January 13, 2025, 02:57:36 PM

Author Topic: T&T bids to host U-17 Women's World Cup.  (Read 6444 times)

T&T bids to host U-17 Women's World Cup.
« on: March 16, 2008, 11:00:53 PM »
T&T bid for Under-17 Women's World Cup.
By: Ian Prescott (Express).

Foreign coach to prepare national teams

Trinidad and Tobago will hire a high profile international coach to oversee the country's women's football programme, and, according to FIFA vice-president Jack Austin Warner, T&T will host the 2010 Under-17 Women's Football World Championship.

"Tomorrow a formal application shall go into the Government for us to host the FIFA Under-17 Women's Championship here in 2010," Warner declared, yesterday. "Now 2010 is tomorrow, therefore we are now putting in place a system where we shall have special coaches and a special staff coming to develop our Under-15 girls competition, thereby we can have a team prepared and in training for the FIFA Under-17 World Championship.

"We have to have Government's approval to host a World Championships," Warner said. "If you hear we do not host it here is because we have not gotten Government's approval, but everything else if in place. Whoever bids against Trinidad and Tobago for 2010 will have a tough fight to win it..."

Warner made the disclosure at the end-of-season awards ceremony of the Women Football Association (T&TWFA), which took place early yesterday, at the Centre of Excellence, Macoya. The FIFA vice-president admitted that the local Football Federation (T&TFF) have treated the national women's team like an illegitimate child, but now, he said national women's teams will be given every chance to qualify for global tournaments.

Warner said the Federation is impressed with the recent successes of national women's teams, and following a meeting with coaches Jamaal Shabazz and Marlon Charles and T&TWFA president Sharon O'Brien, a firm decision was taken to give women's football the same support as the men. The national under-17 and under-20 girls teams have qualified for CONCACAF Final Round tournaments, while the women are in the CONCACAF Final Round of qualifying for the 2008 Olympic Games. The senior women will have a one-week camp ahead of the April 2-13 CONCACAF Olympic Games qualifiers, in Juarez, Mexico.

"It is now confirmed that they will go to Mexico one week in advance and stay there and train and take their events seriously. It is now confirmed that the CONCACAF Final for the World Championship in New Zealand (Under-17) will be played in Trinidad and Tobago...eight teams, one group of four in Tobago and one group of four in Trinidad," Warner said. "And it has also been confirmed that the date they asked for in July is the date they have gotten. I go further to say that whatever players they ask for, they will get. And whatever camps they want they shall have.

"Let me say to you quickly my dear ladies, that to whom much is given, much is expected. And therefore, it is expected that the level of women football shall rise. It is expected that we shall perform well. Hopefully we will qualify to go to the Under-17 Women's World Championship in New Zealand."

Coach Charles was elated.

"Basically it's all about trying to make the game better. What they are saying is 2010 is the women World Cup and from now they are giving the women the exposure they will need. They looking to bring in a high profile coach...just like how they bring (Leo) Beenhakker in, and we will work under him. We do not have a problem with that...

"I am overjoyed as a young coach to be part of this," Charles ended, "but more so for these young ladies."
« Last Edit: March 17, 2008, 03:38:31 PM by Flex »

Re: T&T bids to host U-17 Women's World Cup
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2008, 11:04:58 PM »
Hunt betta run Jack with that proposal. We eh want no next WC so Daryan could revive D coal pot

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2008, 11:20:48 PM »
Women's Football Association - T&TWFA president Sharon O'Brien,

How long has this been around and is Jack its special adviser, too?

« Last Edit: March 16, 2008, 11:28:47 PM by E-man »

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2008, 06:43:43 AM »
They mean, Jack's bid to used T&T facilities to host U17 Women World Cup. I guess he'll get the Tv rights for a dollar and sell it for 50 mil US.
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2008, 07:01:19 AM »
Why allyuh being so negative?

I read that article and i felt so happy for women's football.

I want to ask where the money for all those camps coming from? who paying for it? The TTFF? The TTWFA? Is Jack!!

I ent no big Jack Warner fan, but de man doing good with dat Women's football talk!  Allyuh should recognise that and stop being negative.

I real glad for them girls and them and i sure that no Manning Govt or no Gary Hunt ministry doing that!! Them flyinhg in jet!!

I calling ah spade a spade.........well done Jack Warner!!

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2008, 08:33:31 AM »

I want to ask where the money for all those camps coming from? who paying for it? The TTFF? The TTWFA? Is Jack!!

I ent no big Jack Warner fan, but de man doing good with dat Women's football talk!  Allyuh should recognise that and stop being negative.

I real glad for them girls and them and i sure that no Manning Govt or no Gary Hunt ministry doing that!! Them flyinhg in jet!!

Don't get confused. People on this forum are happy for the women. The problem is Jack Warner say it. My scepticism go way back to 89. I dare someone on this forum to name two instances where Jack did something for anyone without benefiting from it?
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2008, 12:13:24 PM »
D association along long time. Dr Gloudon was once d head but as 4 d present lady. Dat is all I have 2 say bout she

« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2008, 12:31:35 PM »

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:Well said Breds.

« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2008, 01:10:29 PM »
I don't believe that this is what T&T Women's football need right now. The money being spent on an International Coach will better serve the clubs who are presently developing women players and coaches education. There is not enough consistent women players in the country at present. Every effort must be made to develop more players who can excel at the international level.

For instance, the National U-17 team have a lot of work to do. After looking at highlights of that team, it is evident that any division I or II club team (not even considering ODP teams) in the USA will make light work of our U-17 team with no problem. More emphasis should be placed on spending money on player and coaches development as bringing an elite coach to work with average and below average players will not make much of a difference in the long run.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=aMxiiKdjtcg

Offline Eldo man

« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2008, 02:00:44 PM »
I don't believe that this is what T&T Women's football need right now. The money being spent on an International Coach will better serve the clubs who are presently developing women players and coaches education. There is not enough consistent women players in the country at present. Every effort must be made to develop more players who can excel at the international level.

For instance, the National U-17 team have a lot of work to do. After looking at highlights of that team, it is evident that any division I or II club team (not even considering ODP teams) in the USA will make light work of our U-17 team with no problem. More emphasis should be placed on spending money on player and coaches development as bringing an elite coach to work with average and below average players will not make much of a difference in the long run.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=aMxiiKdjtcg

Meh boy I well saying let jack spend he money, but i agree with u, we need to spend money on coaching, weather is send coach for coaching course or getting top class coach.  Do get meh wrong De U17 coach doing well thus far he getting de W"s.....  but any how when i watch that clip against Suriname, (De clip was'ent de best)... But from de little i saw, if that is de kinda of competetin we getting excited about we have a long way to go 7-0... that side was good for ABOUT 15.. I am happy for then girls. However we need better competetion Suriname have ah real s**t side...

I coach women soccer and de level is very high... If we want to compete, send them girls to de states for some games, Lots of good team... from ODP..to club soccer.  then we can see way we at.... But say wah  we beating everybody in de caribbean, now is time to look beyond that....

« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2008, 02:22:31 PM »
Daryl must need to get a new porsche  ::)

« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2008, 03:33:44 PM »
I am ambivalent about this tournament. It is nice to have an international tournament of any kind in your country. From that point yes. But knowing the situation surrounding the special advisor, all you know this will really be "political football'.

I have no doubt about the government will support for this tournament. It is PR for the countryThey put up the money for the Olympic boxing. They have consistently put money for sports teams, even though at the last flippin' minute. But I don't care what all yuh say, anytime there is any big tournament associated with football, the governament will be hesitant, and rightfully so. This tournament should not be difficult to run. We have the stadia already. They only need renovation. We have hosted one before, we have hosted the WC cricket, so we should have abundunt know-how when coming to run an international tournament.

I really want the girls to have their "day in the sun". They have been treated like step-sisters when it comes to football. But saying that, them girls need to improve tremendously if we are going to host that tournament. Our girls are not good enough. I love them, but I am being honest. The video really showed that. The opponets were very weak. I do like their enthusiam. They ready and want to play ball. Like someone said, we need more than a foreign coach(a la Bennie man) to take them to the next level. We need to develop our own, especially women coaches. I have no problem with brothers coaching women, but let's give our sisters their due.

The crowd support was great. It reminded me of inter-col. It is also great to see families and the fans of these young ladies showing  the kind of support that is lacking in the pro-game.

Re: T&T bids to host U-17 Women's World Cup.
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2008, 06:41:16 AM »
Is there really a separate entity for the governance of women's football in the country? How separate is this entity, if so? What are the implications of this, if so?

« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2008, 07:26:08 AM »
At least they will provide the stadia with a much needed facelift and surface upgrade.  Seems like that is the only way they will maintain our playing surfaces, cause they need to meet Fifa standards in order to host such tournaments. Not bad at all for women's football.  Much needed attention.

« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2008, 08:10:17 AM »
How is Arthur Suite's women's professional league fitting in with all of this?

« Reply #15 on: March 18, 2008, 12:04:17 PM »
If you all are looking at this from a playing the game point of view alone i'll be the first one to agree with most of you,but we have to understand this game is all about business,we are not looking at the big picture,Football is a revenue earner,it's a means of exposing your country to the world,look at the kind of players that came home because of it,what it can do for players in the country,our women need this,how or when will they know they are ready.

We are unique in that we are the only country in the Caribbean with the infrastructure to hold such an event,our Stadiums are not rotting because of wear and tear they are rotting because nobody uses them,all those equipment rooms millions of dollars of equipment and nobody uses them,they were designed for events like this,even if our team not good enough we should still have the U-17 Women's WC in T&T,at least they will get more crowd than the Pro league,hotels will make some money etc etc

You know how many countries wish they can hold a WC we getting it and people saying we should not,look at England you think they ready or have a quality team but they fighting to host one.I say lets have the WC weather the girls ready or not.

« Reply #16 on: March 18, 2008, 12:29:40 PM »
If you all are looking at this from a playing the game point of view alone i'll be the first one to agree with most of you,but we have to understand this game is all about business,we are not looking at the big picture,Football is a revenue earner,it's a means of exposing your country to the world,look at the kind of players that came home because of it,what it can do for players in the country,our women need this,how or when will they know they are ready.

We are unique in that we are the only country in the Caribbean with the infrastructure to hold such an event,our Stadiums are not rotting because of wear and tear they are rotting because nobody uses them,all those equipment rooms millions of dollars of equipment and nobody uses them,they were designed for events like this,even if our team not good enough we should still have the U-17 Women's WC in T&T,at least they will get more crowd than the Pro league,hotels will make some money etc etc

You know how many countries wish they can hold a WC we getting it and people saying we should not,look at England you think they ready or have a quality team but they fighting to host one.I say lets have the WC weather the girls ready or not.

Its not a question of having it whether they ready or not. Is a question of getting them ready whether we have it or not.

Offline Eldo man

« Reply #17 on: March 18, 2008, 12:32:52 PM »

Well said, good point..... However we always quick to host an event, but we don't spent the money behind our national teams... What do we want as a nation, ah s**t side that ent ready or exposure. Yea England want to host a world cup, but i can assure u that they will give the best showing and there players will not have to endure de s**t our players go through. Our youth teams should always be in training, not just when an event is coming up...
Look at the US youth system, the IMG Academy is a great example.  It's year round training for these kids. they are always playing high level games.... Is our u17 boys team in training, what about our u 15.... Again nothing wrong with hosting an event, but i say spend some money on ouR national teams...

« Reply #18 on: March 18, 2008, 01:45:26 PM »
Spend money on something the people in the country does not support,nobody goes to watch Football unless a foreign team comes home,we should just have tournaments and bring all them teams people does watch on TV and you will see how people will support Football,we don't appreciate and cherish we own Breds,i in this game long time i know how it used to be.

We talking about the US programs,yes they are well organize and good and they getting results from it but this did not start yesterday,when it started everybody was saying the US don't know anything about Football,what i want to say to you all also is that all kids pay to play Football in the US but ours want to play for free and that is our biggest problem,wait on government and JW and see how far our Football will go,when T&T had no qualified Coaches we used to produce quality players.

« Reply #19 on: March 18, 2008, 03:03:44 PM »
Coops,
             I agree with much of what you said. We know football is big business. All of us know that. After the US WC, I realise football was 40% on-field activity and 60% money. The problem with the financial aspect of our football is the kind of transactions that the special advisor does incorporate. Like I have said time and time again, business people are hesitant to put their money where JW is concern. Nobody is  disputing Jack right to earn money and respect. But he has been dishonest with financial  dealings in football. He has driven away lots of passionate football fans away from the game. This has been going on too damn long.

Our last WC appearance I thought might have brought a new era in football. But then he was very dishonest with the very people who work their arse off to bring glory to the nation. This man had the gaul to say our players were greedy because they asked for what was justifiably a share in the rewards of the WC. Now Coops, you can't tell me Jack lose money in the last WC.

Guys, we have beaten this topic like a dead horse so often. Everytime we discus this, the boomerang always comes back to one person. Although I am ambivalent about this tournament because of all the politics associate with the officials(the court case, Manning Jet etc), I am happy for the girls. I hope the main focus will be on them. They need to improve drastically.