April 27, 2024, 01:57:32 PM

Author Topic: When sweating in Trinidad, you sure to hear ah man say.........  (Read 15682 times)

Re: When sweating in Trinidad, you sure to hear ah man say.........
« Reply #60 on: February 10, 2008, 11:42:10 AM »
The plethora of nick names too:- giving a complement, giving condolences, giving insults, not knowing ah man name etc..

Like yuh is ah maradona, hard luck, yuh is ah macomeh man, shithound ect, blackie, toolum boy, chinee, doougs.... 

« Reply #61 on: February 10, 2008, 11:44:12 AM »
Jedd like yuh eh know dem does call me Ronaldo  ;D

« Reply #62 on: February 10, 2008, 12:10:11 PM »
'man is ah abortionist'
da man need a purge, man is a  a pothound-same thing
'hospital ball'
'man leggoo a chenette'-slow weak shot that roll and bounce
'wrong address'

« Reply #63 on: February 10, 2008, 02:17:58 PM »
'man is ah abortionist'
da man need a purge, man is a  a pothound-same thing
'hospital ball'
'man leggoo a chenette'-slow weak shot that roll and bounce
'wrong address'

"Keeepaaaah" Don't know if this was mentioned yet.

also

"Gallery" or "Flams"

for men who more interested in plays that look good as opposed to being actually productive.

« Reply #64 on: February 10, 2008, 02:22:52 PM »
Dah man beatsing he self jed .
Sun to hot ,I going  by the river .
Smallman go for the ball it under the goo goo bef tree .

d_#1Trinba

« Reply #65 on: February 11, 2008, 03:47:26 AM »
come to meh jung boy..thats what the central defender of the leading team say when the oponent try to go back to the score  ...u will usually hear that talks in d savanah...
« Last Edit: February 12, 2008, 09:58:12 AM by d_#1Trinba »

« Reply #66 on: February 11, 2008, 08:58:03 AM »
come to meh jung boy..

You sure you ent hear that late at night in Curepe junction instead?

« Reply #67 on: February 11, 2008, 09:45:42 AM »
take for yuhself...............when yuh tellin a man to control the ball close to him

do yuh ting................when yuh tell a man beat at will

leh meh join galactica...........refferin to galactica games world in gulf city ( from the advertisement on tv) normally when u want to share beat too

forward ever.........when the last man makin a overlappin run outta the blue

oooooogooooooood.............exclimation for anyting spectacular

sombrero..........when yuh say is a cap but yuh did jus kick the ball strait up high and the man run under it , minmal skill involved.

throw a lil dirt on the oil .........when a ol car leak a seta oil where yuh does sweat

move da big man.........when someone have to da dog shit from way yuh does sweat

« Reply #68 on: February 11, 2008, 10:00:42 AM »
HE GET AH HARD BANG!  -  when someone get struck with the ball with force

YUH STICK UP IN DE GOAL! - exclaimed at men like Supa who sole function is to goalkeep in small goal   :devil:

DOH WORRY WE GO MAKE HE COME OUT or WORK DAT - a remedial tactic to deal with said Supa stick up in de goal.  it involves ah hard bang..

HE SWINGING ON MEH STONES - he playing shit..

HE IS REAL LALA  -  he playing shit

HE SHEEEEEEEETYYYYYY -  last word is said in a very high pitch tone, for someone who playing real shit
« Last Edit: February 11, 2008, 10:08:08 AM by omarldinho »

« Reply #69 on: February 11, 2008, 10:28:46 AM »
"oh goooooooooood " = when a shot go close without scoring, so the word "good" but real stretched out

"back is a pass" = letting a man know the ball doh always have to go forward

"you in his pocket" = letting a man know that he cyah pass a man...... he have your number.

"that leg is a walking stick" = when a man only good with one foot 

Offline teddy bear

« Reply #70 on: February 11, 2008, 10:46:55 AM »
dis is a couple from Bago dat yuh hear all de time.

" Off de map" when men run out a bounds wid de ball.

" yuh shin cya bend" when an opponent pass de ball next to yuh foot and yuh cya touch it"

"da is your ball or wha?" when a man doe want to pass.

"dis ent yuh bedroom boi" when man only cryin cause he get kick

Offline Papasmurf

• http://footballawayoflife.blogspot.com/
« Reply #71 on: February 11, 2008, 11:08:04 AM »
"Open he chest...!" - (in reference to the goal keeper). This phrase urges the offensive player to take a shot as hard as possible, such that if the keeper stops it it will cause him physical damage.
"Jah doh sleep" - when a ref makes a bad call and the resulting play ends in no harm done.
"Daiz how allyuh men playing or wuh...orright!" - a threat in response to a team playing very physical.

Offline Coach

« Reply #72 on: February 11, 2008, 12:13:15 PM »
We all used these two but, Peter Mitchelle use it the most on less skillful players cause he was a "ballhoe"

"LABOURER" and "PULLSTONES"

« Reply #73 on: February 11, 2008, 12:52:48 PM »
somebody tell me what they mean when they say a goal score in the "jep nest"
goal in de V
thanks
never heard that saying before
I have learnt something new today
         I remember another saying we had for that was "where Paddy put the dollar".

« Reply #74 on: February 11, 2008, 02:16:39 PM »
ah hear a man say a few weeks ago
'Yuh aint know this is a 52 inch here o what?!"
when screening the ball from his opponent.

my personal favorite i does use everyweek

"ah not taking no bang in goal if allyuh not defending!"

preceeded by
 "step to the ball, doh stand up and watch them!"

« Reply #75 on: February 11, 2008, 02:41:49 PM »
shittin on yuh tail /  When man playing tata

« Reply #76 on: February 11, 2008, 03:54:57 PM »
"better yuh did stay home an bake a cake" ..used when a man pulling real stones!

"defence out" ..used to make fun of a forward after he shoot the ball a mile over bars.

"nashee" sometimes used to describe a player of slight built and size. (eg Coop's)  ;D

"barefoot champ" an man who cyah play with shoes on!

"smellin bamsee" when yuh only taking beat and man running past yuh

A personal favorite.....allyuh try this. When calling a man for a pass, use "mister" before his name. He is more likely to pass the ball.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2008, 03:57:26 PM by College »

« Reply #77 on: February 11, 2008, 05:08:44 PM »
"pass the people dem ball nah man":     buff for ah man who would not pass
"take it is yours"        No explaination need
"control fuh yuhself"  Telling a team mate to take it down clean
"abortion"                 Fuh ah man who throw way ah easy chance
"dat is yuh father, how he beating yuh so"   When ah man getting real beats all game
" run yuh shit"           When ah man kick way over bars and nobody want to go for it
"down line"          No explaination needed
"Ah blind man would ah read dat pass"  No explaination needed
"dis side easy"

« Reply #78 on: February 11, 2008, 05:37:16 PM »

" run yuh shit"           When ah man kick way over bars and nobody want to go for it

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: tru dat

usually accompanied by loud steups from yuh teammates as well as yuh opponents
« Last Edit: February 11, 2008, 05:40:00 PM by freakazoid »

« Reply #79 on: February 11, 2008, 06:31:20 PM »
"LINE!! LINE!"---- the recipient  wants the ball passed in a linear motion toward them so they can collect it and score....unfortunately in trinidad "line" does mean horizontal, vertical, curve and zig zag

"da dougla in de red pants, yuh know she?"--- preparations for a different kinda sweat
« Last Edit: February 11, 2008, 06:37:10 PM by Dutty »

« Reply #80 on: February 11, 2008, 07:49:27 PM »
ah try to post dis last week and it end up in cyberspace, here goes again...

DUMMY!!!

Dais ah hospital ball!!

Football made simple!!(who remember dat show) When yuh side rel knocking it.

Skills and drills! again when yuh side rel knocking it.

Brazil reach!!!(see above)

Me eh effing coming off, dat pass thru de side netting!!!!!

Offline Coach

« Reply #81 on: February 11, 2008, 08:17:28 PM »
"Check your jockstrap" - Man get a sweet beat
"Breakfoot pass" - Man give you 50-50 pass
"Come for ah sweat nah" - you begging man to come and play.
"Police" - playing in the street at times cops would come to arrest man so when man say police you run and hide.

Offline Jay10

« Reply #82 on: February 11, 2008, 08:36:53 PM »
beat his ass- urging a team mate to dribble an opponent

oh goooosh..yuh go kill him- usually said when someone gets dribbled

dogshit- a wild sliding tackle which misses everything

man on yuh back...(leave him!!..-wat reggaefan and ja2009 would reply)

« Reply #83 on: February 11, 2008, 08:39:21 PM »
HYMC- From de national stadium to every patch where sweat occurs- could be used in varying circumstances.

« Reply #84 on: February 11, 2008, 09:53:24 PM »
Shot have a "o"...not a "i"......when a man try something and eh come off...
OH GORM!! Dahs Kay Donna!.....when a man screen off bout 2 men...
Yuh's a defensive striker or wha?
Where you get dat beat? Dollar rescue?
Better yuh go and get a bag ah ice dey....
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #85 on: February 11, 2008, 10:32:07 PM »
ah surprise this one eh pass yet unless ah miss it...

C A R !!!

« Reply #86 on: February 11, 2008, 10:32:54 PM »
"Lash it!!"...hit the shot.
"Who send you in de cooler?"...when somebody went and try to drink beers without permission.
"Who want ah sub?"...when yuh begging for ah run.
"Boy yuh foot hard like Banga"..when yuh could take hard jam.
"Boy you is a real wild man yes..steups"..when some jackass hit a hopeless shot and it gone over in somebody yard or he buss the ball on ah galvanise fence.
"Boy you is ah gladman yes"...when some jackass does try out bicycle, diving header and scissors on barber-green or gravel (dat used to be me  ;D ).

« Reply #87 on: February 12, 2008, 05:44:20 AM »
How about this one
MAN ON MAN ON --- when someone comming to tackle yuh
beat his ass- urging a team mate to dribble an opponent

oh goooosh..yuh go kill him- usually said when someone gets dribbled

dogshit- a wild sliding tackle which misses everything

man on yuh back...(leave him!!..-wat reggaefan and ja2009 would reply)

In Brazil in this situation they say 'ladrão' which literally means 'thief'. The first time I heard it it struck me because it reflects the focus and commitment to protecting the ball.

The real kix dis come when some of us use these terms in a mixed sweat setting with non-Trinis/non-Caribbean players ... ah see rell men geh confuse on dat score

Anyhow, wha ah gehhin from this thread is we dis talk plenty buh not all de chatter on the field is  constructive. ;D

« Reply #88 on: February 12, 2008, 06:34:24 AM »
"Check your jockstrap" - Man get a sweet beat
"Breakfoot pass" - Man give you 50-50 pass
"Come for ah sweat nah" - you begging man to come and play.
"Police" - playing in the street at times cops would come to arrest man so when man say police you run and hide.

??? :o :rotfl:

« Reply #89 on: February 12, 2008, 07:49:00 AM »
Dat man spanner rel rusty boi