April 27, 2024, 07:49:16 PM

Author Topic: When sweating in Trinidad, you sure to hear ah man say.........  (Read 15688 times)

When sweating in Trinidad, you sure to hear ah man say.........
« on: February 09, 2008, 12:26:03 PM »
Ah know dis post kinda AB Trini-ish eh.... but...

Was having a discussion with ah partner the other day about common phrases and sayings that you must hear in a Trinidad sweat.. I found it funny, because I never gave it active thought before, but to an outsider we must be does sound real kicksy when we sweating...

Some examples:

"BAAAAAAALLL BOOOOOOY" -  said when someone makes a great pass and while the ball is still in motion

"FIND MEH... FIND MEEEEEH" -  said when someone is making a free run and wants the ball

"WIIIIIIIIIIIIDAAAAAAA!"       -  said when someone wants the ball out wide

"TO FOOT!   TO FOOT!"       -  said when someone wants the ball played to feet

"DOH TAKE IT SOOO"          -  said after dribbling an opponent

what are some others u could think of??

Re: When sweating in Trinidad, you sure to hear ah man say.........
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2008, 12:43:39 PM »
"You is ah real ball hoe, oui"    - When you doh pass the ball to someone... who wants it...

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2008, 12:46:08 PM »
How about this one
MAN ON MAN ON --- when someone comming to tackle yuh

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2008, 12:52:18 PM »
"Ah gone ah gone"- indicating that he's found space and is open for a killer pass

"Beat dat" - urging a teammate to take on his opponent.

"and Slap" - urging a teammate to shoot

"You go miss yuh birthday"- exclamation at a poorly missed chance on goal.

"cyah trap" - trying to psyche out his opponent just before he (the opponent) is about to control a pass

"one more" - urging  a teammate to continue ball movement in the same direction.

"tell him tanx (thanks)" - said when the opposition gifts your team possession with a bad pass.

"rub it iz yours" - after witnessing some painful contact (most times embarassingly painful) that occurs without an expression of pain by the recipient.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2008, 12:57:53 PM by kicker »

« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2008, 12:54:07 PM »
"dat is ah Zed foot"
conversely
"dat is ah spoon foot"
or even
"ya cyar hit de Red House even if ya standing it it"

after dat I went eeen goal...and de res is history ;D ;D
and one dat I used to get was
"aye, you could save like Banks"  ;) ;D ;D
« Last Edit: February 09, 2008, 02:39:48 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2008, 12:57:28 PM »
BOI YUH PLAY SOME LATRINE FOOTBALL!

« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2008, 01:00:55 PM »
"da man selling guns"" - when someone gives the ball away continuously

"down d line, down d line" - when u want a pass to run onto when wide

''hard bat/jam'' - a good tackle

"beatz fuh so" - used in different phrases to describe a person, a situation involving lots of skills and tricks

« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2008, 01:17:41 PM »
"HAVE IT" - inviting a teammate to shoot

« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2008, 01:19:25 PM »
"Yuh pulling man stones"
"Buss yuh gun"

« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2008, 01:22:20 PM »
TAKE YUH TIME - no body coming to tackle yuh so doh rush yuh next pass

HELP BACK - someone yuh could pass to behind yuh doh lose that ball stupid...

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2008, 01:25:19 PM »
Yuh could cho-way a chile! (meaning you can throw away a child or have an abortion)- Failing to score an easy goal.

« Reply #11 on: February 09, 2008, 01:26:25 PM »
TAKE YUH TIME - no body coming to tackle yuh so doh rush yuh next pass

multiple use...

can also be used as to goad an opponent after issuing him with ah shake..

Offline Trinitim

« Reply #12 on: February 09, 2008, 01:27:51 PM »
 Let go de demon - Release a bullet !!!

In the soup - Bang the ball in the center of the field

SEX - I want twins - When ah man hit you a stink beats and the ball pass through you leg!!!

« Reply #13 on: February 09, 2008, 01:46:56 PM »

Let go de demon - Release a bullet !!!

in we sweat is

Let go the Lion
and if ah man let go a powderpuff/doublespaper (soft shot) is I tell yuh the lion not Simba (the lion king son)

« Reply #14 on: February 09, 2008, 01:52:28 PM »
yuh iz a paper tiger or wah? - when a man is easily shoulder off the ball

« Reply #15 on: February 09, 2008, 02:06:08 PM »
BOUNCE NAH......looking for a return ball or asking for it

BALL AYAH ..... showing some love for a good ball

RIP IT ...... have a shot

NICE POWDER PUFF ...shot lacking power

LAWD FATHA WHAT KINDA SHOT IS DAT FORDIE....fordie hittin it overbar lol

« Reply #16 on: February 09, 2008, 02:22:21 PM »
... AH ROAST
... AH BUN  ;D

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #17 on: February 09, 2008, 02:31:56 PM »
U IS BOB MARLEY SON......said to deliverer of hard tackle (jam...as in jammin)

SIMPLEEEE!!!.....meaning play a simple square or back pass rather than tryin to make ah Rivaldo-esque through ball every time

THAT IS AH RASTA BELT.....self explanatory

U GET AH KANGOLS....said to ah man who now get ah FURS (ball play over his head by opponent)
It's only kinky the 1st time

« Reply #18 on: February 09, 2008, 02:37:19 PM »
 buh wait nuh d next side n come? - when 1 side is running rings around d other

yuh is ah real bad gyul- when ah man only getting sex

furs- when yuh cap ah man

rasta belt- when yuh belt ah man

calling out ref and making the substitution gesture- when  man x playing real tata

armm u n have wares home 2 wash- when man x is playing real tata

yuh playing gyul o wah- when ah man playing soft and only calling foul

« Reply #19 on: February 09, 2008, 03:06:02 PM »
you is ah real shithong...when a man lacks talent. :rotfl:

« Reply #20 on: February 09, 2008, 03:13:14 PM »
Yuh want a gloves?......said to the man playing last who only chook up in the post

Yuh buy that land dey?..........when a player operates in one small patch of grass only

In the sauce......putting the ball in the heat of the action, mixing it up.

FOOD........a player to be eaten up, dribbled past or lacking skill.

I could get a wet with alyuh?...asking to join the action on the field

Sweat Lock........a negative response to the aforementioned question

and the ever popular yet highly effective...yuh pullin stones.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2008, 03:15:15 PM by Touches »

« Reply #21 on: February 09, 2008, 03:15:47 PM »
yuh loafing.

« Reply #22 on: February 09, 2008, 03:22:55 PM »
"GOAL in yuh TUN TUN"

"Deh cyah handle yuh dred"

"sub he dred SUB HE!!"

"aye! giwwe ah Next man he cyah play"
« Last Edit: February 09, 2008, 03:25:54 PM by Themanfriday »

« Reply #23 on: February 09, 2008, 03:32:49 PM »

rasta belt- when yuh belt ah man

A belt is ah belt....

A Rasta belt is ah long long belt.... when de man hadda run ten yards or more to retrieve de ball...

"YUH WANT SOME BREAD WITH THAT JAM" - self-explanatory

« Reply #24 on: February 09, 2008, 03:34:01 PM »
"res ah beat on him"

« Reply #25 on: February 09, 2008, 03:47:40 PM »
Yuh only kicking Toepee - man kicking ball high in d air to score...

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #26 on: February 09, 2008, 03:48:36 PM »
Tack back! Tack back! - telling men to run back and defend against a break away play
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

Offline Benchwarmer

• Trini to the bone...Dutch till i die
« Reply #27 on: February 09, 2008, 04:47:06 PM »
"maradona ( or any big player) pass the ppl and them ball nah"

"look is best i stay home yes"- when the sweat just go shitty

'PASS THE F..ING BALL"- dont need to say more

« Reply #28 on: February 09, 2008, 05:06:47 PM »
"run yuh shit" - typically shouted to a player who takes a shot dat goes rell wide or high over de goal, and nobody doh want tuh go for de ball.

« Reply #29 on: February 09, 2008, 05:11:08 PM »
Set Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh! - player (generally in motion) announcing to a teammate an opportunity to beat the field (or a cluster of players) with an incisive pass he hopes to collect on the run ... sometimes could be a great through ball situation if the man would be a lil more tactful and less loud

Drop or drop orf ... said to encourage teammates to take up defensive positions in anticipation of a change in possession or out of desperation after possession has been lost
« Last Edit: February 09, 2008, 05:16:13 PM by asylumseeker »