April 19, 2024, 12:22:29 PM

Author Topic: MONSTER MOVIE OF MEGA PROPORTIONS :CLOVERFIELD  (Read 8050 times)

MONSTER MOVIE OF MEGA PROPORTIONS :CLOVERFIELD
« on: January 08, 2008, 09:58:25 AM »
It is one of the most unique marketing campaigns ever, this movie is all the buzz right now, produced by JJ ABRAMS of Lost and Alias, Mission Impossible 3

I personally cannot wait to see this one. The entire movie is shown from the view of a handheld camera and captures a going away party to unexpected and catastrophic attack on New York by some unnamed creature. Note that at the start of the trailer it says that this camera was "recovered in the area formerly known as central park" So the immediate question is did they survive?

What is so unique,  there are blogs and youtube postings of the people who are going to be at the party, there are news reports on youtube of an unexplained oil rig collapse and of course the Movie poster itself with the head missing from the Statue of Liberty.

In an interview Abrams talked about his disappointment with Godzilla and wanted to make a really terrifying monster movie. I hope we get our money's worth on this one but right now I am sold

5 MIN CLIP OF CLOVERFIELD TRAILER

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HOnoTb_RTbs

Cloverfield News
http://www.cloverfieldnews.com/
« Last Edit: January 08, 2008, 01:31:11 PM by grskywalker »

Re: MONSTER MOVIE OF MEGA PROPORTIONS :CLOVERFIELD
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2008, 09:06:59 AM »
CLOVERFIELD OPENS TODAY AND SO FAR THE REVIEWS ARE GOOD. Some people got a little nauseous from the camera perspective but other than that good opening so far.

Anyone seen it yet or going to see it?

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2008, 10:38:26 AM »
looking real good
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2008, 01:49:48 PM »
hopefully somebody could give we ah objective trini review...WITHOUT sellin out the end

from de trailers I see on tv///look like ah bear attackin ah woman behind de hospital curtain

« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2008, 02:20:05 PM »
It does look like a bear but that's not it, the main beast is HUGE!!

« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2008, 04:26:19 PM »
De National Post gave it a good writeup ... 3 out of 4 stars

so based on the Post's political leanings, you might be able to draw your own conclusion.

I going to watch The Bucket List Tonight

« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2008, 04:42:33 PM »
ah goin and take dat in tomorrow.

« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2008, 09:37:12 PM »
All right fellas I made the 10:30 pm show Friday night as all the shows prior were sold out, I had to see this on the big screen. They going to do some pretty decent numbers by Monday.

F$%%$^ING AWWWWWEEEEEEEEEESSSOOOOMEEEE!!!!!!!! IS ALL I CAN SAY BEST FREEAKING MONSTER MOVIE EVER MADE!!!!!

LET ME JUST TELL YOU IT IS A MASTER STROKE TO FILM THIS FROM A HAND HELD PERSPECTIVE MY GOD THAT FRIGGIN BEAST LOOK REAL  AND THE SPECIAL EFFECTS WERE OFF THE CHARTS

NOW ALL THOSE GOING TO SEE THIS NEED TO KEEP IN MIND THAT THIS IS NOT GOING TO RUN LIKE A TRADITIONAL MOVIE, THERE IS NO INTRO, NO FANCY MUSIC OR OPENING TITLES. AS THE TRAILER SAYS THIS IS A TAPE THAT WAS RECOVERED FROM THE AREA "FORMERLY KNOWN AS CENTRAL PARK".

Once the first explosion takes place the action does not stop till the end. I giving this 4.5 stars out of 5

That's all I have to say.......
« Last Edit: January 19, 2008, 09:39:08 PM by grskywalker »

« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2008, 06:07:54 AM »
Don't normally do the theater thing since I have one at home i.e. what for the DVD ;D. Now I may have to make an exception.  ;D

« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2008, 08:58:34 AM »

Once the first explosion takes place the action does not stop till the end. I giving this 4.5 stars out of 5

That's all I have to say.......

why yuh holdin back on de next half ah star.....de acting was poor or wha?

« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2008, 12:01:45 PM »
 nah it was not poor just one or two lame spots but all in all still worth it

« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2008, 02:02:28 PM »

did de hand held camera and the associated jerky movements make you nauseous? 

one reason I dont want to see it is because I heard ppl comparing it to the style of "The Blair Witch Project"  I could not watch it, i got motion sickness.

« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2008, 08:23:18 PM »

one reason I dont want to see it is because I heard ppl comparing it to the style of "The Blair Witch Project"  I could not watch it, i got motion sickness.

take two gravol and go nuh ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2008, 09:29:44 PM »

and some enos to ease de stomach. ;D

« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2008, 07:34:48 AM »

and some enos to ease de stomach. ;D

allyuh really helpful .. ah well surprise yuh eh recommend a 'barf' bag too  :D

« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2008, 08:08:02 AM »

WHAT STEEUUUPPPSSSS! Blair witch is in no way realted in any way, other than the style in which it was filmed and that's where the comparison comes to a grinding stop. SEE IT FOR YOURSELF MAN!
Any of you who have used a hand camera know how shaky unfocuesd you can be and that effect helps to authenticate the reality of where you are in all it's raw and unedited glory.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2008, 08:11:56 AM by grskywalker »

« Reply #19 on: January 21, 2008, 08:14:47 AM »
If it was me there that night and I SEE THE STATUE OF LIBERTY HEAD ROLL UP THE STREET THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN IT I IN MEH CAR AND GONE WHILE EVERYBODY SCREAMING!  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #20 on: January 21, 2008, 08:17:13 AM »

WHAT STEEUUUPPPSSSS! Blair witch is in no way realted in any way, other than the style in which it was filmed and that's where the comparison comes to a grinding stop. SEE IT FOR YOURSELF MAN!
Any of you who have used a hand camera know how shaky unfocuesd you can be and that effect helps to authenticate the reality of where you are in all it's raw and unedited glory.

dais Ed Zachery my problem .... that shakiness is make me nauseous ..... an de onlyest topping i like on my popcorn is plain, not even butter ...

« Reply #21 on: January 21, 2008, 08:35:21 AM »

dais Ed Zachery my problem .... that shakiness is make me nauseous ..... an de onlyest topping i like on my popcorn is plain, not even butter ...

PECAN yuh beginning to sound like a wuss MAN TO F#$K UP >:(
« Last Edit: January 21, 2008, 02:21:05 PM by grskywalker »

« Reply #22 on: January 21, 2008, 09:15:10 AM »
oh oh .. yuh find me out :o

« Reply #23 on: January 21, 2008, 12:00:39 PM »
honestly i did not enjoy this movie.godzilla was way better.all de frikkin running made me sick,maybe i should have taken gravol too. :'(

« Reply #24 on: January 21, 2008, 02:33:49 PM »
honestly i did not enjoy this movie.godzilla was way better.all de frikkin running made me sick,maybe i should have taken gravol too. :'(

All yuh jokey yes, dais your criticism steeeuupss. I also liked Godzilla but it was it was too cheesy and never really captured the terror of what was going on and the stupid punch lines, boy gets girl in the end was rubbish. Oh wait how about that scene when godzilla erupts out of the street and stares down Matthew Broderick and ain't eat him steeeeuupss. Special effects aside it was very disappointing for a remake

CLOVERFIELD is the monster movie you wished monster movies could be, end of story....
« Last Edit: January 21, 2008, 03:29:53 PM by grskywalker »

« Reply #25 on: January 21, 2008, 05:06:15 PM »
wow!! :o
well now I frighten to see it & give it ah bad review

Skywalker like yuh put some money in de production of da flim in troot

« Reply #26 on: January 21, 2008, 05:32:29 PM »
Walker, in de stock market game, ya putten all ya bread on Bad Robot?
I really have to see dis DVD when it release oui
man passionate bout he movie ;)

« Reply #27 on: January 21, 2008, 07:46:15 PM »
Look what de Late Night Reviewers have to say

The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson

“Cloverfield” opens today. It’s about a big ugly monster that tries to destroy New York. It was originally called “Trump.”

No one knows what the monster looks like . . . there are no pictures on the Internet. It’s like Nessy or Chupacabra, or Oprah’s boyfriend.

« Reply #28 on: January 21, 2008, 10:43:03 PM »

All yuh jokey yes, dais your criticism steeeuupss. I also liked Godzilla but it was it was too cheesy and never really captured the terror of what was going on and the stupid punch lines, boy gets girl in the end was rubbish. Oh wait how about that scene when godzilla erupts out of the street and stares down Matthew Broderick and ain't eat him steeeeuupss. Special effects aside it was very disappointing for a remake

CLOVERFIELD is the monster movie you wished monster movies could be, end of story....
de terror that came across in de movie was not from de monster but from de hysteria caused by de group with de camera not knowin what was goin on,movie was poor.

« Reply #29 on: January 22, 2008, 07:26:23 AM »