April 30, 2024, 03:00:08 AM

Author Topic: Keegan goes back to manage Newcastle !!!!  (Read 5805 times)

Keegan goes back to manage Newcastle !!!!
« on: January 16, 2008, 11:16:51 AM »
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_3053440,00.html

Kevin Keegan is returning to Newcastle United as manager, the club have confirmed.

Keegan enjoyed great success in his first stint at St James' Park between 1992 and 1997, leading the club back into the Premier League and taking them to the brink of the title.

The former England manager became a favourite with the Toon Army during his Magpies playing career and continues to be held in the highest regard on Tyneside.

Keegan has been out of football after leaving his post as Manchester City boss in 2005, but has been tempted back by the challenge of again leading a club he clearly holds close to his heart.

A brief statement on the club's official website read: "Kevin Keegan is returning to Newcastle United as manager."

The Magpies have been searching for a new manager following the departure of Sam Allardyce last week, whose reign lasted for just 24 games.

Re: Keegan goes back to manage Newcastle !!!!
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2008, 11:25:35 AM »
I didnt expect that one nor it seems did the bookies I think he was 16/1 to be manager !

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2008, 11:41:13 AM »
like Newcastle like licks yes.

what going on with Shearer?

« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2008, 12:04:19 PM »

Dey actually call Shearer to tell him he eh have enough experience.
Check it: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/n/newcastle_united/7191022.stm

« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2008, 12:25:35 PM »

Given the dire situation that is facing NFC right now, this ain't really the time for a newbie to get his feet wet... Keegan though? hmmmmm

« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2008, 02:13:36 PM »
In a related story:

Even then, Keegan is being hard on himself. That England side was half-decent (which sounds like damning with faint praise, but look at the shambles which exists under McClaren, or cast your mind back to Sven's side v Trinidad & Tobago). They reached Euro 2000 with a superb backs-to-the-wall display at Wembley against a surprisingly resilient Scotland, then in the low countries beat Germany (who were admittedly poor, but then compare and contrast with that Trinidad & Tobago game again),

« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2008, 04:39:24 PM »
Asprilla , ferdinand , ginola , Shearer all i know is when Keegan was managing them i enjoyed watching their brand of ball I think he is an excellent option as is always the case with Keegan tho he tends to sacifice defense for all out offense as long as he could find the balance i think he'll do a great job.

« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2008, 04:51:05 PM »

The return of the one the Geordies call, 'the messiah.'. It's still not clear why he left Newcastle, but whatever happened back then has probably been settled and he has most probably been given the assurance of the manager to spend.

But unless the fans and board are willing to be patient, I still don't see Newcastle competing for the Premiership, or getting into Europe any time soon.

Offline ballpiyong

• Winning is not everything it is the only thing
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2008, 03:12:22 PM »
Newcastle is a small club with a big support they have not won wanything in 50 plus years big shitside anyway who cares.!!!!

« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2008, 03:48:30 PM »
Asprilla , ferdinand , ginola , Shearer all i know is when Keegan was managing them i enjoyed watching their brand of ball I think he is an excellent option as is always the case with Keegan tho he tends to sacifice defense for all out offense as long as he could find the balance i think he'll do a great job.

Yuh not alone in dat talk! Check this: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/n/newcastle_united/7194232.stm

Sir John, who sold his majority shareholding in the club to Mike Ashley last year and is now life president of Newcastle United, believes a major factor in the excitement is the style of play that Keegan advocates.

Recalling the former England manager's previous reign on Tyneside he said: "We played such wonderful soccer. We didn't win anything, mind. We got promotion but the soccer we played was tremendous.

Hopefully dey find some way to work out the defensive issues.

« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2008, 06:18:50 PM »
ah hear on sky sports ah man in Newcastle tattoo the date and put "king kev " on he arm yes....he better win something...

d_#1Trinba

« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2008, 09:54:05 PM »
ah hear on sky sports ah man in Newcastle tattoo the date and put "king kev " on he arm yes....he better win something...

Well if he doesnt win a bootyfied sketel you know i white man cyah be happy

d_#1Trinba

« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2008, 09:56:16 PM »

I can be wrong tough...

d_#1Trinba

« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2008, 09:57:20 PM »

I can be wrong tough...

f**k you sophie i have nuttin from you nuttin

« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2008, 10:04:27 PM »
ah man cussing out himself oui...  wdmc i relly seeing here boy

« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2008, 10:07:55 PM »
ah man cussing out himself oui...  wdmc i relly seeing here boy

:rotfl:  :rotfl: And who the hell is Sophie?!?  :beermug:

« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2008, 10:15:26 PM »
wah really goin on here...this man does confuse me more and more every time
say no to dope!

« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2008, 10:25:12 PM »

I can be wrong tough...

Trinba,
êtes vous ok aujourd'hui, est le sophie votre amie?
« Last Edit: January 17, 2008, 10:33:17 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2008, 03:52:37 AM »
France really have the high grade...........and dere I was tinking it was Amsterdam

« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2008, 04:06:16 AM »
France really have the high grade...........and dere I was tinking it was Amsterdam
yeah, seems he's been to the Coffee Shop and not the Café. ;D
« Last Edit: January 18, 2008, 05:53:39 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #21 on: January 18, 2008, 05:55:08 AM »
i couldn't believe it when Newcastle announced this clown was coming back as manager

i lost 162 pounds backing Harry Redknapp and Mark Hughes :(

short term i actually think it's a good appointment

but we all know that long term it's all going to end in tears...

Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #22 on: January 18, 2008, 08:20:24 AM »
Kevin Keegan's first signing is Shaun Wright Phillips!  ;D

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #23 on: January 18, 2008, 09:05:34 AM »
i watched the news conference on Sky Sports

i thought Keegan was very clever to publicly leave the door open for Alan Shearer to come on board

i don't think he wants him personally (rightly so imo) but it will make Shearer look like the bad guy if and when nothing happens

although he might be taking a bit of a chance in case Shearer does turns round and say "lovely when do i start?" as he would be a constant thorn in Keegan's side
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

Offline ironman

• dont joke with u life
« Reply #24 on: January 18, 2008, 11:31:13 AM »
Kevin Keegan's first signing is Shaun Wright Phillips!  ;D

tell them it was me

« Reply #25 on: January 18, 2008, 12:06:35 PM »

I can be wrong tough...

I honestly believe that Triniba is a comedic artist in the vein of Kaufman or Borat.

He obviously playing stupid/crazy but the amazing thing is that he keeps it up so long.

This one is a classic.

« Reply #26 on: January 18, 2008, 12:23:26 PM »
I have a question which might be a stupid one.

Keegan took newcastle to promotion to the premiership then to the brink of winning the league.

He brought an entertaining style of football that had never been seen at Newcastle, and maybe even in the premiership on the whole.

He seemed like an unmitigated success for the club and they never reach back to dem heights since he leave.

Yet since he come back de general reaction seem to be a collective  :o :o :o

Now apart from the emotional outbreak and de "i would love it if we beat him" burst, whats with all the apprehension around this appointment??

« Reply #27 on: January 18, 2008, 12:49:20 PM »

I can be wrong tough...

I honestly believe that Triniba is a comedic artist in the vein of Kaufman or Borat.

He obviously playing stupid/crazy but the amazing thing is that he keeps it up so long.

This one is a classic.

« Reply #28 on: January 18, 2008, 01:08:15 PM »
I have a question which might be a stupid one.

Keegan took newcastle to promotion to the premiership then to the brink of winning the league.

He brought an entertaining style of football that had never been seen at Newcastle, and maybe even in the premiership on the whole.

He seemed like an unmitigated success for the club and they never reach back to dem heights since he leave.

Yet since he come back de general reaction seem to be a collective  :o :o :o

Now apart from the emotional outbreak and de "i would love it if we beat him" burst, whats with all the apprehension around this appointment??

England and Manchester City.

« Reply #29 on: January 18, 2008, 01:59:14 PM »
Trinba remionds me of that crazy guy from I love new york 2..."It" lol