April 26, 2024, 02:29:58 PM

Author Topic: Africa Cup Thread  (Read 40821 times)

Re: 2013 Africa Cup of Nations
« Reply #240 on: February 10, 2013, 01:30:30 PM »
....dat goal was nice!!

« Reply #241 on: February 10, 2013, 01:51:36 PM »
....dat goal was nice!!

Ent!
The more you watch it, the better it gets

« Reply #242 on: February 10, 2013, 01:57:47 PM »
These sides frustrating me. Knock-knock-knock-ball to nobody.
I only steupsin whole game.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2013, 01:59:18 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #243 on: February 10, 2013, 01:59:11 PM »
Would like to see Burkina Faso bring on Dagano...hasn't done much in the relatively limited time he's had this tournament but can definitely get a goal.

Nice save there from "Enyeamagnet"
« Last Edit: February 10, 2013, 02:02:43 PM by theworm2345 »

« Reply #244 on: February 10, 2013, 02:11:39 PM »
Would like to see Burkina Faso bring on Dagano...hasn't done much in the relatively limited time he's had this tournament but can definitely get a goal.

Look yuh player come on :)

« Reply #245 on: February 10, 2013, 02:14:35 PM »
  These friggin' Africans does have some SERIOUS skill boy! Ah does could only laugh when dey ress beat on one another.  Burkina Faso seem to have more players with more individual skill, (but how easy is it, really, to assess that?) and Nigeria seem to be more organized as a team......

Dat really was a helluva save to get down as quickly as he did!!

« Reply #246 on: February 10, 2013, 02:22:17 PM »
Hard Luck Dey Burkina Faso.

« Reply #247 on: February 10, 2013, 02:23:26 PM »
frustrating football....all the so called skills and the footbailn IQ lacking for me...PHEW!  Glad thatw as over, so happy BF did not equalize, 30 more minutes of that shit would have been too much to stomach

« Reply #248 on: February 10, 2013, 02:43:40 PM »
frustrating football....all the so called skills and the footbailn IQ lacking for me...PHEW!  Glad thatw as over, so happy BF did not equalize, 30 more minutes of that shit would have been too much to stomach

African teams/players always seem to play purely on instinct.....Can be very entertaining and fruitless at the senior level, results-wise, but it sure as hell does pay orff fuh dem at the youth level.  I sure everybody know who I glad for. ;D I did hear the commentator say he had a couple MOM performances in the tournament. Good for him! 

« Reply #249 on: February 10, 2013, 02:49:55 PM »
Congrats to the Super Eagles

Africa Cup Thread
« Reply #250 on: January 16, 2015, 01:48:06 PM »
Yes, sir!

« Last Edit: June 08, 2016, 05:31:19 AM by Flex »

African Nations Cup 2015
« Reply #251 on: January 20, 2015, 08:56:02 PM »
Anyone else following?

Seen the Ghana game.. huge shocker.

Overall, good quality football. Many Euro based players are participating.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2015, 08:58:52 PM by gawd on pitch »

Re: Africa Cup 2015
« Reply #252 on: January 21, 2015, 07:07:49 AM »
Anyone else following?

Seen the Ghana game.. huge shocker.

Overall, good quality football. Many Euro based players are participating.

The Senegal keeper was a man I went to school with. I can say that he has always been dedicated to his craft. His hard work has really paid off.

Re: Africa Cup 2015
« Reply #253 on: January 23, 2015, 08:51:52 PM »

Any online links?

ah will watch some games over de weekend

Re: African Cup of Nations TV
« Reply #254 on: June 04, 2016, 11:58:10 AM »
just take een a lil bit of the qualifiers - guineau-bissau vs zambia. I think this is a good competition for us to organize to get into in the future. I think the level would be good for us.

« Reply #255 on: June 04, 2016, 12:29:56 PM »
just take een a lil bit of the qualifiers - guineau-bissau vs zambia. I think this is a good competition for us to organize to get into in the future. I think the level would be good for us.

Doh think it works like that. It's unlike the traditional Copa America.

« Reply #256 on: June 04, 2016, 02:50:00 PM »
Kounty, how is that possible? I could see us getting an invite to a West Africa FU tournament, but an All African tournament where there is qualifications involved?  Even though nothing is impossible, I don't see that happening.

As far as the level of play being at our level. CFU ? Concacaf? That depends. The North Africans, Egypt, Tunisia, Maroc, Algeria and the West Africans, Ghana, Nigeria, CoteDIvoire, Cameroun, Togo, Sierra Leone,Liberia, the Sothern African, Zambia, SA, Angola all play a higher standard of ball than us in CFU. And they can match the best that Concacaf has to offer.

« Reply #257 on: June 05, 2016, 09:20:42 AM »
Kounty, how is that possible? I could see us getting an invite to a West Africa FU tournament, but an All African tournament where there is qualifications involved?  Even though nothing is impossible, I don't see that happening.

As far as the level of play being at our level. CFU ? Concacaf? That depends. The North Africans, Egypt, Tunisia, Maroc, Algeria and the West Africans, Ghana, Nigeria, CoteDIvoire, Cameroun, Togo, Sierra Leone,Liberia, the Sothern African, Zambia, SA, Angola all play a higher standard of ball than us in CFU. And they can match the best that Concacaf has to offer.
At any one point in time, not all of them playing better than us... eg at this point Ghana up, Nigeria down etc. If we even look at the rankings we all in 20 or so points around each other. I think Jamaica, Haiti and t&T would all be interested as 'special invitees' to a tournament to CAF. Maybe even make it the winner & or runner up of Caribbean Cup. Asylum, I not saying that it the current rules allow for it now, but I think that is the sort of things that presidents and federations does/could work out among each other once there is a will...and I the level of competition is just right for us (will help us to consistently improve)...some sides we could beat, some sides that will beat us and we will have to bring out our A++ game each match.

« Reply #258 on: June 05, 2016, 10:25:42 AM »

At any one point in time, not all of them playing better than us... eg at this point Ghana up, Nigeria down etc. If we even look at the rankings we all in 20 or so points around each other. I think Jamaica, Haiti and t&T would all be interested as 'special invitees' to a tournament to CAF. Maybe even make it the winner & or runner up of Caribbean Cup. Asylum, I not saying that it the current rules allow for it now, but I think that is the sort of things that presidents and federations does/could work out among each other once there is a will...and I the level of competition is just right for us (will help us to consistently improve)...some sides we could beat, some sides that will beat us and we will have to bring out our A++ game each match.

Fair.

Re: African Nations Cup Link
« Reply #259 on: January 13, 2017, 10:22:43 AM »
http://www.espnfc.com/african-nations-cup/76/blog/post/3037603/african-nations-cup-everything-you-need-to-know-as-ivory-coast-defend-title

Saturday, January 15, 2017

Gabon v. Guinea-Bissau.      1.00 pm
Burkina Faso v. Cameroon.  3:00 pm

Sunday, January 15, 2017

Algeria v. Zimbabwe.             
Tunisia v. Senegal.                 

Monday, January 16, 2017

Ivory Coast v. Togo.               
DR Congo v. Morocco.           

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Ghana v. Uganda.                 
Mali v. Egypt.                         

« Last Edit: January 14, 2017, 01:04:15 PM by asylumseeker »

« Last Edit: January 14, 2017, 01:04:48 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #261 on: January 14, 2017, 01:41:09 PM »
Good quality on display. Cameroon lead 1-0 off a deviating defensive header on a free kick. Scored at 34'. Clock on 41' now. Traffic in both directions. Lots of individual skill!

Africa has a raw WC qualifying deal as things stand pre-2026.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2017, 01:46:54 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #262 on: January 15, 2017, 01:14:32 PM »
www.rivonet.info/ch14.html

Tunisia v. Senegal

Re: Africa Cup Thread
« Reply #263 on: January 19, 2017, 10:54:44 AM »
www.rivonet.info/ch7.html

Algeria v. Tunisia.

Mahrez, Slimani, Bentaleb etc. 0-0 at the half. A lil bit of ignorance on display.

« Reply #264 on: January 19, 2017, 11:09:09 AM »
What would football be like if deflections were not considered as valid? Defender looked close to tears.

Algeria 0 Tunisia 1 @ 52'.

« Reply #265 on: January 19, 2017, 11:27:17 AM »
This game has NUFF ignorance. Ghoulam was attempting a header to his keeper ... from about 35 meters with his keeper positioned just off the goal line ... Bad decision. Not even a giraffe would have pulled that off. Attacking player latches on to the failed header and is in the penalty area 1 v 1 with the GK. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Ghoulam makes a desperate challenge. Penalty called. 2-0 Tunisia. Algeria on self-destruction.

« Reply #266 on: February 05, 2017, 02:36:53 PM »
These Cameroon players have me cussing the tv. Is a clinic in poor decision making.

« Reply #267 on: February 05, 2017, 02:54:50 PM »
These Cameroon players have me cussing the tv. Is a clinic in poor decision making.

And after that, a hell of a goal.

« Reply #268 on: February 05, 2017, 03:34:32 PM »

And after that, a hell of a goal.

jus watch d highlights my word what a way to win a final

« Reply #269 on: January 18, 2018, 02:31:58 PM »
Zambia vs Cote D'Ivoire was a nice match.  Nice level.