April 19, 2024, 09:24:20 AM

Author Topic: Make Yorke and ‘Latas’ TT coaches.  (Read 10392 times)

Make Yorke and ‘Latas’ TT coaches.
« on: December 23, 2007, 02:43:10 PM »
By: Zaid Mohammed (Newsday).

Show promoter and former national cricketer Randy Glasgow has suggested that Dwight Yorke should be offered the position as coach of the Soca Warriors as they seek qualification for the World Cup in South Africa in 2010.
Glasgow also urged that Russell Latapy, nicknamed the “Little Magician” should also be recruited as Yorke’s assistant and that the decisions be made urgently in the interest of the Soca Warriors.
He made the call in the wake of the six-month suspension handed to regular coach Wim Rijsbergen from December 4 but only made public on Friday and will rule the Dutchman out of the beginning of the team’s World Cup Campaign on Ash Wednesday (February 6).
Glasgow, a former sports reporter said that Yorke and Latapy are the only persons who can get the country to rally around the Soca Warriors in a way to take them to a second successive Finals.
And he has warned against the selection of another foreign coach whom he said would not have a significant improvement in the fortunes of the team. He said the chances of finding another Leo Beenhakker, whom he described as “lucky” was extremely slim and that it would take something extraordinary to ensure the trip to South Africa.
Glasgow said Football Federation Special Advisor Jack Warner should resist the temptation to out-do the million-dollar contract recently signed by Rene Simoes to coach the Reggae Boyz. Glasgow said Yorke, triple crowned winner at Manchester United and Latapy, now player-coach at Falkirk in Scotland possess the right credentials to successfully undertake the task at hand. “Yorke has had great experience playing in Europe and Australia and has always showed an interest in coaching. And we all know that Latapy has the makings of a top class coach,” said Glasgow.
He said that the duo would immediately command the repect and co-operation from the players and their presence in the Soca Warriors camp will also greatly boost team unity.
Glasgow said only two persons of the stature of Yorke and Latapy can rekindle the patriotic flames last witnessed when the team qualified for Germany in 2005.
“The mere presence of Yorke and Latapy at the helm of the Soca Warriors will attract sell-out crowds at the stadium. And the money paid to some foreigner could go to two nationals in the process,” said Glasgow. He said that in the long run millions of taxpayers’ money will be spent in the payment of salaries of the national coaching staff and he believes that the Football Federation should throw their support behind the Yorke/Latapy tandem. “In any event, shopping around for a good foreign football coach will not land anyone who is not protecting their record. The bigger coaches will shy away from coaching a team like Trinidad and Tobago and we could end up with mediocre coaching talent,” said Glasgow. He said Yorke is almost at the end of his international career currently playing intermittently for Sunderland and would relish the opportunity to take his home team into the World Cup Finals which he last did as captain last year.
He said both Yorke and Latapy will be inspired to make history with the Trinidad and Tobago once given the chance and the Football Federation should seriously consider making the double offer.
“Qualifying for South Africa in 2010 will require a massive national effort on and off the field and we can start the long journey with doing what is right from the beginning. It is a good plan that can realise success,” said Glasgow.
Trinidad and Tobago are expected to have their best team for the qualifying quest including several stars playing overseas after the settlement of a row over World Cup sponsorship money recently between the players and the Football Federation.
Trinidad and Tobago play their first match in mid-June against the winner of the Bermuda/Cayman islands qualifier but go into action against Guatemala in a friendly on Ash Wednesday (February 6) at the Queen’s Park Oval in Port-of-Spain.
Among the players expected to boost the team’s chances in the CONCACAF Zone play-offs are Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones, and midfielder Carlos Edwards; UK-born Chris Birchall, Southampton forward Stern John, Toronto FC’s Collin Samuel, and Swansea City’s Jason Scotland. The back line will most likely be eyed by Keyeno Thomas and Seon Power, both of Joe Public, San Juan Jabloteh’s Ian Gray.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2007, 10:51:43 AM by Flex »

Re: Make Yorke and ‘Latas’ TT coaches
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2007, 02:53:15 PM »
I think its a great idea..............

« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2007, 03:11:40 PM »
make yorke the holding mid and latas the assistant to SH or the list of coaches i mentioned in another thread... that is a great idea..

God is de BOSS....

« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2007, 05:12:34 PM »
first rant

Make Yorke and ‘Latas’ TT coaches
By ZAID MOHAMMED Sunday, December 23 2007
Trinidad and Tobago Newsday

SHOW promoter and former national cricketer Randy Glasgow has suggested that Dwight Yorke should be offered the position as coach of the Soca Warriors as they seek qualification for the World Cup in South Africa in 2010.

Glasgow also urged that Russell Latapy, nicknamed the “Little Magician” should also be recruited as Yorke’s assistant and that the decisions be made urgently in the interest of the Soca Warriors.

He made the call in the wake of the six-month suspension handed to regular coach Wim Rijsbergen from December 4 but only made public on Friday and will rule the Dutchman out of the beginning of the team’s World Cup Campaign on Ash Wednesday (February 6).

Glasgow, a former sports reporter said that Yorke and Latapy are the only persons who can get the country to rally around the Soca Warriors in a way to take them to a second successive Finals.

And he has warned against the selection of another foreign coach whom he said would not have a significant improvement in the fortunes of the team. He said the chances of finding another Leo Beenhakker, whom he described as “lucky” was extremely slim and that it would take something extraordinary to ensure the trip to South Africa.

Glasgow said Football Federation Special Advisor Jack Warner should resist the temptation to out-do the million-dollar contract recently signed by Rene Simoes to coach the Reggae Boyz. Glasgow saidYorke, triple crowned winner at Manchester United and Latapy, now player-coach at Falkirk in Scotland possess the right credentials to successfully undertake the task at hand. “Yorke has had great experience playing in Europe and Australia and has always showed an interest in coaching. And we all know that Latapy has the makings of a top class coach,” said Glasgow.

He said that the duo would immediately command the repect and co-operation from the players and their presence in the Soca Warriors camp will also greatly boost team unity.

Glasgow said only two persons of the stature of Yorke and Latapy can rekindle the patriotic flames last witnessed when the team qualified for Germany in 2005.

“The mere presence of Yorke and Latapy at the helm of the Soca Warriors will attract sell-out crowds at the stadium. And the money paid to some foreigner could go to two nationals in the process,” said Glasgow. He said that in the long run millions of taxpayers’ money will be spent in the payment of salaries of the national coaching staff and he believes that the Football Federation should throw their support behind the Yorke/Latapy tandem. “In any event, shopping around for a good foreign football coach will not land anyone who is not protecting their record. The bigger coaches will shy away from coaching a team like Trinidad and Tobago and we could end up with mediocre coaching talent,” said Glasgow. He said Yorke is almost at the end of his international career currently playing intermittently for Sunderland and would relish the opportunity to take his home team into the World Cup Finals which he last did as captain last year.

He said both Yorke and Latapy will be inspired to make history with the Trinidad and Tobago once given the chance and the Football Federation should seriously consider making the double offer.

“Qualifying for South Africa in 2010 will require a massive national effort on and off the field and we can start the long journey with doing what is right from the beginning. It is a good plan that can realise success,” said Glasgow.

props to the reporter for keeping the grammatical errors out though
« Last Edit: December 23, 2007, 05:22:38 PM by Midknight »

« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2007, 05:19:34 PM »
second rant

sound to me like Glasgow care more about filling the stadium than actually qualifying.
Doesn't matter. Won't be the first time

« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2007, 05:24:49 PM »
second rant

sound to me like Glasgow care more about filling the stadium than actually qualifying.
Doesn't matter. Won't be the first time

thats what i picked up when i first read it....

« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2007, 12:38:51 AM »
Make Yorke and Latas coach??? of our senior team ???...u serious...???

Some ah allyuh does think outta allyuh ASS yes!!

First off not every great player makes a great coach...

Secondly, if anything, Latas possess more coaching experience than Yorkie so his name should be in front of Yorkie (nothing against Yorke)....

And Third, the only two high positions I could see Latas getting (not Yorke) is either an assistant to head coach of the Sr team or the Head coach of the U23's and/or U20's....

« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2007, 02:09:49 AM »

Secondly, if anything, Latas possess more coaching experience than Yorkie so his name should be in front of Yorkie (nothing against Yorke)....

And Third, the only two high positions I could see Latas getting (not Yorke) is either an assistant to head coach of the Sr team or the Head coach of the U23's and/or U20's....

Good post Bago, all de best for de holiday season, send some doubles meh way when yuh geh ah chance  ;D

Offline Baygo Boy

« Reply #8 on: December 24, 2007, 02:40:06 AM »

What wrong with Latas as head Coach? Falkirk seem to believe that he has the ability, and as the WC players will admit - it was Latas and Yorke presense and leadership in the locker room and in training etc that provides the inspiration they needed to carry them through.

Head Coach - Latas
Asst Coach/GK Coach - Shaka
Manager - Dwight
TD - Phillips

TTFF President - Romany

Offline madness1969

« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2007, 05:02:40 AM »
hi bago, u right man. latas has experience in coaching at club level. we can take a chance with him at a international level. its going to be tough. allyuh need to remember, we need good scouts and makerting team. why i say makerting team? we need to promote the soca warriors team. we need to say things like "the best team ever put together in the region." just need the hype. so the people in trinidad can come out a support. i know in the US, specially NJ, NY and CT. trinis will come out and support heavily.

Offline madness1969

« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2007, 05:06:29 AM »
hi bago, u right man. latas has experience in coaching at club level. we can take a chance with him at a international level. its going to be tough. allyuh need to remember, we need good scouts and makerting team. why i say makerting team? we need to promote the soca warriors team. we need to say things like "the best team ever put together in the region." just need the hype. so the people in trinidad can come out a support. i know in the US, specially NJ, NY and CT. trinis will come out and support heavily.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #11 on: December 24, 2007, 06:39:45 AM »
"He said the chances of finding another Leo Beenhakker, whom he described as “lucky” was extremely slim and that it would take something extraordinary to ensure the trip to South Africa. " ???

Poland was extremely lucky to quailify for Euro 2008.

Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #12 on: December 24, 2007, 06:58:47 AM »
What wrong with Latas as head coach??

Other countries have did that successfully, like Klinsmann at Germany, Rijkaard with Holland, Van Basten, Hagi, Stoichkov etc..

Try to remember that at international level, is not necessarily the most tactically astute, experience coach with the most credentials does make the best candidate.. Alot of it has to do with personality and presence and the individual that can gain the most respect from the players.. Remember is only a couple days with your pros before each game, so its about who is best at motivating the squad.. In any case, it have assistants that does handle the meat of the tactical work..

I not too sure about Yorke, but I definitely think Latas would be a great choice for us.

« Reply #13 on: December 24, 2007, 07:28:40 AM »
Both could be assistants but not head coach especially Yorke, he not ready.... but Latas, maybe ?

They need to work they way up de laddar and not be place on the top from the start... !!!!
« Last Edit: December 24, 2007, 07:32:34 AM by Flex »

« Reply #14 on: December 24, 2007, 08:31:51 AM »
Stay far away very far away from TTFF these people well end your career only when jack and camps are retired and long gone from football 

« Reply #15 on: December 24, 2007, 09:03:41 AM »
didn't realize Yorke was retiring from club football next year ???

« Reply #16 on: December 24, 2007, 03:56:41 PM »
Merry Christmas and happy new Year,
                                                     Everyone have presented people who they think should be the next coach. And the rational for chosing them are equally valid. If they going for a foreign coach, I think this guy in Canada, Hart, should be given a shot. He has international experience. I honestly think Latas will coach TT. Whether it is now or the distant future is the real question mark. It would be nice for him to start in the Caribbean cup, but for WC, I am not sure. But I think he will be coach.

Don't be surprise if Fenwick  and John Barnes names jump into the callaloo.

« Reply #17 on: December 24, 2007, 05:26:14 PM »
Extremely loud steups

« Reply #18 on: December 24, 2007, 08:11:36 PM »

Good post Bago, all de best for de holiday season, send some doubles meh way when yuh geh ah chance  ;D

2 with plenty pepper coming your way !!...lol

All the best for the season to you and the family Barataria.. :beermug:

« Reply #19 on: December 25, 2007, 12:02:50 PM »
Both could be assistants but not head coach especially Yorke, he not ready.... but Latas, maybe ?

They need to work they way up de laddar and not be place on the top from the start... !!!!

you mean like Carrington, Corneal and  La Forest ???

Re: Make Yorke and ‘Latas’ TT coaches.
« Reply #20 on: December 26, 2007, 11:11:17 AM »
By: Zaid Mohammed (Newsday).

He said Yorke is almost at the end of his international career currently playing intermittently for Sunderland

third rant. this is not true. Dwight has only missed 3 matches for Sunderland outside of the four match stretch where he was injured...

« Reply #21 on: December 26, 2007, 01:22:53 PM »
Y O Y do peeps b surprise dat dem fellas who write 4 d papers clueless b thankful dat d man know Dwight wit Sunderland

« Reply #22 on: December 26, 2007, 01:32:49 PM »
What wrong with Latas as head coach??

Other countries have did that successfully, like Klinsmann at Germany, Rijkaard with Holland, Van Basten, Hagi, Stoichkov etc..Try to remember that at international level, is not necessarily the most tactically astute, experience coach with the most credentials does make the best candidate.. Alot of it has to do with personality and presence and the individual that can gain the most respect from the players.. Remember is only a couple days with your pros before each game, so its about who is best at motivating the squad.. In any case, it have assistants that does handle the meat of the tactical work..

I not too sure about Yorke, but I definitely think Latas would be a great choice for us.

Latapy, Trinidad and Tobago.

« Reply #23 on: December 26, 2007, 02:05:17 PM »
They might not even been intersted in the job

especially given the fact the aint used to get paid as players from the TTFF why take a job where money is at risk,when you have foreign contract where money coming in.

Maybe for the love of the country

maybe

« Reply #24 on: December 26, 2007, 02:44:34 PM »
Y O Y do peeps b surprise dat dem fellas who write 4 d papers clueless b thankful dat d man know Dwight wit Sunderland

nah, it sound like he was paraphrasing what Glasgow said...

« Reply #25 on: December 29, 2007, 03:19:05 PM »

« Reply #26 on: December 30, 2007, 12:13:51 PM »
Stay far away very far away from TTFF these people well end your career only when jack and camps are retired and long gone from football 

Agreed. When coming to the current TTFF admin I will advise to stay away till they are removed fully. I think Latapy is very aware of this. Where ever JW is, trouble is around the corner.