April 23, 2024, 09:28:56 AM

Author Topic: What is Liverpool real scene?  (Read 11401 times)

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
What is Liverpool real scene?
« on: January 30, 2008, 04:13:28 PM »
West Ham beat them 1-0. Zero Prem wins in 2008. Why Rafa still have a wuk?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/7210594.stm

Mark Noble's injury-time penalty gave West Ham a deserved victory over Liverpool at Upton Park.

Noble slotted the ball low past Pepe Reina with virtually the last kick of the match after Jamie Carragher had brought down Freddie Ljungberg.

Earlier, West Ham's Luis Boa Morte twice missed from six yards out while Xabi Alonso headed on to his own bar.

Lucas Leiva missed from eight yards for the Reds while Fernando Torres' shot was saved by Robert Green.

The result must have buoyed West Ham boss Alan Curbishley whose best-laid plans to frustrate Liverpool did not go awry.

Although the Reds had not won in the league for over a month they had beaten the Hammers in their last seven meetings.

But from the first whistle, the home side were intent to bring an end to their appalling record against the Merseysiders and even steal a win themselves.

They had the best two chances of the first 45 with Boa Morte blazing over from six yards and Alonso coming close to heading the ball into his own goal - the crossbar denying Curbishley's troops.

The closest Rafa Benitez's men came to grabbing the lead was inside the first 10 minutes when former West Ham player Yossi Benayoun burst into the area but fired his shot over the bar from eight yards.

Liverpool's multi-million pound strikeforce of Dirk Kuyt and Torres were often crowded out as soon as the ball arrived at their feet by the dynamic duo of Anton Ferdinand and Matthew Upson.

The teamwork between West Ham's midfield and defence was tremendous and tireless, with the likes of Steven Gerrard and Alonso also given little time to weave their magic.

The visitors from Anfield should have been made to pay again for their lack of bite when Boa Morte received the ball on the edge of the six-yard area but completely mis-hit his effort embarrassingly wide.

That was enough for a bemused Benitez who brought on Lucas Leiva and Ryan Babel to insert some life into his side.

Leiva made a brief impression on the match, shooting narrowly wide from Torres' low right-wing cross, while Babel found Torres with a short pass only to see the Spaniard's effort saved low by Green - although it appeared to be heading wide.

The match was heading towards a draw until one of the stars of the show, Ljungberg, motored into the area only to have his ankle clipped by Carragher.

Referee Alan Wiley was left with a no-brainer and pointed to the spot.

England Under-21 star Noble, who had an exceptional match, was left with the pressure kick but showed no nerves to fire sweetly into Reina's left corner.

...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

Re: What is Liverpool real scene?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2008, 04:15:49 PM »
That is what the home team supposed to do at home. Had luck 'pool.

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2008, 04:41:58 PM »
West Ham beat them 1-0. Zero Prem wins in 2008. Why Rafa still have a wuk?

The anti-Rafa brigade among Liverpool supporters is picking up steam...it's going to get ugly in the next few days...

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2008, 05:14:18 PM »
Rafa is certain that if Liverpool sign Mascherano for 17 million pounds, Liverpool's fortunes will turn around.....

Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2008, 05:41:16 PM »
shit side is shit side!

« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2008, 06:10:32 PM »
shit side is shit side!

yeah! wasn't that settled in a post last week? notin change. dey need to come back next year!

« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2008, 06:16:20 PM »
the question should be 'wey liverfool finishing?'. dey might be lucky to catch a uefa league cup spot. ah say is torres' fault he bring he blight from atletico!

« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2008, 06:17:47 PM »
the question should be 'wey liverfool finishing?'. dey might be lucky to catch a uefa league cup spot. ah say is torres' fault he bring he blight from atletico!

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2008, 06:19:08 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:/

That is if they make a UEFA spot...

« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2008, 06:50:40 PM »
And they're getting beat by sunderland on saturday aswell.                                positive.

« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2008, 06:51:03 PM »
Liverpool will make it into the top 4 and play CL ball again next year again.
i stake my reputation on it

« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2008, 06:52:04 PM »
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/7217238.stm
Fans make Liverpool takeover move
By Bill Wilson
Business reporter, BBC News

Liverpool supporters are to launch an ambitious plan to buy the football club from its current American owners.

US tycoons George Gillett and Tom Hicks recently finalised a £350m refinancing of the club which they bought in 2007. But the Share Liverpool FC Group is to reveal plans for a buy-out of the club by 100,000 Reds fans around the world.

The model proposed will be a Barcelona style, "member-share" scheme, aimed at raising £500m to purchase the club from its US owners and build a new stadium. As well as UK-based fans, a website will be launched to attract interest from Liverpool's supporter base around the world, particularly in East Asia.

« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2008, 07:28:23 PM »
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/7217238.stm
Fans make Liverpool takeover move
By Bill Wilson
Business reporter, BBC News

Liverpool supporters are to launch an ambitious plan to buy the football club from its current American owners.

US tycoons George Gillett and Tom Hicks recently finalised a £350m refinancing of the club which they bought in 2007. But the Share Liverpool FC Group is to reveal plans for a buy-out of the club by 100,000 Reds fans around the world.

The model proposed will be a Barcelona style, "member-share" scheme, aimed at raising £500m to purchase the club from its US owners and build a new stadium. As well as UK-based fans, a website will be launched to attract interest from Liverpool's supporter base around the world, particularly in East Asia.

maybe dey need to make plans to buy a new manager! Forget tryin to buy the team! So dey want to buy the team to keep sh!tty rafa?

« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2008, 08:01:23 PM »
they are facking impotent how much time i go say it  :D

« Reply #14 on: January 30, 2008, 08:38:01 PM »
ever since them flikkin new owners come in everything has been going muy loco and i never had that much faith in them. ITS NOT RAFA'S FAULT!!!!!!!!

« Reply #15 on: January 30, 2008, 11:58:15 PM »

Sorry Everton all the way

« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2008, 12:04:44 AM »

and people does say Trinba on de high grade.  ;D

Go Everton, do your thing....

« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2008, 06:47:33 AM »
ever since them flikkin new owners come in everything has been going muy loco and i never had that much faith in them. ITS NOT RAFA'S FAULT!!!!!!!!

What about the rest of the last 18 years when they were also useless in the league.

This is nothing new for Liverpool. Good luck in the CL league but that side is not ready to challenge for the league. You can't even tell what is the best line-up for th eclub and they have one top class forward plus Peter Crouch.

Kuyt and the man with the porn star hairstyle  are rank shithounds

« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2008, 06:54:45 AM »

What about the rest of the last 18 years when they were also useless in the league.

This is nothing new for Liverpool. Good luck in the CL league but that side is not ready to challenge for the league. You can't even tell what is the best line-up for th eclub and they have one top class forward plus Peter Crouch.

Nope...I putting the blame squarely on Benitez doorstep.

Give Moyes, Curbishley or O"Neil Liverpool squad and they will be higher in the league than they are with Everton, West Ham and Villa right now...and right now those sides higher than Liverpool.

Voronin was scoring for fun in the earlies and Benitez bench him cause he had no name now he no longer in form. Crouch shitty yes, but he was scoring whenever he start. Kuyt was working hard and getting chances. All big strikers need their manager to come out and back them and have faith in them to start scoring. Ask Stern during the hex. Ask Ronaldo b4 the last World Cup. Ask Tevez b4 November.

Benitez rotate and rotate and now all of them in a mess.

Torres is Torres tho.

« Reply #19 on: January 31, 2008, 07:56:57 AM »

Nope...I putting the blame squarely on Benitez doorstep.

Give Moyes, Curbishley or O"Neil Liverpool squad and they will be higher in the league than they are with Everton, West Ham and Villa right now...and right now those sides higher than Liverpool.

Voronin was scoring for fun in the earlies and Benitez bench him cause he had no name now he no longer in form. Crouch shitty yes, but he was scoring whenever he start. Kuyt was working hard and getting chances. All big strikers need their manager to come out and back them and have faith in them to start scoring. Ask Stern during the hex. Ask Ronaldo b4 the last World Cup. Ask Tevez b4 November.

Benitez rotate and rotate and now all of them in a mess.

Torres is Torres tho.

None of those guys are big strikers. Kuyt, Crouch and Voronin are not in the same class as Tevez, ROnaldo and Stern (in Concacaf terms).

All those guys are proven goalscorers. You can play Voronin and Kuyt every single game non-stop and they not winning yuh no league.

Also it matters little whether Liverpool are higher than Everton or Villa. The goal is to win the league. Once yuh ent do that it doesn't matter whether in in 2nd or 10 place, except for the fact that 4th and up gets you CL money.

No Liverpool manager has been able to do that for ages and with Wenger at Arsenal and ferguson at United it have no manager coming in here now to do it. Bring a new man and it is a next 3 or 4 years of collecting players, developing a team and hoping that them two teams (and Chelsea) have a slump.

Blame Rafa all yuh want but not for rotation. Blame him for bringing in such and average set of players that one player is as bad as another from week to week.

« Reply #20 on: January 31, 2008, 08:49:47 AM »

and people does say Trinba on de high grade.  ;D

Go Everton, do your thing....

that game in hand and Goal Diff will be our saving grace.

« Reply #21 on: January 31, 2008, 09:26:19 AM »
I said it before and I'll say it again..

Liverpool's league woes are Rafa's fault..

He is a great cup manager but that stupid rotation policy costs him vital ground in the league..

Rewind to last october when liverpool beat birmingham (i think it was) with a brace from Torres.. The very next week, he put him on the bench against Portsmouth and they drew 0-0.. his claim was that he was keeping him fresh for the Champions league game ahead.. Also look at the game they lost to REading 3-1 when he basically sacrificed the game in the 60th minute taking off his best players...

So what you have is a fresh Liverpool squad in February but competing in only one tournament..

The squad itself is a great team of players and is capable of winning the prem.. They have a rock solid defence (the foundation of any title winning team) and great central midfielders in Gerrard and Mascherano. Before the season, it was stated that the only missing ingredients were a world class forward and a class winger.. He got that in Torres and Ryan Babel and also Yossi Benayoun.. So imo, the team is complete..

Rafa is also a striker killer dating back to his days at Valencia.. His teams were always built around a compact defense and midfield sometimes supported by a lone forward.. At Valencia, i dont think any of his forwards ever got past 15 goals a season, and it was men like Mista, Angulo and Salva making de rounds and couldnt see dey way... It was men like Baraja, Mendieta and dey defence that was driving that side..
------------------------------------------
Coaching 101 for Rafa:

You don't bench anyone from the spine of your team.. This means Carragher, Agger(Hyppia), Gerrard, Mascherano and Torres must ALWAYS start no matter what.. 

You do not bench a strike combo that is playing well.. So he should never have rotated Crouch, Kuyt and Voronin when they were in form. Just play the best combination and run with it until the quality of one forward drops then give the other one his chance. As a forward, you need a stretch of games to keep in form and need your place not to be under constant threat week to week..

You must play your best wingers into form.. So Babel and Benayoun needed to start many more games..
--------------------------------------------

At the start of the season they said that the EPL was the priority.. Based on that they should fire Rafa..

Like the great Jose Mourinho once said:  "Liverpool are not a big club. Big clubs are competing in four tournaments in February and cannot afford to rotate"[/i]

« Reply #22 on: January 31, 2008, 09:35:50 AM »

None of those guys are big strikers. Kuyt, Crouch and Voronin are not in the same class as Tevez, ROnaldo and Stern (in Concacaf terms).

All those guys are proven goalscorers. You can play Voronin and Kuyt every single game non-stop and they not winning yuh no league.

Also it matters little whether Liverpool are higher than Everton or Villa. The goal is to win the league. Once yuh ent do that it doesn't matter whether in in 2nd or 10 place, except for the fact that 4th and up gets you CL money.

No Liverpool manager has been able to do that for ages and with Wenger at Arsenal and ferguson at United it have no manager coming in here now to do it. Bring a new man and it is a next 3 or 4 years of collecting players, developing a team and hoping that them two teams (and Chelsea) have a slump.

Blame Rafa all yuh want but not for rotation. Blame him for bringing in such and average set of players that one player is as bad as another from week to week.

Nope, u wrong there JDB.

Dirk Kuyt @ Feyenoord - Games /Goals

2002/3 - 34/20
2003/4 - 34/20
2004/5 - 34/29
2005/6 - 35/24

Incidentally, in those last two seasons he was top scorer in the Erediviste.
Kuyt came to the EPL with a big rep, better than any striker at Villa, Everton, West Ham, Arsenal and Chelsea, with the exception of Shevchenko.
Van Persie used to bench for Kuyt for Holland and Adebayor was nobody until this year for the Arsenal men who ready to jump on my case. Plus, traditionally players who excel in Holland have no problems adapting to the EPL. So to say Kuyt is not a proven goal scorer is nonsense.

Incidentally, I find Crouch not good but his international strike rate is better than Stern's, so to rank Stern as class, u hadda rank Crouch in terms of your measurement.

Also, because u say that it doesn't matter if Villa or the rest are higher than Liverpool doesn't make a difference is because u misunderstood my point. I meant that any one of those managers, with Benitez same rank shithounds, will be challenging the big 3 and not doing the nonsense that Benitez is.

Even in all the years they in the big 4, liverpool never once post a challenge for the league.At least Arsenal and ManU were in the race at different times against Chelsea when they won, but never Liverpool. the man squad to deep and have too many star names for them to blame anybody but him.

« Last Edit: January 31, 2008, 09:53:01 AM by spideybuff »

« Reply #23 on: January 31, 2008, 09:39:20 AM »
Tell Hicks and Gillette to sell and make way for the Dubai group.  They bring they blight fortunes to the club.  We still good for  CL spot, the CL this season, and the FA. ;)

« Reply #24 on: January 31, 2008, 01:57:56 PM »
Finally some good news!  :beermug:

Updated: Jan. 31, 2008
Liverpool complete deal for Mascherano

Liverpool have completed a four-year deal for Argentine midfielder Javier Mascherano. The player, who was on loan at Anfield, has reportedly moved to the club permanently for a fee of £18.6million.

« Reply #25 on: January 31, 2008, 02:15:46 PM »

He is a great cup manager but that stupid rotation policy costs him vital ground in the league..

Rewind to last october when liverpool beat birmingham (i think it was) with a brace from Torres.. The very next week, he put him on the bench against Portsmouth and they drew 0-0.. his claim was that he was keeping him fresh for the Champions league game ahead.. Also look at the game they lost to REading 3-1 when he basically sacrificed the game in the 60th minute taking off his best players...

So what you have is a fresh Liverpool squad in February but competing in only one tournament..

The squad itself is a great team of players and is capable of winning the prem.. They have a rock solid defence (the foundation of any title winning team) and great central midfielders in Gerrard and Mascherano. Before the season, it was stated that the only missing ingredients were a world class forward and a class winger.. He got that in Torres and Ryan Babel and also Yossi Benayoun.. So imo, the team is complete..

Rafa is also a striker killer dating back to his days at Valencia.. His teams were always built around a compact defense and midfield sometimes supported by a lone forward.. At Valencia, i dont think any of his forwards ever got past 15 goals a season, and it was men like Mista, Angulo and Salva making de rounds and couldnt see dey way... It was men like Baraja, Mendieta and dey defence that was driving that side..
Coaching 101 for Rafa:

You don't bench anyone from the spine of your team.. This means Carragher, Agger(Hyppia), Gerrard, Mascherano and Torres must ALWAYS start no matter what.. 

You do not bench a strike combo that is playing well.. So he should never have rotated Crouch, Kuyt and Voronin when they were in form. Just play the best combination and run with it until the quality of one forward drops then give the other one his chance. As a forward, you need a stretch of games to keep in form and need your place not to be under constant threat week to week..

You must play your best wingers into form.. So Babel and Benayoun needed to start many more games..

At the start of the season they said that the EPL was the priority.. Based on that they should fire Rafa..

Like the great Jose Mourinho once said:  "Liverpool are not a big club. Big clubs are competing in four tournaments in February and cannot afford to rotate"[/i]

we still in the CL and the FA cup daiz 2 in my books
while i agree that the rotation policy has prevented the team from forming any kind of consistency, i also think all the injuries have had a big deal to play in our woes.

« Reply #26 on: January 31, 2008, 02:21:29 PM »
Doh play de injury card.

The only injury you had to contend with for a stretch was Daniel Agger..

Look at Chelsea.. They had to go long periods without the whole spine of the team. John Terry, Carvalho, Lampard, Ballack, Malouda, Drogba and Shevchenko have all been out for significant portions of the season..

And now is African Nations in we skin and we still doing it.

Lets not talk about last year when the centre back duo was paulo ferreira and essien.

Avram Grant would do a better job than Rafa at Liverpool!!

« Reply #27 on: January 31, 2008, 03:58:26 PM »

Coaching 101 for Rafa:

I agree that Babel needs to start more games. A coach who decide a jaded player like Harry K deserve to get pick over a fresh, enthusiastic player like Babel, then he lookin to lose he job! Even a player like Gerrard needs to get drop now and then. But no not Rafa, Harry K must have pictures or sometin.

« Reply #28 on: January 31, 2008, 04:17:07 PM »
Doh play de injury card.

The only injury you had to contend with for a stretch was Daniel Agger..

Look at Chelsea.. They had to go long periods without the whole spine of the team. John Terry, Carvalho, Lampard, Ballack, Malouda, Drogba and Shevchenko have all been out for significant portions of the season..

And now is African Nations in we skin and we still doing it.

Lets not talk about last year when the centre back duo was paulo ferreira and essien.

Avram Grant would do a better job than Rafa at Liverpool!!

ah playing the injury card!!
meh jack safe!!

Injury setback for Liverpool duo
Liverpool striker Fernando Torres has been ruled out for three weeks with an adductor injury, the club has said.
Midfielder Xabi Alonso is also facing a spell on the sidelines after X-rays revealed he had fractured the fourth metatarsal in his left foot.

Both players were injured during Sunday's 1-1 draw against Arsenal, along with team-mate Javier Mascherano.
However, the Argentine midfielder has suffered only extensive bruising and no bone injury, scans have revealed.

Torres suffered a recurrence of the injury which had kept him out for a month before he played in Sunday clash at Anfield.

Alonso limped off after 68 minutes while Torres was replaced by Peter Crouch at half-time and Mascherano was left with his foot in a medical boot.

Manager Rafael Benitez said: "Alonso has suffered the same injury again, the metatarsal, he felt something go in his foot.

"Torres also has a similar injury, a problem with an abductor muscle. He could not work as hard as we wanted, we wanted his pace and it was not available.

"He just was not fit. We talked beforehand and he said he was fine. Now we must wait again, he had been out for some time and we have been pushing to get him back, but he has not been right and he still is not right.

"I will need to check with the doctor to see how the players are in the next two days."
Benitez admitted his side paid the price for the injuries they experienced during the game at Anfield.

"We had problems when we lost Torres and then Alonso. We could not control the midfield then, we also had Mascherano with a foot injury and had lost (Mohamed) Sissoko beforehand with sickness," he said.

"In the end there were too many problems against a really good team."

But he praised the contribution of his captain Steven Gerrard who netted Liverpool's goal after a difficult week.

"Stevie has been playing better and this was a very good performance," he added.

"We had a plan to use the strikers wide and for Stevie to attack through the middle with two holding players behind.

"But when we started losing players through injury, it just became too difficult to get forward.

"What pleased me most was the commitment of the players, our supporters should be happy with the efforts they put in against a very good team like Arsenal.

"Arsenal are playing well, a fantastic team. But it is too early, we are six points behind with a game in hand and there is a long way to go yet."

Story from BBC SPORT:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/sport1/hi/football/teams/l/liverpool/7066686.stm

Published: 2007/10/29 13:47:39 GMT

© BBC MMVIII

« Reply #29 on: January 31, 2008, 05:44:46 PM »
Nope, u wrong there JDB.

Dirk Kuyt @ Feyenoord - Games /Goals

2002/3 - 34/20
2003/4 - 34/20
2004/5 - 34/29
2005/6 - 35/24

Incidentally, in those last two seasons he was top scorer in the Erediviste.
Kuyt came to the EPL with a big rep, better than any striker at Villa, Everton, West Ham, Arsenal and Chelsea, with the exception of Shevchenko.
Van Persie used to bench for Kuyt for Holland and Adebayor was nobody until this year for the Arsenal men who ready to jump on my case. Plus, traditionally players who excel in Holland have no problems adapting to the EPL. So to say Kuyt is not a proven goal scorer is nonsense.

Incidentally, I find Crouch not good but his international strike rate is better than Stern's, so to rank Stern as class, u hadda rank Crouch in terms of your measurement.

Also, because u say that it doesn't matter if Villa or the rest are higher than Liverpool doesn't make a difference is because u misunderstood my point. I meant that any one of those managers, with Benitez same rank shithounds, will be challenging the big 3 and not doing the nonsense that Benitez is.

Even in all the years they in the big 4, liverpool never once post a challenge for the league.At least Arsenal and ManU were in the race at different times against Chelsea when they won, but never Liverpool. the man squad to deep and have too many star names for them to blame anybody but him.

You misunderstand me. You seem to think that I am saying that Rafa is not the problem, when I am not.

What I am saying that even when he is gone Liverpool is still not winning the league because the players are not good enough. And that is Rafa number one fault. Buying too many average players and thinking that the squad deep.

Also you ranking Kuyt based on goals record in Holland I watching football and when yuh watch Kuyt and compare him to th elikes of Adebayor, RVP, Rooney, Tevez, Saha, Berbs, Keane, Drogba, Yakubu he is not in the same class. Proof will come in time because when Rafa gone and/or Kuyt gone to a next club he will nstill not be top class.

And like I say the only difference between coming 3rd and 10th is champions league. You would still be a loser in thetitle stakes and even managers like O'Neill and Moyes will not win the league with that squad.