April 27, 2024, 04:49:33 PM

Author Topic: Maturana takes up senior coaching job.  (Read 147150 times)

Re: Maturana takes up senior coaching job.
« Reply #990 on: September 16, 2014, 12:01:55 PM »
They're a much more organized unit than us, and their World Cup experience may very well have increased their confidence.  They don't have high profile players, with the exception of Navas at Madrid.

i agree, they are much more organized than us because they play together more often and a lot of their team is local based because they have a strong local league... it goes to show how talented TT is bc if they were prepped in the same way as a costa rica we would be a world beater but that has never happened..

our players are flying in from all over the world, which makes it infinitely harder to gel as a unit... that is why the suggestion of putting together a local outfit is being shopped around. the only problem is our pro league is not cooperative as well as the teams, they don't care about national football..

« Reply #991 on: September 16, 2014, 12:06:32 PM »
They have a lot more players playing in top leagues.  They have a great ranking so they won't have trouble getting friendlies. I'm just amazed how everyone is taking their football to another level.  Even Haiti, a third world country (and don't start arguments about Trinidad is also a third world country), had their team in order. 

well when you have a lawsuit that is dragging on for eons with past players and an admin who owes over US 20mm to people... how can you get your team together when you are in so much debt?

then you have players who are not locally based and have thousands of miles to travel with clubs who basically lack respect for our national football, so they give trouble to release them...

the TT govt have enough to pay everyone off and start afresh... which should happen, the govts embezzled so much of our nation's money over the years, they should get our football back on track...

Offline toonmili

« Reply #992 on: September 16, 2014, 12:56:11 PM »
That's what I've been thinking... if only they stole a little less for one financial 1/4 the government could have us back in business. If we can give ppl for money for babies, why not.

Offline CDR

« Reply #993 on: September 16, 2014, 01:37:15 PM »
haiti got a ton of money cause of that earthquake. a lot more carib countries would be organized but money is the issue.

« Reply #994 on: September 16, 2014, 02:27:12 PM »
haiti got a ton of money cause of that earthquake. a lot more carib countries would be organized but money is the issue.

We should not look at Haiti's poverty as a hinderance to their foootball progress. Haiti slump from the top of Caribbean an Concacaf football had more to do with political instability. Baby Doc, the military, Lavalas and then the earthquake. But there are lots of wealthy Haitians in Haiti and Miami. They put a lot of money in football. Allyuh know who the wealthy people are in TT. What do they do football?

Offline toonmili

« Reply #995 on: September 16, 2014, 03:00:39 PM »

We should not look at Haiti's poverty as a hinderance to their foootball progress. Haiti slump from the top of Caribbean an Concacaf football had more to do with political instability. Baby Doc, the military, Lavalas and then the earthquake. But there are lots of wealthy Haitians in Haiti and Miami. They put a lot of money in football. Allyuh know who the wealthy people are in TT. What do they do football?

They buy up all the tickets when we're close to qualifying, then act like they were always there supporting.

But at the same time, It's hard to put your money when you know one or two people just stuffing their pockets and giving money to their plain son so he can buy affection.

Offline CDR

« Reply #996 on: September 16, 2014, 04:42:40 PM »
I feel if more indian people in trinidad were into football it would be better funded

« Reply #997 on: September 17, 2014, 11:18:42 AM »
I feel if more indian people in trinidad were into football it would be better funded

Might be unfair - there's a couple million TTD in subventions to TT Pro League teams every year.