April 29, 2024, 08:55:28 AM

Author Topic: Dwight's challenge to Kenwyne  (Read 3452 times)

Offline fivers

Dwight's challenge to Kenwyne
« on: January 29, 2008, 08:43:15 AM »
Dwight's challenge to Kenwyne

Dwight Yorke today challenged Kenwyne Jones to show the Premier League he can be one of the best in the business.
Sunderland's leading scorer is tipped for the very top, but Yorke demanded more from his countryman as the Black Cats battle to stay in the elite.

The Trinidad & Tobago veteran admitted the Wearsiders' next two home games – against Birmingham tonight and Wigan on Saturday week – could have a huge impact on their survival chances and urged Jones to show the hype surrounding him is well founded.

Yorke said: "The guy has got all the features and all the ingredients to be a top player. I still feel there is a lot for him to learn, but he has come here and he has done a fantastic job for us so far.

"But it is all right doing it for a certain time, you have to do it week in, week out.

"This has been half a season for Kenwyne in the Premier League, and yet people are ranting and raving. You judge someone not on just a season, you judge people over season upon season.

"When people know a little more about you, that's when you will be tested. He has done well for himself, but he needs to continue to do well for Sunderland Football Club.

"I am sure everyone in the dressing room knows that he is a big player for us. But we need more from him as well. We need him to probably get more goals for us.

"He has been great, but there is a little bit more to
come from Kenwyne."

Yorke played 13 Premier League games in his single campaign with Birmingham during 2004-05 before moving to Sydney. His Sunderland side pipped the Blues to the Championship title last season and the stakes are even higher this time round.

The 36-year-old said: "The important thing is that we don't lose faith, we stick together and we show a lot of courage and character between ourselves. Hopefully the spirit we play with will get us across the finishing line."There's no doubting that Birmingham and Wigan at home are massive games. They're the teams around us.

"We should not rule out that we can get positive results away from home, even though we have not managed to do so yet. But these are the games that will turn our season without a doubt.

"We need a massive result tonight and hopefully we can overcome that and look forward to Saturday at Liverpool."

The full article contains 447 words and appears in Sunderland Echo newspaper.
Last Updated: 29 January 2008 10:20 AM

http://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/Dwight39s-challenge-to-Kenwyne.3719798.jp

Dwight knows his potential and knows he is due for a goal.

Offline Johpants

Re: Dwight's challenge to Kenwyne
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2008, 08:50:25 AM »
One thing Dwight is leaving out there is that football is a team sport and one man alone can't carry the burden nor the glory. It is still left to be seen what KJ would be doing if he were getting better service and support from the rest of the Black Cats.

Offline fivers

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2008, 08:55:35 AM »
I am sure he knows. Kean also pointed that out in a statement. He needs the support and he has been great. He is just trying to drive him. Don't forget dwight lead us to the promise land as a captain.

« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2008, 01:37:02 PM »
One thing Dwight is leaving out there is that football is a team sport and one man alone can't carry the burden nor the glory. It is still left to be seen what KJ would be doing if he were getting better service and support from the rest of the Black Cats.

Dwight is only trying to motivate Kenwyne to be the best...He does not mean that Kenwyne should do it all by himself

Offline king carlos

Dwight Yorke
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2008, 06:20:14 PM »
Although Kenwyne gets all the praise. I feel that Dwight Yorke has proved me wrong time and again (thankfully) He's the gel that has bonded sunderland together when times have been tough. I hope the man keeps it up. He was amazing at Villa and Man Utd now he has so much to teach to the younger players at Sunderland.

Re: Dwight Yorke
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2008, 06:44:59 PM »
Yeah, I really think Yorke is a gift to any dressing room and football pitch. He has a genuine love forthe game and his teamates. He has a wealth of knowledge and experience. He still has a hunger for victory. Invaluable!!!!!!

« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2008, 07:12:57 PM »
Dwight is using pure inteligence at this point in his career. Even though he is not as quick as he was 10-15 yrs ago he is supremely fit. He is indeed a smart player.

« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2008, 09:15:04 PM »
I think he should be groomed as the Soca Warriors coach for the future.  He has great leadership and locker room skills and all the expereince in the world.

« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2008, 09:33:57 PM »
I think he should be groomed as the Soca Warriors coach for the future.  He has great leadership and locker room skills and all the expereince in the world.

Allyuh real quick to call a coaching role on a man dread....

« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2008, 09:55:12 PM »

Allyuh real quick to call a coaching role on a man dread....

DY for presidient .........

« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2008, 01:12:12 AM »
 Coaching int that easy but it seems Dwight have a knack for uniting dressing rooms....You know I don't think he was on the list for 125 best living players which was bullshit in my opinion...to leave out him and Latapy ....He in the top ten scoring in EPL and Latapy rip up Scotland for years now

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2008, 01:37:49 AM »

Overall Yorke has been very impressive.    Initially, I did not expect him to be playing as much football as he has been playing.

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2008, 01:57:59 AM »

Jones is working Extremely hard for the team.  Goals are one measure --- true. But Jones is also playing a huge role in the defense, as in today’s game against Birmingham, and he still has the energy to go forward --- simply exceptional.

« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2008, 08:18:30 AM »
Its nice to see Kenwyne Jones beat the two managers who could have sign him.. he help Sunderland beat both Birmingham and Portsmouth this season. At the time, Alex McLeish (Rangers) and Harry Rednapp (Southampton) could have sign him when he was a teenager. Up next for Jones to accomplish is Alex Ferguson and Steve McClaren who also had the chance to sign Jones.

« Reply #14 on: January 30, 2008, 08:27:22 AM »

Overall Yorke has been very impressive.    Initially, I did not expect him to be playing as much football as he has been playing.

Agreed...I thought he would have been there as a motivational and inspirational presence, but he was thrown right in first team football. Good to see him playing well and passing the torch to others in this process. We as a football nation are blessed to have him pass it to 2 Trinis also....

« Reply #15 on: January 30, 2008, 08:58:13 AM »

I SECOND THAT. i TELL YUH IS DWIGHT FOR HEAD COACH, LATAS asst, SHAKA- goal keeping specialist coach

« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2008, 09:26:19 AM »

I SECOND THAT. i TELL YUH IS DWIGHT FOR HEAD COACH, LATAS asst, SHAKA- goal keeping specialist coach

WoW we might just give Italy, France and Brazil a run for dey money at a world cup finals with that trio...

All we need now is for Howard Jones and Oprah to admit they are Trini love children and invest in we football.

« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2008, 11:13:39 AM »
Although Kenwyne gets all the praise. I feel that Dwight Yorke has proved me wrong time and again (thankfully) He's the gel that has bonded sunderland together when times have been tough. I hope the man keeps it up. He was amazing at Villa,Man Utd and WC now he has so much to teach to the younger players at Sunderland.

Yuh forget to add in World Cup deh boy! ;)