April 23, 2024, 02:32:36 AM

Author Topic: English FA Cup Thread  (Read 25262 times)

Re: 2012 FA Cup.
« Reply #120 on: May 05, 2012, 12:09:13 PM »
Well done, Chelsea. Better team on the day  :beermug:

« Reply #121 on: May 05, 2012, 12:09:19 PM »
Cech has won the cup for Chelsea.

Great last charge from Liverpool, but too little too late.

Congrats to the Chelsea team.

« Reply #122 on: May 05, 2012, 12:09:23 PM »
Changes channel.

« Reply #123 on: May 05, 2012, 12:09:28 PM »
 :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :party: :party:

Heh heh heh!!!   Ah love it!!  (c) Andre Samuel.....

« Reply #124 on: May 05, 2012, 12:09:49 PM »
Changes channel.

Nah, nah.....whey yuh going??.... :devil: ;D

« Reply #125 on: May 05, 2012, 12:11:25 PM »

« Reply #126 on: May 05, 2012, 12:12:21 PM »
Cech has won the cup for Chelsea.

Great last charge from Liverpool, but too little too late.

Congrats to the Chelsea team.

CO-SIGNNNN

« Reply #127 on: May 05, 2012, 12:13:31 PM »
Congrats to Chelsea... they took their chances, defended better and had the better goalkeeper on the day.  Kenny got it wrong going with Suarez up top alone and couldn't get his squad to respond to Chelsea's quality the first 45 mins.  Chelsea had two chances and they took them... on both Reina need to ask questions of himself for me.  Not good enough.

Ramirez and Carroll were MOM for their respective squads for me... but Cech, for all the shit that I give him over the years was brilliant... what a save on that Carroll header.

Ah well 'Pool... this should silence all that mirage talk of winning two Cups making up for poor League play.  We have work to do... but clearly enough quality to build upon and get better.  Well done Andy Carroll.

« Reply #128 on: May 05, 2012, 12:30:46 PM »
I'm a Liverpool fan, but that was a nice finish from Ramires.

He has become quite a player for Chelsea.

The only thing that has changed with/for Ramires, is the fact that he has settled in at the club and found his comfort zone where Chelsea fans and Chelsea haters alike wasn't givin' the man a chance to.  The one thing I recognized with him from day one is the one thing that has gained his "redemption" for him at the club and that is his work rate.  No one on the team (besides maybe Drogba) works harder than him.  Ah was glad like hell to see that he blast it bast reina and skin him out like a manicou to especially hush liverpool's big king jackass fan that couldn't stop talkin' shit about ramires and how "chelsea fans would prefer reina over Cech".  Cyah fault him for Drogb'as goal and anyone that does really eh know what TF they talkin' 'bout, but we go keep we shithong 'keeper still.

Chelsea tried they best to hand the game to liverpool, playing with practically 9-1/2 men.  Between Kalou's senseless play up front and Bosingwa running an escort service in the back, we still kinda fortunate to not have to play ET on weary legs.  Not only was Cech's save a brilliant one on that header, but Ivanovic did a great job to clear the line under pressure from kuyt.  Phil Dowd was tryin' he best to help liverpool, too, but dize awright, game done.  Is a long walk from London to liverpool, but with all them to keep each other company, allyuh eh hadda walk it alone.  FOH, liverpool. 

« Reply #129 on: May 05, 2012, 04:00:04 PM »
Chelsea v Liverpool
12:15 PM
Wembley Stadium

Chelsea go win.

End of

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #130 on: May 06, 2012, 04:32:39 AM »
When I first seen the "goal" from centre of pitch camera angle I thought it was a mile over, then not so sure.  One of them you could argue either way and still not be right, so on balance if the linesman wasn't sure he couldn't give it.  Fair play to him, he had one look at full speed.

Liverpool only turned up for the last 20-30 minutes or so anyway.

« Reply #131 on: May 06, 2012, 07:34:07 AM »
'King Kenny' made a grave error with that starting lineup by benching Carroll and Kuyt and starting with Spearing and Henderson...

When i saw that i was like, "really hoss??"...

Carroll is the man that take them to the final in the first place with a commanding performance against Everton in the semis and he changed the entire game when he came on.

Chelsea never really look like they got out of 2nd gear for the entire match and at a point i thought it was going to ET. Brilliant, world class save by Cech... I doh wanna hear anything about Reina better than Cech ever again, chalk and cheese as far as I concerned.

Now onto the Champions League final, hopefully this Cup final experience and taste of trophy success will serve them well on the 19th.

Re: F.A CUP Thread
« Reply #132 on: February 01, 2016, 03:46:59 PM »
2016 English FA-Cup Fifth-round draw

Chelsea v Manchester City
Reading v West Brom or Peterborough United
Watford v Leeds United
Shrewsbury Town v Manchester United
Blackburn Rovers v Liverpool or West Ham
Tottenham v Crystal Palace
Arsenal v Hull City
AFC Bournemouth v Everton

Re: English FA Cup Thread
« Reply #133 on: April 13, 2016, 11:59:25 PM »
On the back of Rashford's performance to push Manchester United into the semis, there is sentiment building that Rashford should be in the England squad for the Euros.

« Reply #134 on: April 14, 2016, 09:38:04 AM »
Maybe he should be. But England now has a couple of good strikers now, Vardy. Even Carrol from West Ham knocking on the door.

« Reply #135 on: January 08, 2017, 12:29:32 PM »
Jan-2017 results.

Tottenham 3 v Aston Villa 0
Middlesbrough 3 v Sheff Wednesday 0
Chelsea 4 v Peterborough 1

« Reply #136 on: January 14, 2017, 04:01:56 AM »
FA Cup in Trinidad on Monday.
T&T Newsday Reports.

THE NEW year is already gearing up to be a great one for football fans across the region, as Flow and Manchester United – current FA Cup holders – team up to give Caribbean fans unprecedented access to the famous trophy.

The trophy will arrive in Trinidad on Monday, where it will be on show at the Flow Sports headquarters and will be showcased at activities for fans over a two-day period.

Fans will be able to see the FA Cup in its historical glory at Movietowne in Port of Spain on Tuesday from 2.30pm to 5pm.

In addition to taking their own photos, fans will also be able to participate in games for Manchester United tokens and other prizes.

On Wednesday, the trophy will be taken to Barbados, then to Jamaica from Thursday until January 21 and will end the tour of the Caribbean in the Cayman Islands from January 21 to 24.

Dwight Yorke, Manchester United Ambassador, who himself lifted the FA Cup in 1999 with United’s glorious treble-winning team, will join Flow as a special guest on the final leg of the tour to make a special announcement about the soon to be launched skills-development initiative for young footballers – another Flow/Manchester United partnership.

“This is all for our customers who are lovers of the beautiful game,” said Garfield Sinclair, newly appointed president, Flow Caribbean.

“We are the home of sports in the Caribbean and our relationship with Manchester United enables us to give our football fans this amazing opportunity to get up close to the FA Cup, which for some, is a once in a lifetime event.

This certainly underscores Flow’s commitment to give sports fans more of what they want.” For more information visit the Flow fan page on facebook and the event page at facebook.com/ events/1215346008535161.

« Reply #137 on: January 18, 2017, 05:15:07 AM »
FA Cup fever in Trinidad.
By Jelani Beckles (Newsday).

English football fans got the treat of a lifetime to see the English FA Cup trophy up close and personal as the prestigious trophy came to our shores on Monday. Former national striker Stern John was present at the Piarco International Airport upon its arrival and said seeing the trophy brings back precious memories of playing in the FA Cup competition.

John, T&T ’s all time leading scorer with 70 goals, played in several FA Cup matches during his career.

John played in England for more than 10 years lining up for Derby County, Coventry City, Bristol City, Nottingham Forrest, Birmingham City, Sunderland, Southampton and Crystal Palace.

Yesterday hundreds of fans lined up at Movietowne in Port of Spain to get a picture with the world famous trophy.

Manchester United fan Daniel Rogers was in his glee yesterday.

“Glory glory Trini Man United,” he declared, “I’m honoured to be in the presence of the triumph of my favourite team and the best team in the world Manchester United and share in the glory of the FA Cup.” The FA Cup will make numerous stops throughout the Caribbean over the next week. Shortly after the FA Cup trophy touched down at the Piarco International Airport on Monday, John said it was great to see the trophy he fought for as a player.

“It means a lot to me, we all know the FA cup is one of the most prestigious trophies that you will play for. As a player playing in numerous FA Cup games I never had the opportunity to lift the FA Cup. I think having it in Trinidad is massive,” John said.

John added, “probably the closest I have been to the FA Cup or lifting the FA Cup was today. I got an opportunity to touch it and I think as a player you cherish those moments, although I never got to win it, but just being in the same room with the FA Cup is a great feeling.”

Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Darryl Smith knows people in T&T are excited that the FA Cup is in the country especially as Manchester United are the current holders of the cup. Smith said, “Trinidad and Tobago are huge English FA Cup fans, football fans, and we have quite a huge part of the population, I am not one of them, that are Manchester United fans, I am a Gunners (Arsenal) fan.”

Today the FA Cup trophy will be taken to Barbados, then to Jamaica from tomorrow to Saturday and will end the tour of the Caribbean in the Cayman Islands from Saturday to Tuesday.

Dwight Yorke, Manchester United Ambassador, who himself lifted the FA Cup in 1999 with United’s glorious treble-winning team, will join Flow as a special guest on the final leg of the tour to make a special announcement about the soon to be launched skills-development initiative for young footballers – another Flow/Manchester United partnership.

Trudy De Verteuil, director of Communications and Stakeholder Relations at Flow said, “Flow has partnered with Manchester United. We have been working with them for about six months and during that time we have worked very hard to bring the most exciting sports broadcasting to you and to our customers.

« Reply #138 on: January 18, 2017, 05:42:28 AM »
WATCH: Fans turned out in their numbers to see the English FA Cup Trophy on display during its Caribbean tour.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/MX8BmqBgTu0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/MX8BmqBgTu0</a>

« Reply #139 on: January 30, 2017, 03:21:03 PM »
Ties to be played the weekend of Feb. 18, 2017:

Burnley v Lincoln City
Fulham v Tottenham Hotspur
Blackburn Rovers v Manchester United
Sutton Town v Arsenal
Middlesbrough v Oxford United
Wolves v Chelsea
Huddersfield Town v Manchester City
Millwall v Derby County or Leicester

« Reply #140 on: January 30, 2017, 04:40:55 PM »
Good for Sutton.  :applause:

Well rewarded. Home tie against Arsenal!! Don't get much better.

« Reply #141 on: January 30, 2017, 05:58:48 PM »

I watched them pull off the upset against Leeds yesterday, most of their players work to earn a living sine the team is semi-pro. If they pull off another upset against Arsenal it could be a Hollywood script.

« Reply #142 on: January 30, 2017, 07:37:55 PM »

I watched them pull off the upset against Leeds yesterday, most of their players work to earn a living sine the team is semi-pro. If they pull off another upset against Arsenal it could be a Hollywood script.

I watch that game. End to end stuff. Sutton just bulldoze their way the entire game. Man this Leeds team is a far, far cry of the past.

« Reply #143 on: January 30, 2017, 07:44:27 PM »
Major colonialism on display here....and the loyal subjects jes lappin it up

GOD save the Queen and all that  :devil:

« Reply #144 on: January 30, 2017, 10:10:00 PM »
WATCH: Fans turned out in their numbers to see the English FA Cup Trophy on display during its Caribbean tour.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/MX8BmqBgTu0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/MX8BmqBgTu0</a>

Damn that is painful. Them people doh even go to we local FA cup games. No wonder we is shithongs.

« Reply #145 on: January 30, 2017, 11:30:55 PM »
Damn that is painful. Them people doh even go to we local FA cup games. No wonder we is shithongs.

Not only that. But most elite Preem teams play their reserves in FA Cup matches to boot.

It seems like it means more to people in T&T than those teams who put it on the third tier, at best, of their list of priorities.

« Reply #146 on: January 30, 2017, 11:34:53 PM »

Not only that. But most elite Preem teams play their reserves in FA Cup matches to boot.

It seems like it means more to people in T&T than those teams who put it on the third tier, at best, of their list of priorities.

I think the League and the FA, teams  should give the bench players. Especially if you are a top 4 team and you are in the Euros.

« Reply #147 on: January 31, 2017, 06:39:32 AM »

What about the people who is peongs and follow all football. Pump your brakes nah Palos

« Reply #148 on: February 19, 2017, 03:18:43 PM »
Ties to be played the weekend of March 11 2017:

Chelsea v Manchester United
Middlesbrough v Huddersfield or Manchester City
Tottenham Hotspur v Millwall
Sutton United or Arsenal v Lincoln City

« Reply #149 on: March 12, 2017, 07:21:28 AM »