April 26, 2024, 02:14:44 PM

Author Topic: Pompey agree a fee for Spurs striker Defoe  (Read 2712 times)

Pompey agree a fee for Spurs striker Defoe
« on: January 31, 2008, 10:58:25 AM »
Pompey agree a fee for Spurs striker Defoe
Soccernet.com

Tottenham and Portsmouth have agreed a fee for Jermain Defoe, leaving the player to decide whether he wants to move to Fratton Park.
The 25-year-old striker is out of contract at Spurs at the end of next season and has been linked with a move while negotiations have been unresolved.
He has also struggled for regular opportunities under head coach Juande Ramos, with the Spaniard preferring Robbie Keane and Dimitar Berbatov in attack for important matches.
Ramos and Defoe fell out after a training ground incident at the start of the month but have since patched up their relationship, and the striker has talked about signing a new deal.
However, his lack of action has seen him linked with other Barclays Premier League clubs.
Pompey boss Harry Redknapp, who worked with Defoe at West Ham, was monitoring the striker's situation in the summer but no deal was agreed.

Re: Pompey agree a fee for Spurs striker Defoe
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2008, 11:08:49 AM »
Is how much forwards Redknapp want??

Benjani... Utaka.... Baros.... Kanu.... Nugent.... Defoe...

dem african boys back in 2 weeks man...

« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2008, 11:47:49 AM »

Benjani gone to City. (fantasy league men take note)

Other transfer news.

Litmanen gone to Fulham

Newcastle pick up Zamblera (Atalanta)

« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2008, 12:17:09 PM »
It's a shame to lose a striker of Defoe's quality....if it happens.  To be fair though he's only the third choice at Spurs and he's more than good enough to be a first choice striker at other clubs.

« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2008, 12:36:43 PM »

Other transfer news.

Litmanen gone to Fulham

JDB which part u see dat??

i eh seeing dat on no news feeds..

you is de rastaman agent or wha?

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2008, 12:39:07 PM »

Other transfer news.

Litmanen gone to Fulham

JDB which part u see dat??

i eh seeing dat on no news feeds..

you is de rastaman agent or wha?

http://sports.setanta.com/en/Sport/News/Football/2008/01/31/Prem-Benjani-having-City-medical/?facets/great-britain-locale/sport-space/

Harry has lost his fcking marbles! Benjani for Defoe?
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2008, 02:28:28 PM »
i think defoe better than benjani ... perhaps i havent seen enough of benjani but thats just my humble opinion
« Last Edit: January 31, 2008, 02:30:34 PM by dwn »

« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2008, 02:38:06 PM »

FROM              TO
Grzegorz Rasiak     Southampton     Bolton Wanderers     Loan

i cant recall ever seeing a player loaned up a divison

« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2008, 02:40:22 PM »

FROM              TO

sweet  Only better things for Stern

« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2008, 02:48:25 PM »

FROM              TO

sweet  Only better things for Stern
His starting spot almost certain now.

« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2008, 02:50:17 PM »
i think defoe better than benjani ... perhaps i havent seen enough of benjani but thats just my humble opinion
Yuh dreaming or what fadder, benjani is a work horse and a natural goal scorer who finds the right spaces and positioning, defoes is good don't get me wrong , great finisher and is poised, but bejani is a wonder boy.

« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2008, 03:56:10 PM »
Yuh dreaming or what fadder, benjani is a work horse and a natural goal scorer who finds the right spaces and positioning, defoes is good don't get me wrong , great finisher and is poised, but bejani is a wonder boy.

The man was shit last year...Redknapp have a way of bringing out the best in players, it have no guarantee he will reproduce that form playing is a lone striker for City. i feel the man shoulda stay in Portsmouth at least for the season. is only half a season the man doing good, u know!

Defoe on the other hand is a goal scorer through and through...doh know why he went to Portsmouth tho, i thought Villa were interested.

« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2008, 04:11:39 PM »
Look man..

i been following bbc's transfer tracker and i only see brief mention of this benjani thing.. i eh believing this have any truth in it until i see a confirmation on one of the major news sources.

i doh see why he would leave portsmouth in his breakout season after Harry showed so much faith in him in the first place..

The fans love him too..

If this news is in fact true i smell.......*sniff* *sniff*

BUNG!!

« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2008, 04:33:19 PM »
Well is hilarity... according to the guardian.co.uk

Apparently City come in for Benjani... so Pompey try to line up Defoe as a replacement.

That like it stall so "Harry Redknapp has said if Pompey can't get Jermaine Defoe, Manchester City can't have Benjani."

Then 10 mins later " Jermaine Defoe has announced he's going to Portsmouth, so the Benjani-to-City deal is also on."

Then a little later "By the way, the Benjani-to-City deal looks likely to fall through, though the Defoe one is still on the cards."

Then at 9:27 pm GMT "Check out this farce: according to reports, the Jermaine Defoe to Pompey deal is now totally dependent on whether Benjani moves to Manchester City - for whom Benjani has a one-hour medical scheduled for... 11pm. Both clubs better have state-of-the-art fax machines, is all I'm saying"

« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2008, 07:09:50 PM »
Defoe signs for Portsmouth
Setanta Sports.

Tottenham have confirmed that Jermain Defoe has joined Portsmouth for an undisclosed fee.
After holding successful talks with Pompey on Thursday night, the Spurs striker had an anxious wait before the paperwork on the transfer was finalised close to the deadline.
Pompey were waiting on Benjani to confirm his switch to Manchester City and it is presumed that big-money deal has also gone through in time.
Harry Redknapp worked with Defoe at West Ham and has already expressed his delight at landing a "top player".
The former Hammers hit-man was forced to fight for his place at White Hart Lane alongside Robbie Keane, Dimitar Berbatov and Darren Bent, and was not included in Fabio Capello's first England squad.
The move completed a hectic last day of the transfer window for Spurs who managed to conclude a number of transfers.
The North Londoners admitted the fact that he only had 18 months left on his contract forced them into a "reluctant" sale while Portsmouth stressed he has signed a "long-term" contract.

Offline krsrd

« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2008, 09:16:14 PM »
Benjani deal wasn't done in time so he is still a Portsmouth player but Defoes did go through so now Redknapps got them both

Link