April 28, 2024, 02:42:27 PM

Author Topic: Nearly all Dominican women straighten their hair  (Read 22181 times)

Re: I am NOT Black I am a latina!...STEUPS..dese people gorn thru oui!
« Reply #120 on: June 20, 2007, 02:58:33 PM »
Here is an interesting observation ..

A relative of mind is half white and half chinese ... from all appearance, he looks like white.

Last Carnival, he entered two calypso competitions,

When he went to register, the lady tell him that this area was for performers only.

When he said, he was competing, she look at him with surprise.

Then he competed, and while he has no solid proof, he firmly believes that he was not chosen to advance because he did not fit the old boys club.

He has commented to be that he is often discriminated against because of the colour of skin. He is in the performing arts in T&T.

My point: no one has a monopoly on victimization.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #121 on: June 20, 2007, 03:12:30 PM »

...and yet some folks will not release their strangehold on it...

« Reply #122 on: June 20, 2007, 04:56:47 PM »

den where is my membership?

Camacho say he only want light skindededed from Goodwood Park...he eh want no regular red bachac from Diego  :devil:

yuh know ah jes see dis.  Yuh is ah real jker oui...lol

me and camacho is real pardners fella.  but yuh funny too bad,,,lol

« Reply #123 on: June 20, 2007, 05:16:49 PM »
well if camacho is yuh pardner....DAIS de man self yuh hadda take up de light skinded trini posse issue wit

I meet camacho once...seem like ah real cool fellah

I hadda pilot pardner who use to lime big wit dem in de 90's,,so I kinda notice dat vibe too...but at that time trini posse was a small group of tight knit friends,,and dais how tings does move in trini based on socio economics etc etc...unfortunately mih pardner crash de plane commin back from cricket in arnos vale and died

since then I never really study dem....so I cyah confirm if tings change as the crew get bigger

« Reply #124 on: June 20, 2007, 05:38:50 PM »
Allyuh really believe them studying things along the lines allyuh talking about?  I don't....not to make light of it but I think is a joke to suggest they doing anything wrong or different from the rest of the T&T public.

dcs, I read this and started laughing hard hard ... nearly died ... allyuh fellas can extend a pun skillfully oui ... heheheh

« Reply #125 on: June 20, 2007, 06:35:14 PM »
Allyuh really believe them studying things along the lines allyuh talking about?  I don't....not to make light of it but I think is a joke to suggest they doing anything wrong or different from the rest of the T&T public.

dcs, I read this and started laughing hard hard ... nearly died ... allyuh fellas can extend a pun skillfully oui ... heheheh

well let me shed some light on yuh darkenss and illuminate de way fuh yuh.....dem fellas seeing it jes so....take orf dem shades, is not pelau yuh eating is white rice!

« Reply #126 on: June 20, 2007, 08:51:35 PM »
                                                                           ...unfortunately mih pardner crash de plane commin back from cricket in arnos vale and died
My condolencess.             positive.

« Reply #127 on: June 20, 2007, 10:53:22 PM »

A relative of mind is half white and half chinese ... from all appearance, he looks like white.

When he went to register, the lady tell him that this area was for performers only.

Then he competed, and while he has no solid proof, he firmly believes that he was not chosen to advance because he did not fit the old boys club.

He has commented to be that he is often discriminated against because of the colour of skin. He is in the performing arts in T&T.

And yet some folks find themselves constant targets for discrimination ;)

« Reply #128 on: June 21, 2007, 04:55:36 AM »

And yet some folks find themselves constant targets for discrimination ;)

call names..go brave  lol

« Reply #129 on: June 22, 2007, 01:03:38 PM »
Ah like this thread....

Was kinda tough to follow all the responses esp since they kinda jump all over the place, but the truth is there is so much history that feeds into what we know as racism today, that it's difficult to determine what is innate and what is determined by social influences- My guess is that perceptions of beauty & bias towards it as it relates to race is determined by mostly by social influence and brainwash that we aren't even aware of most times.....but who knows? Some of it might be explained by other triggers in the psyche that we can't explain. There are theories of attractiveness that say that the more symmetrical someone's features, the more attractive they will be perceived to be. I also think that the better the quality of life that someone is afforded, the more likely they are to be physically attractive- diet, lifestyle, stress levels and overall care aid one's outward appearance...What about genetics....put all of it together and we have what we have today- Caucasion features are at the top of the spectrum of attractiveness and African features at the lower end...in between is a whole mix and mash of everything else imaginable.... It's unfortunate that that's the status quo, but what is even more unfortunate is that "superficial" characteristics such as good looks play such a huge part in one's perception of self-worth & self-esteem....

End of the day, we are animals in a jungle and the laws of the jungle are not always equitable....Human beings claim to be one specie but we're not- race, religion, education, geography, culture, economics & sometimes plain ole luck set us apart from what we think should be our own....All the responses to this thread just prove that same point.....and conversations will always go in circles and dissatisfaction about this kinda thing will last forever because as intelligent as we're supposed to be, we still can't figure out how to achieve the common ground in the midst of all the dividers- That common ground being respect.......

My 2cents
« Last Edit: June 22, 2007, 01:05:11 PM by kicker »

« Reply #130 on: June 22, 2007, 01:53:19 PM »
Ah like this thread....

Was kinda tough to follow all the responses esp since they kinda jump all over the place, but the truth is there is so much history that feeds into what we know as racism today, that it's difficult to determine what is innate and what is determined by social influences- My guess is that perceptions of beauty & bias towards it as it relates to race is determined by mostly by social influence and brainwash that we aren't even aware of most times.....but who knows? Some of it might be explained by other triggers in the psyche that we can't explain. There are theories of attractiveness that say that the more symmetrical someone's features, the more attractive they will be perceived to be. I also think that the better the quality of life that someone is afforded, the more likely they are to be physically attractive- diet, lifestyle, stress levels and overall care aid one's outward appearance...What about genetics....put all of it together and we have what we have today- Caucasion features are at the top of the spectrum of attractiveness and African features at the lower end...in between is a whole mix and mash of everything else imaginable.... It's unfortunate that that's the status quo, but what is even more unfortunate is that "superficial" characteristics such as good looks play such a huge part in one's perception of self-worth & self-esteem....

End of the day, we are animals in a jungle and the laws of the jungle are not always equitable....Human beings claim to be one specie but we're not- race, religion, education, geography, culture, economics & sometimes plain ole luck set us apart from what we think should be our own....All the responses to this thread just prove that same point.....and conversations will always go in circles and dissatisfaction about this kinda thing will last forever because as intelligent as we're supposed to be, we still can't figure out how to achieve the common ground in the midst of all the dividers- That common ground being respect.......

My 2cents
some of yuh big words tie meh up lilbit,but yuh talk some sense they meh boi.

« Reply #131 on: June 22, 2007, 02:27:17 PM »
alot of it too has to do with misrepresentation.as ah kid growin up around good friday and xmas time we would see de jesus movies.de guy who usually portrayed jesus had blue eyes,pale skin and blondish lookin locks.we all know differently.at the end of de day is what in yuh heart,atleast that is wuh meh daddy use to tell me probably to keep my ugly ass quiet.

« Reply #132 on: June 27, 2007, 01:24:39 PM »
but queenie, yuh notice dat I say is man who does create dese feelings eh.  But at de same time dis self loathing by latinas, and latinos gorn too far!
fuh de most part I with yuh eh...but I identify more with my Trini culture than with 'black' culture...whatever that is.

while I agree that there's  alot of self-loathing that informs the attitudes of the Dominicanas in the article...there must be allowances for self-identification as well.

« Reply #133 on: July 10, 2007, 07:15:49 AM »
me eh black. i is a brazilian.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/6284806.stm

BBC delves into Brazilians' roots
By Silvia Salek
BBC Brasil 

Neguinho da Beija-Flor's stage-name indicates his skin colour; in Portuguese, Neguinho means Little Black.

In this year's Rio Carnival competition, he sang a song celebrating Brazil's African roots in a performance that won his samba school the title.

But having learned to be proud of his African ancestry, he was shocked to find out that about 67% of his genes are European and only 31% African, according to an estimate based on an analysis of his DNA.

"People will think I'm joking if I tell them this", said the singer, who knew very little about his African ancestors but nothing at all about his European ones.

Neguinho da Beija-Flor was among nine celebrities who were tested for a project, called Afro-Brazilian Roots, by the Brazilian Service of the BBC.

HOW TESTS WERE DONE
Person swabs saliva, sample sent to lab
DNA sequences compared to gene database
40 different markers on DNA sample analysed to obtain rough percentage of genes' origin
Mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA) analysed for maternal line
Y chromosome analysed for paternal ancestors 

Brazil has more people with black ancestry than any other nation outside Africa, and its mix of Indians, Africans and Europeans gave rise in the past to the claim that the country was a "racial democracy".

But it is also a country where black people remain socially disadvantaged.

The results of the DNA tests surprised many by showing that skin colour does not necessarily reflect the ancestry of a person's genetic make-up.

Sergio Pena, professor of biochemistry at the Federal University of Belo Horizonte, who led the genetic analysis, explained the apparent contradiction.

"Only a few genes are responsible for someone's skin colour, which is a very poor indication of ancestry. A white person could have more African genes than a black one or vice-versa, especially in a country like Brazil," he said.

Soap opera actress Ildi Silva found that matches of the Y chromosome in her family are common in northern Europe, and that 71% of her genes are European and 19% African.

"I knew I had a Dutch ancestor from my mother's side, but I didn't know there was an European link in my paternal line as well," she said.

Genealogist Carlos Barata, co-author of the Dictionary of Brazilian Families, notes that as well as the Portuguese, immigrants from many European nations - including France, Ireland, the Netherlands, England and Germany - sought a new home in Brazil.

"The surnames might have disappeared by today's generation, but genetics can bring their contribution back to light," he said.

Controversial quotas

Musician Seu Jorge found that although 85% of his genes are African, the rest are European, confirmation that he is, as he put it "also the son of the guilty ones" - a descendant of the European slave-owners who had children with their African slaves.

"You need to be black to understand what it is like to get on a bus and see people getting off, afraid of you, or calling the police," he said.

"My daughter, who has a privileged education, came home one day telling us that her colleagues at a ballet class didn't want to hold hands with her. She will have to grow with this pain."

The BBC Brasil series has had an impact in Brazil, where the issue of racial quotas is highly controversial.

About 40 universities in the country have set aside places for black students.

Manolo Florentino, head of the Social History Department at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, said the results "show race is a failed concept in Brazil".

Referring to the university quotas, he added: "Policies that 'racialise' this country, following the example of the US, create hate and tension and will make the situation worse."

But for organisations that defend the quota system, genetics should not be used to attack anti-discrimination policies.

They argue that genetics might prove that all Brazilians are very mixed in terms of their racial ancestry, but it is naive to believe that society will consider all equal.

"I've never seen a policeman asking for a genetic ID before stopping someone. In Brazil, discrimination is based on appearance, not on genes," said David dos Santos, a priest who co-ordinates a scheme to prepare underprivileged Afro-Brazilians to go to university, and who was himself tested for the series.

'Face of the future'

Musician Sandra de Sa said that despite its racial tensions, Brazil could teach the world how different races can integrate.

She was happy though to find out she was about 93% African.

"I can't believe I'm almost 100% African. I usually jokingly say that I can still feel the chains around my ankles," said the singer.

The ancestry of the nine celebrities revealed other surprises.

Obina, a football player in Flamengo, the biggest team in Brazil, had 25% indigenous genes, the highest percentage in the tests.

His Y chromosome was traced back to the Middle East, possibly an indication of a Jewish ancestor among the many escaping persecution in Portugal and Spain some 500 years ago.

"No-one is pure in Brazil. That's why the country has the face of the future," said Harvard Professor Henry Louis Gates Jr, co-ordinator of a similar project in the US.

The mixing of races so evident in Brazil will become more prevalent around the world, Professor Gates believes, with people originating from a sole geographical area becoming increasingly rare.

Two readers of bbcbrasil.com chosen from among more than 2,000 who applied to have their DNA tested will have their results published this month.

Their story will focus on how genetics is revealing black ancestors long excluded from family history because of racism.

Story from BBC NEWS:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/2/hi/americas/6284806.stm

Published: 2007/07/10 09:11:56 GMT

© BBC MMVII

« Reply #134 on: July 10, 2007, 08:25:44 AM »
andre, very interesting article about brazil - they have alot of diversity there. there are a few places offering DNA profiling for geneology (see this thread: http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=25089.0 ). it's about $300. i cyah vouch for their reputation but it sounds like it could have some surprises (like maury).

Nearly all Dominican women straighten their hair
« Reply #135 on: January 10, 2008, 03:59:24 PM »
Black denial
Nearly all Dominican women straighten their hair, which experts say is a direct result of a historical learned rejection of all things black
By Frances Robles
frobles@miamiherald.com

SANTO DOMINGO -- Yara Matos sat still while long, shiny locks from China were fastened, bit by bit, to her coarse hair.

Not that Matos has anything against her natural curls, even though Dominicans call that pelo malo -- bad hair.But a professional Dominican woman just should not have bad hair, she said. "If you're working in a bank, you don't want some barrio-looking hair. Straight hair looks elegant," the bank teller said. "It's not that as a person of color I want to look white. I want to look pretty."

And to many in the Dominican Republic, to look pretty is to look less black.
Dominican hairdressers are internationally known for the best hair-straightening techniques. Store shelves are lined with rows of skin whiteners, hair relaxers and extensions.
Racial identification here is thorny and complex, defined not so much by skin color but by the texture of your hair, the width of your nose and even the depth of your pocket. The richer, the "whiter." And, experts say, it is fueled by a rejection of anything black.

"I always associated black with ugly. I was too dark and didn't have nice hair," said Catherine de la Rosa, a dark-skinned Dominican-American college student spending a semester here. "With time passing, I see I'm not black. I'm Latina.

"At home in New York everyone speaks of color of skin. Here, it's not about skin color. It's culture."

The only country in the Americas to be freed from black colonial rule -- neighboring Haiti -- the Dominican Republic still shows signs of racial wounds more than 200 years later. Presidents historically encouraged Dominicans to embrace Spanish Catholic roots rather than African ancestry.
Here, as in much of Latin America -- the "one drop rule'' works in reverse: One drop of white blood allows even very dark-skinned people to be considered white.

As black intellectuals here try to muster a movement to embrace the nation's African roots, they acknowledge that it has been a mostly fruitless cause. Black pride organizations such as Black Woman's Identity fizzled for lack of widespread interest. There was outcry in the media when the Brotherhood of the Congos of the Holy Spirit -- a community with roots in Africa -- was declared an oral patrimony of humanity by UNESCO. "There are many times that I think of just leaving this country because it's too hard," said Juan Rodríguez Acosta, curator of the Museum of the Dominican Man. Acosta, who is black, has pushed for the museum to include controversial exhibits that reflect many Dominicans' African background. "But then I think: Well if I don't stay here to change things, how will things ever change?"

A walk down city streets shows a country where blacks and dark-skinned people vastly outnumber whites, and most estimates say that 90 percent of Dominicans are black or of mixed race. Yet census figures say only 11 percent of the country's nine million people are black.

To many Dominicans, to be black is to be Haitian. So dark-skinned Dominicans tend to describe themselves as any of the dozen or so racial categories that date back hundreds of years -- Indian, burned Indian, dirty Indian, washed Indian, dark Indian, cinnamon, moreno or mulatto, but rarely negro.

The Dominican Republic is not the only nation with so many words to describe skin color. Asked in a 1976 census survey to describe their own complexions, Brazilians came up with 136 different terms, including café au lait, sunburned, morena, Malaysian woman, singed and "toasted."

"The Cuban black was told he was black. The Dominican black was told he was Indian," said Dominican historian Celsa Albert, who is black. "I am not Indian. That color does not exist. People used to tell me, ‘You are not black.' If I am not black, then I guess there are no blacks anywhere, because I have curly hair and dark skin."

Using the word Indian to describe dark-skinned people is an attempt to distance Dominicans from any African roots, Albert and other experts said. She noted that it's not even historically accurate: The country's Taino Indians were virtually annihilated in the 1500s, shortly after Spanish colonizers arrived.

Researchers say the de-emphasizing of race in the Dominican Republic dates to the 1700s, when the sugar plantation economy collapsed and many slaves were freed and rose up in society.

Later came the rocky history with Haiti, which shares the island of Hispaniola with the Dominican Republic. Haiti's slaves revolted against the French and in 1804 established their own nation. In 1822, Haitians took over the entire island, ruling the predominantly Hispanic Dominican Republic for 22 years.
To this day, the Dominican Republic celebrates its independence not from centuries-long colonizer Spain, but from Haiti.

"The problem is Haitians developed a policy of black-centrism and . . . Dominicans don't respond to that," said scholar Manuel Núñez, who is black. "Dominican is not a color of skin, like the Haitian."

Dictator Rafael Trujillo, who ruled from 1930 to 1961, strongly promoted anti-Haitian sentiments, and is blamed for creating the many racial categories that avoided the use of the word "black."
The practice continued under President Joaquín Balaguer, who often complained that Haitians were "darkening'' the country. In the 1990s, he was blamed for thwarting the presidential aspirations of leading black candidate José Francisco Peña Gómez by spreading rumors that he was actually Haitian.

"Under Trujillo, being black was the worst thing you could be," said Afro-Dominican poet Blas Jiménez. "Now we are Dominican, because we are not Haitian. We are something, because we are not that."

Jiménez remembers when he got his first passport, the clerk labeled him "Indian." He protested to the director of the agency.

"I remember the man saying, ‘If he wants to be black, let him be black!' '' Jiménez said.

Resentment toward anything Haitian continues, as an estimated one million Haitians live in the Dominican Republic, most working in the sugar and construction industries. Mass deportations often mistakenly include black Dominicans, and Haitians have been periodically lynched in mob violence. The government has been trying to deny citizenship and public education to the Dominican-born children of illegal Haitian migrants.

When migrant-rights activist Sonia Pierre won the prestigious Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Award in 2006, the government responded by trying to revoke her citizenship, saying she is actually Haitian.

"There's tremendous resistance to blackness -- black is something bad," said black feminist Sergia Galván. ‘‘Black is associated with dark, illegal, ugly, clandestine things. There is a prototype of beauty here and a lot of social pressure. There are schools where braids and natural hair are prohibited."

Galván and a loosely knit group of women have protested European canons of beauty, once going so far as to rally outside a beauty pageant. She and other experts say it is now more common to see darker-skinned women in the contests -- but they never win.

Several women said the cultural rejection of African looking hair is so strong that people often shout insults at women with natural curls.

"I cannot take the bus because people pull my hair and stick combs in it," said wavy haired performance artist Xiomara Fortuna. "They ask me if I just got out of prison. People just don't want that image to be seen."

The hours spent on hair extensions and painful chemical straightening treatments are actually an expression of nationalism, said Ginetta Candelario, who studies the complexities of Dominican race and beauty at Smith College in Massachusetts. And to some of the women who relax their hair, it's simply a way to have soft manageable hair in the Dominican Republic's stifling humidity.

"It's not self-hate," Candelario said. "Going through that is to love yourself a lot. That's someone saying, ‘I am going to take care of me.' It's nationalist, it's affirmative and celebrating self."

Money, education, class -- and of course straight hair -- can make dark-skinned Dominicans be perceived as more "white," she said. Many black Dominicans here say they never knew they were black -- until they visited the United States.

"During the Trujillo regime, people who were dark skinned were rejected, so they created their own mechanism to fight it," said Ramona Hernández, Director of the Dominican Studies Institute at City College in New York. "When you ask, ‘What are you?' they don't give you the answer you want . . . saying we don't want to deal with our blackness is simply what you want to hear."

Hernández, who has olive-toned skin and a long mane of hair she blows out straight, acknowledges she would "never, never, never'' go to a university meeting with her natural curls.

"That's a woman trying to look cute; I'm a sociologist," she said.

Asked if a black Dominican woman can be considered beautiful in her country, Hernández leapt to her feet.

"You should see how they come in here with their big asses!'' she said, shuffling across her office with her arms extended behind her back, simulating an enormous rear-end. "They come in here thinking they are all that, and I think, 'doesn't she know she's not really pretty?' "

Maria Elena Polanca is a black woman with the striking good looks. She said most Dominicans look at her with curiosity, as if a black woman being beautiful were something strange.
She spends her days promoting a hair straightener at La Sirena, a Santo Domingo department store that features an astonishing array of hair straightening products.

"Look, we have bad hair, bad. Nobody says 'curly.' It's bad," she said. "You can't go out like that. People will say, 'Look at that nest! Someone light a match!' ''

Angela Martinez, 12, left, entertains friend Estefany Diaz, 10, as Estefany's sister Ariela does her hair in the Paraiso de Dios neighborhood west of Santo Domingo, a scene that plays out on the streets throughout much of the Dominican Republic.
Purdue University professor Dawn Stinchcomb, who is African American, said that when she came here in 1999 to study African influences in literature, people insulted her in the street.

Waiters refused to serve her. People wouldn't help Stinchcomb with her research, saying if she wanted to study Africans, she'd have to go to Haiti.

"I had people on the streets . . . yell at me to get out of the sun because I was already black enough," she said. "It was hurtful. . . . I was raised in the South and thought I could handle any racial comment. I never before experienced anything like I did in the Dominican Republic.

"I don't have a problem when people who don't look like me say hurtful things. But when it's people who look just like me?"
« Last Edit: January 10, 2008, 04:01:48 PM by Trini _2010 »

Re: Nearly all Dominican women straighten their hair
« Reply #136 on: January 10, 2008, 04:06:08 PM »
Doh even get me started...

This article is about a year old btw.

« Reply #137 on: January 10, 2008, 04:06:14 PM »
Truetrini had posted a similar article on here a few months back, dem "latino" confused as hell oui
Man, is 400+ years ah brainwashin yuh dealin wit dey.....yuh cyah dry out that brain in one generation,,it will take time

one ting ah could gih dem props for is DR gyal sweeeeet too bad..........and all coastin  :D

« Reply #138 on: January 10, 2008, 04:18:47 PM »
The same goes for any group of black women this side of the planet...

The question is how many men (regardless of race), find a black woman's natural hair attractive? That brainwash transcends nationality, race & sex......Rep Dom is just one example.

« Reply #139 on: January 10, 2008, 04:30:29 PM »

The question is how many men (regardless of race), find a black woman's natural hair attractive? That brainwash transcends nationality, race & sex......Rep Dom is just one example.

Granted,, but it seems to me women in the english speaking carribbean and north america are more aware of being "black" and can identify themselves interchangeably i.e. black, african, trini ,american whatever

I dont know if the blackpower/civil rights movement had something to do with this awareness

Them spanish chicks does identify deyself as latino first and foremost.....and some doh want to hear ANYTING after dat

as for your question...dreads does look good on any woman....or a blowout afro self
windball afro...yuh hadda have the face to pull it off...roshumba comes to mind

Boy I make de mistake some years ago when ah was combative and siddong in ah NEST ah blackwoman and tell dem all dat straigtner an ting is brainwashing....de amount ah verbal abuse and  levels of beratement and scorn that was thrust upon me that night  :D...ah learn mih kissmihass lesson oui

doh go dey
« Last Edit: January 10, 2008, 04:45:55 PM by Dutty »

« Reply #140 on: January 10, 2008, 06:30:42 PM »

Granted,, but it seems to me women in the english speaking carribbean and north america are more aware of being "black" and can identify themselves interchangeably i.e. black, african, trini ,american whatever

I dont know if the blackpower/civil rights movement had something to do with this awareness

Them spanish chicks does identify deyself as latino first and foremost.....and some doh want to hear ANYTING after dat

as for your question...dreads does look good on any woman....or a blowout afro self
windball afro...yuh hadda have the face to pull it off...roshumba comes to mind

Boy I make de mistake some years ago when ah was combative and siddong in ah NEST ah blackwoman and tell dem all dat straigtner an ting is brainwashing....de amount ah verbal abuse and  levels of beratement and scorn that was thrust upon me that night  :D...ah learn mih kissmihass lesson oui

doh go dey

In my observation and experience, many Dominican black girls are of mixed race- and their preference to associate with their non-african heritage is pretty much on par with Trinidadian "black" girls of mixed race that I know. I remember having a conversation not too long ago with a Trini "black" girl of mixed race who repeatedly referred to herself as "coloured" (didn't realize that people even said that anymore). She was clearly reluctant to simply refer to herself as black. 

I can agree with you for the most part when it comes to modern day American "black" girls of mixed race. I too find them to be very accepting of their african heritage, so much so that I think many of them almost disregard their non African heritage. It might have to do with the civil revolution/black power, or it just might have to do with the fact that unlike Caribbean blacks of mixed race, American blacks of mixed race are part of the minority, with less social graces and hence have lesser abilty to consider themselves anything other than black/african- but it's no secret that even within black America there is an elite social stratum into which the ones with "good hair", and "light skin" do in fact belong......

« Reply #141 on: January 13, 2008, 02:40:59 AM »

Why is the color of skin soo important ? I am what I am. Take it or leave it.
 Don'forget yuh history, remember yuh past and such is ok , but the color of my skin does not define who I am.

Holding on to associations based on the color or your skin and not allowing people to express themselves by how they dress or do their hair is a slavery mentality in it's own right.

Until the color of a man's skin is of no more significance than the color of his eyes..........

« Reply #142 on: January 13, 2008, 01:22:49 PM »
the question is, who is really african 100%, alot of trinis not even full anything, i consider myself trini bc im mixed, but it have women who look good with straighten hair and natural hair.... i think its a matter of individual preference, if your secure with yourself and dont have that insecurity, u could talk 2 anyone beautiful woman, natural or not...

God is de BOSS....

« Reply #143 on: January 13, 2008, 02:55:45 PM »
the question is, who is really african 100%, alot of trinis not even full anything, i consider myself trini bc im mixed, but it have women who look good with straighten hair and natural hair.... i think its a matter of individual preference, if your secure with yourself and dont have that insecurity, u could talk 2 anyone beautiful woman, natural or not...

God is de BOSS....

black peole come from africa   simple.

« Reply #144 on: January 13, 2008, 09:47:47 PM »

God is de BOSS....

black peole come from africa   simple.
it have some madras indian so black they purple.