March 29, 2024, 04:52:14 AM

Author Topic: Scotland's jet lag a worry for Martinez  (Read 2211 times)

Scotland's jet lag a worry for Martinez
« on: February 08, 2008, 08:26:58 AM »
Scotland's jet lag a worry for Martinez
Swansea Evening Post

Swansea City will check on Jason Scotland's jet lag before deciding whether to play their top-scorer at Crewe tomorrow.Scotland was due to land in Manchester this morning after a return trip to the Caribbean for Trinidad & Tobago's friendly with Guadeloupe.

The 16-goal striker has been in touch with Swansea physio Richie Evans and reported no ill-effects after playing 45 minutes of Wednesday's goalless draw.

But he could be set for the bench this weekend as two nine-hour flights in four days are hardly ideal preparation for Swansea's trip to Gresty Road.

"We spoke to Jason and to the Trinidad & Tobago Federation beforehand about the possibility of him not playing in the game," said boss Roberto Martinez.

"But they have just appointed a new manager and he wanted to meet all his players and see them.

"It might be a different situation in the future - their manager has made it clear that once he gets to know the players, he will be able to treat them in a different way.

"It may be then that Jason does not have to travel for friendly games, but in this case he had to and we have dealt with the situation in the best way we could.

"We don't want to stop his international career and, while the nine-hour flight is not ideal, we are hopeful he will be feeling fresh.

"He only played 45 minutes of the game, which is what we asked for, and we'll see how Jason is when we meet up with him."

Scotland will train on his own today at the team hotel ahead of his team-mates' arrival this evening.

On the bus north were Darren Pratley, who is fit after a hamstring problem and available after a ban, and Kevin Austin, the favourite to fill in for the suspended Marcos Painter at left-back.

Austin's first league start since Huddersfield on November 16 - Swansea's last league defeat - could be the only change to the side which beat Crewe 2-1 at home just under three weeks ago.

Crewe hope to have a couple of new faces on show tomorrow - coach Steve Holland was today on the prowl for a striker after the emergency loan market opened for business.

The Alex, who are 21st in the table, could do with a lift.

Their dressing-room door and windows were attacked by angry travelling fans after a 3-0 thumping at Brighton last weekend made it one win in 15 matches.

But Martinez, whose side have lost only one of their last 21 league outings, insists Swansea are not about to face doomed opposition.

"We will have to fight and scrap for every opportunity to play," added the Spaniard.

"Crewe have the potential to be a lot a higher in the table and I believe it's just a matter of time before they are out of the position they are in."

Re: Scotland's jet lag a worry for Martinez
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2008, 08:46:08 AM »
The TTFF need to be sensitive to the needs of the clubs. I know all the UK based players that played for Jamaica vs Costa Rica on Wednesday headed straight for the airport immediately after the game to catch their waiting flight back to the UK...everyone should be ready for Saturday's round of games in the English Leagues.

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2008, 08:49:39 AM »
The TTFF need to be sensitive to the needs of the clubs. I know all the UK based players that played for Jamaica vs Costa Rica on Wednesday headed straight for the airport immediately after the game to catch their waiting flight back to the UK...everyone should be ready for Saturday's round of games in the English Leagues.

must've been one congested check-in counter...  ;)

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2008, 09:40:14 AM »
RF.....allyuh new to this UK club ting ok??..shut up....
plus dem Britz showing allyuh players where to take taxi....allyuh going nowhere

« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2008, 09:44:55 AM »
plus dem Britz showing allyuh players where to take taxi....allyuh going nowhere
oh gawd, hook shot fa six  or Marillier shot fa four? :devil:
« Last Edit: February 08, 2008, 09:48:55 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2008, 09:49:18 AM »
I agree with RF (ah know, it's a strange feeling) but the players should fly back out the same night.
They should also ask Dwight about hooking them up with his anti-jet-lag program also known as first-class air hostesses.

Offline kentsoulman

« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2008, 09:55:48 AM »
I agree with RF (ah know, it's a strange feeling) but the players should fly back out the same night.
They should also ask Dwight about hooking them up with his anti-jet-lag program also known as first-class air hostesses.

« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2008, 09:57:26 AM »
dais de mile high club eh
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2008, 10:29:41 AM »

Translate that in english big Magic. I dont understand.

« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2008, 11:15:07 AM »

For de sake of being p.c.....de correct term is flight attendants.  ;D

« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2008, 02:12:48 PM »
RF....ask Marlon King to translate.....allyuh going nowhere

good game by the way

« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2008, 02:57:43 PM »
RF....ask Marlon King to translate.....allyuh going nowhere

good game by the way

are you journeying to Kingston to see your boyz get beat down on March 26th? Might be a chance for you to get some of the "highest grade" not obtainable in T&T.  ;D

« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2008, 06:47:05 PM »
D more tings change d more dey remain d same. When dey clubs refuse 2 release dem we cyah vex

« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2008, 07:28:45 PM »
Thanks for the invite RF....been to Jamaica twice...really nice...had a great time...and the grade tops....