April 20, 2024, 10:05:44 AM

Author Topic: "Helping PPL Move" Etiquette  (Read 4930 times)

"Helping PPL Move" Etiquette
« on: January 20, 2008, 10:05:00 AM »
yesterday mih pardmer tell mih he went to help ah friend move around 1pm....so when he reach he realize dem eh pack up the boxes yet, appliances still plugged in, towels still hanging on the rack in the bathroom.  He aslo hungry and dem eh have no food to eat except krispy kreme donuts, cookies and soft drinks..so at this point he vex, to make matters worse de gyul ask for his help to move by sending a text, not even ah phone call....

so we started talking about moving etiquette so here is a few basic ones we came up..

1) when you are asking someone to help you move, don't send a text or email...do the decent thing and ask for help via a phone call...
a move is a big thing, it is not like you asking yuh neighbour for a ride to the train station or to borrow ah cup of sugar

2) you have to provide food and drinks (pizza and beer)
sprite, coke, and juice doh count as drinks (you may provide dem as an alternative for any non drinkers but they should not be the only option).

3)ask for help at least 2 weeks in advance.

4)make sure at least 90% of yuh stuff already packed before the movers reach.

5) make sure yuh ready to move at start time.
doh tell ppl 10 am and when they show up u still sleeping
« Last Edit: January 20, 2008, 01:59:01 PM by real madness »

Re: "Helping PPL Move" Etiquette
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2008, 01:57:39 PM »
I no longer help people move, nor do I expect dem to help me move.

Last time I moved, I paid a mover.

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2008, 03:10:48 PM »

Same....
and i expected to move within 1 day...and that is exactly what happened
hire dem movers, and ah tell meh family stay back....infact stay far away

2 months prior to moving, thing like glass and plate, when ah done use them, roll dem in gazette paper and throw in ah box. By dey time ah ready for them hire men to come ah was ready to move.
Furniture store people was waiting by dey new place for we.

And what ah realized is when ya feed dem moving people, dey does stay longer.  ;D

typical man :devil:

« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2008, 04:19:53 PM »

And what ah realized is when ya feed dem moving people, dey does stay longer.  ;D

so what yuh feed him today?

...and when is de weddin

« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2008, 04:43:29 PM »
yeah hiring movers is the best option...the first time i use movers was happy like i won the lotto..dem doing all de hard work while i drink beers and give instructions..

the second time i use movers they were hired by my company, dem fellahs not easy..the most efficient workers i have ever seen..dem was so efficient they almost pack me in a box and moved me...so anybody looking for long distance movers, i highly recommend graebel..i eh know how much it cost but they damn good.

« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2008, 04:44:26 PM »
once ah pardner ask meh to help him move,while doin so,ah box of he wife underwear went missin,i was never asked to help again.true story.

« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2008, 04:50:06 PM »
once ah pardner ask meh to help him move,while doin so,ah box of he wife underwear went missin,i was never asked to help again.true story.

« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2008, 04:54:30 PM »

:rotfl:  :mackdaddy:

« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2008, 05:06:58 PM »

Amen.

« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2008, 07:19:50 PM »

so what yuh feed him today?

...and when is de weddin

me and he done, because he say he doh appreciate dey term "boy toy" and is so much leather he could take.
steupse

anyway dey pool boy ahhh boy....
dese days he inside nuh....ya know how it is. :P

Dutty leave me alone  :devil:

« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2008, 08:16:59 PM »
Real Madness, all you say there makes real good sense
in my day it was chilli and beer for fuel
« Last Edit: January 20, 2008, 08:19:45 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline jeffm2009

« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2009, 11:26:50 AM »
You're right, good advice. Pizza and beer is the way to go. This doesn't work if you're moving long distance though. It would take a whooole lot of pizza and beer to get my friends to come with me long distance to another state or something. Better just hire some movers for that.

« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2009, 03:02:26 AM »

So Capo, did u or did u not??    :devil:

Offline Bamboo Prince

« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2009, 05:47:39 AM »
one ting ah find bout arksin pardners to help yuh move...dey does end up taxin yuh for real ting - dvds, books, magazines, electronics, kitchen equip...alllll kinda ways dey wah help yuh "lighten yuh load" and "de-clutter"...peeps goin thru man whole inventory...maybe i is a boops ??? but in any case, when i help people move i does be on de same mission!  :beermug: :devil:

« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2009, 08:47:09 AM »
Yuh pardner first bad move was responding tuh ah text. He must have been ah good friend tuh show up in the first place. Movin is like a day's wok, double so when it hot no arse!

« Reply #15 on: April 25, 2009, 12:33:25 PM »

So Capo, did u or did u not??    :devil:
senator i have no recollection of said incident. :-X