April 18, 2024, 02:06:38 PM

Author Topic: Windies x South Africa - Test 1  (Read 3486 times)

Offline dervaig

Windies x South Africa - Test 1
« on: December 26, 2007, 10:35:11 AM »
It is not often I have anything good to say about the Windies, but..................

I watched for most of the 2nd and 3rd sessions, and I have to tell you
their application was exceptional.

I did not see Gayle's blitzkreig, nor Ganga's knock, but I did see Morton,
Samuel and Chanders.

Morton got out to one that rose sharply, while playing on the front
foot. A good ball, and credit to Ntini.

Samuel APPLIED himself. WOW!!!!!
Got out to an off drive, and an excellent catch to 2nd or 3rd slip.
A very well played 94, VERY WELL PLAYED!

Chanders!
What more can you say?
Batting number 5, and like a rock.

Day 1 to the Windies.

All I can hope for is we have many more days like today.

« Last Edit: December 27, 2007, 08:21:19 PM by dervaig »

Re: Windies x South Africa - Test 1 - Day 1
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2007, 12:12:44 PM »
Good day 1 let we say d same for days 2-5

Offline dervaig

« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2007, 04:13:54 AM »
Good 1 session on the 2nd day.

Bravo out to a flick attempt, ball popped up, and he skied
a catch to 3rd slip, which Ntini took as a C&B.

Ramdin, well, fishing outside the off stump.
I cannot believe we do not have someone better in the
Windies to push Ramdin out, or at least push him to be
better.

Chanders, WOW!
If only we could clone this guy.
Resolute, and dependable.

400 is very doable on this wicket, then we get our
chance to bowl.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2007, 10:17:56 AM »
These fellas real surprising me. We have SA on their knees at 122/5. If they could break up that boucher/ De Villiers partnership early in the first session, we should be able to run through the rest of the squad very quickly.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2007, 10:19:55 AM »
Give Jack he jacket.  So far they doing well.  I am beginning to get excited, but I have seen this before and then it all falls apart.  Can they repeat the feat in a second innings? That is the qustion.

Offline dervaig

« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2007, 05:18:36 PM »
Give Jack he jacket.  So far they doing well.  I am beginning to get excited, but I have seen this before and then it all falls apart.  Can they repeat the feat in a second innings? That is the qustion.

Excited?
Windies have to win 20 tests straight for me to get excited.
I've suffered through the last 12+ years with this travesty call
Windies cricket.

The BIGGEST difference I see with this team, compared to
recent teams, is the top 6 putting their heads down, showing
some degree of discipline, not making rash/uncalled for strokes,
and making runs.
IN THE FIRST INNINGS OF THE FIRST TEST VERSUS SOUTH AFRICA.
They play 4 tests (?), that leave 7 more innings to bat.

Let's see what happens next.

Offline dervaig

Re: Windies x South Africa - Test 1
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2007, 05:51:36 AM »
Day 3 Session 1, goes to the Windies.

Again, excellent bowling, on a wicket which is supposed
to be a batting strip.

Now we need to turn the screws, and give South Africa
at least 450 to make with 5 sessions to bowl them out.

« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2007, 09:52:08 AM »
Day 3 Session 1, goes to the Windies.

Again, excellent bowling, on a wicket which is supposed
to be a batting strip.

Now we need to turn the screws, and give South Africa
at least 450 to make with 5 sessions to bowl them out.

anybody say blight ?

Offline Aviator

« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2007, 09:11:44 AM »
Ah can't help but smile ;D. Even though its just one game, it looks like we are well on our way to victory against SA. We have them 205/8. Its been a while since we have had such a convincing victory against one of the higher ranked teams.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2007, 09:48:33 AM »
Ah yes its official. We beat a full strength SA squad in 4 days.  :beermug: :beermug: for them fellas.

« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2007, 09:54:19 AM »
i cyah believe dem fellas win..very shocking result...the only ting dat didnt surprise me was the Windies second innings collapse...ah hope dey keep up the good work.

Offline dervaig

« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2007, 09:56:56 AM »
Unbelievable!

What's the difference with this team to the team that
went to England?
New coach?
Lloyds involvement?

For me, the application and determination was the key
difference. If we can consistently separate the 5 day
game with the one day game, put our collective heads
down, and bowl on a good line and length, the Windies
will once again become a team to fear.

« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2007, 02:37:12 PM »
Oh yesss!!!

« Reply #13 on: December 29, 2007, 04:47:58 PM »
Congrats to the Windies! Let's hope this is the start of a new trend.

« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2007, 05:20:26 PM »
First in 7 1/2 years ..... over the 2nd ranked team in the world ...... Well Done

Offline RRamdin

« Reply #15 on: December 29, 2007, 05:27:32 PM »
Unbelievable!

went to England?
New coach?
Lloyds involvement?

A new captain? C.H.Gayle?

Offline dervaig

« Reply #16 on: December 30, 2007, 08:49:07 AM »
Unbelievable!

went to England?
New coach?
Lloyds involvement?

A new captain? C.H.Gayle?

Or was it the players playing for Gayle?
Happy to see the backs of Lara and Sarwan?

Same players (minus Lara and Sarwan), different mindset.
Why?

« Reply #17 on: December 30, 2007, 11:07:17 AM »
Good day 1 let we say d same for days 2-5

Weary, yuh in de cricket discussion 2, lawd, yuh really setting de example fuh de other females on de forum. Do yuh thing family  :beermug:. HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #18 on: December 30, 2007, 04:31:58 PM »
No Lara or R.S. and we beat S. Africa at home.

A helluva result. Sorry I couldn't see it for myself.

I am proud and happy.

Peace,

« Reply #19 on: December 30, 2007, 06:07:32 PM »
If somebody had tell me ah woulda put ah video link .pm meh on the day of the next game ,and I will try .
« Last Edit: December 31, 2007, 02:30:17 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #20 on: December 30, 2007, 11:33:15 PM »
Same players (minus Lara and Sarwan), different mindset.
Why?

Cease and settle.
Pull up selector.
Is only one game gone.

« Reply #21 on: December 31, 2007, 11:07:56 AM »
Solid, solid news. Have to say I was impressed by Gayle's perspective. Still plenty wuk to be done buh ah still enjoying this outcome.

Forgot Gayle was still under 30 (age) ...

BC Pires had a lil piece on Friday on Chanders ... check it if yuh eh read it yet.