April 26, 2024, 05:04:43 PM

Author Topic: Anthony Streete Thread  (Read 2461 times)

Anthony Streete Thread
« on: April 15, 2009, 02:54:14 PM »
Struggling Streete battling-on with home-grown talents.
By: Randy Bando (ttproleague).

St Ann’s Rangers are one of those clubs surviving on what some may call a “miracle” and the unbending dedication of Coach Anthony Streete.

And in 2009 the club is continuing its struggle of survival with the dedication of its staff and players.

This season Rangers are without key players Ricky Charles, Shane Rennie, veteran Joseph Peters, striker Keyon Edwards and goalkeeper Shane Mattis.

Streete said that the loss of key players came as a result of poor finance—as the club is still without a major sponsor.

“Finance is our main problem,” he said. “Because of this, we have lost some of our key players. Goalkeeper Shane Mattis, Keyon Edwards and Joseph Peters are no longer with us. The Grenadian pair of Shane Rennie and Ricky Charles are no longer with us because we can’t afford to bring them back.”

“We have been coming along going good as a club. We finished once in the Big Six and in a final the other years. Last year we ended with a (Toyota Classic) final against Jabloteh which we lost. But it shows that we are a good club. However the finance needed to go the extra mile is what we don’t have. We have registered wins against the big clubs but it takes finance to keep that going.”

However Streete has committed himself to the club, yet another season, and strongly holds the belief that Rangers will get better.

“We are basically here with some of the young guys that I’ve been moulding the team around for the past few years together with some youth players.

Streete’s line-up this season will include Corneal Thomas, Christian Thomas, Josimar Belgrave, Elijah Belgrave, Errol Mc Farlane, Shem Mc Farlane and Jevon Morris all produce of Rangers and from the St Ann’s district.

“I have always kept the core players from St Ann’s over the years. I think I have the ability to coach these guys to where we want Rangers to be. It might take some and I am willing to continue the fight. 

Other than finance, St Ann’s Rangers are without a proper training ground—a problem Streete and the management of Rangers have been praying to overcome in recent years. However season after season, the problem of no proper home facility still persists.

Streete said that since the beginning of 2008 promises were made by the Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Gary Hunt to refurbish the President’s Ground and that this year, those same promises were reiterated.

The President’s Ground has been occupied by rugby and youth football, leaving Streete with little space for work.

Holding the promises close to his heart, Streete is hoping that Hunt—the MP for their area—will make it happen, and soon.

Until those promises become a reality, Streete’s struggle for a training ground will continue. Rangers are currently occupying part of the Queens Park Savannah for their pre-season work ahead of the gruelling 2009 Pro League season.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2021, 08:02:13 PM by Tallman »

Re: Sruggling Streete battling-on with home-grown talents.
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2009, 02:57:09 PM »
Is the Local league going to survive?

« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2009, 05:13:20 PM »
Professional league and they don't have a field to practice on.  :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

What happen to the practice field outside the HCS?

« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2009, 05:28:26 PM »
Th HCS aux. field is over worked. They should change it to turf field. They should put about 6 turf field in the QP savannah. If they can pave the field in fron the former grand stand, why can they put some turf field at the easter side of the savannah.

« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2009, 04:45:16 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_sports?id=161476942

Rangers' financial shortcomings have forced Streete to cut training sessions to just one hour in the evening-rather than the usual two and a half hours in the morning-so as to allow players to work during the day.

« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2009, 05:40:29 AM »
Sponsorship real hard to come by for these clubs.Just now the league will consist only of teams like Police,Utd Petrotrin and Defence Force and a few clubs who have the financial capabilities like Joe Public but this cry will be heard from the other clubs also..... like Jabloteh and W Connection.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2009, 05:45:19 AM by Tallman »

Re: Struggling Streete battling-on with home-grown talents.
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2009, 06:45:09 AM »
Ah feel for this team boy.

Hunt must realize what a pro team means to the community. Give them a hand nah man.

Re: Struggling Streete battling-on with home-grown talents.
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2009, 10:54:58 AM »
so much big buisness and tief in tnt ...and dey wont put some money in de ting...

ok..yuh coming with Warner da da da

Rangers sack Streete
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2012, 07:09:09 AM »
Rangers sack Streete
ttproleague.com

Anthony Streete has been dumped as head coach of St. Ann’s Rangers, the club he has served with a high level of loyalty over the years.

According to the 53 yearold former Trinidad and Tobago international, he was sacked with immediate effect on Wednesday.

Streete’s sacking came just three days after the club’s disappointing exit in the FA Trophy competition with a 3-1 loss to Joe Public on Sunday and at the time was seated seventh on the Digicel Pro League Championship table.

Streete isn’t the only person shown the exit at the club, as contracts of players Elijah Belgrave, Kaashif Thomas and Larry Bacchus weren’t renewed by Rangers after they expired in February.

Streete holds no animosity against his now former employers saying, “I thank the club for the time that I’ve spent as head coach and for giving me such an opportunity.

I also wish the club all the best in the future and I can only respect the decision made.”

But many would surely disagree with the club’s decision to sack Streete, who had coaching stints with QPCC Football Club, National Flour Mills, Caroni FC and even San Juan Jabloteh before joining Rangers at the Pro League level.

Streete has been considered a ‘miracle worker’ by some coaches in the Pro League, judging by the limited resources he had at cash strapped St. Ann’s club, and based on the performances of his teams despite never winning a title.

On Friday night former assistant to Streete, Dean Pacheco filled the role of head coach and led the St. Ann’s based club to a 2-2 comeback draw over fourth positioned Adam’s Construction San Juan Jabloteh at the Larry Gomes Stadium in Round Three Match Day Three, while Streete who is yet to say goodbye to his now former players, looked on from the stands.

Re: Rangers sack Streete
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2012, 07:32:39 AM »
Sad to hear this, but at least Streete can get work immediately. Elijah Belgrave, Kaashif Thomas and Larry Bacchus can't sign with other ProLeague clubs until the summer transfer window....a situation that could be determined as restriction of trade as these players are prevented from earning a living by out of date rules.

« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2012, 07:34:55 AM »
From who he could get wok from  immediately ? Tobago United ?

De man after Peter Granville holds de worst coaching record in de league since they existent.

Stop with de frien thing. Go by record.

« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2012, 08:50:04 AM »
From who he could get wok from  immediately ? Tobago United ?

De man after Peter Granville holds de worst coaching record in de league since they existent.

Stop with de frien thing. Go by record.

I don't think I've actually met the man. But he's brought through some good youngsters and can contribute, even if its at zonal level. I think he done an ok job with few resources. He's like the Dario Gradi of T&T. Gradi never really won much in over 20 years at Crewe but he stabilised the club and brought through some good youngsters.

« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2012, 11:48:13 AM »
Aye, Angus, you said Streete was the most amazing coach in the pro leagues and you admired him or words to that effect. Well, he is unemployed now and probably looking for a job. What are you prepared to do?

Anthony Streete hired as Virginia Beach United Head Coach
« Reply #13 on: January 25, 2021, 08:02:38 PM »
Anthony Streete hired as Virginia Beach United Head Coach
vabeachunited.com

Virginia Beach United is delighted to announce Anthony Streete as our Head Coach for the 2021 season!

Coach Streete is a true veteran of the game with over 40 years of experience as a player and head coach with teams such as the St. Ann’s Rangers, Club Sando, and Trintoc Football Club.

Streete also has experience working with the Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team and Under 19’s.

The combination of his technical knowledge as well as leadership skills will no doubt prove to be a tremendous benefit to Virginia Beach United.

We’re looking forward to working with Coach Streete this 2021 season.

Please welcome Coach Streete to the VBU Family!

Re: Anthony Streete Thread
« Reply #14 on: January 25, 2021, 08:22:35 PM »
Whoa! That is cool!!!! Did not see that coming. Good Luck, Breds!!!!

« Reply #15 on: January 25, 2021, 08:23:15 PM »
Whoa! That is cool!!!! Did not see that coming. Good Luck, Breds!!!!

« Reply #16 on: January 26, 2021, 04:20:45 AM »
Excellent news