March 28, 2024, 04:12:33 AM

Author Topic: Goalkeeper Phillip gets Dallas opportunity.  (Read 5474 times)

Goalkeeper Phillip gets Dallas opportunity.
« on: February 01, 2008, 01:27:26 PM »
Goalkeeper Phillip gets Dallas opportunity.
By: Randy Bando (ttproleague).

W Connection goalkeeper Marvin Phillip may well be on his way to filling the gloves of former Trinidad and Tobago hero goalie at MLS club FC Dallas when he travels to the United States for trial next week. Marketing Director Renee John-Williams of W Connection released the information on Thursday saying, “Dallas saw him when they visited Trinidad last year and opened the door for trial. He will travel to the Dallas on Thursday to join the team for one week.”
FC Dallas were part of a Tribute Cup in honor of the retirement of their former goalie and Trinidad and Tobago World Cup goalkeeper Shaka Hislop in December, put on by the TT Pro League. The tournament also featured Brazilian club Atletico Paranaense and two TT Pro League All-Star teams.
Marvin Phillip was in goal for the Local All-Stars against Paranaense in a 1-1 regulation time score against the Brazilians but went on to lose 10-9 on penalties. But his brilliance during the match was enough to pursue the MLS club for a trial window.
Phillip is currently on national duty with T&T preparing for their friendly international against Guadeloupe on February 6—Ash Wednesday at the Queens Park Oval in Port of Spain.
Phillip was named in the final 20-man squad released on Thursday, a list that includes Walsall goalie Clayton Ince, Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones, Stern John (Southampton), Silvio Spann (Wrexham), Densill Theobald (Ujpest FC), Collin Samuel (Toronto FC) and Jason Scotland (Swansea City).
Following the friendly, Phillip will travel to the United States on Thursday. He will join FC Dallas in one of their practice sessions on Friday and on Saturday participate in a practice match.
“During that time he (Marvin Phillip) will have a better chance to impress Dallas and that would decide whether or not he will earn a contract,” added Renee John Williams.
In other W Connection club related news, the ‘Savonnetta Boys’ are expected to return to the field for their 2008 pre-season on February 11, the same time their foreign players are expected to return to Trinidad. W Connection will also have screening sessions for all age groups including their senior team on February 11 from 9am at the Ato Boldon Stadium.
« Last Edit: February 01, 2008, 04:00:43 PM by Flex »

Re: Goalkeeper Phillip gets Dallas opportunity
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2008, 01:44:49 PM »
I hope he psychologist goin with him. All d best and doh do no nonesense pleezeeeeeeee

Offline bajanscout

• bajanscout
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2008, 02:41:06 PM »
Dam boy all dem young goalies getting contract nice going he will make it cause dallas aint have nobody
bajanscout

« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2008, 02:43:32 PM »
hmm and I was thinking he would make it because he could keep  ....what was I thinking?

« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2008, 03:19:38 PM »
hmm and I was thinking he would make it because he could keep  ....what was I thinking?
Only Troy Marquis could keep. Everybody else does just try.

« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2008, 03:23:39 PM »
Eat a food brodder.

« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2008, 03:53:31 PM »
Only one man from the pro league impressed them enough for a trial?  :'(

Re: Goalkeeper Phillip gets Dallas opportunity.
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2008, 04:21:47 PM »
good luck kid

« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2008, 04:55:41 PM »
An excellent keeper, I wish him luck, FC Dallas is in our interest and I also wish them luck, my new MLS team. Where can I buy an FC Dallas shirt ?

Even if they take one player, maybe next time they visit we will beat them more handsomely....  :devil:

Kelvin Jack had the same aggression as Marvin Phillip and I believe he was our best keeper in recent times, even better than Shaka.

« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2008, 05:13:35 PM »

Kelvin Jack had the same aggression as Marvin Phillip and I believe he was our best keeper in recent times, even better than Shaka.
Too easy I not taking that bate  ... lol

« Reply #10 on: February 01, 2008, 05:41:17 PM »
really hope marvin gets thru with this...best of luck marvin yuh attitude really seems to have improved and wish yuh de best

« Reply #11 on: February 01, 2008, 06:35:13 PM »
Only Troy Marquis could keep. Everybody else does just try.

« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2008, 01:22:59 AM »
Marvin go prove yuhself  :beermug:

« Reply #13 on: February 02, 2008, 01:39:56 AM »

Doh kuff no coach no ref no woman but yuh could kuff down JR if yuh see him

« Reply #14 on: February 02, 2008, 08:18:12 AM »
at U 15 level i see this guy put down some save ah had 2 say way sah

all the best

« Reply #15 on: February 04, 2008, 07:43:29 AM »
Marvin Phillip is no joke...I not just talking that but his technique is quite good from way back...Attitude is minor things(the ref had it coming ;D) because anybody who ever train with the guy will tell you his work ethnic cannot be question...This man does be working hard all the time...The kinda save I see Marvin Phillip put down already...Geez human wall when he on his game...I really wish him the best 

Offline skillful

« Reply #16 on: February 04, 2008, 05:15:45 PM »
 Phillip just need some leg strength. He is better than the MLS.

« Reply #17 on: February 04, 2008, 11:56:17 PM »
Phillip just need some leg strength. He is better than the MLS.

Of course....just look at where they sign him from.

« Reply #18 on: February 05, 2008, 08:10:33 AM »
An excellent keeper, I wish him luck, FC Dallas is in our interest and I also wish them luck, my new MLS team. Where can I buy an FC Dallas shirt ?

Even if they take one player, maybe next time they visit we will beat them more handsomely.... :devil:

Ince is de baddest keeper we ever had broddah....watch dese upcoming games and yuh goh see for yuhself...De man keep getting ah raw deal right chroo...If yuh following de football long yuh goh know he is de most consistent goalie we have.  Least amount ah goals let in.  De man real safe in de goal trust meh...Watch and see.  And when de man perform come Wednesday yuh goh see bandwagon.
Member meh tell yuh