara, midfielder from Barça B.

FC Barcelona’s first team will return to training on Sunday afternoon, starting at 18:00 in a closed session at Camp Nou. Afterwards, Josep Guardiola will attend the press conference prior to the match on Monday.

« Reply #357 on: November 28, 2010, 10:55:47 AM »
Real will win

« Reply #358 on: November 28, 2010, 11:06:27 AM »
Real will win

Viva Ronaldo and Jose.... both will be at United in 2 years

« Reply #359 on: November 28, 2010, 11:38:04 AM »