April 28, 2024, 04:59:02 AM

Author Topic: Pile Up!!!  (Read 1415 times)

Pile Up!!!
« on: January 21, 2008, 03:37:30 AM »

TORONTO -A crash involving up to 100 vehicles occurred Sunday afternoon during a sudden whiteout on Highway 400 north of Toronto.
http://www.nationalpost.com/story-printer.html?id=251665
« Last Edit: January 21, 2008, 03:39:06 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Re: Pile Up!!!
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2008, 07:25:18 AM »
i'll wager many did not have winter tires ....

the new tire compounds remain softer in low temperatures and can reduce stopping distance ..

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2008, 07:39:21 AM »
Even if they all had winter tires, at 100 km/hr on Highway 400 (or most Toronto highways) and two cars collide, the chain reaction gives each following car less time to brake

And in a whiteout they prob eh realize what happen until too late

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2008, 07:55:51 AM »
Even if they all had winter tires, at 100 km/hr on Highway 400 (or most Toronto highways) and two cars collide, the chain reaction gives each following car less time to brake

And in a whiteout they prob eh realize what happen until too late

true for the cars in the initial pile up ... if winter tires allows you to stop in a shorter distance and allows you to retain control of the vehicle during the braking process, then the likelihood of a crash is reduced .... instead of 100 cars, it might have been less than that ... ???

« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2008, 08:47:02 AM »
i'll wager many did not have winter tires ....

the new tire compounds remain softer in low temperatures and can reduce stopping distance ..

Good call, but people just don't drive according to the conditions. Is like they just dotish for spite. Ah see Fantino calling for laws to charge people who drive like jackass when the weather is bad.

ah gosh..leave ah lil early and take your time when the conditions bad.

« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2008, 11:01:45 AM »
still,, 100 cars..all kinda big rig an ting and nobody dead......incredible

somehow ah feel insurance rates go raise nex year

« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2008, 11:08:36 AM »
still,, 100 cars..all kinda big rig an ting and nobody dead......incredible

somehow ah feel insurance rates go raise nex year
I see one car that did hit de arse end of ah trailer
well de whole winscreen push in
I hope dem ent get hurt
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.