March 29, 2024, 03:58:22 AM

Author Topic: Scotland called up as replacement for injured Jones  (Read 2159 times)

Scotland called up as replacement for injured Jones
« on: August 28, 2005, 09:00:11 PM »

28-Aug-2005
Shaun Fuentes

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Leo Beenhakker has called up Scottish-based striker Jason Scotland to join the squad as a replacement for Southampton’s Kenwyne Jones who damaged his ankle on Saturday and has been ruled out of Saturday’s 2006 World Cup qualifier against Guatemala.

Jones suffered the injury in Southampton’s 2-0 win over Crewe Alexandra on Saturday and is expected to be out for up to two weeks.

Beenhakker summoned Scotland who is riding high after scoring on debut for St Johnstone in their 3-1 loss to Airdrie United on Saturday. Scotland only got his work permit clearance last week shortly before agreeing to a new deal with the club.

Aside from Jones, there was also disappointing news for Scottish-based striker Collin Samuel who suffered a hamstring injury and was taken off in the 28th minute during Dundee United’s 1-1 draw with Inverness Thistle. He too has been advised to rest and a replacement will be named by Beenhakker for the upcoming match against the Central Americans.

Jason Scotland

But while the double blow means the need for a change up in Beenhakker’s selection, the Dutch-man could look forward to one of his returning men in Luton Town’s Carlos Edwards.

The former Defence Force star had been ruled out of the CONCACAF Gold Cup and then the USA match with a thigh strain but has returned to full fitness and is fired up for the return fixture against the Guatemalans.  He was T&T’s lone scorer in the 5-1 loss in Guatemala City back in March.

“Right now I am really excited about coming back into the team. It was a downhill struggle for me since the Gold Cup and then to miss the USA match was a big setback. But now I’m playing again and the leg feels in good condition. The specialist has given me the all clear to resume full training and I have played one full 90 minute game and appeared in the second half as well for the Luton first team,” Edwards told TTFF Media on Sunday.

“It’s been almost two months since I last played with the national team and I’m anticipating a big return to continue from the Panama and Mexico games. The result in Guatemala didn’t do us any justice and if you look back at the match you could see that we had our chances but goals get you results and we didn’t take them. But this time’s it’s a different pot on fire and we must return the favour with a vengeance,” the former Wrexham man added.

He has a club match against Millwall on Monday and is scheduled to depart London with the other UK-based pros on Tuesday. On arrival home, he will engage in a light session later that evening at the Hasely Crawford Stadium with the rest of the team which begins preparations on Tuesday morning at the match venue.

Scheduled to come in today (Monday) is skipper Dwight Yorke who netted his first competitive goal for Sydney FC in their 1-1 draw with Melbourne Victory in the Australian A-League on Sunday. Yorke netted in the 44th minute with a stooping header. Also coming in today will be Silvio Spann who is also coming off a goalscoring performance in Yokohama’s 4-3 loss to Japanese Division Two League leaders Kofu on Saturday, as well as American-based duo Avery John and Scott Sealy.

Re: Scotland called up as replacement for injured Jones
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2005, 01:07:42 AM »
i used to be the biggest advocator for glenn but these days he hasnt proved he deserves to be in the squad. his club form isnt anything special recently, and he seems lately like hes got a prima donna attitude.
he wouldve been good off the bench but if hes not in form then bringing in a scotland shouldnt be so bad. however, scotland should be in jail. he scored this weekend so maybe thats why hes called up. i wonder what happened to errol mcfarlane and nixon and touissant and why they dont get call-ups.

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2005, 05:41:07 AM »
John hasnt either eh! En prove him selfdesedays atall.. Glen is always a betta pick rite about now

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2005, 05:52:48 AM »
stern has been the exception to hard work, noone understands his continued inclusions. but that doesnt mean because stern can get into the squad with poor form that glen can too. noone should be able to except a few.

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2005, 05:57:44 AM »
Glen is not in poor form, he just score the other day and if you watch the highlights from the last match he was creating several dangerous opportunities with his pace.

« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2005, 06:02:59 AM »
he has 3 goals in 15 gms this yr. and his form of late isnt that great even though he scored the other day. he has scored 1 goal the entire month.

« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2005, 06:34:30 AM »
Glen played 50-odd minutes in the Gold Cup and scored a brilliant goal.  Stern and Scotland started 3 straight matches and scored how many?
And in the month how many goals has Stern scored?  Yorke?  Scotland?

« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2005, 06:42:09 AM »
Losing Jones is a big set back. He looked good against the US. Time for Sealy and Scotland to step up with Yorke.

Oh yeah Stern too.

« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2005, 07:36:32 AM »
I don't agree with the  Scotland over Glenn call up.  I think Scotland is a good player but right now I think Glenn's energy is much better.  And allyuh we just have to wait and see if Sealy will live up to our expectations.  I hearing people saying that he have to step up his game, but we haven't really had the chance to see him do his thing under normal circumstances (playing with 11 men) yet.  So yes he will be under pressure to produce, in fact the whole team needs to produce in this game or we are done.

« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2005, 07:44:33 AM »
Basically we have 4 strikers who strength is similar...back to goal men.

Nobody who forte is to run at de defence and put pressure on dem.

With both Samuels and Jones out, we have ZERO speed.

Our team is such that we cannot afford to be missing key players because our lack of depth is exposed.

I eh sure why Beenie overlookin Cornell Glen because he definitely brings something different to the table the other forward players do not, even if is just to have him as an option coming off the bench.  Some man say is due to disciplinary issues durin de Gold Cup.  That seems to be just about the only Plausible reason to me he not gettin call.

Happy to have Carlos & Latas back but it really sucks to be missing Lawrence & Jones at this time.

« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2005, 02:04:48 AM »
i also feel that maybe beenie not calling glenn up because his speed might be a temptation for the long ball nonsense. what do you all think about that

Offline troy piloy

« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2005, 07:30:54 AM »
I really thought that when i heard Jones got injured they would have called up Glenn because he has been having a good run over the pass 3 weeks for his club i think he has a goal and assist, and played 90mins this weekend gone VS Scott Sealy's team and from what i saw he played alot better than Scott. The coach even had him playing at left wing for most of the match and we know that has been a problem for us.
But all the same Scotland is not that bad and is a simialr type of striker so i can see where the coaching staff is going.
On to the stadium Saturday.
tickets check, kit check, crew check. ;D
Senior Advisor to AWATT's Intelligence Unit

« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2005, 08:25:09 AM »
BEER - Check
RIDE - Check
RED Jersey - Check
RED Head Band - Check
Warriors Hand Band - Check

Hmmmm i think we good to go!