April 26, 2024, 12:08:49 AM

Author Topic: Happy Independence Thread  (Read 57303 times)

Re: Happy Birthday Trinidad and Tobago
« Reply #210 on: August 31, 2012, 05:23:08 PM »
Allyuh wet blankets need to cool allyuh self..

Today we celebrate 50 years as an independent nation, in effect our 50th birthday.

On our Golden Jubilee, let us celebrate all that is good about our nation, what we have accomplished and how far we have come. not every day that we as a nation could come together on a momentous occasion like this to celebrate everything that is inherently great about Trinidad and Tobago.

The cry down and the lambast could wait till tomorrow.

Happy 50th Independence Day to one and to all.
How you so contrary man?? it's almost like yuh does want tuh wait tuh dun man just bc you could do it.

all this talk about diamond jubilee, tell the mdfckrs in sea lots and paramin bout that, is pure sea cat and iguanna meat keeping them ppl alive. it's not every body who is afforded the opportunity tuh get ah good start in life yuh know, remember it have ppl right there in that so called oil wealthy country who living in abject poverty, so speak for your self!

and yeh mister, it can't wait till tomorrow bc today is as good as any! just yesterday three ppl get lick down so they couldn't wait and neither wiil i, any given day you could be in the mix as an innocent bystander when gun shot barkin, what ah way tuh life in such ah :"small" country, an though it could happen to me, but your odds are greater bc of the lack of policing and the amount of cold blooded care free criminals in your mids that the system can't seem to convict and take off the streets as opposed to where i am where if they tired tuh see yuh face yuh could end up in jail forever..

this is a country with billions @ their disposal and the place still have "third world" status. so instead of vexing wid me bc i say yuh house stink on your birthday, yuh should appreciate the heads up and get tuh cleaning!
« Last Edit: August 31, 2012, 05:30:16 PM by just cool »

« Reply #211 on: August 31, 2012, 05:38:59 PM »
From Eric to Kamla, successive vampires that feed and destroy this nation
But is the people who vote these vampires into power!
We can't keep blaming the vampires for their behaviour when its the common people who keep voting them into power and supporting them. As you make your bed is so you have to lay down in it.

PS: I don't agree with Eric being a vampire though not when compared with these recent T&T politicians.
Since Eric died in March 1981 however it has become more and more of a sucking spree between these vamperial T&T parties in power trying to out do each other. The current PP government seems to be one of the most clueless yet. Is like PP stands for the People's Pappishow and not much else.  :-\
Socapro the man right !! eric was ah fackin vampire too! fack dat father of the nation bullsh!t, our parents and grandparents full we head wid ah set of fairytales and fantacies, but in reality they didn't know any better bc they held the man in high esteem like ah demi god, but in reality he was just another political product of his day, same as barrow, gairy, manley and forbes burnham, socialist minded bright boys without a plan.

eric perpetuated ah whole lot of fackry, and is responsible for the lackluster attitude you seeing today amongst trinis. this ten days business was madness, man liming from 7 am to 10 am and no one lift as much as a shovel or a cutlass, not even a supervisor to come and make sure that things were getting done, just free money for the badjohn foreman and dem that were running the dewd project.

IMO that was ah bad example to set for the nation. ppl in the civil service would work from 8 am to 3 pm and in some instances till noon. by 4pm the rum shops was full to capacity, especially on ah friday evenings where if yuh pass down charlotte st, prince street or curepe junction is only saga boy in they fancy dandans and iz iron knocking and liqor swilling till the wee hours of the morning.

eric caught his ministers taking bribes and running racket and instead of reprimanding them, he reshuffle his cabinet and it was business as usual. i not saying that he was ah bad fella, all i'm saying is rather, he facked up big time, bc he had the capacity to do much much better, but instead opted for a good time!

BTW, eric was one of the biggest rum drinking womanizing leaders we ever had, no wonder he was cool with the anyhow attitude of the poor ppl especially behind the bridge.

Just Cool, you seem like a very conscious brother ..i.e Africa, home for Africans...
I do not agree that Williams was a vampire. But being a child of history and knowledge, I will certainly change my position and agree with you if you can provide some reliable sources (evidence) that leads to the conclusion that Williams was a vampire. Because, many sources exists that prove otherwise regarding Williams. Please do not take this the wrong way, I have read many of your posts... You seem like a knowledgable brother. Please share any links to reliable sources so we can read. All the best. Happy 50th
Breds i didn't say the man was a vampire initially, it was fishes who said it, and socapro objected and i agreed with fishes. apart from what i wrote in the first post, that's just about all i know of williams.

IMO he harbored and protect politicians who was sucking the country, so therefore he was. i rate him as an aider and abettor who turned a blind eye. this man was capable of so much more, and instead of being frank and cleaning house, he opted to play along with all the bullsh!t.

IMO williams was way too cunning for his own good.

« Reply #212 on: August 31, 2012, 07:24:54 PM »
Right now on CTNTWORLD, I see a program call Journey to Jubilee. It look like a replay of the summit of the americas show. Still it is damn ENJOYABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :thumbsup: :notworthy:

« Reply #213 on: August 31, 2012, 08:19:47 PM »
From Eric to Kamla, successive vampires that feed and destroy this nation
But is the people who vote these vampires into power!
We can't keep blaming the vampires for their behaviour when its the common people who keep voting them into power and supporting them. As you make your bed is so you have to lay down in it.

PS: I don't agree with Eric being a vampire though not when compared with these recent T&T politicians.
Since Eric died in March 1981 however it has become more and more of a sucking spree between these vamperial T&T parties in power trying to out do each other. The current PP government seems to be one of the most clueless yet. Is like PP stands for the People's Pappishow and not much else.  :-\
Socapro the man right !! eric was ah fackin vampire too! fack dat father of the nation bullsh!t, our parents and grandparents full we head wid ah set of fairytales and fantacies, but in reality they didn't know any better bc they held the man in high esteem like ah demi god, but in reality he was just another political product of his day, same as barrow, gairy, manley and forbes burnham, socialist minded bright boys without a plan.

eric perpetuated ah whole lot of fackry, and is responsible for the lackluster attitude you seeing today amongst trinis. this ten days business was madness, man liming from 7 am to 10 am and no one lift as much as a shovel or a cutlass, not even a supervisor to come and make sure that things were getting done, just free money for the badjohn foreman and dem that were running the dewd project.

IMO that was ah bad example to set for the nation. ppl in the civil service would work from 8 am to 3 pm and in some instances till noon. by 4pm the rum shops was full to capacity, especially on ah friday evenings where if yuh pass down charlotte st, prince street or curepe junction is only saga boy in they fancy dandans and iz iron knocking and liqor swilling till the wee hours of the morning.

eric caught his ministers taking bribes and running racket and instead of reprimanding them, he reshuffle his cabinet and it was business as usual. i not saying that he was ah bad fella, all i'm saying is rather, he facked up big time, bc he had the capacity to do much much better, but instead opted for a good time!

BTW, eric was one of the biggest rum drinking womanizing leaders we ever had, no wonder he was cool with the anyhow attitude of the poor ppl especially behind the bridge.

Just Cool, you seem like a very conscious brother ..i.e Africa, home for Africans...
I do not agree that Williams was a vampire. But being a child of history and knowledge, I will certainly change my position and agree with you if you can provide some reliable sources (evidence) that leads to the conclusion that Williams was a vampire. Because, many sources exists that prove otherwise regarding Williams. Please do not take this the wrong way, I have read many of your posts... You seem like a knowledgable brother. Please share any links to reliable sources so we can read. All the best. Happy 50th
Breds i didn't say the man was a vampire initially, it was fishes who said it, and socapro objected and i agreed with fishes. apart from what i wrote in the first post, that's just about all i know of williams.

IMO he harbored and protect politicians who was sucking the country, so therefore he was. i rate him as an aider and abettor who turned a blind eye. this man was capable of so much more, and instead of being frank and cleaning house, he opted to play along with all the bullsh!t.

IMO williams was way too cunning for his own good.

Interesting Just.. I think the man had good intentions. But if he was cunning, I think it is due to the nature of politics. I have listened to some of his speeches. The man was about Africa. Had great ideas and was committed to organizing something to challenge the power of the North..
The man also wrote the first academic paper challenging the Eurocentric view of emancipation being  motivated by humanitarian or "change of heart" views. He was the first to say in a paper that slavery was abolished for economic and political reasons. Not for altruism. I think a person who holds those opinions are sufficient for providing leadership to a people oppressed by an alien power.

1962, and 50 years later
« Reply #214 on: September 01, 2012, 03:25:52 AM »
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,165637.html

1962, and 50 years later
By Clint Chan Tack Saturday, September 1 2012

THE past intertwined with the present in Woodford Square, Port-of-Spain in the late hours of Thursday night and the early hours of yesterday morning with the Government’s re-enactment of the historic flag-raising ceremony of August 31, 1962 which witnessed the birth of Trinidad and Tobago as an independent nation.

Notwithstanding a few glitches in the ceremony which included the national flag being raised at 11.45 pm on Thursday night instead of 12.01 am yesterday morning as actually took place 50 years ago and an announcer saying “October 31st” is this country’s Independence Day, the crowd who assembled at Woodford Square seemed to enjoy this trip down memory lane and then a fast forward back to modern day TT.

Following a cultural extravangaza which started in the square at about 5.30 pm on Thursday, a contingent of British sailors and TT Coast Guardsmen marched into the square to re-enact the flag raising ceremony at 11.30 pm. The crowd cheered as they marched to the beat of a drum.

They were followed by actors from the Brown Cotton Theatre Ensemble portraying the country’s first Prime Minister Dr Eric Williams, first Opposition Leader Rudranath Capildeo, Governor General Sir Solomon Hochoy and Princess Royal Mary who were present at the ceremony in 1962. The announcement of the arrival of “Williams” (the actor) was cheered by the crowd. While the 1962 ceremony took place on the grounds of the Red House, the traditional seat of this country’s Parliament, Thursday night’s ceremony which continued into yesterday morning took place at the square where two temporary flag poles were erected in front of the main stage.

The Parliament was relocated to the Port-of-Spain International Waterfront Centre last year to facilitate upgrade works at the Red House which are expected to be completed in 2014.

Unlike the ceremony of 1962 when the British flag was still flying on its flagpole outside the Red House, both of these flagpoles were empty. The British flag was hastily raised and lowered at about 11.32, two minutes later. Bells chimed from the nearby Trinity Cathedral at 11.35 pm as officers from the TT Regiment arrived with the national flag.

However instead of giving the flag to the actor who was playing Williams, the officer carrying the flag gave it to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar as the head of modern day TT. Persad-Bissessar bowed respectfully to the officer and raised the flag over her head to the crowd and received subdued applause.

She handed it back to the officer who made his way over to the flagpoles where the actors stood alongside the formations of British sailors, TT Coast Guardsmen and soldiers in their ceremonial dress uniforms. There was an announcement from one of the actors from Brown Cotton Theatre Ensemble, who was narrating the events of 1962 as they happened 50 years ago, who told the crowd there would be a pause until midnight for the TT flag to be raised but the flag was raised at 11.45 pm.

As the flag was raised and bells chimed again from the Trinity Cathedral, some members of the crowd sang the National Anthem. The actors portraying Princess Royal Mary, Williams, Capildeo and Sir Solomon then quoted the speeches made by their respective characters at the original ceremony in 1962. There was also a brief skit where another actor playing labour leader Uriah “Buzz” Butler was thanking the actor playing Williams for getting his pension approved in 1962.

This was followed by a blessing of the nation by Inter-Religious Organisation president Brother Harrypersad Maharaj and Mavis John’s performance of “God Bless our Nation” which moved the crowd.

In her address to the crowd, Persad-Bissessar declared, “I greet and welcome you this evening with a very profound sense of honour to be the one destiny has chosen to herald this moment in history. Fifty years ago when our independent nation was born.”

The Prime Minister said while the country has faced and overcome dangers it faced in the past, “today dangers to our democracy have not receded.” She told the crowd that “at times it is your vigilance that may have waned.”

“We must not become so hypnotised by nostalgia and by our past glory that we take our eyes off our future or become less vigilant.”

While Government has been criticised by the Opposition People’s National Movement (PNM) in the run up to the ceremony in Woodford Square about not doing enough to recognise the contribution of Williams (this country’s first prime minister and its founder) in guiding TT to independence 50 years ago, yesterday Persad-Bissessar said, “Our first Prime Minister, the Father of our Nation, Dr Eric Eustace Williams stood right here representing a people, filled with an unusual sense of exhilaration, filled with a sense of anxiety and hope, to witness the hoisting of our flag for the very first time.”

“Let us pay tribute to the founding father of our nation, the right honourable Dr Williams,” she added. Paying similar homage to the country’s first Opposition Leader Dr Rudranath Capildeo and this country’s first President Sir Ellis Clarke (both) deceased, the Prime Minister said, “We say thank you to them and we say thank God for them for taking us on this pathway to self-determination.”

Saying she was honoured on May 24, 2010 “to inherit a tradition of liberty and freedom and a long-standing covenant to uphold the principles of our democracy” from her prime ministerial predecessors, Persad-Bissessar said all of the country’s leaders needed to “rise above partisanship in service to the citizens of our land.”

She urged her audience “as we revisit this great moment in our history, we must resolve to heal old wounds, let go of old grudges and perceptions based only on personal feelings, and protect, and if necessary, rebuild the foundations of mutual respect and trust.

“The key to our security, our stability and our future lies in the mind of each and every one of our citizens.” Noting over the last 50 years, Woodford Square became known as the “University of Woodford Square” and the “parliament of the common man” where many promises were made, Persad-Bissessar identified politics as one area where TT nationals have excelled.

Persad-Bissessar then welcomed TT’s Olympic gold medallist Keshorn Walcott on stage to the delight of the crowd. Walcott, former labour leader Adrian Cola Rienzi and former Prime Minister George Chambers all received this country’s highest award, the Order of the Republic of TT, at Queen’s Hall, St Ann’s yesterday evening. Chambers and Cola Rienzi received the award posthumously.

President George Maxwell Richards then delivered what was his final independence message to the nation, before he demits office next year. The President spoke about citizens needing be committed to integrity and constitutional reform, particularly where Tobago was concerned. Richards was first elected in 2003 for a five-year term and re-elected in 2008 for a second five-year term. Under the Constitution, Richards can only serve two five-year terms as President. In July, Persad-Bissessar hinted at Richards serving a third term.

The festivities at Woodford Square concluded after 2 am with a spectacular fireworks display which illuminated the sky over Port-of-Spain followed by a concert by Road March 2012 champion Machel Montano. Montano performed several of his popular songs and excited the crowd when he was joined on stage by Drupatee Ramgoonai to perform their “Real Unity” song.

« Reply #215 on: September 01, 2012, 03:49:13 AM »

I feeling a sense of pride that the papers ent report nobody murdered today !!!

Re: Well....Happy Independence....
« Reply #216 on: August 31, 2013, 09:35:18 AM »
51 and counting. We hadda get it right at some point. Carry on!

« Reply #217 on: August 31, 2013, 11:51:40 AM »
51 and counting. We hadda get it right at some point. Carry on!

Boi and we pray

« Reply #218 on: August 31, 2013, 05:01:21 PM »
OTT - Daaga d so call Chief Servant. I wonder who he serving these days.
         Ramesh Deosoran - Social Scientist parading as a Criminologist

Happy Independence Thread
« Reply #219 on: August 30, 2014, 08:47:05 AM »
Happy Independence SW.net

One day early, but I want to wish Happy Independence to all SW.net members and all Trinbagonians. What are your plans for the Independence weekend?

« Last Edit: May 15, 2015, 02:57:26 AM by Flex »

Re: Happy Independence Trinidad and Tobago
« Reply #220 on: August 30, 2014, 08:48:38 AM »
August 31st, 1962

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/uPMTtiZEyTs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/uPMTtiZEyTs</a>

socafighter

Re: Happy Independence Trinidad and Tobago
« Reply #221 on: August 30, 2014, 08:55:38 AM »

Leaves changing...

I live in Canada , the last Independence day I spent in Trinidad was in 1968 ..

This long weekend in Canada ..go to the Cottage in Kingston , Ontario , the leaves are
starting to change a couple of weeks early this year . Relax with my husband and kids ,
summer is ending.

Soon skiing season starts ...yeaaaaaaaa... :beermug: :rotfl:

Happy Independence Day to all Trinibago Citizens...

« Last Edit: August 30, 2014, 08:59:40 AM by socafighter »

Re: Happy Independence SW.net
« Reply #222 on: August 30, 2014, 09:47:19 AM »
What so independent about today's TNT? True Independence could be celebrated when we have a new governance ; when all guns missing are found ; when all rouge police are dismissed ; when all murders are ceased; when big crime. Ashes are resolved; when  we catch so called big fish.

Right now we eh independent to live a life of freedom- what quality of life is it when yuh have to live in fear? Locking up yuh house like yuh living in yuh own jail? When gunmen roaming the streets and shooting at free will- yes there is nothing to celebrate on this Independence-
In my opinion that is how I see it in my opinion

socafighter

« Reply #223 on: August 30, 2014, 10:21:05 AM »
What so independent about today's TNT? True Independence could be celebrated when we have a new governance ; when all guns missing are found ; when all rouge police are dismissed ; when all murders are ceased; when big crime. Ashes are resolved; when  we catch so called big fish.

Right now we eh independent to live a life of freedom- what quality of life is it when yuh have to live in fear? Locking up yuh house like yuh living in yuh own jail? When gunmen roaming the streets and shooting at free will- yes there is nothing to celebrate on this Independence-
In my opinion that is how I see it in my opinion

What you are looking for is wishful thinking or perfection ...

I don't think such exists on Earth today ...

« Reply #224 on: August 30, 2014, 10:32:37 AM »
Well with morally upright  competent governance possibilities may exist - in some parts of the world it is possible  to live a life without daily fear or threats

socafighter

« Reply #225 on: August 30, 2014, 10:49:24 AM »
Well with morally upright  competent governance possibilities may exist - in some parts of the world it is possible  to live a life without daily fear or threats

Can you inform me where such Utopia exists ... I might move to such a place...

« Reply #226 on: August 30, 2014, 10:52:22 AM »
Go live in Mason Hall Tobago lol why yuh eh move back and live in TNT and tell meh if that is living  ah life of freedom? Tell meh if that is being independent? Yuh tainted by living inCanada too long go back to cottage country in Oswego and enjoy the lake and the free life lol ah boi life is good eh

socafighter

« Reply #227 on: August 30, 2014, 11:04:45 AM »
Go live in Mason Hall Tobago lol why yuh eh move back and live in TNT and tell meh if that is living  ah life of freedom? Tell meh if that is being independent? Yuh tainted by living inCanada too long go back to cottage country in Oswego and enjoy the lake and the free life lol ah boi life is good eh

hahahaha...

Living the life at the cottage , Kingston , Ontario , I must meander around Black Bears , wolves , Coyotes ,Foxes , moose etc.....so its not close to utopia .lol

We have areas in Ottawa , its not ideal to be in after dark , so such incidents as in T&T
do occur . Now I must admit living behind iron bars is not what I would envision , my
recollection were  two beautiful islands , that during that era were classified as safe with little
crime.

I do have relatives in T&T and they have had no problem to date , they live normal lives
and not in gated communities . They are primarily Farmers growing crops on previously
sugar cane lands in the country side. They live a low keyed life and enjoy the land of the Hummingbird  and would not leave. They have eaten the cascadura and will be part of the legend..lol

I have come to realize that life is what we make it to be...

« Last Edit: August 30, 2014, 03:39:43 PM by socafighter »

« Reply #228 on: August 30, 2014, 11:08:12 AM »
True- but them animals doh go with guns to seek yuh out then doh go attach tub house just so? Them doh live in communities like yuh do  come now- yuh know that TNT eh fuh you so doh try to say it like all the other places? If it was you would have gone back and buy ah house overlooking POS in the hills

socafighter

« Reply #229 on: August 30, 2014, 11:12:45 AM »
True- but them animals doh go with guns to seek yuh out then doh go attach tub house just so? Them doh live in communities like yuh do  come now- yuh know that TNT eh fuh you so doh try to say it like all the other places? If it was you would have gone back and buy ah house overlooking POS in the hills

Dem animals badder than the ones that live in T&T ... :rotfl:

A house in the hills , you trying to get me covered in mud in one of dem mudslides or what ...
The only mud I get on my body is at a spa.... :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #230 on: August 30, 2014, 11:17:25 AM »
Lolo yuh too funny yes look live yuh life and be happy we cause it eh so for so many enjoy the independence weekend where ever you are and play safe with the animals lol hubby eh have ah snake tub could pet ? Lol?

socafighter

« Reply #231 on: August 30, 2014, 03:41:18 PM »

I hope you and family have the safest and best Independence day possible ...

and may God bless our two islands ...

« Reply #232 on: August 30, 2014, 05:18:03 PM »

The Elections Amendment Bill passed by the PP government has served to put a big damper on the 52nd Independence celebrations of intelligent Trinbagonians as democracy has clearly been eroded with that bill and we are now being rapidly taken back to the days of colonial dictatorship.

I wonder why the PP government keeps giving the nation these sour gifts as a nail in the coffin of democracy for every Independence?
« Last Edit: August 30, 2014, 05:22:28 PM by Socapro »

socafighter

« Reply #233 on: August 30, 2014, 06:08:27 PM »

The Elections Amendment Bill passed by the PP government has served to put a big damper on the 52nd Independence celebrations of intelligent Trinbagonians as democracy has clearly been eroded with that bill and we are now being rapidly taken back to the days of colonial dictatorship.

I wonder why the PP government keeps giving the nation these sour gifts as a nail in the coffin of democracy for every Independence?

Socapro ..

I hope you enjoy the day ...forget politics...

Have fun with your family...

« Reply #234 on: August 30, 2014, 06:26:44 PM »

Socapro ..

I hope you enjoy the day ...forget politics...

Have fun with your family...

I will enjoy the day but that would be despite the undemocratic and corrupt things the current T&T government is doing which will negatively affect my family members living in T&T.

Rowley: We have come a long way
« Reply #235 on: August 30, 2014, 11:09:28 PM »
Rowley: We have come a long way
Published: Sunday, August 31, 2014 (T&T Guardian)

Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley has urged citizens to reflect on T&T’s journey from August 31, 1962, when the national flag was first hoisted to the present time. In his Independence Day message he said, “As a young developing nation, Trinidad and Tobago has come a long way. We have experienced the proverbial highs and lows along the way. However, through it all, our people have demonstrated formidable will and strong resilience, with the ability to work together to overcome challenges.

“Our dedication to our democratic rights and freedoms serves as the cornerstone upon which our nation is built. Trinidad and Tobago was, is and will always be forged from the love of liberty.” Dr Rowley said as the country faced what was seen by many as an interference with fundamental democratic principles he remained confident that the majority of the people of T&T are “right-thinking and are ready, willing and able to work steadfastly towards a better, brighter future.”

He added, “And it is with that in mind that I, on behalf of the People's National Movement, wish you all a thoughtful, safe and happy Independence Day 2014. May God bless each and every one of you and may he richly bless our nation.”

Dana’s family blanks award
« Reply #236 on: August 31, 2014, 12:03:19 AM »
I guess if the government could have prevented Dana's murder or in the least could have captured her murderers by now the family may have accepted the award.
Can't blame them for not allowing themselves to be part of the PP government pappyshow.

Dana’s family blanks award
By Renuka Singh (T&T Guardian)
Published: Sunday, August 31, 2014

The family of murdered Senior Counsel Dana Seetahal will not be collecting her Chaconia Medal (Gold) at the National Awards function at Queen’s Hall, St Ann’s, this evening. Seetahal was posthumously awarded the nation’s second highest award along with four others—Prof Brinsley Samaroo, Brig Gen Joseph Theodore (posthumously), businessman Issa Nicholas and social worker Rasheeda Ibrahim.

The nation’s highest award, the Order of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (ORTT), was not given this year. Former prime ministers Patrick Manning and Basdeo Panday, who were offered that honour, both declined. Seetahal’s sister Susan Francois, who heads the Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU), told the Sunday Guardian: “The family will not be attending the awards.”

Francois said Seetahal had risked her life seeking justice for T&T and should have been awarded the ORTT. She said she was shocked that Seetahal was not given that award. “While I appreciate all the positive feedback on my sister’s life and contribution, when it comes to official national recognition from her country, anything less than the nation’s highest award is shocking,” Francois said.

“She knowingly risked her life and paid the ultimate price for her contribution and service to country. She fought for order and justice in this country. She knew the risks involved and she continued to make her contribution despite that.” Seetahal is being given the national award more than three months after she was assassinated on her way home just after midnight on May 3. Her murder remains unsolved.

On August 20, David “Junior” Baker, 28, was killed in a shoot-out with police. Senior police officers directly involved in Seetahal’s murder probe said Baker was one of the key suspects involved in Seetahal’s well-planned assassination.

At the time of her death, Seetahal was the lead prosecutor in a high-profile case—the murder trial of Vindra Naipaul-Coolman. She had only recently taken pro bono the case of two young girls who were sent to the adult women’s prison because the State could not find accommodation for them in any other facility.

DANA’S BIO

Seetahal, born on July 8, 1954, was first appointed to Parliament in April 2002 as an Independent senator. She was again appointed an Independent senator in October 2002 and December 2007. Her first contribution in the Senate was The Appropriation Bill, 2003, which she introduced on October 28, 2002. In January 2006, she was made Senior Counsel.

In 2008, Seetahal opened her own private law practice, El Dorado Chambers, in Port-of-Spain. Before being appointed as an Independent senator, Seetahal served as a state prosecutor, assistant solicitor general and magistrate. Her first book, The Commonwealth Caribbean on Criminal Procedure, was popular with law students.

NATIONAL AWARDS 2014

Chaconia Medal (Gold)

Prof Brinsley Samaroo—Lecturer—Education/Public Service
Brig Gen Joseph Theodore—Retired chief of defence staff—Military Service
Issa Nicholas—Entrepreneur/businessman—Business
Rasheeda Ibrahim—Voluntary Social Worker—Community Service
Dana Seetahal—Attorney-at-Law—Law

Chaconia Medal (Silver)
Rudolph Charles—Pan Tuner/Innovator-Culture/ Community Service
Michael Ronald Als—Trade Unionist/Community Activist—Community Service
Pastor Clive Dottin—Pastor—Religion/Education/Community-Service

Chaconia Medal (Bronze)
Pastor Winston Mansingh—Pastor—Religion/Community Service
Rt Rev Bishop Adlyn Williams—St Louis—Minister of Religion—Religion/Community Service
Velma Jardine—Educator—Education

Humming Bird Medal (Gold)
Maurice Soong—Businessman—Business
Bolan Ramdass Amar—Businessman—Business
Azad Abass Ali—Businessman—Business
Gregorio Marchan—Retired engineer—Community Service

Humming Bird Medal (Silver)
John Gillespie—Architect—Architecture
The Trinidad and Tobago React Team 2496—Provider of two-way radio communication—Community Service
Nicholas Seucharan—Electrician—Gallantry

Humming Bird Medal (Bronze)
Michael Jack—Fisherman—Gallantry
Winston Ayers—Fisherman—Gallantry
Subesh Ramjattan—Businessman—Community Service
Joan Seudat—Cosmetologist—Business
Anisa Mohammed—Cricketer—Sport
Rudolph Sitahal—Music—Culture
Jameer Hosein—Singer—Culture
Jowelle De Souza—Activist for animal welfare—Community Service
Pundit Nandram Dan Maharaj—Pundit—Community Service

Public Service Medal Of Merit (Gold)
Gordon Narayansingh—Medical practitioner—Medicine
Jennifer Boucaud-Blake—Retired permanent secretary—Public Service
John Pilgrim Rougier—Retired commissioner of prisons—Public Service
Dr Allan Irving Mc Kenzie—Retired principal—Education
Maj Fr Matthew Hugh Ahye—Priest/Defence Force chaplin—Religion/Public Service
Rev Daniel Teelucksingh—Former independent senator—Religion/Community Service

Public Service Medal Of Merit (Silver)
Dr Brader Adaleine Brathwaite—Retired senior lecturer—Education
Clyde Sylvester Forde—Retired public servant—Sport

Public Service Medal Of Merit (Bronze)
Harold Nemai—Retired public servant—Public & Community Service
Earl Skeete—Retired police officer—Sport
Irving Hoosainie—Retired principal—Public Service     

Medal For The Development Of Women (Gold)
Helen Tara Persad-Maharaj—Attorney-at-Law—Community Service
Dr Daphne Phillips—Retired educator and former minister of government—Public Service & Education
Mary Care Centre—Organisation—Community Service
Debrah Lewis—Midwife—Community Service & Midwifery
Sister Hemlata Sanghi—President of Brahma Kumaris Raja Yoga Centre—Community Service
Women in Action for the Needy and Destitute—Organisation—Community Service
« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 12:09:21 AM by Socapro »

Silver snatched .......from Jehue Gordon’s coach
« Reply #237 on: August 31, 2014, 08:26:11 AM »
Silver snatched
.......from Jehue Gordon’s coach

Story Created: Aug 30, 2014 at 11:47 PM ECT (T&T Express)

Communication was made with the Office of the President about arrangements for Dr Ian Hypolite to receive the Chaconia medal silver. The only problem is that the Ministry of Sport has since informed the intended recipient that the national award has been rescinded.

“It is embarrassing,” Dr Ian Hypolite, coach of 400 metres hurdles world champion Jehue Gordon told the Sunday Express yesterday.

Today’s, Independence Day celebrations will see three recipients receiving national medals for their contribution to sport. Female cricketer Anisa Mohammed receives the Hummingbird Medal bronze; athletics administrator Clyde Forde gets the Medal of Merit silver and retired policeman Earl Skeete, the Public Service Medal of Merit bronze. Promised the Chaconia silver medal by former sport minister Anil Roberts a year ago, Dr Hypolite, however is not among today’s awardees.

After winning 400m World Championship gold last year, then Sport Minister Roberts announced that Gordon would receive Chaconia Medal, a house, and $.8m. Roberts also announced rewards for Dr Hypolite
“His local coach, Dr Ian Hypolite, has been recommended in next year’s award ceremony for the Chaconia Silver Medal and shall receive $200,000 this year for his contribution to coaching Jehue,” Roberts was reported as saying.

Yesterday, however, Dr Hypolite confirmed that this month, he received a letter signed by the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Sport, informing him that he would no longer receive the national award.

“In August 2014, I received a letter signed by the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Sport, in an envelope labelled Private and Confidential dated July 30, 2014, advising that the award to me of the Chaconia Medal silver by a decision of Cabinet in “subparagraph “a”, “iii” of minute # 2453 of August 29, 2013” had been rescinded. No reason was given for the rescission.

“The obvious question that my family, as well as my friends and I have had to consider is what did I do in the interim to become undeserving?,” he said by letter yesterday. “I have had to deal with the public announcement of an award and a “private and confidential” rescission of the said award. Therein, lies my embarrassment.”

Hypolite revealed that he did receive the cash award, and had communication from the Office of the President about the ceremony to receive the Chaconia Medal silver, until the latest turn of events.
Further, Hypolite stated he never solicited the award in the first place, and even now is not doing so.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 08:28:54 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #238 on: August 31, 2014, 09:12:40 AM »
Happy Independence Day everyone.

« Reply #239 on: August 31, 2014, 09:48:16 AM »