April 29, 2024, 06:18:39 PM

Author Topic: Stock Market Game  (Read 47995 times)

Stock Market Game
« on: January 04, 2008, 05:22:15 PM »
Okay...the new game is set up...http://vse.marketwatch.com/Game/StartViewGame.aspx?id=Soca_Warriors_10K

Game ID: Soca_Warriors_10K
Game Password: Germany 06

Game starts tomorrow and runs thru March 15.  The spending limit is $10K per the request of a couple people interested in working with smaller sums.  Individuals have the option of making their portfolio private as before...I'm letting it be known now so that there's no more allegations of shadiness or whatever.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2008, 02:40:34 PM by Bake n Shark »

Re: Stock Market Game
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2008, 08:45:44 PM »
man I wish there were more hours in the day

aaaaaaahh, if i dont spend as much time on here I would find time to follow the stock market I guess
starting an investment club with friends may also be possible

a few years ago I used to play this game alot
« Last Edit: January 04, 2008, 08:53:47 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2008, 12:22:16 AM »
I would be willing to give it a try

« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2008, 12:58:13 AM »
I got a couple PMs from some folks who might be interested.  I'd like to get about 8-10 people at least, that way we can make it fun.  If we don't get that many folks then we may just have to join someone else's game...but it would be nice to have one all to ourselves.

For the peepers who might be reading and thinking about it...or concerned it might be over their heads...essentially how it works is this:  You join a customized game, which runs for a set period (I like to do it for a month at a time).  Everyone gets a bank of money (I like $100,000.00 as starters) and you then set about buying and selling stocks over the course of that month, using actual stocks, and trading on the same platforms as real-world traders.   

The game of course is a simulator, so you don't spend/earn/lose any real money.  Trading takes place only during the hours of 9:30 am-4 pm...when the real world stock market is open (market hours).  You use whatever research tools you can find to give you an advantage over your competitors (newsletters, charts...etc.), but since this is all about sharing knowledge, if we do play I don't mind sharing those that I already use.

So anyone else want to give it a shot, feel free to PM me...or just respond here.  I'll wait a couple days and then we can decide how to proceed.

Oh yeah...it's free to play and you can put in as much time as you like into it, no real demands on your time otherwise.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2008, 01:00:25 AM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2008, 01:06:36 AM »
this is the one i did sign up for a while back..but ah did never buy anything  ;D
http://www.top10traders.com/Main.aspx

anyway i in..send me the details etc

« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2008, 02:04:02 AM »
this is the one i did sign up for a while back..but ah did never buy anything  ;D
http://www.top10traders.com/Main.aspx

anyway i in..send me the details etc

Top 10 Traders sounds familiar...I think I went to their site to research some stuff this past summer.  Here's the one that I use, although you can't see the game interface until you register and everything...

Virtual Stock Exchange

With you on-board it makes 4 definite players so far:

triniairman
Zandolie
Feliziano
...myself

Halfway there. WC ah wasn't sure if yuh in or not... :)

« Last Edit: January 05, 2008, 02:07:35 AM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2008, 07:38:18 AM »
i go play

« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2008, 09:18:39 AM »

Count me in.
I was using Fantasy Football as practise   ;D

If we running short of people I cud draft in some others.

« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2008, 12:02:36 PM »

Count me in.
I was using Fantasy Football as practise   ;D

If we running short of people I cud draft in some others.

Yeah man dcs, bring some more people...we doh have to stop at 8 and we doh need an even number.

Jack...niceness :beermug:

I'll go ahead and set it up today so everyone can check back for the link.  I think we can actually go ahead and get started on Monday and let it run for a month.  After that we can run another game.   If anyone comes in and sees this after Monday and wants to join they can, but we'll probably close it after the first week.  The reason why we need to close it after a while is out of fairness to the other players..if a man been playing whole month and taking losses, it ent right that you just waltzing with yuh fresh hundred grand and take yuh place above him two days before game end, lol.

In the mean time here are some links that folks may find helpful in getting you a jump on the basics:

http://finance.yahoo.com/education

www.investopedia.com

http://moneycentral.msn.com/investor/research/wizards/SRW.asp
« Last Edit: January 05, 2008, 12:07:55 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2008, 12:17:58 PM »
Arrite folks, here we go:

Use the information and directions below to join the game.

Game ID: Soca_Warriors
Game Password: Germany 06

Open this link and read the competition summary:
http://vse.marketwatch.com/Game/StartViewGame.aspx?id=Soca_Warriors
Click on the 'Join Game' link.
If you are an existing Virtual Stock Exchange member, enter your Email address and Password in the login panel and get set to trade. If you are a new user, follow the link to register - it's easy!

Game starts Monday and runs thru Friday February 9th.  Please be sure to familiarize yourself with the rules...there's a 20 minute delay between when you submit your trade and when it gets executed.  Sometimes glitches will prevent trades from going thru...and be sure to review your trade thoroughly before submitting it.

Some of you may adopt a buy and hold strategy...but remember, you only have a month so think realistically about how much movement will occur after just one month.  Certainly bigger gains can be made with aggressive trading...but bigger losses also.  Follow the instructions and start trading. 

Good luck!
« Last Edit: January 05, 2008, 12:45:48 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #10 on: January 05, 2008, 12:38:02 PM »
yeah, Include me please ;)

I go have to dig out meh Warren Buffet impersonator kit from de basement ;D ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #11 on: January 05, 2008, 12:44:56 PM »
yeah, Include me please ;)

I go have to dig out meh Warren Buffet impersonator kit from de basement ;D ;D

Sweet...just go ahead and follow the link.

Anybody have questions they could ask them here (might benefit others with similar thoughts), or could PM mih.

« Reply #12 on: January 05, 2008, 12:49:51 PM »
modern day "sou sou"

« Reply #13 on: January 05, 2008, 01:44:59 PM »
modern day "sou sou"
Nah...not even close.  Yuh welcome tuh check it out though.

For those playing...when you're ready to trade you'll have four options:

Buy
Sell
Sell Short
Buy To Cover

Try and familiarize yourself with these terms and what they mean as this is key to developing and executing your strategy.  Buy and Sell speak for themselves, but if you have questions about Selling Short or Buying to Cover, feel free to ask.  My guess is that some of you will already be familiar with these concepts, but for now I'm just going to assume that the only stocks allyuh know about is de new Nike and thing yuh auntie dem used tuh send tuh yuh from farrin, lol
« Last Edit: January 05, 2008, 01:53:32 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #14 on: January 05, 2008, 02:27:13 PM »
I'll give it a shot.

« Reply #15 on: January 05, 2008, 02:29:20 PM »
Ok  I'll give it a shot.

« Reply #16 on: January 05, 2008, 02:34:42 PM »
i'll give it a shot..

ah geez, between this site, fantasy league and now this, i will be stretching the known limit of human idleness.

« Reply #17 on: January 06, 2008, 08:20:29 AM »
Arrite folks looks like we have 12 people, counting those who mentioned interest here, another pardna of mine from another board, a couple peepers who mentioned interest in PMs...this is in addition to whomever else dcs is able to recruit.  Some games have hundreds of players, so the size of the pool doesn't really matter, the more the merrier.

Everyone who hasn't already done so, please remember to go ahead and register and at least have your stocks lined up.  You can start trading tomorrow, by submitting your trade requests before the market opens, they'll take effect then.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2008, 08:57:16 AM by Bake n Shark »

Offline conscious

« Reply #18 on: January 07, 2008, 07:38:01 AM »
ok im signed up.

looking at the site, but its taking a little time for the pages to load.

might take me a day to get familiarized.

i need to do some work today.

« Reply #19 on: January 07, 2008, 08:22:33 AM »
ok im signed up.

looking at the site, but its taking a little time for the pages to load.

might take me a day to get familiarized.

i need to do some work today.
Which site the VSE site?  It loading okay fuh me, not sure why it giving yuh problems.  But market opens in ah couple minutes, yuh should go ahead and sign up today when yuh get ah chance.

« Reply #20 on: January 07, 2008, 08:35:06 AM »
hear nah..I cyar see ,y name on de list and I trying to register two days now..what happenning?

« Reply #21 on: January 07, 2008, 09:19:04 AM »

damn...look like i will have a late start but hadda start sometime.

« Reply #22 on: January 07, 2008, 09:27:23 AM »
hear nah..I cyar see ,y name on de list and I trying to register two days now..what happenning?
Yuh still cyah see yuh name?  I seeing yuh man, and yuh doing arrite...how de back ah mih head looking?  :rotfl:

dcs whole weekend ah telling allyuh tuh get started man  :D

de ress ah allyuh wha'ppen allyuh fraid tuh spend money or what?  C'mon man is house money allyuh playing wid enuh.

Offline conscious

« Reply #23 on: January 07, 2008, 10:18:29 AM »
ok Im back from the gym, and it appears to be loading better now, but Im swamped with work i need to do so i go do more homework for tomorrows open.

I'll check in to see how allyuh doing later.

« Reply #24 on: January 07, 2008, 10:19:22 AM »
Ok

jess make my first two trades ...

« Reply #25 on: January 07, 2008, 10:43:57 AM »
Curses!

Ah talk too soon.... *kicks rocks*

« Reply #26 on: January 07, 2008, 10:50:34 AM »
I ent do nutten yet and I in third arready ;)

hole orn, I goin an get meh Ouija board (who kno bout dat) so I could ask Warren ah few questions  :rotfl: :rotfl:
« Last Edit: January 07, 2008, 11:00:02 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #27 on: January 07, 2008, 11:12:50 AM »

hole orn, I goin an get meh Ouija board (who kno bout dat) so I could ask Warren ah few questions  :rotfl: :rotfl:
How yuh go aks Warren questions on yuh weejee board and Warren eh even self dead yet, lol
« Last Edit: January 07, 2008, 11:20:15 AM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #28 on: January 07, 2008, 11:52:00 AM »

How yuh go aks Warren questions on yuh weejee board and Warren eh even self dead yet, lol
ya see dat
nobody cyar try ting wid you eh ;)

:-[ :-[ buh wha de arse, how i friggup so ;D

« Reply #29 on: January 07, 2008, 12:20:18 PM »

ya see dat
nobody cyar try ting wid you eh ;)

:-[ :-[ buh wha de arse, how i friggup so ;D

Leh Warren find out yuh wishing death on him and see if he eh go buy up all ah Trinidad juss outta badmind, lol