April 26, 2024, 12:24:45 AM

Author Topic: Africa Cup Thread  (Read 40798 times)

Africa Cup Thread
« on: January 14, 2008, 09:09:20 AM »
This is what i find out:

T &T - ????

US - The 2008 African Cup of Nations will be available to  U.S. residents via pay-subscription broadband  Internet streaming video at the  3ATelesud website at www.telesud.us.

UK - BBCi (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/africa/7096771.stm)

Canada - ????

anybody know of any FREE options for those of us outside the UK?

« Last Edit: June 08, 2016, 05:31:50 AM by Flex »

African Nations Cup Link
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2008, 04:08:04 PM »
Aficionados, meh Cameroon brederin jus send meh dis link, frico, check it out

http://www.seneweb.com/sport/football/can2008.php

The 2010 African Cup of Nations
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2009, 12:55:43 PM »
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/africa/8371069.stm

Nations Cup draw
The 2010 African Cup of Nations draw is taking place in Angola.

Group A: Angola, Mali, Malawi, Algeria.

Group B: Ivory Coast, Ghana, Togo, Burkina Faso.

Group C: Egypt, Nigeria, Benin, Mozambique.

Group D: Cameroon, Tunisia, Zambia, Gabon.

Angola versus Mali will be the opening game of the tournament.

Group A will be based in Luanda, Group B will be in Cabinda in the north of the country, Group C will play in Benguela, and Group D will be based in Lubango.

Former Angolan football legend Akwa said he thought all the groups looked difficult.

"It's not just Algeria and Angola that could go through, Mali have a good national team and they can give us a lot of problems" he said.

However, when asked how far Angola can go, he said "I believe we can reach the final".

Group B is being touted as the group of death with the prospect of Ghana and Ivory Coast renewing their rivalry.

The Chairman of Ghana's Football Association said "there is no better description of this group".

"Ivory Coast and Ghana are two of the best teams in Africa".

"The group is interesting because Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso and Togo are all our neighbours".

"Togo has Adebayor, one of the best players in the world, and Burkina Faso's Moumouni Dagano is the top scorer of the World Cup qualifying campaign," he said.

However history favours Ghana as they've met seven times and the Ivorians have won just one of those encounters.

Egypt versus Nigeria looks like an exciting fixture to open Group C with on January 12th in Benguela.

Nigeria's coach Shaibu Amodou was present at the draw and said that on paper Nigeria should emerge from Group B, but he added a word of caution.

"There are no small teams in football any more" he said.

Nigeria's former captain Sunday Oliseh described Nigeria's group as a "delicate" one.

"Mozambique gave us a lot of hassle during qualifying" he said.

Oliseh also thanked Mozambique for helping Nigeria qualify for the World Cup.

They scored a lone goal against Tunisia in the final qualifying game which helped to put Nigeria through to South Africa 2010.

Mozambique's most capped player and record goal scorer Tico-Tico said he thought it was a tough draw for his side.

"We'll just have to compete and see what happens" he said.

"Egypt are the champions of Africa so that won't be easy but if we believe in ourselves maybe we can spring some surprises," he says.

"Nigeria and Egypt would seem the obvious teams to qualify but anything can happen" he said.

Former Cameroon striker Patrick Mboma said that Group D will be no pushover either.

"We've only recently seen what Gabon can do" he said.

However he predicted that the Indomitable Lions would reach the semi-finals, after which anything can happen.

"We have a new Indomitable Lions, a new captain, a new coach and hopefully a new reality, and I hope we can start the new year in the best way," he said.

Re: The 2010 African Cup of Nations
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2009, 01:03:29 PM »

Luanda, Estádio Cidade Universitária (40,000)

Cabinda, Estádio Chimandela   (25,000)

Benguela, Complexo da Sr. da Graça (25,000)

Lubango,Estádio Alto da Chela (25,000)

« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2009, 02:28:58 PM »
group b is pressuh, im hoping to see ghana prevail this year :beermug:

« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2009, 08:49:53 AM »

Captain Stephen Appiah has urged Ghanaians to support the Black Stars to help them win their fifth African Cup of Nations title despite being left out of the squad.
The Italy-based midfielder was left out of next month's squad for the tournament to be held in Angola as he is recovering from injury.

Some other players were also dropped from the squad which as expected has sparked some controversy but Appiah insists the national cause comes first.

"As Ghanaians our priority is for our country to win the African Cup of Nations. We must go to Angola with a united front," Appiah told Ghanasoccernet.

"The country has named a 23-man squad to represent all of us so it is important that we all give our backing to our colleagues to do us proud.

"I have full confidence in all the players called and I know they are going there to die for the country. They have my full support, prayers and guidance.

"We must now back the management, the coach, his technical team and the players to go Angola and make all of us proud."

Appiah is recovering from a hamstring injury and is expected to return to action with his Italian side by next month.

Ghana are in a tough Group D where they will play Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso and Togo.

http://www.ghanasoccernet.com/content/view/4589/51/

« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2009, 12:41:16 PM »
Nigeria Release 23-Man List For Nations Cup
http://www.goal.com/en-us/news/84/africa/2009/12/31/1718937/nigeria-release-23-man-list-for-nations-cup

It is a case of the usual suspects as Nigeria release final list for AFCON.

Nigeria’s coach Shuaibu Amodu has released the list of 23 players that will represent the country at the Nations Cup beginning on January 10 in Angola.

There are no surprises in the list as they all come from the squad that played in Nigeria’s successful qualification for the World Cup. There was no room for any Nigeria based footballer in the team selected by Amodu.

The list is as follows:

Goalkeepers

Vincent Enyeama (Hapoel Tel Aviv,Isreal)

Bamidele Aiyenugba (Bnei Yehuda, Israel)

Austin Ejide (Bastia, France)

Defenders

Joseph Yobo (Everton, England)

Danny Shittu (Bolton, England)

Obinna Nwaneri (FC Sion, Switzerland)

Taye Taiwo (Marseille, France)

Elderson Echiejile (Rennes, France)

Yusuf Mohammed (FC Sion, Switzerland)

Chidi Odiah (CSKA, Russia)

Onyekachi Apam (Nice, France)

Midfielders

Nwankwo Kanu (Portsmouth, England)

Mikel Obi (Chelsea, England)

Dickson Etuhu (Fulham, England) 

Sani Kaita (Lokomotiv, Russia)

Yusuf Ayila Dynamo Kiev, Ukriane)

Oluwaseyi Olofinjana (Stoke, England)

Kalu Uche (Almeria, Spain)

Attackers

Yakubu Aiyegbeni (Everton, England)

Osaze Odemwingie (Lokomotiv, Russia)

Michael Eneramo (Esperance, Tunisia)

Obinna Nsofor (Malaga, Spain)

Obafemi Martins (Wolfsburg, Germany)

Chinedu Obasi (Hoffenheim, Germany)

Lolade Adewuyi, Goal.com

« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2010, 07:16:41 AM »
I 4get this boi more football 2 watch LAWDDDDDDDDDD

« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2010, 07:41:14 AM »
Is this coming on local TV?  I think TV 6 would usually show it.... :-\

« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2010, 09:10:53 AM »
I haven't seen any ads for it yet.

« Reply #10 on: January 01, 2010, 09:52:25 AM »
I haven't seen any ads for it yet.

Dey betta doh play

« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2010, 01:16:24 PM »
How de hell Ghana, Ivory Coast and Togo wil be in the same group. The ACN eh learning from FIFA or what? I think Algeria may cause the US to think twice.

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #12 on: January 02, 2010, 01:49:24 PM »
Mensah is out of the Ghana squad due to injury :o

Togo football team's bus fired on
« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2010, 11:21:31 AM »
Togo football team's bus fired on
BBC News

A bus carrying Togo's national football team to the Africa Cup of Nations has been hit by machine-gun fire, injuring two players, reports say.

The reported incident occurred as the bus was en route to Angola from the Democratic Republic of Congo.

The Africa Cup of Nations is due to start in Angola on Sunday.

Togo's first game is to be played on Monday in the oil-rich northern territory of Cabinda, where rebels have been fighting for independence.

The identities of the wounded players are not known. There are unconfirmed reports of serious injuries.

The Togolese team includes Manchester City striker Emmanuel Adebayor.

« Reply #14 on: January 08, 2010, 11:23:36 AM »
wow!!

"The Togo national team machine-gunned"
« Reply #15 on: January 08, 2010, 11:37:49 AM »
soccernet.com

The Togo national team bus has been machine-gunned by Angolan rebels on the Congolese border ahead of the African Cup of Nations, it has been reported in L'Equipe.

The Sparrow Hawks are in the country ahead of the African Nations Cup, which gets under way on Sunday.

Two Togo players and the bus driver are reported to have been among the injured. "I am fine but several players are in a bad way," Nantes striker Thomas Dossevi told Radio Monte Carlo.

"We are still at hospital. We were attacked like dogs and had to hide for 20 minutes under the seats to avoid the bullets."

Dossevi said the vehicle was attacked by rebels past the Angolan border. "We were shot, although we had two police coaches on our sides" said the FC Nantes forward. "There are two injured players and also some staff."

The two players injured are reported to be GSI Pontivy goalkeeper Kodjovi Obilalé and Vaslui FC defender Serge Akakpo. Others among the injured are also the coach driver, an assistant coach, a doctor and a journalist who was following the team. Alaixis Romao, theGrenoble player, told RMC he could count seven people injured.

According to RMC, the attack happened around 3.15 pm just after players entered Cabinda, one of the four host venues of the African Cup of Nations. Witnesses said that the attack was very violent and that the team could only protect itself by lying down in the coach with front part of the vehicle especially targeted.

The incident looks set to place in jeopardy the chances of Togo entering the competition. Dossevi confirmed this. "We are not thinking about possible actions yet, but it's true no one wants to play", he said.

"We are not capable. Before everything we have to think of the health of our injured. There was a lot of blood on the floor. We haven't had a lot of updates about their health since they were dispatched to local hospitals. In this case, we think of families, of the people we love because we really could have died there."

« Reply #16 on: January 08, 2010, 12:32:23 PM »
totally reprehensible and irresponsible

« Reply #17 on: January 08, 2010, 01:48:09 PM »
WTF??!!   :o :o :o :'(

« Reply #18 on: January 08, 2010, 01:52:40 PM »
they must be disgruntled arsenal fans.

more details - http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/8449319.stm

Togo team bus in gun attack
« Reply #19 on: January 08, 2010, 02:19:47 PM »
Togo team bus in gun attack
Nine thought to be injured as Togo bus is attacked

The Togo national team came under attack from gunfire in Angola when their bus was ambushed, with their driver killed and nine others thought to have been wounded.

The Sparrow Hawks are in the country ahead of the African Cup of Nations which gets under way on Sunday, with Manchester City striker Emmanuel Adebayor and Aston Villa's Moustapha Salifou amongst the travelling party. Both escaped uninjured.

Those injured included two footballers from the West African nation, with Togolese football federation vice-president Gabriel Ameyi having said back-up goalkeeper Obilale Kossi and central defender Serge Akakpo were among those hurt.

Romanian side FC Vaslui confirmed their defender Akakpo, who joined the club from French side Auxerre last year, was shot and badly injured in the attack.

The club said, though, the 22-year-old was out of danger after being treated by doctors.

A statement on the club's website read: "Badly injured in an ambush in Angola, Serge Akakpo is now out of danger.

"Akakpo was struck by two bullets in the attack and has lost much blood. His condition was stabilised by doctors.

"FC Vaslui have been in touch with relatives of the player, who confirmed he has undergone surgery, which went very well."

Aston Villa have also confirmed that their 26-year-old midfielder Salifou was "shaken but okay" following the attack.

A statement posted on City's official website read: "Manchester City can confirm that striker Emmanuel Adebayor is uninjured after this afternoon's attack on the Togo team bus in Angola.

"Club officials have spoken with Adebayor and though shaken by the terrible events, he is unharmed."

Togo are scheduled to begin their cup campaign against Ghana on Monday, but their participation in the tournament now looks in serious doubt.

Togo and Nantes striker Thomas Dossevi told French radio station RMC: "I'm okay but several players are in a bad state.

"We are still at hospital. We were machine-gunned like dogs and had to remain hidden under our seats for around 20 minutes to avoid the bullets."

Midfielder Alaixys Romao admits the players feared the worst and thinks Togo are now likely to pull out of the tournament.

"We're not thinking yet of what could happen," said Romao, who plays his club football for Grenoble.

"But it's true that no-one wants to play. We're not capable of it.

"We're thinking first of all about the health of our injured because there was a lot of blood on the ground.

"For the moment there is not much news because they have been taken to different hospitals.

"In cases like these we're thinking of those near us, of those we love because that really could have been the end of us."

Midfielder Richmond Forson believes the number of injuries could have been much worse had the gunmen not originally fired on the wrong bus.

"It was the bus carrying our baggage which was in front of us which they fired on the most," he told Canal Plus. "They thought we were in the bus in front.

"Fortunately for us. That's what saved us. Then they fired on our driver and those who were in front. The windscreen was shattered by the first bullets.

"It's disgusting to take bullets for a football match."

Dossevi later gave more details about the attack. He added: "We had just crossed the border five minutes before, we were surrounded by police buses, one in front of us another behind.

"Everything was fine and then there was a powerful burst of gunfire.

"Everyone threw themselves under the seats and tried to protect themselves but some couldn't escape the bullets.

"It lasted a good 15 minutes, the police fired back but really, it was hard to handle and it still is now. I'm shocked.

"When we got off the bus we were asking ourselves why us and not others? We were asking ourselves what had happened, we were crying and thanking God."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_5844019,00.html

« Reply #20 on: January 08, 2010, 03:18:19 PM »
Outrageous ! In the absence of a direct flight they should have at least been given a military escort, cease fire or not.

« Reply #21 on: January 08, 2010, 03:40:41 PM »
avoid playing any games in angola or any hostile territories either

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #23 on: January 09, 2010, 07:08:18 AM »
Togo is going home, they will not play in the tournament. BBC just reported. Togo's football federation doesn't exist right now and it was the Togolese Government that made arrangements for the team to be transported by bus.

« Reply #24 on: January 09, 2010, 07:11:14 AM »
Togo football team pulls out of Africa Cup of Nations

Togo's football team are pulling out of the Africa Cup of Nations following a deadly gun attack on their team bus in Angola.

Two players were shot and injured in the attack in Angola's northern province of Cabinda on Friday and the coach driver was killed.

Organisers say the tournament will go ahead but Togo's players had been discussing whether they would stay.
Team captain Emmanuel Adebayor said on Friday many players wanted to go home.

The BBC's Russell Fuller in Angola says the head of the Ghanaian Football Association has confirmed to him that the Togolese team have pulled out.

The Togo squad is on its way to the airport to leave the country, he says.

Adebayor, who plays for Manchester City, told the BBC: "I think a lot of players want to leave, I don't think they want to be at this tournament any more because they have seen their death already.

"Most of the players want to go back to their family. No-one can sleep after what they have seen today."

Among the nine people injured were two players, an assistant manager, physio, goalkeeping coach and another coach.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/8449978.stm
« Last Edit: January 09, 2010, 07:14:15 AM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #25 on: January 09, 2010, 07:21:33 AM »
<a href="http://i.cdn.turner.com/cnn/.element/apps/cvp/3.0/swf/cnn_416x234_embed.swf?context=embed&amp;videoId=sports/2010/01/08/pinto.bpr.angola.attack.cnn" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://i.cdn.turner.com/cnn/.element/apps/cvp/3.0/swf/cnn_416x234_embed.swf?context=embed&amp;videoId=sports/2010/01/08/pinto.bpr.angola.attack.cnn</a>

« Reply #26 on: January 09, 2010, 09:19:49 AM »
This is really sad and cowardly. To attack your guests when you invite them into your home is sinful. I have read where Cabinda have had serious issues with the gov't. Okay!!!!  But to deliberately try to kill unarmed people to make a point  is sad. These seperatist will never get my support. Let's pray for the level headed Angolan and Cabinda people who strive to resolve this issue by peaceful means. It does not matter if they stay one coubtry or seperate countries. Fuera with them terrorists.

« Reply #27 on: January 09, 2010, 09:25:53 AM »

« Reply #28 on: January 09, 2010, 09:32:33 AM »
very very Sad situation indeed
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #29 on: January 09, 2010, 10:20:12 AM »
The political situation in South Africa is nowhere as unstable as it is in Angola... but I imagine that this would only raise anew the questions regarding security for the Cup.

I feel really bad for the Togolese players... worse for the victims and their family.